Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #21826    
Old July 1st, 2012 (11:41 PM). Edited July 2nd, 2012 by KhaosKnight.
KhaosKnight's Avatar
KhaosKnight KhaosKnight is offline
The 1 and only Khaotic Hacker
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 355
Quote originally posted by Teawanee:
Please help? I'm a noob at hacking, so try to explain things as simply as possible? I'm using a fire red rom btw ^.^

I'm using unLZ.gba to replace sprites, and when I write to rom I keep getting the error: "Compressed size is XXX: which is too big."
Is there any way to fix this?

Also, when you first start the game you know the page with the charizard and flames and version name? can I edit that in any way?

This is unLZ telling you that your Sprite image is too big to be put in that spot where the old image is, so you will need to re-point that image elsewhere in your ROM. unLZ will do this for you, here is an excerpt from my Tutorial that should help you.

Spoiler:

A dialog will appear, Check Export Image and Automatically fix pointer, and make sure to leave Export Palette UNCHECKED...



After clicking OK, you should get this message, although the size will be most likely different for you.




Next, open up FSF, load your ROM, and click “Search from the beginning of the ROM”. Then in the bottom corner under Dec/Hex type in the Hex offset you received from unLZ. The number on top will be converted to Decimal. Take that and put it in the Needed Bytes box, click Find, Then click Copy.



This is the area of free space in your ROM that can fit your Tile Set, so we will go back to unLZ with this offset and paste it into the Image Offset box. Then click OK.



It should give you confirmation that the data was re-pointed correctly.




As for the second part you are probably referring to the Title screen in Fire Red. There is a Tutorial on that in the Tutorials section of the forum, usually midway through the first page.
__________________





  #21827    
Old July 1st, 2012 (11:59 PM).
Lugia_Da_Boss's Avatar
Lugia_Da_Boss Lugia_Da_Boss is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 78
Does repointing your text in Advanced Text do any harm?
  #21828    
Old July 2nd, 2012 (12:26 AM).
ADLFM14's Avatar
ADLFM14 ADLFM14 is offline
Legendary Spriter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: EGYPT
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 42
i want to change the word Fight,Run,BAG,Run which are the commands in the battle box
so i searched for them using A-TEXT and found them but when i change them and re point them and test i found no change is the error from me or those commands are uneditable?
__________________
My Tutorials:
Hacking Ruby Title Screen Completely Step By Step
How To Insert An OW Sprite In NSE Classic Step By Step.
Hacks I'm Currently Making


Join My Hacking Team(D.A.T.S)




My deviantART


  #21829    
Old July 2nd, 2012 (02:08 AM). Edited July 2nd, 2012 by KhaosKnight.
KhaosKnight's Avatar
KhaosKnight KhaosKnight is offline
The 1 and only Khaotic Hacker
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 355
Quote originally posted by ADLFM14:
i want to change the word Fight,Run,BAG,Run which are the commands in the battle box
so i searched for them using A-TEXT and found them but when i change them and re point them and test i found no change is the error from me or those commands are uneditable?
They are indeed editable, for a FireRed ROM the offset to the text is 3FE725, and this is the string.

Code:
\c[&H05]È\c[&H04]ÒÓÔFIGHT\c[&H13][&H38]BAG
POKéMON\c[&H13][&H38]RUN
For a Ruby ROM it should be 400CF3.


Code:
\c[&H05]È\c[&H04]ÒÓÔFIGHT\c[&H13]+BAG
POKéMON\c[&H13]+RUN
and finally for Emerald it should be 5CCA3A

Code:
FIGHT\c[&H13][&H38]BAG
POKéMON\c[&H13][&H38]RUN
I have played around with these before and when I re-point they work just fine. Although watch out for the amount of text you put in, sometimes it cuts off(Attachment).
Attached Images
File Type: png Untitled.png‎ (79.8 KB, 16 views) (Save to Dropbox)
__________________





  #21830    
Old July 2nd, 2012 (03:34 AM).
ADLFM14's Avatar
ADLFM14 ADLFM14 is offline
Legendary Spriter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: EGYPT
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 42
Quote originally posted by KhaosKnight:
They are indeed editable, for a FireRed ROM the offset to the text is 3FE725, and this is the string.

Code:
\c[&H05]È\c[&H04]ÒÓÔFIGHT\c[&H13][&H38]BAG
POKéMON\c[&H13][&H38]RUN
For a Ruby ROM it should be 400CF3.


