The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #21476    
Old June 6th, 2012, 04:33 PM
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Upside-downia
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadThrasher View Post
OK, so I found a character table for them and got Í/í to work. Meanwhile, I figured out that there are many, many useless letters to replace with Ő/ő and Ű/ű. So now the only question I have: how do I edit the tiles for these letters? What tools do I need? I haven't been able to find information related to this. Thanks in advance!
This tutorial shows you how to change the font of letters, but you should be able to use to completely change the letters as well.
__________________
  #21477    
Old June 7th, 2012, 08:05 AM
LugiaMZ's Avatar
LugiaMZ
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
I don't know what method you use, But I just open A-map, click the purple puzzle piece, then go to Picture>Save Tileset 1. Save it somewhere, open it in paint, add the graphics you need, making sure the COLORS MATCH THE ORIGINAL, then put it back in A-map with Picture>Load Tileset 1.

I recommend A-Map 1.95 for this process, since whenever I use A-Map 1.92, it exports the tileset in a strange file type.
Thanks for reply , now I knew how to do it. But now I have a new problem. I using Pokemon Fire Red Rom , I need to create 2 region at the same rom. So, I use Kanto region to made 1, then I want to use Map no 2( The Island 1/2/3 world map) , The map only have a few town and route. Example I use Pallet Town create into the Map no 2 , but I test at the Pallet Town open worldmap in VBA, hero head also at the Pallet Town at Kanto map , I only know how to changing a town/route Pos X/Y
in the map , how do I change hero head to the Map no 2 Pallet Town when i open worldmap at game? Thanks ~
  #21478    
Old June 7th, 2012, 08:30 AM
itman
Back to ROM hacking. :D
 
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 20
Nature: Adamant
Quote:
Originally Posted by LugiaMZ View Post
Thanks for reply , now I knew how to do it. But now I have a new problem. I using Pokemon Fire Red Rom , I need to create 2 region at the same rom. So, I use Kanto region to made 1, then I want to use Map no 2( The Island 1/2/3 world map) , The map only have a few town and route. Example I use Pallet Town create into the Map no 2 , but I test at the Pallet Town open worldmap in VBA, hero head also at the Pallet Town at Kanto map , I only know how to changing a town/route Pos X/Y
in the map , how do I change hero head to the Map no 2 Pallet Town when i open worldmap at game? Thanks ~ :)
I think you're talking about connection settings, assuming I understand what you're saying...

In a-map 1.92 I believe one of the pictures (next to show sprite, etc...) is the connection settings. It's self explanatory from there, you just change where you want the map to connect to.
  #21479    
Old June 7th, 2012, 12:39 PM
Slike's Avatar
Slike
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Gender: Male
I'm trying to change the music for a trainer battle. However, there doesn't seem to be any indication of what song plays with trainers, no matter what theme plays. How would one go about this sort of change?
  #21480    
Old June 7th, 2012, 04:51 PM
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote:
Originally Posted by LugiaMZ View Post
Thanks for reply , now I knew how to do it. But now I have a new problem. I using Pokemon Fire Red Rom , I need to create 2 region at the same rom. So, I use Kanto region to made 1, then I want to use Map no 2( The Island 1/2/3 world map) , The map only have a few town and route. Example I use Pallet Town create into the Map no 2 , but I test at the Pallet Town open worldmap in VBA, hero head also at the Pallet Town at Kanto map , I only know how to changing a town/route Pos X/Y
in the map , how do I change hero head to the Map no 2 Pallet Town when i open worldmap at game? Thanks ~
I understand...you're wanting to change what map appears when you open the World Map. I had a similar problem, since my game has multiple regions, and the best way to do it is with a hex editor, I'm afraid. I'll link to a tutorial you'd find useful, but I'll sum up what you can do to avoid using it.

