Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub > Beginner’s Lounge
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Beginner’s Lounge Where all good (and bad) ideas start. This is the Beginner’s Lounge, where if you need a helping hand or want to develop your small ideas, you bring it here. We won't bite.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #21551    
Old June 11th, 2012 (05:21 AM).
KF KF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
Quote originally posted by Jambo51:
That's an interesting one. The limit is the total of all your EVs, yeah? There'll be a limiter somewhere in the ROM which specifically disallows for the total being higher than that. I'll see if I can find it.


Oh god thank you so much! My hack will be absolutely awesome, and if you find a way to change the EV limit, you'll be sure to have your name in my game!
  #21552    
Old June 11th, 2012 (05:37 AM). Edited June 11th, 2012 by Jambo51.
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51 Jambo51 is offline
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 731
To disable the 510 EV limit, open your ROM in a Hex Editor and change:

0x439E0 C0 00

However, I can't guarantee that this will also apply to the Exp. Share EVs. It will definitely work for normal EV application though.
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
  #21553    
Old June 11th, 2012 (06:08 AM).
KF KF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
Quote originally posted by Jambo51:
To disable the 510 EV limit, open your ROM in a Hex Editor and change:

0x439E0 00 C0

However, I can't guarantee that this will also apply to the Exp. Share EVs. It will definitely work for normal EV application though.
Thank you so much dude! But how can I find this "0x439E0 00 C0"

I can't find anything like this with my hex editor.
  #21554    
Old June 11th, 2012 (06:14 AM).
miksy91's Avatar
miksy91 miksy91 is offline
Dark Energy is back in action! ;)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: A small country in the North
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 1,335
Quote originally posted by KF:
Thank you so much dude! But how can I find this "0x439E0 00 C0"

I can't find anything like this with my hex editor.
0x439E0 is an offset where you should go with the "Go to offset" (or whatever your hex editor shows it as) command.
There, change the first two bytes you see into 00 C0.
__________________
My Rom Hack




Learn how to hack GB/C games:

Check my GameBoy/Color hacking videos in Youtube
-The video set uses Pokemon Silver (U) rom for demonstrations
  #21555    
Old June 11th, 2012 (06:26 AM). Edited June 11th, 2012 by KF.
KF KF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
It's wierd, it doesn't seem to work. Is this for Fire Red? Are you in 16 bits?

000439E0 40 00 81 42 04 DD 10 18 39 19 40 1A 00 04 04 0C This is what I have. Which ones have I to change?

I changed the 40 00 in 00 0C, and now the limit is 255.
  #21556    
Old June 11th, 2012 (07:27 AM).
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51 Jambo51 is offline
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 731
Quote originally posted by KF:
It's wierd, it doesn't seem to work. Is this for Fire Red? Are you in 16 bits?

000439E0 40 00 81 42 04 DD 10 18 39 19 40 1A 00 04 04 0C This is what I have. Which ones have I to change?

I changed the 40 00 in 00 0C, and now the limit is 255.
Firstly, I gave you the thing to change the wrong way round.
Secondly, you changed it wrong, anyway.

Go to 0x439E0 and change it from 40 00 to C0 00.
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
  #21557    
Old June 11th, 2012 (07:28 AM). Edited June 11th, 2012 by LugiaMZ.
LugiaMZ's Avatar
LugiaMZ LugiaMZ is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 72
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
For the former, yes. the 08 denotes that the values are in the ROM, which is generally the most edited portion of the game itself, and used by all tools and scripts. Other values access different parts of the memory.

For the latter, also yes.
Thanks, I tried, It work! Now, I have a bunch of problem, hope you can use your super brain to reply me.

1) I want to edit Worldmap 2/3/4, but I can't find at unlz-gba, can you give me those unlz num or anythings to edit them?

2) I need to create 2 region so need 8 Elite Four, Can I add the Elite Four before battle the big sprite ( Before battle with Elite Four or champion will appear the big face sprite)? How to add them? I know this is impossible.

3) How do I change trainer battle music? Example I use Brock, it track is battle with gym leader and elite four, so I want to change it to champion battle track, how can I do it? ( I not mean Sappy to assembly song, I'm only want to change trainer battle music to other music) And Can I change simple one trainer battle music change to Pallet Town? How to do it?

