Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub > Beginner’s Lounge
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Beginner’s Lounge Where all good (and bad) ideas start. This is the Beginner’s Lounge, where if you need a helping hand or want to develop your small ideas, you bring it here. We won't bite.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #22101    
Old July 17th, 2012 (11:08 PM).
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron Darthatron is offline
巨大なトロール。
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,152
Quote originally posted by CrystalStatic:
Okay, I have another question. Is the "setmaptile" command a permanent change to the landscape? Or is it only temporary?
Only temporary. Put it in a level script to make it appear permanently.
__________________
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
  #22102    
Old July 18th, 2012 (01:15 AM).
Darkrai Lv.1000's Avatar
Darkrai Lv.1000 Darkrai Lv.1000 is offline
Has a tendency to figure things out
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Aboard the Arc-Gurren
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to Darkrai Lv.1000
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
It seems that the table of names are at 0x1F832D, while the data is at 0x1FB12C
Quote originally posted by Ark_Silvanos:
for future reference, check a tool's ini... it usually has relevant offsets there (use pge's, its got all the main offsets)
I looked in the ini, and found those exact offsets for the attack table and attack names array (with the exception of the names array, which is actually 0x1F8320. I'm sure it was a typo though. xD )

Thank you both! :D Next I'm going to figure out the other offsets the tutorial mentions and try to find those in Ruby.
__________________
  #22103    
Old July 18th, 2012 (04:10 AM).
Daikoru's Avatar
Daikoru Daikoru is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 76
It appears I've been forgotten already? I'm still waiting for an answer.

Quote originally posted by Daikoru:
Hello.

I'm trying to create a new move, using the Attack Editor with Pokemon Game Editor. I replaced a move that I do not intend to use on any of my Fakemons: Volt Tackle. Everything seems to work as intended, except for two things:

-The description always stays the one for Volt Tackle. Even thought I press Save, just switching moves and going back to it changes the description back.
-The move animation also stays the Volt Tackle one, despite trying to repoint to the Leaf Blade animation. The Animation Pointer keeps the Leaf Blade value thought...

Any idea what's wrong? Should I download a new program to modify those?

Thanks in advance for the answer.
  #22104    
Old July 18th, 2012 (08:34 AM).
Ark_Silvanos's Avatar
Ark_Silvanos Ark_Silvanos is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Texas
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Posts: 150
Quote originally posted by Daikoru:
It appears I've been forgotten already? I'm still waiting for an answer.
Check it in a hex editor. Maybe the program didn't save it? change the pointers manually and check if it works... or try a different move editor...
__________________


  #22105    
Old July 18th, 2012 (08:55 AM).
Daikoru's Avatar
Daikoru Daikoru is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 76
Well, the only other move editors I know of don't even have the description and animation... Guess I'll go learn how to use an Hex Editor.
  #22106    
Old July 18th, 2012 (10:09 AM).
Blue's Avatar
Blue Blue is offline
we're beautiful now ♪
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 11,809
Just got a minor question.. when using A-Trainer with creating new trainers, I wanted the music to be the FRLG Gym Leader music but whenever I set it as what I think is right (Music 0, Unknown 7) it just plays the normal trainer music, is there any way I can fix this?
__________________
  #22107    
Old July 18th, 2012 (10:19 AM). Edited July 18th, 2012 by Renegade.
Renegade's Avatar
Renegade Renegade is offline
Time for real life...
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 998
Quote originally posted by Suicune™:
Just got a minor question.. when using A-Trainer with creating new trainers, I wanted the music to be the FRLG Gym Leader music but whenever I set it as what I think is right (Music 0, Unknown 7) it just plays the normal trainer music, is there any way I can fix this?
Try intro music 1 and unknown 7.
  #22108    
Old July 18th, 2012 (10:25 AM).
Blue's Avatar
Blue Blue is offline
we're beautiful now ♪
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 11,809
Quote originally posted by CrystalStatic:
Try intro music 1 and unknown 7.
I've tried both 0 & 1 but neither of them work, it works fine in Emerald just not Fire Red.
__________________
  #22109    
Old July 18th, 2012 (11:11 AM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 538
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by Suicune™:


