Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #21401    
Old May 28th, 2012 (12:02 AM).
vanillagfx's Avatar
vanillagfx
Togepi
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
I'm looking at diegos tutorial for trainer battles "This is the ID of a trainer that's found in PET" What does PET stand for? o.o
I have AT is this like another program? o.o
  #21402    
Old May 28th, 2012 (12:28 AM).
Tanveer's Avatar
Tanveer
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
I'm pretty sure there aren't any guides to it, because it hasn't been done flawlessly yet. With the Ruby and Firered 649 Projects, there are still plenty of bugs that need to be solved.

If you think about it, the sheer scope of adding even one Pokemon is massive. You'd need to repoint tons of data, not limited to: Stats table, ability table, learnable moves table, TM/HM learning table, Daycare rules, Pokedex entries, cries, Evolution table, Pokedex data, not to mention completely editing the Pokedex in general to support more than 386 Pokemon, finding all limiting bytes that prevent more than 411 Pokemon from existing, and with potentially editing associated ASM with Pokemon-related coding, such as cry and showpokepic, not to mention anything I can't think of. Feel free to try yourself, but there isn't a guide yet.

Expanding the number of moves, however, IS possible. And there's a tutorial here too. I'd do a search around to find it.

Editing Stats in general can be done with YAPE, or any other Pokemon Editor out there.
I know how to make use of the 25 "?" pokemons. But no idea about those other pokemons that can be added.
I can repoint attacks table, stats etc etc.

Just cant find those extra pokemons that are not in the 25 "?".
Offset for those?
__________________

  #21403    
Old May 28th, 2012 (01:38 AM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote originally posted by vanillagfx:
I'm looking at diegos tutorial for trainer battles "This is the ID of a trainer that's found in PET" What does PET stand for? o.o
I have AT is this like another program? o.o
PET is a PKMN Trainer Editor, much like HackMew's Advance Trainer.
But mind you, PET is really really really really really old and buggy.
Stick with A-Trainer.

ID is for the trainer number on the trainer list.
__________________

3DS FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)


  #21404    
Old May 28th, 2012 (05:42 AM).
Valentin
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
If ANYBODY could answer my question, It would help me alot.
i can't still figure out the problem with nidoran male and female genderless.
i replaced the nidoran's with other pokemon but the gender symbol or icon
isn't there.
  #21405    
Old May 28th, 2012 (05:44 AM).
Magic's Avatar
Magic
キュウコン
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by Valentin:
If ANYBODY could answer my question, It would help me alot.
i can't still figure out the problem with nidoran male and female genderless.
i replaced the nidoran's with other pokemon but the gender symbol or icon
isn't there.
It's probably just built into the game via ASM, I have no idea how you would go around changing it though.
  #21406    
Old May 28th, 2012 (05:59 AM).
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote originally posted by Valentin:
If ANYBODY could answer my question, It would help me alot.
i can't still figure out the problem with nidoran male and female genderless.
i replaced the nidoran's with other pokemon but the gender symbol or icon
isn't there.
Quote originally posted by SwiftSign:


It's probably just built into the game via ASM, I have no idea how you would go around changing it though.
Nah, the 2 Nidorans are defined to be Genderless in the games because they were created before genders were introduced into the Pokémon games. It is honestly that simple. Open your rom in a Pokémon editor (eg, the Pokémon editor in PGE, or YAPE) and change their gender definitions to match the ratio you want. Hope that helps.
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
  #21407    
Old May 28th, 2012 (06:08 AM).
Valentin
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote originally posted by Jambo51:
Nah, the 2 Nidorans are defined to be Genderless in the games because they were created before genders were introduced into the Pokémon games. It is honestly that simple. Open your rom in a Pokémon editor (eg, the Pokémon editor in PGE, or YAPE) and change their gender definitions to match the ratio you want. Hope that helps.
I tried using YAPE and i replaced Nidoran[m] with the pokemon
STARLY:
male 50% female 50%
and it still gendeless in a pokemon battle or stats.
  #21408    
Old May 28th, 2012 (07:28 AM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by Tanveer:
I know how to make use of the 25 "?" pokemons. But no idea about those other pokemons that can be added.
I can repoint attacks table, stats etc etc.