4) Can I change pokemon move sprite and move animation? Example I want to Change AeroBlast to Pokemon The Power of one the lugia AeroBlast? How to change it?

5) If I patched the Fire Red +40 OW Sprite patcher at tutorial page to my clean Fire Red Rom, then I patched JPAN Hacked Engine V1.1 to the same Rom, it has any problem with the rom?

6) My Fire Red Rom having save problem, I know need to change VBA save type, but when play at gpsp how to save it? How do I fix this problem?
  #21558    
Old June 11th, 2012 (07:45 AM). Edited June 11th, 2012 by KF.
KF KF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
Quote originally posted by Jambo51:
Firstly, I gave you the thing to change the wrong way round.
Secondly, you changed it wrong, anyway.

Go to 0x439E0 and change it from 40 00 to C0 00.
It still doesn't work it's stuck to 516 now.

I understand what you did, I tried to change this value a little, and I saw that 00 limits to 255 EVs, you add 40 and it gets to the actual 510 EVs, and then x3 for the 1530 EVs (40x3 = C0 in hexadecimal).
I thought it would work too this time, but when I tried to train my Eevee (with macho Brace and Pokérus), I could make it go up to 519 and now it's unable to earn EVs anymore.

I don't really understand this, it should have worked.
  #21559    
Old June 11th, 2012 (08:39 AM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 538
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by LugiaMZ:
Thanks, I tried, It work! Now, I have a bunch of problem, hope you can use your super brain to reply me.

1) I want to edit Worldmap 2/3/4, but I can't find at unlz-gba, can you give me those unlz num or anythings to edit them?

2) I need to create 2 region so need 8 Elite Four, Can I add the Elite Four before battle the big sprite ( Before battle with Elite Four or champion will appear the big face sprite)? How to add them? I know this is impossible.

3) How do I change trainer battle music? Example I use Brock, it track is battle with gym leader and elite four, so I want to change it to champion battle track, how can I do it? ( I not mean Sappy to assembly song, I'm only want to change trainer battle music to other music) And Can I change simple one trainer battle music change to Pallet Town? How to do it?

4) Can I change pokemon move sprite and move animation? Example I want to Change AeroBlast to Pokemon The Power of one the lugia AeroBlast? How to change it?

5) If I patched the Fire Red +40 OW Sprite patcher at tutorial page to my clean Fire Red Rom, then I patched JPAN Hacked Engine V1.1 to the same Rom, it has any problem with the rom?

6) My Fire Red Rom having save problem, I know need to change VBA save type, but when play at gpsp how to save it? How do I fix this problem?
Yay lists!

1) Worldmaps 1, 2, 3, and 4 in Firered all use the exact same image on UNLZ.gba, but each map has a different tilemap. For info on changing these, I recommend this tutorial.

2) I believe you're referring to the Vs Screen before you battle the E4. This is possible, since I did it in my hack, but I don't know where the tutorial is. I recommend searching around the tutorial thread.

3) I've heard that there isn't a table or anything that controls what music plays where, so I don't know how to fix it. However, Jambo51 said he had a routine that could accomplish this. I'd PM him, and I also hope he'll post his routine here, because I really want it too @_@

4) I don't think anyone's completely figured out how to do move animations.

5) I've never tried it, but I'm guessing there might be a small problem, since the table that deals with the 60,000+ OW has a pointer to the original OW data, and not to the newly repointed OW data that I assume the 40+ Sprite patch would have. Just go in with a hex editor, and do some poking around to find your pointers and replace the old one with the new one.

6) I think pretty much all ROMs have trouble saving on VBA. I've played ShinyGold on both No$GBA and VBA, and it saved fine in one, and failed in the other. I've even played a normal Emerald rom, and it failed to save as well. The best option is to just take savestates of the game.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21560    
Old June 11th, 2012 (09:57 AM).
DarkCharizard77's Avatar
DarkCharizard77 DarkCharizard77 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 22
I got the older version of NSE one cause i thought it would be easier to use.
  #21561    
Old June 11th, 2012 (09:58 AM).
PokemonPurple's Avatar
PokemonPurple PokemonPurple is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 31
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
Which version of NSE did you get? The newer one (2.X) or the older one? I usually use the older one for OW sprites, probably just because I'm more comfortable with the older version.



