Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #21726    
Old June 24th, 2012 (07:21 PM).
itman itman is offline
Back to ROM hacking. :D
 
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 21
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 100
Quote originally posted by CrystalStatic:
Hello, something is really bothering me.

In Hackmew's "StartMapCA" tool, is it possible to change the Y Coordinate? I'm using a FireRed ROM. Also, is it possible to enter 2 digits into the start position coordinates?

Thanks.
It's really meant for beginner hacks that don't change the starting room but just want the player a few spaces over...I wouldn't suggest using it really.

The best thing you can do is just move the map to fit where you want to start. Like grosser block the whole thing and paste the map a few spots down for the y and over for the x. Method credited to Redriders.
  #21727    
Old June 24th, 2012 (07:57 PM).
Renegade's Avatar
Renegade Renegade is offline
Time for real life...
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 998
Quote originally posted by itman:
It's really meant for beginner hacks that don't change the starting room but just want the player a few spaces over...I wouldn't suggest using it really.

The best thing you can do is just move the map to fit where you want to start. Like grosser block the whole thing and paste the map a few spots down for the y and over for the x. Method credited to Redriders.
Hmm. I thought of doing that earlier. Ok then, thanks.
  #21728    
Old June 25th, 2012 (12:28 AM).
T!M T!M is offline
Four Category MoTY (VG) Winner
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Georgia, United States
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Posts: 1,422
Using PET my ROM crashes when I try to battle YOUNGSTER TOMMY in the RUSTBORO GYM in a RUBY HACK I'm making...

The problem: After he does his speaking part, the battle screen blacks out and he music is heard but nothing can be seen or done beyond that. How do I fix this.
__________________
T!M
  #21729    
Old June 25th, 2012 (12:33 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 12,871
Quote originally posted by Trainer Timothy:
Using PET my ROM crashes when I try to battle YOUNGSTER TOMMY in the RUSTBORO GYM in a RUBY HACK I'm making...

The problem: After he does his speaking part, the battle screen blacks out and he music is heard but nothing can be seen or done beyond that. How do I fix this.
Use A-Trainer. PET is really buggy.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
  #21730    
Old June 25th, 2012 (04:22 AM).
DaleH771's Avatar
DaleH771 DaleH771 is offline
I know who you are.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 125
One thing I really want to is be able to give the player in a hack a random Pokemon.

I know the basic givepokemon script, for example, a level 5 Bulbasaur is

Givepokemon 1 5 0

However, I want to be able to give the Player a random level 35 Pokemon from ALL the Pokemon in a Firered ROM, including evolutions and legendaries. Is there such a script?
__________________

Demo coming soon!
  #21731    
Old June 25th, 2012 (04:45 AM).
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji DrFuji is offline
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Downia-upside
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 1,322
Quote originally posted by DaleH771:
One thing I really want to is be able to give the player in a hack a random Pokemon.

I know the basic givepokemon script, for example, a level 5 Bulbasaur is

Givepokemon 1 5 0

However, I want to be able to give the Player a random level 35 Pokemon from ALL the Pokemon in a Firered ROM, including evolutions and legendaries. Is there such a script?
You can make the command utilise a variable which holds a random number and then give you the Pokemon that corresponds to it. It would look like this in XSE:

Code:
...
random 0x0181
copyvar 0x8004 0x800D
addvar 0x8004 0x1 // This is to shift the variable, otherwise it will have a result of 0 at times
compare 0x8004 0xFB
if 0x2 call @HoennPokemon // Skipping the empty Pokemon slots between Celebi and Treecko
givepokemon 0x8004 0x23 0x0 0x0 0x0 0x0
...

#org @HoennPokemon
addvar 0x8004 0x1A 
return
__________________
  #21732    
Old June 25th, 2012 (05:45 AM).
DaleH771's Avatar
DaleH771 DaleH771 is offline
I know who you are.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 125
Quote originally posted by DrFuji:
You can make the command utilise a variable which holds a random number and then give you the Pokemon that corresponds to it. It would look like this in XSE:

Code:
...
random 0x0181
copyvar 0x8004 0x800D
addvar 0x8004 0x1 // This is to shift the variable, otherwise it will have a result of 0 at times
compare 0x8004 0xFB
if 0x2 call @HoennPokemon // Skipping the empty Pokemon slots between Celebi and Treecko
givepokemon 0x8004 0x23 0x0 0x0 0x0 0x0
...