I've tried both 0 & 1 but neither of them work, it works fine in Emerald just not Fire Red.
I believe music in FRLG is dependent on the Trainer Class, and not by music number and stuff. Meaning, without ASM, only trainers with the Trainer Class "Gym Leader" (or is it just "Leader"...I don't remember, but you get the idea) will play that theme. Same with Champion music and everything else.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #22110    
Old July 18th, 2012 (11:45 AM).
FrozenInfernoZX's Avatar
FrozenInfernoZX FrozenInfernoZX is offline
Legendary Trainer ZX
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 649
Send a message via AIM to FrozenInfernoZX
Does anyone know how to remove the Kanto region dex from the pokedex menu? I am planning to create my own custom pokedex with around 350 Pokemon from Gen 1 - 5.
  #22111    
Old July 18th, 2012 (12:03 PM).
Ark_Silvanos's Avatar
Ark_Silvanos Ark_Silvanos is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Texas
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Posts: 150
Quote originally posted by FrozenInfernoZX:
Does anyone know how to remove the Kanto region dex from the pokedex menu? I am planning to create my own custom pokedex with around 350 Pokemon from Gen 1 - 5.
Fire Red Pokedex Hacking

^Instead of removing it, wouldn't it be easier to just use the Kanto Dex? I was trying to do the same thing in my in-planning hack, so i increased the limiters and used the 'evo-doesn't-need-national-dex' patch thing. leveling evolutions work, but stone evolutions don't (atleast for me they didn't you could try and see if it works for you). I've msged Jambo bout it, cuz he seems the most knowledgeable about dex hacking and i'm waiting to see if he can help me out.

Still... this method works... mostly .
__________________


  #22112    
Old July 18th, 2012 (12:14 PM).
SacredMurathJohn's Avatar
SacredMurathJohn SacredMurathJohn is offline
ROM Hacking
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Turkey
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 41
Hey folks,
anyone knows where the POKéMON EVOLUTION SCREEN script pointer is in Firered FIREBPRE?
  #22113    
Old July 18th, 2012 (01:25 PM).
FrozenInfernoZX's Avatar
FrozenInfernoZX FrozenInfernoZX is offline
Legendary Trainer ZX
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 649
Send a message via AIM to FrozenInfernoZX
Quote originally posted by Ark_Silvanos:
Fire Red Pokedex Hacking

^Instead of removing it, wouldn't it be easier to just use the Kanto Dex? I was trying to do the same thing in my in-planning hack, so i increased the limiters and used the 'evo-doesn't-need-national-dex' patch thing. leveling evolutions work, but stone evolutions don't (atleast for me they didn't you could try and see if it works for you). I've msged Jambo bout it, cuz he seems the most knowledgeable about dex hacking and i'm waiting to see if he can help me out.

Still... this method works... mostly .
Cool! So I just change the 97 in hex to something else at the offset 0x10352C? And the Kanto dex will have, lets say 253 regional Pokemon. Also, how would I change the name of Kanto to my region? Thanks!
  #22114    
Old July 18th, 2012 (02:15 PM).
Renegade's Avatar
Renegade Renegade is offline
Time for real life...
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 998
This question is kind of hard to explain...

Pokemon Fire Red

There is a warp tile and a cave entrance that goes into a mountain. I got that warp working. It warps you into a cave. But then if you try to step out of the cave, the warp doesn't activate and it's just like you are stepping into a wall. The tile I'm using for the warp that doesn't work (if this matters) is the one that is a cave exit that has light shining through it. It is in Tileset 15. (The Mt. Moon tileset) I think this may have something to do with the Unknown value? Help please?
  #22115    
Old July 18th, 2012 (02:21 PM).
Ferox Ferox is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Female
Posts: 19
Crystal, I had the same problem and this is how I fixed it...

Find the tile that you want to place the warp on
go to 'Block editor' (Purple jigsaw piece in advance map)
Select the tile
On the right is a menu called 'Behaviour byte'.
Set the Behaviour Byte to 'Use warp' #61

That's how I got it working in mine.
  #22116    
Old July 18th, 2012 (02:49 PM).
Blue's Avatar
Blue Blue is offline
we're beautiful now ♪
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 11,809
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
I believe music in FRLG is dependent on the Trainer Class, and not by music number and stuff. Meaning, without ASM, only trainers with the Trainer Class "Gym Leader" (or is it just "Leader"...I don't remember, but you get the idea) will play that theme. Same with Champion music and everything else.
I know, I've set it as Leader and everything else is according to what it should be but it just seems to play the default music still, maybe it's just an error but I'm sure people have done it before.
__________________
  #22117    
Old July 18th, 2012 (03:12 PM).
Renegade's Avatar
Renegade Renegade is offline
Time for real life...
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 998
Quote originally posted by Ferox:
Crystal, I had the same problem and this is how I fixed it...

