Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub > Beginner’s Lounge
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Beginner’s Lounge Where all good (and bad) ideas start. This is the Beginner’s Lounge, where if you need a helping hand or want to develop your small ideas, you bring it here. We won't bite.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #21426    
Old May 30th, 2012 (05:59 AM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 7,290
Quote originally posted by DarkRisingGirl:
Hey Everyone, I have a Question about using Unlz.gba for introduction hacking.

I've looked through tutorials and I see the number to edit the fire red hero in Unlz.gba is 341 & clicking the black/white box. However, when I go to that number in my rom, he does not appear. In an un-edited fire red rom, I went to 349(it wasn't in 341 in this one either) and I saw the fire red hero there. So what gives? All I did in my Edited rom was add pokemon and change a few maps/created scripts.

My question is, do the number for the introduction hero sprite change? I never tried to change the hero before until now in my edited rom, so I don't understand why it was not in 341 or 349.
Is there any way for me to find it so I can change it? It's pretty much one of the very few things preventing me from releasing a beta of my rom and I would appriciate any help in finding where it is in unlz.gba. Thank You.
You said you "added" POKéMON and change a few maps.
That would mean that you have assigned the new inserted graphics to your ROM, and they are now holding new numbers instead of their default.
If you haven't touched the main character yet, then I am sure it's still there, but you'll have to find it for yourself.

In my current hack (Ruby hack), I replaced the old PKMN with new poses, and of course, I need to repoint them.
Repointing them can change the images' order in Unlz-GBA.
So, before, Bulbasaur was around 800+, but now, he moved in 200+ or so.

Just look for the one you're looking for.
__________________


FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

  #21427    
Old May 30th, 2012 (06:20 AM).
Mallowigi's Avatar
Mallowigi Mallowigi is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 54
Quote originally posted by DrFuji:
You should be able to get that start menu option back by making a script in XSE with the command 'setflag 0x828'. Interact with that script n-game and the option will reappear.



In your first picture, the tile behaviours don't appear to be correct. Open the tileset editor in advance map, select the tile that is obscuring the player's head, open the 'background byte' selection bar and scroll down to/ select "Block is covered by hero".

As for the second picture, you shouldn't use the Movement Permission 0 throughout your map - C is the standard permission for regular ground.
I'd like to add that this flag must be given by a npc rather than a tile. Stumbled upon this problem a while ago so I thought I'd share :p
  #21428    
Old May 30th, 2012 (06:36 AM).
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji DrFuji is offline
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Downia-upside
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 1,322
Quote originally posted by Mallowigi:
I'd like to add that this flag must be given by a npc rather than a tile. Stumbled upon this problem a while ago so I thought I'd share :p
Nope, it can be activated either way.
__________________
  #21429    
Old May 30th, 2012 (11:25 AM).
DarkRisingGirl's Avatar
DarkRisingGirl DarkRisingGirl is offline
Order Must Be Restored
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: N/A
Gender: Female
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 722
`
Quote originally posted by destinedjagold:

You said you "added" POKéMON and change a few maps.
That would mean that you have assigned the new inserted graphics to your ROM, and they are now holding new numbers instead of their default.
If you haven't touched the main character yet, then I am sure it's still there, but you'll have to find it for yourself.

In my current hack (Ruby hack), I replaced the old PKMN with new poses, and of course, I need to repoint them.
Repointing them can change the images' order in Unlz-GBA.
So, before, Bulbasaur was around 800+, but now, he moved in 200+ or so.

Just look for the one you're looking for.
It worked! I looked thru all of the numbers & it was 448. Thank you So Much!
__________________
  #21430    
Old May 31st, 2012 (05:33 AM).
hughrock's Avatar
hughrock hughrock is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 9
i was redirected here by and admin/mod for my request.

I am brand friggin new, and honestly, only joined to get help with hacking.

I can do just about everything except script. Making people talk is easy. There's like a thousand youtube videos on it.

My request is: Can anyone sit down with me and teach me script from the ground up.

I have been working on a completely new gen of pokemon and have been working on replacing pokemon in the pokedex with them. However, i want to have my own story events at the beginning.

I am also working on a digimon spin-off lol. It'll be awesome. I haven't found a decent digimon ROM hack yet, so i want mine to be perfect!

That's about it.
  #21431    
Old May 31st, 2012 (07:12 AM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 538
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by hughrock:
i was redirected here by and admin/mod for my request.

I am brand friggin new, and honestly, only joined to get help with hacking.

I can do just about everything except script. Making people talk is easy. There's like a thousand youtube videos on it.

My request is: Can anyone sit down with me and teach me script from the ground up.