Code:
\c[&H05]È\c[&H04]ÒÓÔFIGHT\c[&H13]+BAG
POKéMON\c[&H13]+RUN
and finally for Emerald it should be 5CCA3A

Code:
FIGHT\c[&H13][&H38]BAG
POKéMON\c[&H13][&H38]RUN
I have played around with these before and when I re-point they work just fine. Although watch out for the amount of text you put in, sometimes it cuts off(Attachment).
Sorry im a noob at A-TEXt but where should i put the offset of ruby in Advance text and how do i change them?
__________________
My Tutorials:
Hacking Ruby Title Screen Completely Step By Step
How To Insert An OW Sprite In NSE Classic Step By Step.
Hacks I'm Currently Making


Join My Hacking Team(D.A.T.S)




My deviantART


  #21831    
Old July 2nd, 2012 (06:03 AM).
Shootingace's Avatar
Shootingace Shootingace is offline
Lord
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 78
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
I just did a quick check, and the credits are editable in A-text. It's very seperated though. For example, "Director" is one string, and "Junichi Masuda" is a completely separate string. You'll need to find all of them in order to edit the credits, which should be a pretty big feat, but it's still do-able.

The rival naming is only removable with ASM.



If the stuff in the toolbox confuses your brains you ought to start somewhere basic. The three tools that, in my opinion, any ROM hacker needs is Advance Map, both 1.95 and 1.92 if possible, XSE 1.1.1, and a good hex editor. Technically, a hex editor is the only thing you need, but A-Map and XSE help make the process somewhat less confusing. Learn how to use those tools, and basic ROM hacking stuff before downloading tons of tools. It's better to understand before you blindly charge in
Thanks this helps alot! I downloaded the applications and they work fine.
  #21832    
Old July 2nd, 2012 (09:25 AM). Edited July 2nd, 2012 by amcolash.
amcolash's Avatar
amcolash amcolash is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 26
Quote originally posted by ADLFM14:
Sorry im a noob at A-TEXt but where should i put the offset of ruby in Advance text and how do i change them?
What he meant was that you need to hex edit at that offset. You cannot use Advance Text most likely to change that phrase. In order to use the offset, you need to edit the file that contains a list of phrases in Advance Text. Open the "ini" folder in the place where Advance Text is kept. Then look for the file that says AXVE.ini which is the list of phrases in Ruby. Open this file and you should see a list of different phrases and their offsets. Right below the beginning
Code:
'********************************************'
'********************************************'
'
' Advance-Text Offset-file
'
' Created with Advance-Text Version: 3.0.10
'
' Created on: 07.09.2005 16:33:00
'
'********************************************'
'
' ROM Name     : POKEMON RUBY
' ROM Code     : AXVE
' ROM Language : English
' ROM Maker    : Nintendo
'
'********************************************'
you should add the following for Ruby after the above code
Code:
[Battle Dialogue]
Options=400CF3
so it looks like this after you are done
Code:
' ROM Language : English
' ROM Maker    : Nintendo
'
'********************************************'
[Battle Dialogue]
Options=400CF3
[Title]
New Game=40DCD0
Options=40DCE2
Continue=40DCD9
and that should be it! Now you can change the text with Adv-Text
  #21833    
Old July 2nd, 2012 (10:24 AM). Edited July 2nd, 2012 by redriders180.
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 537
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by ADLFM14:
Sorry im a noob at A-TEXt but where should i put the offset of ruby in Advance text and how do i change them?
Alternatively, right-click on any of the selections in A-Map, and select "add new offset". You can then choose a section name, make a "nickname" for the battle text, and insert the offset of the text you want to edit. You need to convert the offset to decimal, however.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21834    
Old July 2nd, 2012 (04:54 PM).
KhaosKnight's Avatar
KhaosKnight KhaosKnight is offline
The 1 and only Khaotic Hacker
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 355
Quote originally posted by ADLFM14:
Sorry im a noob at A-TEXt but where should i put the offset of ruby in Advance text and how do i change them?

If anything else you take the string I provided for Ruby and search for that in the A-Text search. Save it, then you can edit it in the main window. Make your changes, re-point, and test.
__________________





  #21835    
Old July 2nd, 2012 (05:17 PM).
Darkrai Lv.1000's Avatar
Darkrai Lv.1000 Darkrai Lv.1000 is offline
Has a tendency to figure things out
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Aboard the Arc-Gurren
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 646
Send a message via AIM to Darkrai Lv.1000
oh, searching works!
perhaps i can run a video of the credits alongside my searches to edit it effectively...

now, i'm not too knowledgeable on the whole ASM thing, but would I need some know-how in order to insert a completely new type into the game (ex: Light-type) without overwriting another?

pleasesaynopleasesaynopleasesayno
__________________
  #21836    
Old July 2nd, 2012 (05:30 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 537
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by Darkrai Lv.1000:
oh, searching works!
perhaps i can run a video of the credits alongside my searches to edit it effectively...

