Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub > Beginner’s Lounge
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Beginner’s Lounge Where all good (and bad) ideas start. This is the Beginner’s Lounge, where if you need a helping hand or want to develop your small ideas, you bring it here. We won't bite.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #21176    
Old May 4th, 2012 (08:46 AM).
dragonlolz's Avatar
dragonlolz dragonlolz is offline
Legendary Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: the netherlands
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 13
Quote originally posted by droomph:
wut

Have an ASM script that checks the address of the sixth Pokémon, and as that isn't a moving address it should be easy enough to do.The scripting command addpokemon. If you don't know how to script go ahead and search up an XSE tutorial.Then...set a flag in the Pokéball routine and check a flag for a certain event where the Pokéball won't work. What do you even mean? If you disable Pokéballs then the whole purpose of the game is ruined.

...
no, the game req that you have a max of 6 poke's because it is based on an anime, and they are with 6. that is why i want no pokeballs
__________________
My team( around 100 hours of gameplay and 15 games to get this team)


this will be the slogan of my new HACK
  #21177    
Old May 4th, 2012 (09:19 AM).
Dieachu's Avatar
Dieachu Dieachu is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 11
Can anyone tell me how to install Advance Map on Windows 7 so that it actually works?
__________________
www.dieachu.weebly.com. ---- A simple website, worth a view.
  #21178    
Old May 4th, 2012 (09:22 AM).
BlueLotusLuke's Avatar
BlueLotusLuke BlueLotusLuke is offline
Ave
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
You know roms are legal if you have bought the game?
  #21179    
Old May 4th, 2012 (09:25 AM).
Mallowigi's Avatar
Mallowigi Mallowigi is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 54
Look for the 1.92 version, the 1.95 doesnt work for me either
  #21180    
Old May 4th, 2012 (09:25 AM).
dragonlolz's Avatar
dragonlolz dragonlolz is offline
Legendary Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: the netherlands
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 13
Quote originally posted by Dieachu:
Can anyone tell me how to install Advance Map on Windows 7 so that it actually works?
i got advance map on windows 7, no install req
__________________
My team( around 100 hours of gameplay and 15 games to get this team)


this will be the slogan of my new HACK
  #21181    
Old May 4th, 2012 (09:46 AM).
Dieachu's Avatar
Dieachu Dieachu is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 11
Also Advance Script, how can I get that to work?
__________________
www.dieachu.weebly.com. ---- A simple website, worth a view.
  #21182    
Old May 4th, 2012 (10:21 AM). Edited May 4th, 2012 by droomph.
droomph's Avatar
droomph droomph is offline
mmm gurl that 90s
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Posts: 4,289
Quote originally posted by Dieachu:
Also Advance Script, how can I get that to work?
Use XSE. What is Advance Script anyways? If it's not working, try downloading again. What is the problem?
Quote originally posted by dragonlolz:
no, the game req that you have a max of 6 poke's because it is based on an anime, and they are with 6. that is why i want no pokeballs
I still don't understand. If you're going by the anime, Ash has currently about 10 Pokémon in rotation, all of them being sent to Prof. Juniper (the "Box") and every new Pokémon captured can't be used until Ash has only 6 Pokémon left in his Party. So nothing different from the game.
Quote originally posted by Dieachu:
Can anyone tell me how to install Advance Map on Windows 7 so that it actually works?
It should work fine, Windows Vista runs XP programs just fine on my computer. (I've tried it with Lunar Magic so maybe your copy of AMap is bad.)
Quote originally posted by BlueLotusLuke:
You know roms are legal if you have bought the game?
Yes, but who really cares? It's Nintendo's and Game Freak's responsibility to crack down on these ROMs, but they haven't so it's their problem if they don't want people to download ROMs. As with the trademark law, if the holder doesn't enforce their holdings, it's not theirs anymore.
__________________
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


  #21183    
Old May 4th, 2012 (10:28 AM).
Dieachu's Avatar
Dieachu Dieachu is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 11
It says that the file isn't complete or something. Ok I'll give XSE a shot, but how Fi you edit the beginning part of the game? Where you give your name ect.
__________________
www.dieachu.weebly.com. ---- A simple website, worth a view.
  #21184    
Old May 4th, 2012 (10:33 AM).
droomph's Avatar
droomph droomph is offline
mmm gurl that 90s
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Posts: 4,289
Quote originally posted by Mallowigi:
Hi, I got a problem with Advance Map:

I'm at the beginning of a hack and in Pallet Town, I just want to move the little girl on the left to some place else, but I can't manage to do it. I can move the other fat guy well, but this girl always reappears in front of the sign.

