Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #21676    
Old June 20th, 2012 (05:00 PM).
Robert Conley's Avatar
Robert Conley Robert Conley is offline
GPXPlus.net/user/Robert+Conley
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The Anti Spiral Homeworld
Gender: Male
Nature: Docile
Posts: 330
Quote originally posted by thanethane98:
Irfanview should be able to handle palettes without giving you errors. Plenty of tutorials use that instead of Photoshop, actually. I'm not quite sure how well it works as an actual image editor, but it is definitely a useful tool for the things that specifically mentioned.
I tried IrFanview but it can't seem to load palette files saved from VBA, which some things, changing Oak or Intro Heroes and the world map, specifically call for. At least following the tutorials on here they do.
__________________
  #21677    
Old June 21st, 2012 (12:06 AM).
tajaros's Avatar
tajaros tajaros is offline
Hi I'm dawg
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 857
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to tajaros
Quote originally posted by timebroken:
I don't think you know what I mean. I'm wanting to dump all the sprites from my ROM, into .png files into a folder.

Also, I want to figure out how to change the text I specified. How do I find the individual scripts in the game?
What I mean to say was if you use no$gba and input your ROM properly then that text will be gone...

Then try using RSball it can export images in the ROM doesn't save as png but bmp.....

And you can find the scripts in A-map\A-text....
__________________
  #21678    
Old June 21st, 2012 (05:15 AM). Edited June 23rd, 2012 by LugiaMZ.
LugiaMZ's Avatar
LugiaMZ LugiaMZ is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 72
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
7. You got it! I believe that if it's thumb code, you add one to the offset, but I could be wrong.

8. Yes, it will work on all GBA games. Of course, registers and stuff will be different from version to version, so take that into account.

9. I've tried editing the backgrounds too, and I can't find the palette anywhere, even by searching with APE. I've encountered a few palettes like this, that don't seem to exist, so I don't know the offset for the palette or anything.
7) If I copy the bytes to 0x800000, then I need to scripting callasm 0x800001?

8) Oh, thanks.

9) Nevermind, I thinks background is not important.

New Problem again~~

10) If I imported a tileset 1 at advance map, save. Then I import another tileset 1 to the same rom. Without that, have a problem?

11) I seen a add OW palletes tutorial at tutorial page, it say need to patch JPAN hacked engine, I tried it work. If I no patch JPAN hacked engine, It also work?

EDIT: Too bad, no ppl reply me.
  #21679    
Old June 21st, 2012 (07:59 AM).
link12552's Avatar
link12552 link12552 is offline
just tired, that's all
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The not so distant future
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 201
Quote originally posted by Tangrowthjelly:
I kept on running into problems with unLZ so I tried using Nameless Sprite Editor. It's worked really well for inserting sprites but one day it randomly said that one of my sprites wasn't compressed and that it had ran into an error. Now it doesn't let me change it and the game freezes up when trying to use that sprite. Help please?
By any chance are you using the Pokemon sprite plugin?
If so I may have to give it a good looking over, I had this same issue once, but I can't remember what caused it.

VM me with more info on what happened, look in your Log files - In the Core\\Logs folder - and see if anything funny looked like it happened when you saved and I'll see if we can figure it out
__________________
  #21680    
Old June 21st, 2012 (10:17 AM).
Jake 53 Jake 53 is offline
noob hacker
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
I'm hacking Sapphire and I want the character to be able to get 1st and 2nd gen pokemon that will evolve. If I was to rescript when you get the pokedex and change it to the character receiving a national dex instead, will that solve the problem?
  #21681    
Old June 21st, 2012 (12:03 PM).
CCCPancakes's Avatar
CCCPancakes CCCPancakes is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Posts: 19
I feel like an idiot for asking this, but could anyone elaborate a bit on the A-map connections?

I'll have 2 maps that connect perfectly in the viewer. I'll go into my ROM and it looks like an earthquake shook the maps apart. Is there any type of magic or sorcery involved that I'm missing?
__________________
  #21682    
Old June 21st, 2012 (12:51 PM).
Prof. Q Prof. Q is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
I had a few more questions.