now, i'm not too knowledgeable on the whole ASM thing, but would I need some know-how in order to insert a completely new type into the game (ex: Light-type) without overwriting another?

pleasesaynopleasesaynopleasesayno
Well, it depends. Are you willing to sacrifice the ???-type? If you are, then no, otherwise, yes.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21837    
Old July 2nd, 2012 (06:47 PM).
Rights's Avatar
Rights Rights is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 2
I've searched a bit for this and haven't found anything but I apologize If the answer is obvious and I'm just not seeing it. How do I change the X,Y location for where my character starts the game in Fire Red? I used HackMew's SMCA but it only allows me to pick the X location unless I'm missing something.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks all.
  #21838    
Old July 2nd, 2012 (07:06 PM).
ADLFM14's Avatar
ADLFM14 ADLFM14 is offline
Legendary Spriter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: EGYPT
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 42
Quote originally posted by KhaosKnight:
If anything else you take the string I provided for Ruby and search for that in the A-Text search. Save it, then you can edit it in the main window. Make your changes, re-point, and test.
Sorry for the inconvenience again i understood what you said and edited successfully the battle commands but the problem is that there are some other text i want to edit like TORCHIC used GROWL! i searched for the word "used" because i don't know the default Pokemon name is what? till i found this \v[&H20] used \v[&H13]!
i edited and repoint but when i test it still Torchic Used GROWL i tried the way you told me when i searched i found the offset and switch it to hex and put it in the INI file and edit it but also nothing change what the problem again and sorry for my bad englsih :D
__________________
My Tutorials:
Hacking Ruby Title Screen Completely Step By Step
How To Insert An OW Sprite In NSE Classic Step By Step.
Hacks I'm Currently Making


Join My Hacking Team(D.A.T.S)




My deviantART


  #21839    
Old July 2nd, 2012 (07:57 PM).
Zaerosz Zaerosz is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 12
So myself and a friend are starting up a ROMhack project, and we're having some issues with the sprites for our new Pokemon. Specifically, the sprites are somehow picking up the background colour of the image file around the edges, resulting in blocky black outlines that we really want to get rid of. Does anyone have any idea how to fix this? I would post an image but my post-count isn't high enough yet.
  #21840    
Old July 2nd, 2012 (08:58 PM).
KhaosKnight's Avatar
KhaosKnight KhaosKnight is offline
The 1 and only Khaotic Hacker
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 355
Quote originally posted by ADLFM14:
Sorry for the inconvenience again i understood what you said and edited successfully the battle commands but the problem is that there are some other text i want to edit like TORCHIC used GROWL! i searched for the word "used" because i don't know the default Pokemon name is what? till i found this \v[&H20] used \v[&H13]!
i edited and repoint but when i test it still Torchic Used GROWL i tried the way you told me when i searched i found the offset and switch it to hex and put it in the INI file and edit it but also nothing change what the problem again and sorry for my bad englsih :D
That one was trickier to find. The offset for that is at 4007BD or just search the following string. Editing this string will affect both of the "used" in "TORCHIC used GROWL" and "Wild POOCHYENA used GROWL"

Code:
[LEGEND1] used
[PLAYER]
I didn't think that would be it, but I tested it and it worked. Things like these just take trial and error, there are a great deal a similar text strings throughout the game. Just make a backup, play with the different strings, and write down the ones that work they way you want them to.
__________________





  #21841    
Old July 2nd, 2012 (10:33 PM).
Darkrai Lv.1000's Avatar
Darkrai Lv.1000 Darkrai Lv.1000 is offline
Has a tendency to figure things out
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Aboard the Arc-Gurren
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 646
Send a message via AIM to Darkrai Lv.1000
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
Well, it depends. Are you willing to sacrifice the ???-type? If you are, then no, otherwise, yes.
...
i forgot about the ???-type. xD
i'll just replace that. nobody will miss Curse, right?

ok, i think this next predicament will be the last one... for now.
is there any way i can put the underwater tileset from R/S/E into FireRed successfully? i've tried, but it always ends up looking horrible, off-colored, and with many tiles missing. is there a tutorial for this i can be directed to?
__________________
  #21842    
Old July 2nd, 2012 (10:47 PM).
KhaosKnight's Avatar
KhaosKnight KhaosKnight is offline
The 1 and only Khaotic Hacker
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 355
Quote originally posted by Lugia_Da_Boss:
Does repointing your text in Advanced Text do any harm?
It seems everyone just ran over your question sorry :D.