Which map appears is based on the name (yes, name) of the current route you're on. Anything with an index from 0x58 to 0x8E ("Pallet Town" to "Power Plant") Automatically end up showing Map 1. It's down in the programming that, if the index is less than or equal to 0x8E, display map 1. For the other maps, it uses a list, making Maps 2-4 easier to customize. Tutorial for the above is here, courtesy of Mastermind X
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21481    
Old June 7th, 2012, 06:13 PM
dragonfyre173's Avatar
dragonfyre173
Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Yahoo to dragonfyre173
I'm fairly new to ROM hacking, so forgive me if this is a simple question, but is there a way to change the criteria of the stars on the Trainer Card? For example, if I wanted it to give you a star for finding a certain set of items instead of the Pokémon Contests in Pokémon Emerald, could I do that?
__________________
12/18/11: First post since two-thousand-frickin'-nine. :D
  #21482    
Old June 7th, 2012, 09:20 PM
itman
Back to ROM hacking. :D
 
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 20
Nature: Adamant
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonfyre173 View Post
I'm fairly new to ROM hacking, so forgive me if this is a simple question, but is there a way to change the criteria of the stars on the Trainer Card? For example, if I wanted it to give you a star for finding a certain set of items instead of the Pokémon Contests in Pokémon Emerald, could I do that?
That would require ASM as far as I know. Since you're new to rom hacking I would suggest understanding how to script and getting comfortable with hex first. :)
  #21483    
Old June 8th, 2012, 02:31 AM
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
I've been making my game for a while now, using FR and I just started importing my new Pokemon into the game (I've done it before without any problems) but after I import them and try to open that same Rom on Advance Map, it says "ERROR: (EHeaderError) Error on getting Tileset Header, MapBankHeader seems to be corrupted." and I can understand what that means, I just don't understand why this happens after I import my Pokemon. Can someone please help?
  #21484    
Old June 8th, 2012, 03:11 AM
Rokou
» inactive
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpadeEdge16 View Post
I've been making my game for a while now, using FR and I just started importing my new Pokemon into the game (I've done it before without any problems) but after I import them and try to open that same Rom on Advance Map, it says "ERROR: (EHeaderError) Error on getting Tileset Header, MapBankHeader seems to be corrupted." and I can understand what that means, I just don't understand why this happens after I import my Pokemon. Can someone please help?
You probably took a wrong offset by mistake and screwed up your ROM. Fixing this can be both, difficult and time consuming so I suggest to take a clean one and do it again.
  #21485    
Old June 8th, 2012, 03:22 AM
Typhlosion Lv 99's Avatar
Typhlosion Lv 99
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Indonesia
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Bashful
hey everyone,i hacking firered. I spent allday to hacking that rom.When i test my hack,it works fine.But,a problem started.The game reset itself when my character was walking.I dont know how to fix it.I am stress!!i dont want to start my hack from scratch again!.I hope someone can fix it.Sorry for my bad english.
  #21486    
Old June 8th, 2012, 03:58 AM
Rokou
» inactive
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Typhlosion Lv 99 View Post
hey everyone,i hacking firered. I spent allday to hacking that rom.When i test my hack,it works fine.But,a problem started.The game reset itself when my character was walking.I dont know how to fix it.I am stress!!i dont want to start my hack from scratch again!.I hope someone can fix it.Sorry for my bad english.
I already told you in another post but well, better start from a fresh ROM and re-insert your stuff again. Be careful with offsets and already existing content and you'll be fine. Oh and by the way, finding and fixing the problem which causes the game to freeze will probably take more time than restarting your project.
  #21487    
Old June 8th, 2012, 04:16 AM
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slike View Post
I'm trying to change the music for a trainer battle. However, there doesn't seem to be any indication of what song plays with trainers, no matter what theme plays. How would one go about this sort of change?
If you're on FR, the reason there's no indication is that there is no table. FR only has 6 or 7 bits of battle music, and so, assigns the music using ASM. There's 2 ways around it:
1 - Use Mastermind_X's var music switching hack (it works, but is useless for switching more rapidly since you can't put a setvar at the start of a trainerbattle script).
2 - You can use one of my routines which creates a table which allows definitions of regional music and trainer class based music (so you could define Team Rocket to have a battle theme, for example).