1. How do I activate the updated town map in Fire Red (the one Celio gives you)? I tried playing around with some of the flags in his script, but couldn't find the right one.

2. I've been using YAPE to edit Pokemon in Fire Red. Originally I was using the 1.0 version of Fire Red and YAPE was working fine. I decided it would be better to use the 1.1 version for the hack I'm working on for the bug fixes, but YAPE gives me an error when I try to load the 1.1 version. It says "Error Loading ROM. Error Reading Base Stats." I get the same error when using the 1.1 version of Leaf Green. Has anyone else had this problem when using the 1.1 versions? Is there any way to fix it?

3. Has anyone found a way to incorporate the sleep clause and freeze clause into trainer battles in Fire Red?

4. Has anyone found a way to make it so that items stolen by the player using Thief are returned at the end of trainer battles?
  #21683    
Old June 21st, 2012 (01:07 PM).
chrunch's Avatar
chrunch chrunch is online now
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,088
Quote originally posted by Jake 53:
I'm hacking Sapphire and I want the character to be able to get 1st and 2nd gen pokemon that will evolve. If I was to rescript when you get the pokedex and change it to the character receiving a national dex instead, will that solve the problem?
Yes, it would solve the problem. :)
  #21684    
Old June 21st, 2012 (03:45 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 538
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by CCCPancakes:
I feel like an idiot for asking this, but could anyone elaborate a bit on the A-map connections?

I'll have 2 maps that connect perfectly in the viewer. I'll go into my ROM and it looks like an earthquake shook the maps apart. Is there any type of magic or sorcery involved that I'm missing?
You have to make sure the connections match up on both maps. Hit the "up" arrow, or just go to the opposite map, and make sure those connections match as well. Generally, the offset of one map is the negative offset of the connecting map, for example, if you're connecting Map1 and Map2, Map1 to Map2 might be 10, while Map2 to Map1 is -10.

Quote originally posted by Prof. Q:
2. I've been using YAPE to edit Pokemon in Fire Red. Originally I was using the 1.0 version of Fire Red and YAPE was working fine. I decided it would be better to use the 1.1 version for the hack I'm working on for the bug fixes, but YAPE gives me an error when I try to load the 1.1 version. It says "Error Loading ROM. Error Reading Base Stats." I get the same error when using the 1.1 version of Leaf Green. Has anyone else had this problem when using the 1.1 versions? Is there any way to fix it?

3. Has anyone found a way to incorporate the sleep clause and freeze clause into trainer battles in Fire Red?

4. Has anyone found a way to make it so that items stolen by the player using Thief are returned at the end of trainer battles?
For your second question, those programs probably only support version 1.0. Most programs here use Firered 1.0, since I think 1.1 and any other updates will have all their offsets and stuff in different places. YAPE is essentially checking for Pokemon data at a place where Pokemon data does not exist. If you can find an .ini of Firered 1.1, then you'd be set, otherwise just go back to 1.0

For your third question, you'd probably need to do some ASM for that, to check if the opponents have a Pokemon that's asleep or frozen, and if so, prevent the player from using a freezing or sleeping move, or something like that. Same for the fourth.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21685    
Old June 21st, 2012 (04:02 PM). Edited June 21st, 2012 by timebroken.
timebroken timebroken is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
Do you mean every single sprite in the entire game? Or just specific sprites, like Pokemon and Trainers?

Use A-text to change the text, or a hex editor.
Yes, I'd like to dump every sprite in the game.

Also I get this error when trying to open A-Text.
Code:
Component 'Comdlg32.ocx' or one of its dependencies not correctly registered: a file is missing or invalid
******************

Also, I need some help with Advanced Map. I've researched this for a bit, but I couldn't find the answers I needed.

I need to know two things.