Most likely no, as long as the text it being correctly re-pointed to free space. This shouldn't be a problem with editing Fire Red or Ruby, but I'm not sure if the latest A-Text re-points to Emeralds free space or not.
__________________





  #21843    
Old July 2nd, 2012 (11:44 PM).
Lugia_Da_Boss's Avatar
Lugia_Da_Boss Lugia_Da_Boss is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 78
Is there any engine for Fire Red with all the names and stuff decapitalized? Although I can find and decapitalize most text, there's still a ton that isn't in Advanced Text and I'm the worst Hex Editor ever.
  #21844    
Old July 3rd, 2012 (12:25 AM).
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji DrFuji is offline
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Downia-upside
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 1,322
Quote originally posted by Lugia_Da_Boss:
Is there any engine for Fire Red with all the names and stuff decapitalized? Although I can find and decapitalize most text, there's still a ton that isn't in Advanced Text and I'm the worst Hex Editor ever.
There is a FR de-capitalisation patch in this post.
__________________
  #21845    
Old July 3rd, 2012 (04:12 AM).
jhay21's Avatar
jhay21 jhay21 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Nature: Timid
Posts: 20
speaking of text editing does anyone know where i can find "TRAINER is about to use POKEMON"? you know the line when the npc is about to send its next pokemon. for fire red btw
  #21846    
Old July 3rd, 2012 (07:54 AM).
KhaosKnight's Avatar
KhaosKnight KhaosKnight is offline
The 1 and only Khaotic Hacker
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 355
Quote originally posted by jhay21:
speaking of text editing does anyone know where i can find "TRAINER is about to use POKEMON"? you know the line when the npc is about to send its next pokemon. for fire red btw
Should be 3FD186

Code:
\v[&H1C] \v[&H1D] is
about to use [PLAYER].

Will \v[&H23] change
POKéMON?
__________________





  #21847    
Old July 3rd, 2012 (04:25 PM).
Daikoru's Avatar
Daikoru Daikoru is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 76
Hello.

I'm trying to create a new Trainer Sprite, using Nameless Sprite Editor. I've finished the first sprite, but somehow, it refuses to save. When I attempt, I get the following error:

"842 bytes is too long for this offset, Aborting"

The Save window says "Data Bytes: 815", so I'm supposing that's the limit. I have the option to not abort if it's too big, but I fear I may corrupt something by doing so. I tried reducing the amount of bytes, but I don't get how it's calculated.

Any idea on what I should do?
  #21848    
Old July 3rd, 2012 (05:54 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 537
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by Daikoru:
Hello.

I'm trying to create a new Trainer Sprite, using Nameless Sprite Editor. I've finished the first sprite, but somehow, it refuses to save. When I attempt, I get the following error:

"842 bytes is too long for this offset, Aborting"

The Save window says "Data Bytes: 815", so I'm supposing that's the limit. I have the option to not abort if it's too big, but I fear I may corrupt something by doing so. I tried reducing the amount of bytes, but I don't get how it's calculated.

Any idea on what I should do?
The way compressed images work is, instead of mapping each byte out one by one, it maps out how long one of each color is. For example, if you had a single line of red pixels, uncompressed, the data would read "red, red, red, red, red, red...", while compressed would read "red sixteen times".

But that's beside the point. To save the picture somewhere else, you need to repoint it, basically, put it in free space and tell the game to look there instead of the original sprite. Both the Classic version and the 2.X version do repointing, although the error message usually reads something like "X bytes is too long. Would you like to repoint to $YYYYYY?" Which version are you using?
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21849    
Old July 3rd, 2012 (06:38 PM).
Nara567's Avatar
Nara567 Nara567 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 34
This is getting ridiculous.

AdvanceMap 1.95, almost all of the time when I make a map, it asks if I want to save. I click yes, and try to go to a different map, but it asks if I want to save again, over and over. Closing out of the program bugs the map, not letting me see it. Any help?
  #21850    
Old July 3rd, 2012 (06:41 PM).
amcolash's Avatar
amcolash amcolash is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 26
Quote originally posted by Darkrai Lv.1000:
...
i forgot about the ???-type. xD
i'll just replace that. nobody will miss Curse, right?

ok, i think this next predicament will be the last one... for now.
is there any way i can put the underwater tileset from R/S/E into FireRed successfully? i've tried, but it always ends up looking horrible, off-colored, and with many tiles missing. is there a tutorial for this i can be directed to?
Well, I have had relatively good success with it. I actually hated the purple colored tiles that ruby had, so I decided to make them a blue instead. I'll attach a youtube video of mine, and it also shows a dive system. My system is actually quite simple and cheating a bit, it just fades, moves the player on the map to another part, and unfades I only need 1/2 dive spots at max and it was working better than other solutions I came across. If you would like to use my tiles, just let me know - I don't have too many right now, but I just colored them differently.

(Since I don't have 15 posts yet...) youtube dot com/watch?v=hLiK1SsmexA
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 01:43 AM.