Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #21276    
Old May 12th, 2012 (10:47 AM).
Kaith's Avatar
Kaith Kaith is offline
Hacker of Fire
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: North, it's cold.
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 49
So since my previous question got shot by, I'm just gonna repeat it.

Quote originally posted by Kaith:
So I'm using Advance Map editing a FireRed rom. I'm currently creating a cave and was wondering how to get the black hole, the one that's sometimes on the floor and you can drop through, to connect with the floor underneath.
(For reference, I have the top floor as Map 3.20 and bottom Floor as Map 3.46)
__________________
Hackers, Hacker everywhere.

Hacks I support:
FloralSky





  #21277    
Old May 12th, 2012 (12:34 PM).
droomph's Avatar
droomph droomph is offline
mmm gurl that 90s
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Posts: 4,289
Quote originally posted by Kaith:
So since my previous question got shot by, I'm just gonna repeat it.
Look for examples. It exists, and it shouldn't be anything with hidden ASM, just a couple specials on some OWs.
__________________
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


  #21278    
Old May 12th, 2012 (02:59 PM).
Mallowigi's Avatar
Mallowigi Mallowigi is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 54
Quote originally posted by CliveKoopa:
How do I find certain text in XSE? There's no text search button there.
Or you can read three posts up and use transhexlator to find a text in the Rom, get its offset, and decompile it in XSE
  #21279    
Old May 13th, 2012 (04:19 AM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 3,408
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
There's probably an obvious answer but I'm a bit dense atm: how do you (safely) add more frames to an overworld sprite?
__________________
  #21280    
Old May 13th, 2012 (05:30 AM).
Mewtwo7's Avatar
Mewtwo7 Mewtwo7 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 13
How can I in Advance map change a trainer's pokemon?
  #21281    
Old May 13th, 2012 (11:41 AM).
DaleH771's Avatar
DaleH771 DaleH771 is offline
I know who you are.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 125
Quote originally posted by Mewtwo7:
How can I in Advance map change a trainer's pokemon?
As far as I am aware this is not possible. You will need an external proigram such as PET or AdvancedTrainer.

Anyone, I am waiting to release the second Beta of my game however, I cannot find a script anywhere for a Pokeball (Item) that when you interact with in game dissapears PERMANENTLY and gives you an item. I need a script that'll work with PokeScript Thanks!
  #21282    
Old May 13th, 2012 (11:51 AM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 3,408
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
I don't know about PokéScript, but I'm pretty sure it's similar.

The code for XSE at least is this:

Code:
#dynamic 0x800000

#org @start
giveitem 0xD 0x1 0x1
end
For if you wanted to find one Potion. You'd then give the Pokéball a unique Person ID in Advance Map.

I recommend using XSE for your scripting instead of PokéScript, but if not then you'll have to find a way to translate that into PokéScript syntax.
__________________
  #21283    
Old May 13th, 2012 (11:55 AM).
DaleH771's Avatar
DaleH771 DaleH771 is offline
I know who you are.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 125
Quote originally posted by Spherical Ice:
I don't know about PokéScript, but I'm pretty sure it's similar.

The code for XSE at least is this:

Code:
#dynamic 0x800000

#org @start
giveitem 0xD 0x1 0x1
end
For if you wanted to find one Potion. You'd then give the Pokéball a unique Person ID in Advance Map.

I recommend using XSE for your scripting instead of PokéScript, but if not then you'll have to find a way to translate that into PokéScript syntax.
Cheers, I'll try it. Say I gave the Pokeball ID of AAAA, where in the script would I put that AAAA?
  #21284    
Old May 13th, 2012 (12:02 PM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 3,408
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
Nowhere, it does it automatically. Though I'd use the Person IDs in the area of the 100s.
__________________
  #21285    
Old May 13th, 2012 (12:41 PM).
DaleH771's Avatar
DaleH771 DaleH771 is offline
I know who you are.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 125
Quote originally posted by Spherical Ice:
Nowhere, it does it automatically. Though I'd use the Person IDs in the area of the 100s.
Ther Pokeballs re-appear after I take one step... What da!?
  #21286    
Old May 13th, 2012 (12:42 PM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 3,408
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
Have you tried compiling the script using XSE 1.1?
__________________
  #21287    
Old May 13th, 2012 (12:45 PM).
DaleH771's Avatar
DaleH771 DaleH771 is offline
I know who you are.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 125
Quote originally posted by Spherical Ice:
Have you tried compiling the script using XSE 1.1?
It worked for the first Pokeball. After that I used FSF to find a free offset, put that into the script, and then changed the item characters to the Item I wanted. However on all the others, when I move it makes the ball re-appear.
  #21288    
Old May 13th, 2012 (12:46 PM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 3,408
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
No, don't use FSF to find a free offset. Just use the script I used, then hit compile. XSE will give you the offset to use.
__________________
  #21289    
Old May 13th, 2012 (12:51 PM).
DaleH771's Avatar
DaleH771 DaleH771 is offline
I know who you are.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 125
Quote originally posted by Spherical Ice:
No, don't use FSF to find a free offset. Just use the script I used, then hit compile. XSE will give you the offset to use.
Ok so I changed it back to 0x800000, however I am still faced with the same issue.