1) How do I delete maps? I haven't been able to figure out how to delete unneeded and unused maps.
2) How do I move map save locations? I inserted my map, but I don't know how to put it in a different city. It just saves in the town that used to be Pallet Town.
__________________
"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former."
- Albert Einstein
  #21686    
Old June 21st, 2012 (08:01 PM).
JBawls JBawls is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 21
Sorry if this is not where I post this, this is my first topic >.<...

Ok I have basically created and inserted 7 new maps into the game, the maps works fine as do the warps and etc. My problem is that if I have two of the same items placed on the map, not hidden, the ones where you can see the pokeball sprite, I will pick up the first one and then the other will disappear.

To be more clear and simple if I pick up a max revive then the other(s) on the map vanish. Any item that is not max revive still remains but the other max revive is gone. Is there something I have done wrong? They do not vanish from my bag but from the map itself.

I made the scripts for the item events with pokescript.
  #21687    
Old June 22nd, 2012 (12:27 AM).
monbandola monbandola is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
i think im not at the right place to post this... notify me...
i just want a experienced person on hacking... i just want to know if these are possible:
pokescript and advancemap
1. create a new character on pokemon emerald
i mean to create a new "may" coz i think it can.. but no one wants to help me... i just want to add a new character that will... act like may... like she will suddenly walk towards you and talk to you... give you items and stuffs... can i copy the script of may and add it to my new character and modify it slightly??

i just want to create a new story line on pokemon emerald..
  #21688    
Old June 22nd, 2012 (01:02 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 13,094
Download that component and it will work

And I would also suggest NOT removing any maps for it can pretty much result in unexpected behaviour.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
  #21689    
Old June 22nd, 2012 (04:12 AM).
ADLFM14's Avatar
ADLFM14 ADLFM14 is offline
Legendary Spriter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: EGYPT
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 42
ok guys i really need some little help i want to change the pokeball that shows how many pokemon does the player have when battle starts while searching around unlz i found the picture i want to edit and i've changed this:

to this:

so when i import it and repoint using fsf now time to check and test the rom when open a battle the pokeball are still found didn't even change:

so plz ireall need help and thnx
__________________
My Tutorials:
Hacking Ruby Title Screen Completely Step By Step
How To Insert An OW Sprite In NSE Classic Step By Step.
Hacks I'm Currently Making


Join My Hacking Team(D.A.T.S)




My deviantART


  #21690    
Old June 22nd, 2012 (04:52 AM). Edited June 22nd, 2012 by DrFuji.
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji DrFuji is offline
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Downia-upside
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 1,322
Quote originally posted by timebroken:
2) How do I move map save locations? I inserted my map, but I don't know how to put it in a different city. It just saves in the town that used to be Pallet Town.
To change the folder the map is under go into the header tab of the map you want to move, there should be a a box with the map name in the top-left corner. Open it and select the name you want the map to go under, save your ROM and then refresh Advance Map (F5). Your map should now be inside the folder name that you chose.

Quote originally posted by JBawls:
Sorry if this is not where I post this, this is my first topic >.<...

Ok I have basically created and inserted 7 new maps into the game, the maps works fine as do the warps and etc. My problem is that if I have two of the same items placed on the map, not hidden, the ones where you can see the pokeball sprite, I will pick up the first one and then the other will disappear.

To be more clear and simple if I pick up a max revive then the other(s) on the map vanish. Any item that is not max revive still remains but the other max revive is gone. Is there something I have done wrong? They do not vanish from my bag but from the map itself.

I made the scripts for the item events with pokescript.
That definitely shouldn't be happening. Check both Pokeball overworlds in A-Map and ensure that they have different 'Person Event' numbers; if they are identical then you will have to change one of them to something else. Also check their Person IDs as if they have the same value (which which is activated by a flag) that would also lead to the second ball disappearing. If neither of those suggestions help then post the scripts you're using so we can see what's happening when you talk to the balls.