Just cant find those extra pokemons that are not in the 25 "?".
Offset for those?
Do you mean that you have the 649 patch, and are trying to use it for whatever reason? If that's the case, the page with the 649 Patch has an .ini file, which shows all the pertinent offsets. In any case, most programs and tools have .ini files, so opening them in notepad will show all the offsets that are used in a game that are needed by the tool in question.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21409    
Old May 28th, 2012 (07:59 AM).
Tanveer's Avatar
Tanveer
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
Do you mean that you have the 649 patch, and are trying to use it for whatever reason? If that's the case, the page with the 649 Patch has an .ini file, which shows all the pertinent offsets. In any case, most programs and tools have .ini files, so opening them in notepad will show all the offsets that are used in a game that are needed by the tool in question.
No I dont have the patch.
Just gonna start from scratch on my own and add 1 by 1 pokemon which I need.
Well, I basically have a plan of my own on how I wanna do it. Just dont cant figure out anything about adding more pokemon than those 25 "?".
__________________

  #21410    
Old May 28th, 2012 (10:20 AM).
Valentin
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
I replaced Nidoran[m] with the pokemon starly and the gender icon for starly isn't there because Nidoran[m] is genderless.

I have a image of the problem:



I tried changing gender ratio in Yape and gender icon still wont appear.
Attached Images
File Type: png gender.png‎ (72.3 KB, 69 views) (Save to Dropbox)
  #21411    
Old May 28th, 2012 (10:21 AM).
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
So, I'm sure I'm just making a really simple mistake since I haven't seen anyone else asking this question, but I've put my own custom starters in FR to replace the originals and I start new game to test them in battle and everything, but when I walk out of my house to start, or walk into Oak's lab, or try opening the start menu or a whole variety or things, the screen goes black or freezes...can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong? :/
Thy're going in fine, it's just that after I do the game freezes for everything.
  #21412    
Old May 28th, 2012 (10:58 AM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by Tanveer:
No I dont have the patch.
Just gonna start from scratch on my own and add 1 by 1 pokemon which I need.
Well, I basically have a plan of my own on how I wanna do it. Just dont cant figure out anything about adding more pokemon than those 25 "?".
If that's the case, then I've already told you somewhat of a general list of everything you need to take into account in my previous post. Basically, anything related to Pokemon would have to be repointed and edited. ASM would need to be done on stuff for the Pokedex. You want the offsets for everything you need? I can't give you that, but if you're skilled enough to add Pokemon, then you should also be skilled enough to find the things you need. If you can't find what you need, then you're not ready to add Pokemon.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21413    
Old May 29th, 2012 (04:25 AM).
Oediepus
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2012
HI everybody
I have a problem. My Emerald edition I editet crashed now. Is there anyway I can save my maps without having a backup? Maybe I copy my maps and fill in these in a new, fresh Rom?
Pls help me Oediepus

btw. Sorry for my bad english I'm german
  #21414    
Old May 29th, 2012 (06:45 AM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by Oediepus:
HI everybody
I have a problem. My Emerald edition I editet crashed now. Is there anyway I can save my maps without having a backup? Maybe I copy my maps and fill in these in a new, fresh Rom?
Pls help me Oediepus

btw. Sorry for my bad english I'm german
Yup! In A-map, go to File->Map->Save Map As. When you want to import them back in, File->Map->Open Map.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21415    
Old May 29th, 2012 (09:00 AM).
Light_of_Aether
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
I'm working on a new Oak's Lab sequence in Firered and I'd like to have the rival randomly choose one of the nine possible starters. Is it possible for the game to execute an RNG script? If so, how would this be done? ASM?
  #21416    
Old May 29th, 2012 (09:22 AM). Edited May 29th, 2012 by miksy91.
miksy91's Avatar
miksy91
A GB/C Rom Hacker since 2010
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: A small country in the North
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote originally posted by Light_of_Aether:
I'm working on a new Oak's Lab sequence in Firered and I'd like to have the rival randomly choose one of the nine possible starters. Is it possible for the game to execute an RNG script? If so, how would this be done? ASM?
In GSC there is a built-in scripting code for changing the value in [insert ram address here] to a random value. If no such code exists in FireRed, you could make your own way for loading a value from certain address so that it would be more random and that way he/she wouldn't pick the same pokemon each time.