#org @HoennPokemon
addvar 0x8004 0x1A 
return
Thank you!

My second question!

I have created a third of a new region for my new hack on a ROM, however as I have done a complete tile revamp I have inserted new tilesets multiple times and I believe this has bugged the ROM, crashing it whenever I goo to a different map IN GAME.

I saved the maps, tilesets, Block palettes and colour palettes into organised folders and transferred them over to a clean Firered ROM. Everything has gone over except when I try and load the blocks for what is currently set as Tileset 2, it instead loads the top blocks from tileset 1 (Nature tileset).

How dfo I do it so it actually loads tileset 2 rather than keep giving me tilesets 1 blocks? As creating the blocks all over again will take hours...
__________________

Demo coming soon!
  #21733    
Old June 25th, 2012 (07:43 AM).
Robert Conley's Avatar
Robert Conley Robert Conley is offline
GPXPlus.net/user/Robert+Conley
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The Anti Spiral Homeworld
Gender: Male
Nature: Docile
Posts: 330
Is there a list somewhere of ALL of the specials that can be use in XSE for Fire Red? Also a tutorial that covers movement scripting in XSE? I've looked in a few of the scripting tutorials and noene seem to cover these.
__________________
  #21734    
Old June 25th, 2012 (07:54 AM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 537
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by DaleH771:
Thank you!

My second question!

I have created a third of a new region for my new hack on a ROM, however as I have done a complete tile revamp I have inserted new tilesets multiple times and I believe this has bugged the ROM, crashing it whenever I goo to a different map IN GAME.

I saved the maps, tilesets, Block palettes and colour palettes into organised folders and transferred them over to a clean Firered ROM. Everything has gone over except when I try and load the blocks for what is currently set as Tileset 2, it instead loads the top blocks from tileset 1 (Nature tileset).

How dfo I do it so it actually loads tileset 2 rather than keep giving me tilesets 1 blocks? As creating the blocks all over again will take hours...
I believe that importing and exporting blocks from Tileset 2 accidentally imports and exports Tileset 1s blocks in A-map. It's probably a bug or something. The only thing you can do is make them by hand, or copy paste in a hex editor, but I don't know where that kind of data is stored, or even HOW it's stored. If you make the tiles as you go, it isn't so bad, at least.

Quote originally posted by Robert Conley:
Is there a list somewhere of ALL of the specials that can be use in XSE for Fire Red? Also a tutorial that covers movement scripting in XSE? I've looked in a few of the scripting tutorials and noene seem to cover these.
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=184273 for Specials, and http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=164276 for Movements.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21735    
Old June 25th, 2012 (07:55 AM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 3,393
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
This document covers almost all of the known specials in FireRed, and the "applymovement" section of this tutorial covers scripting movements.

edit: i dun got ninjad

@ Dale, for loading .bvd files, use AMap 1.92. 1.95 just glitches it up.
  #21736    
Old June 25th, 2012 (08:01 AM). Edited June 25th, 2012 by Robert Conley.
Robert Conley's Avatar
Robert Conley Robert Conley is offline
GPXPlus.net/user/Robert+Conley
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The Anti Spiral Homeworld
Gender: Male
Nature: Docile
Posts: 330
Thanks to both of you!

One more thing, how do you change the language in Amap and have it stay changed? For some reason the language it opens in isn't english, even though that's what I set it to. I try using the settings menu but every time I close and reopen it it changes back. I'm not sure what language it is but palette is called alabastia.
__________________
  #21737    
Old June 25th, 2012 (09:49 AM).
thanethane98's Avatar
thanethane98 thanethane98 is offline
Self Proclaimed Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 83
Hey, does anybody know where the script for the TV is at the beginning of the game in Ruby, where your mom brings you over to it and goes through a few messages? I've been trying to find the script for it on Advance Map, but I can't seem to. :/
  #21738    
Old June 25th, 2012 (10:06 AM).
miksy91's Avatar
miksy91 miksy91 is offline
A GB/C Rom Hacker since 2010
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: A small country in the North
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 1,298
Quote originally posted by thanethane98:
Hey, does anybody know where the script for the TV is at the beginning of the game in Ruby, where your mom brings you over to it and goes through a few messages? I've been trying to find the script for it on Advance Map, but I can't seem to. :/
Download a table file and a hex editor.
Search for the text that is displayed during that script and a pointer to that text which leads you to the script command of "msgbox @text" in which that @text displays the text that is shown during the script. The rest of that script is located before and after the msgbox code.