I have been working on a completely new gen of pokemon and have been working on replacing pokemon in the pokedex with them. However, i want to have my own story events at the beginning.

I am also working on a digimon spin-off lol. It'll be awesome. I haven't found a decent digimon ROM hack yet, so i want mine to be perfect!

That's about it.
When you say "new gen", do you mean you're hacking a newer gen, i.e. Gen V or Gen IV, or are you "creating" your own gen, i.e adding completely nonexistant and designed by you Pokemon and region and everything, by hacking a Gen III or lower game? If it's the latter, I'd be glad to help you, so long as it's Gen III. Anything higher (or lower) I cant help you with, because I don't know how to script with it. Send me a PM if you need a scripting teacher for Gen III, otherwise, I won't be able to help.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21432    
Old May 31st, 2012 (09:13 AM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
ModeratorCS
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 3,830
So it appears removeitem doesn't work for Key Items. How would one go about removing a key item?
I'm using FireRed, if that is of any consollation.
  #21433    
Old May 31st, 2012 (09:16 AM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 538
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by Spherical Ice:
So it appears removeitem doesn't work for Key Items. How would one go about removing a key item?
I'm using FireRed, if that is of any consollation.
I just did a very quick test, and I was able to use removitem to remove both the Good Rod, which is a sort of minor item, and the TM Case, which is a sort of major item, and it worked fine. What are you trying to remove?

Edit: I was able to answer your question 3 minutes after you asked that...I think that's concrete proof I spend way to much time here...meh XD
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21434    
Old May 31st, 2012 (09:36 AM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
ModeratorCS
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 3,830
...nevermind, I made an extremely dumb mistake...

...that is, I left out the removeitem command. Ehe... Yeeeeeeah...

Thanks for the help anyway, aha... ^^'
  #21435    
Old May 31st, 2012 (01:58 PM).
hughrock's Avatar
hughrock hughrock is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 9
Quote:
When you say "new gen", do you mean you're hacking a newer gen, i.e. Gen V or Gen IV, or are you "creating" your own gen, i.e adding completely nonexistant and designed by you Pokemon and region and everything, by hacking a Gen III or lower game? If it's the latter, I'd be glad to help you, so long as it's Gen III. Anything higher (or lower) I cant help you with, because I don't know how to script with it. Send me a PM if you need a scripting teacher for Gen III, otherwise, I won't be able to help.
Sorry. I meant "recreate" gens 3 and below.

Also, i attempted to IM you from your profile page, but it gives me a URL ERROR
  #21436    
Old May 31st, 2012 (11:55 PM).
itman itman is offline
Back to ROM hacking. :D
 
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 21
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 100
I'm at a loss as to using the feature in jpan's hacked engine to change where you end up when you whiteout, can anyone explain how to set this up?
  #21437    
Old June 1st, 2012 (06:23 AM). Edited June 1st, 2012 by redriders180.
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 538
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by itman:
I'm at a loss as to using the feature in jpan's hacked engine to change where you end up when you whiteout, can anyone explain how to set this up?
JPANs hack engine no longer provides use to the "sethealingplace" command, using three variables instead. All you have to do is use setvar on three variables, and you'll whiteout in any place you want. The variables are set up like this:

Variable 0x405A is the map and bank, laid out like 0xMMbb, with MM being the map number and bb being the bank number, in hex of course. For example, if you want to white out at map 5, in bank 6, you would use setvar 0x405A 0x0506. Or, if you wanted to white out at map 3, in bank 7, you would use setvar 0x405A 0x0307.

Variable 0x405B is the X coordinate of where you wipe out, as seen in Advance Map.

Variable 0x405C is the Y coordinate of where you wipe out, as seen in Advance Map.

All you have to do is set those variables in a level script in a Pokemon Center or any other place you want to wipe out at. Because of this, Variables 0x405A, 0x405B, and 0x405C shouldn't be used at all in other scripts.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21438    
Old June 1st, 2012 (02:04 PM). Edited June 1st, 2012 by YogiBerra.
YogiBerra YogiBerra is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 48
Hello. I am making a hack of Pokemon FireRed and I have just started. I began with trying to add a new floor into the player's house in Pallet Town. So basically, instead of the player going downstairs and coming in the first floor of the house, they would come down to a hallway with another staircase at the end that takes them all the way downstairs.

So I inserted the new map by clicking the "Insert Map" shortcut at the top and I changed the size to suit my needs and then did all the mapping, changed the movement permissions, put all of my new warps in (Warps are the only events in the new map) and I linked the warp between the bottom of the stairs here, and the top of the stairs up in the player's room. I'm almost positive that everything is linked correctly and I've tried several different tile behaviors on the top and bottom of the stairs, but I'm still getting the problem.