While we're at it, it's also possible to define more custom encounter music. I'll add the code in question to this post when I get to my PC.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!

Last edited by Jambo51; June 8th, 2012 at 05:57 AM.
  #21488    
Old June 8th, 2012, 04:22 AM
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by Typhlosion Lv 99 View Post
hey everyone,i hacking firered. I spent allday to hacking that rom.When i test my hack,it works fine.But,a problem started.The game reset itself when my character was walking.I dont know how to fix it.I am stress!!i dont want to start my hack from scratch again!.I hope someone can fix it.Sorry for my bad english.
Like Rokou stated, you must have overwritten an existing data in the ROM that causes the glitch.
But more details to the glitch might be helpful.
Were you walking and about to enter a new map?
Were you walking and then you stepped on a script tile?
__________________
  #21489    
Old June 8th, 2012, 05:16 AM
Typhlosion Lv 99's Avatar
Typhlosion Lv 99
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Indonesia
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Bashful
so,you are destinedjagold?i am fan of your hack,Ruby Destiny Rescue Ranger.That the best hack!
Mm,back to the problem.the problem happen when player walking normally (not when enter map or anything else).That also happen to my Emerald hack.
  #21490    
Old June 8th, 2012, 06:20 AM
Rokou
» inactive
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Typhlosion Lv 99 View Post
so,you are destinedjagold?i am fan of your hack,Ruby Destiny Rescue Ranger.That the best hack!
Mm,back to the problem.the problem happen when player walking normally (not when enter map or anything else).That also happen to my Emerald hack.
Weird problem, which tools do you use?
  #21491    
Old June 8th, 2012, 06:36 AM
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by Typhlosion Lv 99 View Post
so,you are destinedjagold?i am fan of your hack,Ruby Destiny Rescue Ranger.That the best hack!
Mm,back to the problem.the problem happen when player walking normally (not when enter map or anything else).That also happen to my Emerald hack.
That's a really weird glitch.
You have probably overwritten something very important in the game.
What were you doing with your hack before this happened?
And as Rokou asked, what hacking tools did you use?
__________________
  #21492    
Old June 8th, 2012, 06:54 AM
Typhlosion Lv 99's Avatar
Typhlosion Lv 99
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Indonesia
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Bashful
Quote:
Originally Posted by destinedjagold View Post


That's a really weird glitch.
You have probably overwritten something very important in the game.
What were you doing with your hack before this happened?
And as Rokou asked, what hacking tools did you use?
Yeah,now i have fixed that problem.It because there are something wrong with the script(its hard to explain it).When i deleted that script,everything back to normal,no problem anymore.
  #21493    
Old June 8th, 2012, 09:38 AM
itman
Back to ROM hacking. :D
 
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 20
Nature: Adamant
I'm having trouble understanding "trainer customization" for Jpan's hacked engine. The guide that came with it wasn't that clear (to me atleast...).

I understand how to make the script, by setting all the variables, but what I'm confused with is how to make those variables activate what I want, since just making a script like that does nothing. I have a feeling I have to change a pointer somewhere but I'm not sure if I'm correct. xD How do I pick which OW to change into, like what makes the script decide what OW you will become? And if anyone knows, is it possible to then change back, and then become another different OW? I'm sure once I figure out this part I'll be able to do the backsprite switching and stuff, I'm just so confused. :x
  #21494    
Old June 8th, 2012, 10:33 AM
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rokou View Post
You probably took a wrong offset by mistake and screwed up your ROM. Fixing this can be both, difficult and time consuming so I suggest to take a clean one and do it again.
Well, I used the Free Space Finder to get my offsets, and it's worked in the past, but when you say a a clean one do you mean Rom? I was thinking I might be able to redownload Advance Map instead, cause I have almost every map edited on my current save. :/
I've heard you can transfer your saved maps to another Rom, but I haven't seen how to do that yet.
  #21495    
Old June 8th, 2012, 10:47 AM
Rokou
» inactive
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
You can save your maps, just browse around "File" - everything else is self explaining. By the way, which Advance Map version do you use? I recommend using 1.92 since 1.95 may has some bugs due the complete recode Lu-Ho made.
__________________