I've also removed all existing scripts, but nothing happened.

Also, when I tried to add a new OW character on the Oak's roof, that character disappears. I figured out maybe that's because the character is IN the building, but i need confirmation.

Thanks.
Have you tried saving before playing?

Also it can't go into a building just by being on the roof. The actual building has nothing to do with the building that you see on the OW. The only way it's connected to the inside is through a special tile event called a Warp.
Quote originally posted by Dieachu:
It says that the file isn't complete or something. Ok I'll give XSE a shot, but how Fi you edit the beginning part of the game? Where you give your name ect.
It's not an OW script, but instead it's more likely another type of script for the Intro specifically. Believe me I've tried.

You can only change the text as of now, but with a little research you can probably find out what the script looks like.
__________________
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


  #21185    
Old May 4th, 2012 (01:44 PM).
Dancer_A's Avatar
Dancer_A Dancer_A is offline
Rogue
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Over the rainbow
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 7
Send a message via Skype™ to Dancer_A
I guess this is the question thread I was searching for...
I have a few, these are related to gen 5 hacking btw

Editing in double battles with the BWTE seems to freeze the game, I'm guessing it has to do with a 'missing' text slot? Is there a way to fix this? Using V1.1.

How to change the items you recieve from events,trainers or from pokeballs? I was guessing hex editing, but that'd require me knowing pointers and offsets, which I do not sadly.

How to change the level of interacting pokemon?

The only moveset editor I've found seems to be pre-edited, and likes to crash and act buggy, is there an alternate way to do so? The program is uh... Pokemon 5th Gen Moveset Editor

How to change gifts(The larvesta egg, the monkeys)? Assuming hex editing again.

That's all I think, thank you in advance.
  #21186    
Old May 4th, 2012 (01:49 PM).
droomph's Avatar
droomph droomph is offline
mmm gurl that 90s
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Posts: 4,289
I don't know any absolute answers but I'll help you the best I can.
Quote originally posted by Dancer_A:
How to change the items you recieve from events,trainers or from pokeballs? I was guessing hex editing, but that'd require me knowing pointers and offsets, which I do not sadly.
Scripting, with PPRE. Sadly every Gen IV/V game has a slightly (but significantly) different scripting system so you'll have to figure that one out yourself.
Quote originally posted by Dancer_A:
The only moveset editor I've found seems to be pre-edited, and likes to crash and act buggy, is there an alternate way to do so? The program is uh... Pokemon 5th Gen Moveset Editor
I believe PPRE supports all NDS games in everything else it does.
Quote originally posted by Dancer_A:
How to change gifts(The larvesta egg, the monkeys)? Assuming hex editing again.
Nope, scripting. But pretty close However I don't know if they've figured out the scripting yet. So yeah.
__________________
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


  #21187    
Old May 4th, 2012 (01:55 PM).
Dancer_A's Avatar
Dancer_A Dancer_A is offline
Rogue
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Over the rainbow
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 7
Send a message via Skype™ to Dancer_A
Okay, PPRE, what exactly does that stand for? Would I be able to find it here?

And thank you for a quick response even if it doesn't exactly give me all the answers lol
  #21188    
Old May 4th, 2012 (02:04 PM).
Mallowigi's Avatar
Mallowigi Mallowigi is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 54
Quote originally posted by droomph:
Have you tried saving before playing?

Also it can't go into a building just by being on the roof. The actual building has nothing to do with the building that you see on the OW. The only way it's connected to the inside is through a special tile event called a Warp.It's not an OW script, but instead it's more likely another type of script for the Intro specifically. Believe me I've tried.

You can only change the text as of now, but with a little research you can probably find out what the script looks like.
Yes because I can move the fat guy without problem, only the girl stays nonchalantly in front of the sign wherever I placed her. Maybe a script interferes with her position, but it would be a script exterior to this map. Any suggestions?
  #21189    
Old May 4th, 2012 (02:14 PM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
ModeratorCS
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 3,831
Pallet Town has a level script that moves that overworld.. Go into the Header tab and remove the scripts.
__________________
  #21190    
Old May 4th, 2012 (02:25 PM).
Mallowigi's Avatar
Mallowigi Mallowigi is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 54
Thank you sir! I didn't know there were other scripts outside of the map.

