Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #21601    
Old June 14th, 2012 (03:25 PM).
Awec Awec is offline
Maniacal Egotist ~
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 13
Is it possible to hack 1st gen to fix the Ghost type doing no damage to psychic type bug?
I've been searching for ages for some info on this but I haven't seen anything.
  #21602    
Old June 14th, 2012 (08:06 PM).
TBM_Christopher's Avatar
TBM_Christopher TBM_Christopher is offline
Semi-pro Game Dev
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lincoln, NE
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 299
Hey, I'm working with Pokemon Gold, and I accidentally moved an event in Elm's lab in Goldmap, and now every time I enter, the police officer is there and asks me to name the rival. How can I go about fixing this?

(Correct me if I'm wrong, but I think I changed the trigger. Can this be fixed in Goldmap?)
__________________

  #21603    
Old June 14th, 2012 (10:09 PM).
miksy91's Avatar
miksy91 miksy91 is offline
A GB/C Rom Hacker since 2010
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: A small country in the North
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 1,302
Quote originally posted by Java's Missingno.:
Hey, I'm working with Pokemon Gold, and I accidentally moved an event in Elm's lab in Goldmap, and now every time I enter, the police officer is there and asks me to name the rival. How can I go about fixing this?

(Correct me if I'm wrong, but I think I changed the trigger. Can this be fixed in Goldmap?)
What you really did was changing his Bit No.
Check this out: http://hax.iimarck.us/files/scriptingcodes_eng.htm#Eventaufbau

As you can see, each person has a 2-byte bit number. However, GoldMap "doesn't know" this and assumes that each person has a 1-byte bit number instead (that "Triggered-box value").
You can fix this easily by changing the bit number of that person event back to normal. That link points to the Event Data structure in Gen II games so use it to find where the event data of that person is and change his bit number. The event data for the map can be found under Map Properties.
__________________
My Rom Hack




Learn how to hack GB/C games:

Check my GameBoy/Color hacking videos in Youtube
-The video set uses Pokemon Silver (U) rom for demonstrations
  #21604    
Old June 15th, 2012 (01:19 AM).
tajaros's Avatar
tajaros tajaros is offline
Hi I'm dawg
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 857
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to tajaros
Quote originally posted by Telwen:
I already know how to add new sprites, unless you're saying that the method you're mentioning in question makes it so the spots don't follow the Spinda sprite when repointed. I also use Wichu's program to do it since its simpler. So i'm guessing using UNLZ is effective?
I don't know if those spots will changed if you use that tut but I think you can remove them by using an ASM code or something...
__________________
  #21605    
Old June 15th, 2012 (10:56 AM).
Reiker Reiker is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
Hey everyone.

Recently I've been working on a fire red hack. This was just a personal project I started a bit ago and wasn't supposed to be anything ultra fancy. I have very little programming knowledge, but with all the tools that have been made for rom hacking I didn't really need it. At first I was just using A-Trainer to make the game a bit more challenging and realistic (making gym leaders harder, giving trainers well-rounded teams, stuff like that). Then I started to get frustrated with using the same Pokemon over and over (150 is really not much) so I began using AdvanceMap to add most of the Gen I-III Pokemon catchable in the wild, which gave enemy trainers much more variety in their teams.

But then I randomly came across an old rom hack that interested me. One of the features of this hack was that it was a version of Fire Red that used the fourth gen method of splitting physical/special attacks by the move instead of the type. This was my single most favorite change with the fourth gen games and something I always wished was available in previous gens. So, I want this functionality in my game.

I have tried searching. But it's not an easy topic to search for. I'm sure it's been discussed here. I searched through the tutorials and such but couldn't find anything.

Ideally I would love to find a patch that I can run on a Fire Red rom that would change this functionality. However, if this is something that can only be achieved through ASM I would still consider doing it. If there is such a patch I'm not sure if it would interfere with the alterations I've already made, which is why I'd like to get the scoop on how to get this working before I work on my hack any further. I would be okay with doing all the changes over again if I could get the physical/special based on move and not type thing working.