Last edited by Rokou; June 8th, 2012 at 11:04 AM.
  #21496    
Old June 8th, 2012, 11:20 AM
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rokou View Post
You can save your maps, just browse around "File" - everything else is self explaining. By the way, which Advance Map version do you use? I recommend using 1.92 since 1.95 may has some bugs due the complete recode Lu-Ho made.
I think I did have 1.92, but I just got 1.95 and it's opening now, so I guess the Advance Map just got messed up somehow, but if 95 is buggy then I can still just download 92 again.
Also, do you know if FSF is better to use than Hex Editor? I tried using it since you said I may have used the wrong offset so I wanted to clearly see which ones I was getting, but when I saw my Pokemon in the game, they were all glitchy, and that hasn't happened since the first time i tried putting them in.
  #21497    
Old June 8th, 2012, 11:28 AM
Rokou
» inactive
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Version 1.95 is not buggy, it probably has some bugs which 1.92 doesnt have. I usually use a hex editor in order to find free space, starting at 0x800000 most of the time while using Firered. If you use FSF, do you look for FF or 00 bytes? Using 00 will most likely result in bugs and glitches, this is probably what happened to you.
__________________
  #21498    
Old June 8th, 2012, 11:33 AM
FearAddict's Avatar
FearAddict
Addicted to Fear, as usually
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Gender: Male
Hai all, I got a problem with A-map. When i set pokemon in wild pokemon editor (i put taillows in route 1 and some pidgeys and rattatas) but the only pokemon i encounter are sandslash of high level. Can someone help me? I would really appreciate!

Thanks in advance all!
  #21499    
Old June 8th, 2012, 11:39 AM
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rokou View Post
Version 1.95 is not buggy, it probably has some bugs which 1.92 doesnt have. I usually use a hex editor in order to find free space, starting at 0x800000 most of the time while using Firered. If you use FSF, do you look for FF or 00 bytes? Using 00 will most likely result in bugs and glitches, this is probably what happened to you.
I use FF, but I can try searching near the offsets you suggested, at least that way I can know where I'm putting everything. Thank you very much.
  #21500    
Old June 8th, 2012, 12:31 PM
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote:
Originally Posted by itman View Post
I'm having trouble understanding "trainer customization" for Jpan's hacked engine. The guide that came with it wasn't that clear (to me atleast...).

I understand how to make the script, by setting all the variables, but what I'm confused with is how to make those variables activate what I want, since just making a script like that does nothing. I have a feeling I have to change a pointer somewhere but I'm not sure if I'm correct. xD How do I pick which OW to change into, like what makes the script decide what OW you will become? And if anyone knows, is it possible to then change back, and then become another different OW? I'm sure once I figure out this part I'll be able to do the backsprite switching and stuff, I'm just so confused. :x
The OW switch isn't too hard, actually. All you have to do is set the variables listed to the values of the OW. For example, if you want to change the hero from the current sprite to the 0x20th OW, then you just set variable 0x4054 to 0x20. That's all there is to it, basically. You need to refresh the map before the changes take hold, though, by warping, or possibly by Special 0x8E (the setmaptile special).

I don't know exactly which parts confuse you, and it might just be a misunderstanding. I'll assume you know that this code only changes what the hero OW looks like, it doesn't actually switch you with another person event. You can change back by setting the variable 0x4054 (or whichever you changed) back to 0x0 for male or 0x7 for female, since those are the OW numbers of the male and female hero sprites.

If you have any more questions, VM or PM me, and I'll do the best I can to help.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 11:30 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.