The problem is that when I go down the stairs, I get a black screen, as if the map didn't load. The music still plays, but I'm pretty sure I can't move (even though I couldn't see if I could). I have tried linking the player's room (which is currently unchanged, though I plan to change it) to the bottom floor (which is also unchanged, but it will be changed again) and that works, but going to the created floor does not. Everything links up right in Advance Map and everything, but just not when I play through it in VBA.

Thank you to anybody who can help, I'm sorry about my long-windedness but I wanted to give as much information as possible. If you have any questions or if I should make a new topic or move this or anything, don't hesitate to let me know. Thanks again!

Edit: I am using Advance Map by the way, I forgot to mention that.
  #21439    
Old June 1st, 2012 (04:18 PM).
Nikose Nikose is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 3
Alright, I've searched the thread and I don't think my particular issue has been asked about before.

Information about what I'm using:
FireRed Rom (English)
VisualBoyAdvance
Pokemon Editor (From the GBA Pokemon Game Editor by Gamer2020 and 0xRH) (I've also attempted YASE with no luck).
A-Starter
A-Trainer

Issue:
I am unable to change how some pokemon evolve. To describe my issue, I am will use an Eevee.
I used A-Starter to change one of my starters to an Eevee, and set my starter to hold a Moon Stone.
I then used Pokemon Editor to change Eevee to evolve into Umbreon with a Moon Stone, and Espeon with a Sun Stone.

I immediately upon entering game attempt to use the Moon Stone to evolve Eevee. It begins the animation for evolution, but then halts and declares "...huh?" and I am returned to the item inventory screen.

I attempted to solve this myself by using a clean FireRed ROM, making the change to an Eevee Starter, and then use YASE to attempt the changes; this time fully deleting the evolution options for Eevee, and then reattaching them with the appropriate flags in YASE. Again, I start the ROM from a clean save and attempt immediately, before facing my rival; same issue occurs.

I continue the save file and attempt after I receive the Pokedex, as well.

Can someone please advise me of what I've done wrong, or suggest any possible fixes?
  #21440    
Old June 1st, 2012 (04:51 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 538
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by Nikose:
Alright, I've searched the thread and I don't think my particular issue has been asked about before.

Information about what I'm using:
FireRed Rom (English)
VisualBoyAdvance
Pokemon Editor (From the GBA Pokemon Game Editor by Gamer2020 and 0xRH) (I've also attempted YASE with no luck).
A-Starter
A-Trainer

Issue:
I am unable to change how some pokemon evolve. To describe my issue, I am will use an Eevee.
I used A-Starter to change one of my starters to an Eevee, and set my starter to hold a Moon Stone.
I then used Pokemon Editor to change Eevee to evolve into Umbreon with a Moon Stone, and Espeon with a Sun Stone.

I immediately upon entering game attempt to use the Moon Stone to evolve Eevee. It begins the animation for evolution, but then halts and declares "...huh?" and I am returned to the item inventory screen.

I attempted to solve this myself by using a clean FireRed ROM, making the change to an Eevee Starter, and then use YASE to attempt the changes; this time fully deleting the evolution options for Eevee, and then reattaching them with the appropriate flags in YASE. Again, I start the ROM from a clean save and attempt immediately, before facing my rival; same issue occurs.

I continue the save file and attempt after I receive the Pokedex, as well.

Can someone please advise me of what I've done wrong, or suggest any possible fixes?
This problem actually happens extremely often, and I think it's been asked alot on here. In Firered, the only Pokemon that evolve are Pokemon from Gen I, unless you have the National Dex. This is to prevent Golbat evolving into Crobat, Eevee into Espeon and Umbreon, etc. etc. To fix, enable the National Dex.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21441    
Old June 1st, 2012 (05:04 PM).
Nikose Nikose is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 3
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
This problem actually happens extremely often, and I think it's been asked alot on here. In Firered, the only Pokemon that evolve are Pokemon from Gen I, unless you have the National Dex. This is to prevent Golbat evolving into Crobat, Eevee into Espeon and Umbreon, etc. etc. To fix, enable the National Dex.
Thank you very much! I'll start looking for how to do that now. (If you know where to link me for that information, could you PM it to me? I appreciate it.)
  #21442    
Old June 1st, 2012 (05:18 PM).
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji DrFuji is offline
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Downia-upside
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 1,322
Quote originally posted by Nikose:
Thank you very much! :) I'll start looking for how to do that now. (If you know where to link me for that information, could you PM it to me? I appreciate it.)
In FireRed you activate the National Pokedex by writing a script with the command 'special 0x16F' somewhere in it. Place it in a person event or green script tile and interact with it in-game. The best time to activate this would be when you get your regular Pokedex.
__________________
  #21443    
Old June 1st, 2012 (05:37 PM).
Nikose Nikose is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 3
Thank you! That makes all this much easier.
  #21444    
Old June 2nd, 2012 (10:27 AM).
auramasterXD's Avatar
auramasterXD auramasterXD is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Finland
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Posts: 3
Send a message via Skype™ to auramasterXD
Hi everyone!
I have been making rom hack from fire red
and i followed xatokus intro editing tutorial, But i don't know what is rivals intro sprite APE offset palette. And if i just import the sprite with unlz the sprite has wrong colors and red cube surrouding it.