Thanks for your assistance with my little project.
  #21606    
Old June 15th, 2012 (11:05 AM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
ModeratorCSGT
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 3,569
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=234550

That's what you're looking for! :D
  #21607    
Old June 15th, 2012 (11:56 AM).
Valor Valor is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
I followed some tutorials on music looping, but when my song should loop, the game crashes. It loops in Sappy though. I used Hackmews thumb.bat to create bins out of my .s files and import them. Hopefully someone can help me, I've searched the internet for looping midi's in anvil studio, but that didn't seem to work. Thanks in advance for reading this post :p
  #21608    
Old June 15th, 2012 (12:09 PM). Edited June 15th, 2012 by Reiker.
Reiker Reiker is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
Quote originally posted by Spherical Ice:
That's what you're looking for! :D
Brilliant, thank you. I wasn't sure how to describe this for a search, I guess "class split" was what I was looking for

Appreciated.

----------


Hi, bear with me, I have one more question.

I applied DoesntKnowHowToPlay's patch to (hopefully) enable type splitting. But I want to apply Jambo51's Counter/Mirror Coat fix here:

0801F6C2: 86 7A
0801F908: 00 2E
0801F90A: 41 D1

I'm not entirely sure how this is done. I found a hex editing guide here: showthread.php?t=237691 (can't post links even to threads on this forum itself... how annoying)

I'm not sure how to find those values above though to change them. Is 0801F6C2 an offset? When I Edit > Goto and type '0801F6C2' as an offset and press OK nothing happens. Darthatron in the class split thread was asked this same question but he just said "go read a guide." I read a guide and I'm still lost...
  #21609    
Old June 15th, 2012 (04:26 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 538
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by Reiker:
Brilliant, thank you. I wasn't sure how to describe this for a search, I guess "class split" was what I was looking for

Appreciated.

----------


Hi, bear with me, I have one more question.

I applied DoesntKnowHowToPlay's patch to (hopefully) enable type splitting. But I want to apply Jambo51's Counter/Mirror Coat fix here:

0801F6C2: 86 7A
0801F908: 00 2E
0801F90A: 41 D1

I'm not entirely sure how this is done. I found a hex editing guide here: showthread.php?t=237691 (can't post links even to threads on this forum itself... how annoying)

I'm not sure how to find those values above though to change them. Is 0801F6C2 an offset? When I Edit > Goto and type '0801F6C2' as an offset and press OK nothing happens. Darthatron in the class split thread was asked this same question but he just said "go read a guide." I read a guide and I'm still lost...
Just ignore the 08 part of the offset. The 08 is just clarification that the offset is in the ROM, not the memory. So, 0801F6C2 is the same as 0x01F6C2.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21610    
Old June 15th, 2012 (04:37 PM).
Reiker Reiker is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
So when I "Goto" 01F6C2 it highlights 86. The next value is 78. I assume I change that to 7A and then repeat with the next 2 lines and I'm good to go? Thanks a lot!
  #21611    
Old June 16th, 2012 (02:42 AM).
Sark Sark is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 37
Hello everyone! I'm having a problem with Advance Map on Fire Red.
I'm trying, on route 1, to place seedot. I put the id 252 (because for a reason, the places in the scrollbar doesn't show), but ingame, he become a "??". I don't know why, and it gives 1 exp point. I do this for every Gen3 Pokémon, but it doesn't with Gen 1 and 2. Is there a solution? :[
  #21612    
Old June 16th, 2012 (03:28 AM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
ModeratorCSGT
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 3,569
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
Quote originally posted by Sark:
Hello everyone! I'm having a problem with Advance Map on Fire Red.
I'm trying, on route 1, to place seedot. I put the id 252 (because for a reason, the places in the scrollbar doesn't show), but ingame, he become a "??". I don't know why, and it gives 1 exp point. I do this for every Gen3 Pokémon, but it doesn't with Gen 1 and 2. Is there a solution? :[
There's a gap of 25 between Celebi and Treecko, so if you can't select a Pokémon with the dropdown, you need to add 25 to the Pokémon National Pokédex Number. Though it is weird why the dropdown box doesn't work.
  #21613    
Old June 16th, 2012 (03:29 AM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is online now
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 7,195
Quote originally posted by Sark:
Hello everyone! I'm having a problem with Advance Map on Fire Red.
I'm trying, on route 1, to place seedot. I put the id 252 (because for a reason, the places in the scrollbar doesn't show), but ingame, he become a "??". I don't know why, and it gives 1 exp point. I do this for every Gen3 Pokémon, but it doesn't with Gen 1 and 2. Is there a solution? :[
There are question marks in between Celebi and Treecko.
If you want to know Seedot's number, you can use YAPE.
__________________


3DS FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

  #21614    
Old June 16th, 2012 (03:31 AM).
Sark Sark is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 37
Oh, I didn't know this! Thank's!