I can finally start... but tomorrow x_x
  #21191    
Old May 4th, 2012 (05:13 PM).
FrenziedChaos's Avatar
FrenziedChaos FrenziedChaos is offline
Like a hyena.
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 5
I just need a reminder/confirmation. I have an offset that I inserted a routine to, 0xDD1A20, and I need to make that into a pointer to use the routine. This is the part I forget. I know I have to add 1 to my offset. Would the pointer be 08 21 1A DD? Or am I thinking of something different entirely?
  #21192    
Old May 4th, 2012 (05:32 PM).
droomph's Avatar
droomph droomph is offline
mmm gurl that 90s
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Posts: 4,289
Quote originally posted by FrenziedChaos:
I just need a reminder/confirmation. I have an offset that I inserted a routine to, 0xDD1A20, and I need to make that into a pointer to use the routine. This is the part I forget. I know I have to add 1 to my offset. Would the pointer be 08 21 1A DD? Or am I thinking of something different entirely?
Close, the pointer would be 21 1A DD 08.
__________________
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


  #21193    
Old May 4th, 2012 (05:35 PM).
Dancer_A's Avatar
Dancer_A Dancer_A is offline
Rogue
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Over the rainbow
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 7
Send a message via Skype™ to Dancer_A
I went and looked up the PPRE, it appears it's only up to generation 4, HG and SS.
So I'm not exactly sure where to go from here.

Also, my double battles question wasn't ever addressed, I'm not sure if it wasn't seen or no one knew the answer to it.
  #21194    
Old May 5th, 2012 (08:43 AM).
Dieachu's Avatar
Dieachu Dieachu is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 11
How do I change the text in Prof Oaks introduction? Can anyone please help?
__________________
www.dieachu.weebly.com. ---- A simple website, worth a view.
  #21195    
Old May 5th, 2012 (08:48 AM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 538
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by Dieachu:
How do I change the text in Prof Oaks introduction? Can anyone please help?
Change in what way? If you want to change the text, use Advance Text.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21196    
Old May 5th, 2012 (10:17 AM).
Dieachu's Avatar
Dieachu Dieachu is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 11
Advance text doesn't work on my windows 7. I know I have to change the scripts, and to do so I usually use advance map. But I can't find it in advance map.
__________________
www.dieachu.weebly.com. ---- A simple website, worth a view.
  #21197    
Old May 5th, 2012 (10:26 AM).
droomph's Avatar
droomph droomph is offline
mmm gurl that 90s
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Posts: 4,289
Quote originally posted by Dieachu:
Advance text doesn't work on my windows 7. I know I have to change the scripts, and to do so I usually use advance map. But I can't find it in advance map.
*sigh*

You can use PKSV to search text, script, Pokémarts and more. Just search the "Hello! Welcome to the world of POKÉMON!" part and then mark the offset and change it from there.

For a quick temp link just make a msgbox that links to that text and decompile, and PKSV will let you modify that text.

But seriously, just get XP and use A-Text for that.
__________________
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


  #21198    
Old May 5th, 2012 (11:08 AM). Edited May 5th, 2012 by Mallowigi.
Mallowigi's Avatar
Mallowigi Mallowigi is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 54
Why A-Text doesn't work? It works perfectly well for me. Are you sure you got the last version?

By the way I have a short question: when adding items into the map, we have to set a PersonID to make the flag appear. Did this flag must be new or could it be everything? Do i need to keep a table of flags used for all my items in the game? thanks.

Never mind, I just found the solution: if the person (i.e. the pokeball) id is X, then put the value X on the "Person ID" field to make the Pokeball appear until the player pick it up.

It wasn't clear and diego didn't explained that in his tuto, I think it would be a great idea to add it for future questions like these.
  #21199    
Old May 5th, 2012 (11:43 AM).
Dieachu's Avatar
Dieachu Dieachu is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 11
Quote originally posted by Mallowigi:
Why A-Text doesn't work? It works perfectly well for me. Are you sure you got the last version?
I'm not sure, which is the latest version? Could you pm me a link please?
__________________
www.dieachu.weebly.com. ---- A simple website, worth a view.
  #21200    
Old May 5th, 2012 (12:11 PM).
Capitalist Ness's Avatar
Capitalist Ness Capitalist Ness is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 61
Hey, I have a serious problem, please, help me.
I've replaced Azurill, Marill and Azumarill with Vanillite, Vannilish and Vanniluxe.
Some guy evolved Vanillite in my hack, and said that it makes glitches.
And it does.
When Vanillite evolves, it's sprite isn't showed. In evolution animation, it just goes like this: *vannilish sprite* *blank* *vannilish sprite* *blank*
Ok, it evolved, cool. This problem could be ignored, but, suddenly!
I've tried looking at its summary, and game freezed. Just black screen.
I have no idea what happens in battle. It's probably a freeze too.
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 12:40 AM.