Open VBA's Memory Viewer while in Oak's lab. You're bound to found values in ram memory that are changed rapidly all the time.
Make the game check for one of them and according to the value, make the script call for nine different subscripts.

"if < 0x1C" go to...
"if 0x1B < ... < 0x37" go to... etc.
__________________
My Rom Hack




Learn how to hack GB/C games:

Check my GameBoy/Color hacking videos in Youtube
-The video set uses Pokemon Silver (U) rom for demonstrations
  #21417    
Old May 29th, 2012 (09:40 AM).
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Downia-upside
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote originally posted by Light_of_Aether:
I'm working on a new Oak's Lab sequence in Firered and I'd like to have the rival randomly choose one of the nine possible starters. Is it possible for the game to execute an RNG script? If so, how would this be done? ASM?
You can generate a random number in FR by simply using the command 'random' with a HEX value after it. If this line was written in a script: "random 0x2", a number will be randomly chosen ranging from 0 - 2 so there are three possible outcomes. For your situation I'd advise doing something like this:

Code:
...
random 0x8
copyvar 0x4000 0x800D 
compare 0x4000 0x0
if 0x1 goto @RivalRecievesBulbasaur
compare 0x4000 0x1
if 0x1 goto @RivalRecievesCharmander
...
By copying your random result to a variable (0x4000 in this example) the game will be able to tell at a glance which Pokemon they received in the future. This is useful for when you need to make different battles based on their chosen starter by using the 'compare' command and then diverging down different paths like I've shown.
__________________
  #21418    
Old May 29th, 2012 (09:48 AM). Edited May 29th, 2012 by Jambo51.
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote originally posted by Valentin:
I replaced Nidoran[m] with the pokemon starly and the gender icon for starly isn't there because Nidoran[m] is genderless.

I have a image of the problem: [Image Cut for Brevity]

I tried changing gender ratio in Yape and gender icon still wont appear.
Hmm, Interesting. The easiest way around it would simply to not use those slots, but I assume you need Starly (etc) to be in those particular slots.

I guess there IS ASM checking the species and not showing it for those 2 then. I'll see if I can find it for you.

EDIT: Found 2 sets of checks. There may be more, though.

Change 0x49718 to 00 00 00 00. This will disable the check.
Then change 0x1218E4 to 00 00 00 00.
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
  #21419    
Old May 29th, 2012 (09:54 AM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by DrFuji:
You can generate a random number in FR by simply using the command 'random' with a HEX value after it. If this line was written in a script: "random 0x2", a number will be randomly chosen ranging from 0 - 2 so there are three possible outcomes. For your situation I'd advise doing something like this:

Code:
...
random 0x8
copyvar 0x4000 0x800D 
compare 0x4000 0x0
if 0x1 goto @RivalRecievesBulbasaur
compare 0x4000 0x1
if 0x1 goto @RivalRecievesCharmander
...
By copying your random result to a variable (0x4000 in this example) the game will be able to tell at a glance which Pokemon they received in the future. This is useful for when you need to make different battles based on their chosen starter by using the 'compare' command and then diverging down different paths like I've shown.
I'd just like to point out that random 0x2 would generate a random number between 0 and 1, not 0 and 2. The parameter is the number of possibilities, so if you specified 0x2 possibilities, that would be 0 and 1.

No disrespect to Dr. Fuji of course...I just wanna make sure more problems don't get caused.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21420    
Old May 29th, 2012 (02:03 PM). Edited May 29th, 2012 by Valentin.
Valentin
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote originally posted by Jambo51:
Hmm, Interesting. The easiest way around it would simply to not use those slots, but I assume you need Starly (etc) to be in those particular slots.

I guess there IS ASM checking the species and not showing it for those 2 then. I'll see if I can find it for you.