This sounds probably quite difficult but it's much more simple than you realize. There are bound to be some text editing tutorials here so check one out and see how it's done.
__________________
My Rom Hack




Learn how to hack GB/C games:

Check my GameBoy/Color hacking videos in Youtube
-The video set uses Pokemon Silver (U) rom for demonstrations
  #21739    
Old June 25th, 2012 (12:26 PM).
JBawls JBawls is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 21
I know I am reposting this but switching to a different scripter was not helping me...

Hello, not sure if anyone read past the thank you on my last post so I'm just gonna explain my new problem here haha...

When I leave a map via a warp or etc, and then return to said map the items all 'respawn' if you will. How do I stop this? Is it one of the unknowns on A M or a scripting problem?

Here is the exact script generated by pokescript...

#org 0x874015A
'-----------------------------------
copyvarifnotzero 0x8000 TM03
copyvarifnotzero 0x8001 0x1
callstd MSG_FIND ' PLAYER found one XXXXXX!
end
  #21740    
Old June 25th, 2012 (01:15 PM). Edited June 25th, 2012 by redriders180.
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 537
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by JBawls:
I know I am reposting this but switching to a different scripter was not helping me...

Hello, not sure if anyone read past the thank you on my last post so I'm just gonna explain my new problem here haha...

When I leave a map via a warp or etc, and then return to said map the items all 'respawn' if you will. How do I stop this? Is it one of the unknowns on A M or a scripting problem?

Here is the exact script generated by pokescript...

#org 0x874015A
'-----------------------------------
copyvarifnotzero 0x8000 TM03
copyvarifnotzero 0x8001 0x1
callstd MSG_FIND ' PLAYER found one XXXXXX!
end
I believe you switched to XSE, so the above script won't accomplish anything. In XSE, you just need to use this script:

#dynamic 0x800000
#org @start
giveitem ITEM_TM03 0x1 MSG_OBTAIN
end

and give the Item Ball OW a unique person ID.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21741    
Old June 25th, 2012 (02:00 PM). Edited June 25th, 2012 by JBawls.
JBawls JBawls is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 21
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
I believe you switched to XSE, so the above script won't accomplish anything. In XSE, you just need to use this script:

#dynamic 0x800000
#org @start
giveitem ITEM_TM03 0x1 MSG_OBTAIN
end

and give the Item Ball OW a unique person ID.
I was going to but xse is kind of a pain in the butt so I would prefer to stick with pokescript if possible.

And just for the record when I put in what you said to put in on XSE I get a mismatch error...

#dynamic 0x800000
#org @start
#giveitem ITEM_TM03 0x1 MSG_OBTAIN
#end Thats what I put and this is the exact error...

"Error 13: Unknown keyword 'giveitem'
  #21742    
Old June 25th, 2012 (02:06 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 537
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by JBawls:
I was going to but xse is kind of a pain in the butt so I would prefer to stick with pokescript if possible.

And just for the record when I put in what you said to put in on XSE I get a mismatch error...

#dynamic 0x800000
#org @start
#giveitem ITEM_TM03 0x1 MSG_OBTAIN
#end Thats what I put and this is the exact error...

"Error 13: Unknown keyword 'giveitem'
Why do you put the # in front of each command? If you want to stick with Pokescript, then you'll get alot less help. And if XSE is saying giveitem isn't a command, then you must have an extremely old version of XSE...
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21743    
Old June 25th, 2012 (02:08 PM). Edited June 25th, 2012 by JBawls.
JBawls JBawls is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 21
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
Why do you put the # in front of each command? If you want to stick with Pokescript, then you'll get alot less help. And if XSE is saying giveitem isn't a command, then you must have an extremely old version of XSE...
Can someone provide a more up to date link then because I got this one from the last guy...