I'm now wondering why there's blank space between Celebi and Treecko. :/
  #21615    
Old June 16th, 2012 (04:23 AM).
Valor Valor is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
Does anybody have any info on how to change the song that is played for a certain trainer class? For instance: play the music of a gym leader(battle3 0128) when battling against the youngster trainer class.
  #21616    
Old June 16th, 2012 (04:59 AM).
KF KF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
Quote originally posted by KF:
How can I import revamped G/S/C sprites in FR without having any palette problem?
Any idea? Anyone has a working G/S/C revamped sprites database?

Thank you very much.
I repost my questions, 'cause I'm revamping 251 sprites all by myself, and I can't see the end of it.

Thank you.
  #21617    
Old June 16th, 2012 (08:24 AM).
bully721 bully721 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
Hello, everybody i'm having a problem with Advance map and am wondering if anyone knows how to fix it. Basically i can load it up fine and edit things and all that. But when i save and close when i try to load it back up it gives me an error saying that it cannot create advancemap.ini even though its already there. i have to redl advance map everytime to get it working again.
  #21618    
Old June 16th, 2012 (08:48 AM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
ModeratorCSGT
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 3,569
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
Quote originally posted by KF:
I repost my questions, 'cause I'm revamping 251 sprites all by myself, and I can't see the end of it.

Thank you.
There are tutorials in the Tutorials section on how to insert sprites properly.

Whenever I use the "fanfare" command, the game freezes. It used to work fine. The only things I've changed is add the Pokémon encryption specials etc. from JPAN's hack and inserted Mastermind_X's music hack. Now, logically, the music hack would be the culprit. However, I undid the changes of the hack, completely removing it, but fanfare still freezes up. It's definitely fanfare, as scripts with it freeze, but work fine once it's removed. If it wasn't obvious, I'm hacking FireRed.
  #21619    
Old June 16th, 2012 (08:56 AM).
KF KF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
The only problem is I can't see the end of all this revamping, is there any database of revamped G/S/C sprites for FR/LG?
  #21620    
Old June 16th, 2012 (01:36 PM).
LugiaMZ's Avatar
LugiaMZ LugiaMZ is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 72
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
Yay lists!

1) Worldmaps 1, 2, 3, and 4 in Firered all use the exact same image on UNLZ.gba, but each map has a different tilemap. For info on changing these, I recommend this tutorial.

2) I believe you're referring to the Vs Screen before you battle the E4. This is possible, since I did it in my hack, but I don't know where the tutorial is. I recommend searching around the tutorial thread.

3) I've heard that there isn't a table or anything that controls what music plays where, so I don't know how to fix it. However, Jambo51 said he had a routine that could accomplish this. I'd PM him, and I also hope he'll post his routine here, because I really want it too @_@

4) I don't think anyone's completely figured out how to do move animations.

5) I've never tried it, but I'm guessing there might be a small problem, since the table that deals with the 60,000+ OW has a pointer to the original OW data, and not to the newly repointed OW data that I assume the 40+ Sprite patch would have. Just go in with a hex editor, and do some poking around to find your pointers and replace the old one with the new one.

6) I think pretty much all ROMs have trouble saving on VBA. I've played ShinyGold on both No$GBA and VBA, and it saved fine in one, and failed in the other. I've even played a normal Emerald rom, and it failed to save as well. The best option is to just take savestates of the game.
1) ...Can you give me their unlz num tilemap num?

2) If you find it tutorial give me the link.

3) Hope Jambo51 will post him routine. If have say with me.

4) ...Too bad.

5) I copied after 0x800000 bytes to my clean Fire Red Rom, when I use advance map to load my Fire Red Rom the Ow sprite cant load to the added Ow sprite,why? It has a pointer to load 0x800000 offset? Where is the pointer?