EDIT: Found 2 sets of checks. There may be more, though.

Change 0x49718 to 00 00 00 00. This will disable the check.
Then change 0x1218E4 to 00 00 00 00.
Thanks for helping me out. Im not really good with ASM, can i change the codes in a hex editor?
or if not can i have a ASM link please.
  #21421    
Old May 29th, 2012 (08:38 PM).
miksy91's Avatar
miksy91
A GB/C Rom Hacker since 2010
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: A small country in the North
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote originally posted by Valentin:
Thanks for helping me out. Im not really good with ASM, can i change the codes in a hex editor?
That's exactly what he told you to do.

Download a hex editor and change data in those two offsets he mentioned.
__________________
My Rom Hack




Learn how to hack GB/C games:

Check my GameBoy/Color hacking videos in Youtube
-The video set uses Pokemon Silver (U) rom for demonstrations
  #21422    
Old May 30th, 2012 (12:06 AM).
sonic99
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Hello everybody!

I was recently playing a non-hacked version of Leaf Green. Just while messing around with some AR/GS coding, I lost the option to select "POKEMON" from the start menu. I'm guessing I turned off a flag that I didn't mean to.

Do you guys think I can go in on advance map or something and just flip it back?
If so, some pointers would be nice. I've done some hacking before but never any games of this Generation.

Thanks guys,
~Zach
  #21423    
Old May 30th, 2012 (02:22 AM).
vanillagfx's Avatar
vanillagfx
Togepi
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Trying out this FR base rom but the height levels are messed up any idea what can be wrong?

base by TB Pro, Kyledove, Saurav, Alistair
Attached Images
File Type: png crap.PNG‎ (7.4 KB, 3 views) (Save to Dropbox)
File Type: png jesus.PNG‎ (8.5 KB, 3 views) (Save to Dropbox)
File Type: png PALLET TOWN.png‎ (80.3 KB, 3 views) (Save to Dropbox)
__________________

Youtube Channel.
  #21424    
Old May 30th, 2012 (02:44 AM).
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Downia-upside
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote originally posted by sonic99:
Hello everybody!

I was recently playing a non-hacked version of Leaf Green. Just while messing around with some AR/GS coding, I lost the option to select "POKEMON" from the start menu. I'm guessing I turned off a flag that I didn't mean to.

Do you guys think I can go in on advance map or something and just flip it back?
If so, some pointers would be nice. I've done some hacking before but never any games of this Generation.

Thanks guys,
~Zach
You should be able to get that start menu option back by making a script in XSE with the command 'setflag 0x828'. Interact with that script n-game and the option will reappear.

Quote originally posted by vanillagfx:
Trying out this FR base rom but the height levels are messed up any idea what can be wrong?

base by TB Pro, Kyledove, Saurav, Alistair
In your first picture, the tile behaviours don't appear to be correct. Open the tileset editor in advance map, select the tile that is obscuring the player's head, open the 'background byte' selection bar and scroll down to/ select "Block is covered by hero".

As for the second picture, you shouldn't use the Movement Permission 0 throughout your map - C is the standard permission for regular ground.
__________________
  #21425    
Old May 30th, 2012 (05:55 AM).
DarkRisingGirl's Avatar
DarkRisingGirl
Order Must Be Restored
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: N/A
Gender: Female
Nature: Relaxed
Hey Everyone, I have a Question about using Unlz.gba for introduction hacking.

I've looked through tutorials and I see the number to edit the fire red hero in Unlz.gba is 341 & clicking the black/white box. However, when I go to that number in my rom, he does not appear. In an un-edited fire red rom, I went to 349(it wasn't in 341 in this one either) and I saw the fire red hero there. So what gives? All I did in my Edited rom was add pokemon and change a few maps/created scripts.

My question is, do the number for the introduction hero sprite change? I never tried to change the hero before until now in my edited rom, so I don't understand why it was not in 341 or 349.
Is there any way for me to find it so I can change it? It's pretty much one of the very few things preventing me from releasing a beta of my rom and I would appriciate any help in finding where it is in unlz.gba. Thank You.
__________________
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 12:47 PM.