Quote originally posted by monbandola:
i think im not at the right place to post this... notify me...
i just want a experienced person on hacking... i just want to know if these are possible:
pokescript and advancemap
1. create a new character on pokemon emerald
i mean to create a new "may" coz i think it can.. but no one wants to help me... i just want to add a new character that will... act like may... like she will suddenly walk towards you and talk to you... give you items and stuffs... can i copy the script of may and add it to my new character and modify it slightly??

i just want to create a new story line on pokemon emerald.. :(
Of course all of that is possible through scripting. If you're going to be working off one of May's scripts then you're going to have to repoint part of it, but I would encourage you to make your own scripts from scratch. To learn how to do stuff like that then I would highly advise that you check out the Tutorials section as there are several guides which cover the basic commands you'll need and how to set up your very own script.
__________________
  #21691    
Old June 22nd, 2012 (07:00 AM).
Robert Conley's Avatar
Robert Conley Robert Conley is offline
GPXPlus.net/user/Robert+Conley
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The Anti Spiral Homeworld
Gender: Male
Nature: Docile
Posts: 330
In Fire Red, does anyone know the palette and image offsets of the lines behind oak at the intro?



I found the pallete location for the circle by searching this thread but would also like to edit the background.

Also does anyone know how to edit these screens:


I wanna change the Pikachu and the text, I remember seeing tutorials for both a few years ago but can't seem to find them now.
__________________
  #21692    
Old June 22nd, 2012 (07:55 AM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 3,507
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
For editing palettes, load your ROM in VisualBoy Advance, go to that screen, then under the "Tools" menu, select "Palette Viewer". Select a colour that you wish to edit. The "Value" that is shown is the hex code for the colour. You need to split the value into bytes and flip them, so 7FFF would become FF7F. Do this to around four or five or the colours (the palette progresses from left to right), and keep the information (in the correct order) in Notepad.

Load your ROM in a hex editor, search the data you just obtained, and the offset it takes you to can then be loaded into HackMew's Advance Palette Editor tool (I assume you'll be able to work out how to use APE, it's rather straightforward).

Now for my question, is there a particular reason why exits in interior rooms in FireRed have three warps? Does it have any adverse side effects if the two side warps are omitted?
  #21693    
Old June 22nd, 2012 (08:26 AM).
Wendle's Avatar
Wendle Wendle is offline
Not So Standard Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Nature: Modest
Posts: 16
Some random newbie questions. For Gen 3 hacking.

1 Can the (4th gen) Pys/spec split be in implemented? (even in a crude way) is there a mod component for this?

2 Is there a "mod component" that has all 649 pokemon?,( all the sprites, moves ETC not implemented) I've looked round the forum but i may have missed something.

3 How much space can a mapper play with, before running out of space? can you increase the allotted space?

4 If i use emerald tiles in leaf green or visa versa, will there be a problem?

5 Does anyone know any decent GBA emulators for "android" phones?
__________________
"Disaster isn't coming, its already arrived
I am so lucky i think that i survived"

Manic Street Preachers
  #21694    
Old June 22nd, 2012 (08:36 AM). Edited June 22nd, 2012 by Spherical Ice.
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 3,507
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
Quote originally posted by Wendle:
Some random newbie questions. For Gen 3 hacking.

1 Can the (4th gen) Pys/spec split be in implemented? (even in a crude way) is there a mod component for this?

2 Is there a "mod component" that has all 649 pokemon?,( all the sprites, moves ETC not implemented) I've looked round the forum but i may have missed something.

3 How much space can a mapper play with, before running out of space? can you increase the allotted space?

4 If i use emerald tiles in leaf green or visa versa, will there be a problem?

5 Does anyone know any decent GBA emulators for "android" phones?
"SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION". Did you really? :P

Anyway:

1) This patch will enable the Physical/Special split.

2) This patch (which is a work in progress) will allow you to.

3) For map limitations, Advance Map will only allow you a certain size ratio. For the amount of maps, normally it's safe to stay within the several maps that are already in the ROM, but here's a tutorial on how to add new maps.

4) If you insert the tiles properly, there should be no problems. There's a guide by Cello in the Tutorials subforum if you dont know how to insert tiles.