I'd begin by looking at various events on the map you're trying to warp to. Sometimes, person events cause the game to freeze, especially if they are set to the wrong "hidden" setting. It might be a problem with one of the level scripts as well. If neither of those are the case, I'd open up the header tab, in professional view, and double-check that all the offsets end in 0, 4, 8, or C. If none of those work, The only thing left to do would be to boot up a backup, or at least just make a separate map with the exact same stuff as the first, and see if that does anything.
My map-script offset ends in a 7, is that the problem?
__________________
Pokemon Purple: 10% Done ||||||||||
Dream Team -
Click Here for Pokemon: Purple Website!
  #21562    
Old June 11th, 2012 (10:05 AM).
DarkCharizard77's Avatar
DarkCharizard77 DarkCharizard77 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 22
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
Which version of NSE did you get? The newer one (2.X) or the older one? I usually use the older one for OW sprites, probably just because I'm more comfortable with the older version.

I got the older one cause i thought it would be easier to use.
  #21563    
Old June 11th, 2012 (10:16 AM).
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51 Jambo51 is offline
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 731
Quote originally posted by KF:
It still doesn't work it's stuck to 516 now.

I understand what you did, I tried to change this value a little, and I saw that 00 limits to 255 EVs, you add 40 and it gets to the actual 510 EVs, and then x3 for the 1530 EVs (40x3 = C0 in hexadecimal).
I thought it would work too this time, but when I tried to train my Eevee (with macho Brace and Pokérus), I could make it go up to 519 and now it's unable to earn EVs anymore.

I don't really understand this, it should have worked.
There's a secondary check later which I didn't spot. Go to 0x43A3C and change it to EXACTLY THIS: F9 05 00 00

If that doesn't solve it, then there are checks deeper inside the actual Pokémon encrypter, which would take some time to find.
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
  #21564    
Old June 11th, 2012 (10:38 AM).
PokemonPurple's Avatar
PokemonPurple PokemonPurple is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 31
My problem has been resolved, I just duped the maps and changed the warps. Thanks for the help guys. :')
__________________
Pokemon Purple: 10% Done ||||||||||
Dream Team -
Click Here for Pokemon: Purple Website!
  #21565    
Old June 11th, 2012 (10:41 AM).
KF KF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
Quote originally posted by Jambo51:
There's a secondary check later which I didn't spot. Go to 0x43A3C and change it to EXACTLY THIS: F9 05 00 00

If that doesn't solve it, then there are checks deeper inside the actual Pokémon encrypter, which would take some time to find.
Hehehe no! There isn't any other check! Thank you soooooooo much dude! You helped me a lot with my rom hack!
Fore sure you'll be in my game! (trainer or whatever you want)

You helped me to make a unique rom hack!
  #21566    
Old June 11th, 2012 (01:26 PM).
sonic1's Avatar
sonic1 sonic1 is offline
ASM is my life now...
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Portugal
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 79
Quote originally posted by redriders180:

3) I've heard that there isn't a table or anything that controls what music plays where, so I don't know how to fix it. However, Jambo51 said he had a routine that could accomplish this. I'd PM him, and I also hope he'll post his routine here, because I really want it too @_@
Hya, dude.I'm sure Jambo51 has an advanced version of the routine, but for starters, what you might want is a piece of work made by our dear ASM hacker MM_X.
The routine you're looking for is here: http://sfc.pokefans.net/lesson.php?id=13

Greetz
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
over 350px high
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #21567    
Old June 11th, 2012 (03:18 PM). Edited June 11th, 2012 by redriders180.
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 538
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by sonic1:


Hya, dude.I'm sure Jambo51 has an advanced version of the routine, but for starters, what you might want is a piece of work made by our dear ASM hacker MM_X.
The routine you're looking for is here: http://sfc.pokefans.net/lesson.php?id=13

Greetz
I've actually seen this tutorial, and it didn't end up working for me v.v. I was actually referring to different battle themes depending on the trainer class, which isn't always easy to do with variables, since trainer battles freeze when the first command is something that isn't "trainerbattle ...". He mentioned such a routine a page or two ago, and I was hoping to try it out.

Quote originally posted by Jambo51:
...
2 - You can use one of my routines which creates a table which allows definitions of regional music and trainer class based music (so you could define Team Rocket to have a battle theme, for example).


While we're at it, it's also possible to define more custom encounter music. I'll add the code in question to this post when I get to my PC.