So what i have to do?
  #21445    
Old June 2nd, 2012 (10:34 AM).
MrTripStack's Avatar
MrTripStack MrTripStack is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Orlando, FL (USA)
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 39
I'm trying to find a Pokémon editor for GSC. I'm currently re-playing through Crystal through an emulator and I'm using Geodude and Abra in my team, but I cannot get their last forms without trading, so I'd like to find a simple program that can change the evolution requirements. I have used YAPE for GBA roms, but is doesn't read GBC roms.

I'm thinking of making them evolve around level 36 or maybe even through max friendship.
__________________
“Let go of your attachment to being right, and suddenly your mind is more open. You're able to benefit from the unique viewpoints of others, without being crippled by your own judgment.”
  #21446    
Old June 2nd, 2012 (10:56 AM).
miksy91's Avatar
miksy91 miksy91 is offline
Dark Energy is back in action! ;)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: A small country in the North
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 1,336
Quote originally posted by MrTripStack:
I'm trying to find a Pokémon editor for GSC. I'm currently re-playing through Crystal through an emulator and I'm using Geodude and Abra in my team, but I cannot get their last forms without trading, so I'd like to find a simple program that can change the evolution requirements. I have used YAPE for GBA roms, but is doesn't read GBC roms.

I'm thinking of making them evolve around level 36 or maybe even through max friendship.
Time to learn to use a hex editor!
This is a pretty easy thing you're trying to do so there is also a newbie-friendly tutorial for this stuff.
Editing level-up moves and evolutions

If you're having problems, PM me or join Skeetendo and ask on that thread I linked.
__________________
My Rom Hack




Learn how to hack GB/C games:

Check my GameBoy/Color hacking videos in Youtube
-The video set uses Pokemon Silver (U) rom for demonstrations
  #21447    
Old June 2nd, 2012 (12:23 PM).
Waggs's Avatar
Waggs Waggs is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 8
Since I'm relatively new to hacking I was messing around with a hack. I was trying to edit the intro hero, but before I knew what I was doing I inserted one that was to small using UnLZ. But now that I want to put in a proper one I can't for some reason. Using UnLZ it just doesn't appear even though I was able to use that way on a clean rom. And using NSE I can't make the sprite 8 x 12 so that I can insert a new one. So my question is, is there anyone to change it back from 8x8 to 8x12 ?
  #21448    
Old June 2nd, 2012 (06:45 PM).
Sagiri's Avatar
Sagiri Sagiri is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Age: 21
Posts: 630
Okay, so I've been learning some asm recently, and, I must say - people make it out to be a lot harder than it really is. It's a bit annoying to remember the syntax, but using it is easy, or at least, far easier than I was expecting.

But, I do have a little question - does pushing registers actually set the value in the register to zero? That may be a silly question, but as far as I can tell, all it does is put the data into the stack.

The reason why I ask is that, I have a routine that actually requires pushing the registers in the middle of it (parts of it need manipulating a lot of registers at once), and I didn't want to have to have a ton of lines of "sub rx,rx,rx" if I don't need them.
  #21449    
Old June 2nd, 2012 (07:49 PM).
Tru Eagle's Avatar
Tru Eagle Tru Eagle is offline
Flying Type Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Missouri, USA
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 50
I keep getting the same error code over and over again any time I try to use a map editing program. "Component COMDLG32.OXC or one of its dependencies is not correctly registered: A file is missing or invalid." Now before you ask, I have located said file and have tried everything I can think of to make it register with the program, placing it in the same folder is the most obvious of choices BUT it doesn't work. Plain and simple.

Suggestions?
__________________

I'm a big deal bruh. Ya heard?
Pokemon Yellow Version Walkthrough
Pokemon Platinum Version Walkthrough
Pokemon Black Version Walkthrough
  #21450    
Old June 2nd, 2012 (08:58 PM).
vanillagfx's Avatar
vanillagfx vanillagfx is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 90
What tools would edit the moves at which level a pokemon will learn.
__________________

Youtube Channel.
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 08:28 AM.