I just got the most up to date 1.1.1 and still same errors dude... if I remove the # it tellls me to define it and when I add the # it says giveitem is invalid
  #21744    
Old June 25th, 2012 (02:16 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 537
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by JBawls:
Can someone provide a more up to date link then because I got this one from the last guy...
Check what version you have first. If it's v1.1.1, then you're up-to-date. If it isn't, then you can get v1.1.1 here. I heard that HackMew's thread has outdated links, so this is my own personal copy. But all credit to HackMew, of course. I didn't have time to copy the std.rbh file, so you'll have to go manual until you get one, so no ITEM_ULTRABALL or PKMN_PLUSLE shortcuts, I'm afraid.

My script works, so it's a problem on your end. Try replacing ITEM_TM03 with it's hex equivalent, and replacing MSG_OBTAIN with 0x0.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21745    
Old June 25th, 2012 (02:18 PM). Edited June 25th, 2012 by JBawls.
JBawls JBawls is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 21
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
Check what version you have first. If it's v1.1.1, then you're up-to-date. If it isn't, then you can get v1.1.1 here. I heard that HackMew's thread has outdated links, so this is my own personal copy. But all credit to HackMew, of course. I didn't have time to copy the std.rbh file, so you'll have to go manual until you get one, so no ITEM_ULTRABALL or PKMN_PLUSLE shortcuts, I'm afraid.
I do have 1.1.1 by hackmew and im stilll getting the same exact errors when I try this your way...

No offense to you RedRiders but can I get someone else to assist me on this problem?
  #21746    
Old June 25th, 2012 (02:21 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 537
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by JBawls:
I do have 1.1.1 by hackmew and im stilll getting the same exact errors when I try this your way...

No offense to you RedRiders but can I get someone else to assist me on this problem?
Call me Lucbui...

I've been hacking for two years, so I know what I'm talking about. You probably don't have an std file, so it's not my fault you're getting errors. Try what I said above, and don't put #s on the giveitem or end commands.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21747    
Old June 25th, 2012 (02:21 PM).
JBawls JBawls is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 21
Like its nothing past give item the script does not read past the giveitem issue... so changing ITEM_TM03 or MSG_OBTAIN is pointless
  #21748    
Old June 25th, 2012 (02:24 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 537
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by JBawls:
Like its nothing past give item the script does not read past the giveitem issue... so changing ITEM_TM03 or MSG_OBTAIN is pointless
Did you even try changing it? It's giving a #define error because ITEM_TM03 isn't defined. It's looking for a hex value, and ITEM_TM03 isn't a hex value. I can guarantee anyone else here would say the exact same thing. Just change the values to their hex equivalent, and you'll be fine. And give the item OW a unique Person ID.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21749    
Old June 25th, 2012 (02:25 PM). Edited June 25th, 2012 by JBawls.
JBawls JBawls is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 21
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
Call me Lucbui...

I've been hacking for two years, so I know what I'm talking about. You probably don't have an std file, so it's not my fault you're getting errors. Try what I said above, and don't put #s on the giveitem or end commands.
I have these files within the xse folder...
std.rbh
stdattacks.rbh
stditems.rbh
stdpoke.rbh

Quote originally posted by redriders180:
Did you even try changing it? It's giving a #define error because ITEM_TM03 isn't defined. It's looking for a hex value, and ITEM_TM03 isn't a hex value. I can guarantee anyone else here would say the exact same thing. Just change the values to their hex equivalent, and you'll be fine. And give the item OW a unique Person ID.
Is there a way to simply figure out the hex value through xse because I havent been able to figure it out and I script for a living >.<.
  #21750    
Old June 25th, 2012 (02:30 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 537
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by JBawls:
I have these files within the xse folder...
std.rbh
stdattacks.rbh
stditems.rbh
stdpoke.rbh

Is there a way to simply figure out the hex value through xse because I havent been able to figure it out and I script for a living >.<.
try inserting the line #include stditems.rbh at the very beginning of the script.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 03:09 AM.