I am using this for a rare candy pick up.

#dynamic 0x800000

#org @start
giveitem 0x44 0x1 0x1
end

Sprite details
Person ID : 0000
No. 12
Person Event no. 13
  #21290    
Old May 13th, 2012 (01:02 PM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 3,408
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
You didn't give it a Person ID. Set the Person ID to 100.
__________________
  #21291    
Old May 13th, 2012 (01:07 PM).
DaleH771's Avatar
DaleH771 DaleH771 is offline
I know who you are.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 125
Ah ok, thanks! Will it work for every Pokeball if I just make them all 100? Or will I have to go 100, 101, 102... etc?
  #21292    
Old May 13th, 2012 (02:38 PM).
chrunch's Avatar
chrunch chrunch is offline
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,049
Quote originally posted by DaleH771:
Ah ok, thanks! Will it work for every Pokeball if I just make them all 100? Or will I have to go 100, 101, 102... etc?
They have to be different, or if you picked up one Pokeball they'd all disappear.
  #21293    
Old May 13th, 2012 (07:40 PM).
TheOrangePichu's Avatar
TheOrangePichu TheOrangePichu is offline
Currently working on new hack
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Earth
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 49
My problem isn't fixed yet, so let me explain...

I'm currently using Wichu's Sprite Editor, now everything acts normal, inserting the sprite, the write to rom etc. but here's my problem. When I open the rom in the tool again and look at the sprite I replaced, all I see is the background color that I used for the sprite. The entire sprite is gone.
When I encounter the sprite in-game, it's a bunch of pixels.

Also, it happens to both my Ruby and FireRed Rom. It is not the rom itself because it happens to many different roms I download from different sites. Also, I'm not overwriting data already in the game. Can someone please tell me what is going on?
  #21294    
Old May 13th, 2012 (08:17 PM). Edited May 13th, 2012 by redriders180.
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 537
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by TheOrangePichu:
My problem isn't fixed yet, so let me explain...

I'm currently using Wichu's Sprite Editor, now everything acts normal, inserting the sprite, the write to rom etc. but here's my problem. When I open the rom in the tool again and look at the sprite I replaced, all I see is the background color that I used for the sprite. The entire sprite is gone.
When I encounter the sprite in-game, it's a bunch of pixels.

Also, it happens to both my Ruby and FireRed Rom. It is not the rom itself because it happens to many different roms I download from different sites. Also, I'm not overwriting data already in the game. Can someone please tell me what is going on?
Did you make sure that the sprite only has 15 colors and a background? If it has more, Wichu's sprite editor might not work.

Edit: Make 100% sure of this. Don't just scan the image; index the image to 256 colors, and look at the palette, and count to make sure.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21295    
Old May 13th, 2012 (08:28 PM).
TheOrangePichu's Avatar
TheOrangePichu TheOrangePichu is offline
Currently working on new hack
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Earth
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 49
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
Did you make sure that the sprite only has 15 colors and a background? If it has more, Wichu's sprite editor might not work.

Edit: Make 100% sure of this. Don't just scan the image, index the image to 256 colors, and look at the palette, and count to make sure.
Yup, I did the exact steps you told me to do and I'm STILL having the same problem.
  #21296    
Old May 13th, 2012 (08:29 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 537
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by TheOrangePichu:
Yup, I did the exact steps you told me to do and I'm STILL having the same problem.
Can you show the pictures of what everything looks like? I might be able to see if something's wrong
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21297    
Old May 13th, 2012 (08:33 PM).
TheOrangePichu's Avatar
TheOrangePichu TheOrangePichu is offline
Currently working on new hack
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Earth
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 49
Here is the following problem I'm having (this is after I insert the sprite, write it to rom, and re open it to view it.)

  #21298    
Old May 14th, 2012 (01:18 AM).
captnotatroll's Avatar
captnotatroll captnotatroll is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 14
Is there a way to edit which battle music goes with which Pokemon when they are fought in battle? This is for PokemoN Firered, having the generic Pokemon battle theme with Mew just seems so... anti-climactic.
  #21299    
Old May 14th, 2012 (05:41 AM).
miksy91's Avatar
miksy91 miksy91 is offline
A GB/C Rom Hacker since 2010
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: A small country in the North
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 1,300
Quote originally posted by captnotatroll:
Is there a way to edit which battle music goes with which Pokemon when they are fought in battle? This is for PokemoN Firered, having the generic Pokemon battle theme with Mew just seems so... anti-climactic.
This actually gave me ideas but sure, you can change the music that plays when encountering any pokemon/trainer but not through scripting as it's an assembly job.

It's not even that difficult really but first you've got to get the hang of doing "real" rom hacking.
__________________
My Rom Hack




Learn how to hack GB/C games:

Check my GameBoy/Color hacking videos in Youtube
-The video set uses Pokemon Silver (U) rom for demonstrations
  #21300    
Old May 14th, 2012 (08:02 AM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 537
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by TheOrangePichu:
Here is the following problem I'm having (this is after I insert the sprite, write it to rom, and re open it to view it.)

Can you show the sprite you tried to insert, as well?
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 06:56 AM.