5) Try this.

Most of the things I've linked apply to FireRed (some may apply to Ruby/Emerald), but I'm pretty sure none will apply to LeafGreen, so if you're hacking LeafGreen I think it'd be wise to switch to FireRed - there is a wider support from tools, tutorials and patches for FireRed over LeafGreen.
  #21695    
Old June 22nd, 2012 (09:17 AM).
Robert Conley's Avatar
Robert Conley Robert Conley is offline
GPXPlus.net/user/Robert+Conley
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The Anti Spiral Homeworld
Gender: Male
Nature: Docile
Posts: 330
Can you increase the size of a tileset? When importing tiles you seem to have pretty limited space unless you replace old tiles and I'd prefer not to do that.

NOTE: I am not referring to the "block amount", I am referring to the image you export and add your tiles to then import.
__________________
  #21696    
Old June 22nd, 2012 (09:26 AM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 3,507
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
I'm afraid not. Not easily, at least - no-one has done it before and it would probably involve rewriting the parts of the ROM that deal with the space maps are allocated.
  #21697    
Old June 22nd, 2012 (10:36 AM).
Wendle's Avatar
Wendle Wendle is offline
Not So Standard Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Nature: Modest
Posts: 16
Quote originally posted by Spherical Ice:
"SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION". Did you really?

Anyway:

1) This patch will enable the Physical/Special split.
thought that thread was discussion, i didn't know it had a patch

2)this will allow you to.
Sweet.........
3) For map limitations, Advance Map will only allow you a certain size ratio. For the amount of maps, normally it's safe to stay within the several maps that are already in the ROM, but here's a tutorial on how to add new maps.[/url]
So i can't keep adding new routes to my hearts content?

4) If you insert the tiles properly, there should be no problems. There's a guide by Cello in the Tutorials subforum if you dont know how to insert tiles.
thanks

5) Try this.lol, the reason for asking to see if anyone had an opinion on which one to use lol
Most of the things I've linked apply to FireRed (some may apply to Ruby/Emerald), but I'm pretty sure none will apply to LeafGreen, so if you're hacking LeafGreen I think it'd be wise to switch to FireRed - there is a wider support from tools, tutorials and patches for FireRed over LeafGreen.
Why is fire red more popular then leaf green? I did search honestly i'm not used to this forum yet so its a little awkward. damned URL rule
__________________
"Disaster isn't coming, its already arrived
I am so lucky i think that i survived"

Manic Street Preachers
  #21698    
Old June 22nd, 2012 (11:19 AM).
JBawls JBawls is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 21
Please help...

Ok I have basically created and inserted 7 new maps into the game, the maps works fine as do the warps and etc. My problem is that if I have two of the same items placed on the map, not hidden, the ones where you can see the pokeball sprite, I will pick up the first one and then the other will disappear.

To be more clear and simple if I pick up a max revive then the other(s) on the map vanish. Any item that is not max revive still remains but the other max revive is gone. Is there something I have done wrong? They do not vanish from my bag but from the map itself.

I made the scripts for the item events with pokescript.
  #21699    
Old June 22nd, 2012 (02:20 PM).
tajaros's Avatar
tajaros tajaros is offline
Hi I'm dawg
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 857
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to tajaros
Hey guys I started trying ASM and followed the tutorials here but I don't know what I keep doing wrong....

Here's the ASM routine I used....



In cmd it says it has assembled succesfully but maybe I did something wrong.....



but the files there so idk whats the problem so here's the file in hex workshop....



I copied it down on offset 0x800000 in a clean FireRed ROM



After that the ROM opens properly....
But when I tried it on NO$GBA the ROM crashes...



Same goes to VBA but this time it freezes



Could anyone help me with this please?

Sorry it this was a long post...
__________________
  #21700    
Old June 22nd, 2012 (02:55 PM).
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51 Jambo51 is offline
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 730
Did you copy-overwrite or copy-insert? That, to me, looks like you've misaligned something which the game is trying to read.
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 02:25 AM.