Hope this helps.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21568    
Old June 11th, 2012 (07:42 PM).
DarkCharizard77's Avatar
DarkCharizard77 DarkCharizard77 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 22
I dont know if this question belongs here,anyway were can i download PkmnAdv.exe,cause i've been looking for half an hour and still cant find it
__________________
  #21569    
Old June 11th, 2012 (07:49 PM).
tajaros's Avatar
tajaros tajaros is offline
Hi I'm dawg
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 857
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to tajaros
Quote originally posted by DarkCharizard77:
I dont know if this question belongs here,anyway were can i download PkmnAdv.exe,cause i've been looking for half an hour and still cant find it
Hmmm... Try going to my tutorial thread to download the latest version.... http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=279345
But POKESCRIPT is outdated mind using XSE it's way better....
__________________
  #21570    
Old June 12th, 2012 (01:20 AM).
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51 Jambo51 is offline
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 731
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
3) I've heard that there isn't a table or anything that controls what music plays where, so I don't know how to fix it. However, Jambo51 said he had a routine that could accomplish this. I'd PM him, and I also hope he'll post his routine here, because I really want it too @_@
Working on it. It needs some tidying up.

Quote originally posted by redriders180:
6) I think pretty much all ROMs have trouble saving on VBA. I've played ShinyGold on both No$GBA and VBA, and it saved fine in one, and failed in the other. I've even played a normal Emerald rom, and it failed to save as well. The best option is to just take savestates of the game.
Not if you set them to the correct save type. Save states actually cause massive problems, particularly on RSE where the PRNG won't get reseeded, which leads to problems quite quickly. I've tried VBA, VBA-M, VBA-L, VBA-H, No$ and No$ debugger and they all save correctly, provided you set the save type right.
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
  #21571    
Old June 12th, 2012 (02:53 AM).
KF KF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
How can I import revamped G/S/C sprites in FR without having any palette problem?
Any idea? Anyone has a working G/S/C revamped sprites database?

Thank you very much.
  #21572    
Old June 12th, 2012 (03:43 AM).
Zenoba Zenoba is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
Thought I would post here instead of making a new thread hopefully its ok

I can't figure out how to get pokemon hack games to work on gameboid, an android app. i know there needs to be a .gba extention for the game to work but when i download a game it usually says .ips on the end

I heard I need to perhaps patch the file on the computer so it can work on my phone but how to i do this?

many thanks
  #21573    
Old June 12th, 2012 (05:14 AM).
ADLFM14's Avatar
ADLFM14 ADLFM14 is offline
Legendary Spriter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: EGYPT
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 42
how can i insert a new titleset for my fire red title screen map
__________________
My Tutorials:
Hacking Ruby Title Screen Completely Step By Step
How To Insert An OW Sprite In NSE Classic Step By Step.
Hacks I'm Currently Making


Join My Hacking Team(D.A.T.S)




My deviantART


  #21574    
Old June 12th, 2012 (06:00 AM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 538
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by Jambo51:
Working on it. It needs some tidying up.
Oh, I thought you had already made it. I didn't mean to rush you or anything, I thought you just forgot v.v


Quote:
Not if you set them to the correct save type. Save states actually cause massive problems, particularly on RSE where the PRNG won't get reseeded, which leads to problems quite quickly. I've tried VBA, VBA-M, VBA-L, VBA-H, No$ and No$ debugger and they all save correctly, provided you set the save type right.
I guess when I said "best" I meant "only", since my ROM hack reuses to save, even after I toyed with every combination of saving type in VBA. I just assumed the same problem would occur with other ROM hacks, since it's happened with the few I've tried. I guess I'll amend that post to "try the different save formats and see if one of them works".
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21575    
Old June 12th, 2012 (08:26 AM).
itman itman is offline
Back to ROM hacking. :D
 
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 21
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 100
Quote originally posted by Zenoba:
Thought I would post here instead of making a new thread hopefully its ok

I can't figure out how to get pokemon hack games to work on gameboid, an android app. i know there needs to be a .gba extention for the game to work but when i download a game it usually says .ips on the end

I heard I need to perhaps patch the file on the computer so it can work on my phone but how to i do this?

many thanks
Download a-patch from Hackmew's tool thread (or if you have elite map, there is a program called LIPS in the folder). Both have the option of applying a patch. You first select the patch nd then select the clean ROM.
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 03:54 PM.