6) But statestates can't save at the after beat elite four and champion and restart game.

PS: Sorry for my bad english
  #21621    
Old June 16th, 2012 (04:54 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 538
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by LugiaMZ:
1) ...Can you give me their unlz num tilemap num?

2) If you find it tutorial give me the link.

3) Hope Jambo51 will post him routine. If have say with me.

4) ...Too bad.

5) I copied after 0x800000 bytes to my clean Fire Red Rom, when I use advance map to load my Fire Red Rom the Ow sprite cant load to the added Ow sprite,why? It has a pointer to load 0x800000 offset? Where is the pointer?

6) But statestates can't save at the after beat elite four and champion and restart game.

PS: Sorry for my bad english
1. You'll have to find it yourself, or look on the tutorial's page, there are a ton of World Map editing tutorials that have what you're looking for. My number will definately be different than yours, since I've added graphics, and that messes up the numbers.

5. There is probably a pointer that A-Map looks at to display the OW sprites in A-Map's .ini file. Navigate the file location of A-map until you find the ini folder, and start looking for what you need.

6. It isn't strictly necessary to restart the game. Just edit the script to do something else, like warp you to your bedroom after you beat the E4 and that's all you need to do.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21622    
Old June 16th, 2012 (08:17 PM).
LugiaMZ's Avatar
LugiaMZ LugiaMZ is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 72
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
1. You'll have to find it yourself, or look on the tutorial's page, there are a ton of World Map editing tutorials that have what you're looking for. My number will definately be different than yours, since I've added graphics, and that messes up the numbers.

5. There is probably a pointer that A-Map looks at to display the OW sprites in A-Map's .ini file. Navigate the file location of A-map until you find the ini folder, and start looking for what you need.

6. It isn't strictly necessary to restart the game. Just edit the script to do something else, like warp you to your bedroom after you beat the E4 and that's all you need to do.
1) I'll try to find it.Thanks.

5) The +40 OW patcher I patched to a clean rom, but I do nothing to .ini file also can display the Ow sprite, why?

6)Oh, I knew, thanks.

I having a new problem.

7) I know ASM routine is so useful, I want to learn it, but I no ASM compiler like insert ASM code to free space tool, can you give me a link to download the compiler?
  #21623    
Old June 16th, 2012 (08:23 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 538
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by LugiaMZ:
1) I'll try to find it.Thanks.

5) The +40 OW patcher I patched to a clean rom, but I do nothing to .ini file also can display the Ow sprite, why?

6)Oh, I knew, thanks.

I having a new problem.

7) I know ASM routine is so useful, I want to learn it, but I no ASM compiler like insert ASM code to free space tool, can you give me a link to download the compiler?
5. The old OWs are probably still in the same location, so it's still reading it from there. Did you try placing the OW, changing the picture number to the newly added sprite, saving, and running the game to see if it would work? Just because A-map doesn't show it, doesn't mean the game won't.

7. ASM is a very hands-on process, so most of the compilers just compile the ASM to a .bin file, which you then manually insert with a hex editor. A large amount of ASM also deals with changing byte values at different locations, something that also can be done in a hex editor. You have to be willing to delve head-first into the game, and not rely on tools when it comes to ASM.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21624    
Old June 16th, 2012 (10:31 PM).
dcjboi's Avatar
dcjboi dcjboi is offline
With Quiet Courage
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: In between Heaven and Earth
Nature: Timid
Posts: 415
Send a message via Skype™ to dcjboi
I'm not the greatest scripter in the world. Not even remotely great but I was thinking if it was possible to make a scripted battle. I've never seen one in a rom so I assume it hasn't been done besides the Oldman/Wally scripts.

Also I was thinking if it was possible to remake the coliseums from pokemon Colosseum.
__________________

  #21625    
Old June 16th, 2012 (11:45 PM).
whitesonkun whitesonkun is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
Hi, sorry to disturb you guys

But the thing is i just starting to hack pokemon B/W, then i wonder how do i hack rival's party, like when i choose seel, they keep choosing the original starters like snivy and tepig?

Someone can help me??
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 09:50 PM.