Find the tile that you want to place the warp on
go to 'Block editor' (Purple jigsaw piece in advance map)
Select the tile
On the right is a menu called 'Behaviour byte'.
Set the Behaviour Byte to 'Use warp' #61

That's how I got it working in mine.
Ah, I figured it out. There are several different floor tiles that look the exact same. But the behavior of some of them is different. There is one floor tile that warps you if you step down. But without your information, I wouldn't have figured it out, so thanks!
  #22118    
Old July 18th, 2012 (06:40 PM).
mewmasterify's Avatar
mewmasterify mewmasterify is offline
Actual Mew
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Faraway Island
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 71
How do i make a frame for trainer sprites so that i can animate them?
__________________
  #22119    
Old July 18th, 2012 (08:45 PM). Edited July 18th, 2012 by Ark_Silvanos.
Ark_Silvanos's Avatar
Ark_Silvanos Ark_Silvanos is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Texas
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Posts: 150
Quote originally posted by FrozenInfernoZX:
Cool! So I just change the 97 in hex to something else at the offset 0x10352C? And the Kanto dex will have, lets say 253 regional Pokemon. Also, how would I change the name of Kanto to my region? Thanks!
I dont think you need to... It only shows up as 'Pokedex' if you dont have the national dex.

edit: ya... change the 96 & 97 to whatever number you want, then change the bytes that restrict evolutions.


Quote originally posted by mewmasterify:
How do i make a frame for trainer sprites so that i can animate them?
I think it works the same way as making animated pokemon. ie inserting them as 128x64 images.
__________________


  #22120    
Old July 18th, 2012 (09:03 PM).
Renegade's Avatar
Renegade Renegade is offline
Time for real life...
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 998
Quote originally posted by Suicune™:


I know, I've set it as Leader and everything else is according to what it should be but it just seems to play the default music still, maybe it's just an error but I'm sure people have done it before.
Just to make sure, try intro music 6 and unknown 7. That plays a gym leader song for me.
  #22121    
Old July 18th, 2012 (09:19 PM).
FrozenInfernoZX's Avatar
FrozenInfernoZX FrozenInfernoZX is offline
Legendary Trainer ZX
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 649
Send a message via AIM to FrozenInfernoZX
Quote originally posted by Ark_Silvanos:
I dont think you need to... It only shows up as 'Pokedex' if you dont have the national dex.

edit: ya... change the 96 & 97 to whatever number you want, then change the bytes that restrict evolutions.
The only little problem I have now is that the Pokemon between 150 and 253 do not count as added Pokemon (Meaning how much Pokemon you have) However, it does show as "caught" and "seen," but the counter thing in the dex doesn't count them.
  #22122    
Old July 19th, 2012 (03:13 AM).
mewmasterify's Avatar
mewmasterify mewmasterify is offline
Actual Mew
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Faraway Island
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 71
is it Possible to for the Pokemon to like animate forever like for example in Pokemon Black and White are animating there Pokemon for upto 11 frames and then it Goes through those Frames again.
__________________
  #22123    
Old July 19th, 2012 (03:43 AM).
Ark_Silvanos's Avatar
Ark_Silvanos Ark_Silvanos is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Texas
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Posts: 150
Quote originally posted by FrozenInfernoZX:
The only little problem I have now is that the Pokemon between 150 and 253 do not count as added Pokemon (Meaning how much Pokemon you have) However, it does show as "caught" and "seen," but the counter thing in the dex doesn't count them.
ah yeah... i didn't think of that... hmmm.... ah well... gotta try to find a fix sometime, but i honestly dont have a clue how it works

Quote originally posted by mewmasterify:
is it Possible to for the Pokemon to like animate forever like for example in Pokemon Black and White are animating there Pokemon for upto 11 frames and then it Goes through those Frames again.
no its not.
__________________


  #22124    
Old July 19th, 2012 (02:55 PM). Edited July 19th, 2012 by FrozenInfernoZX.
FrozenInfernoZX's Avatar
FrozenInfernoZX FrozenInfernoZX is offline
Legendary Trainer ZX
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 649
Send a message via AIM to FrozenInfernoZX
Ughhh, I don't think I'm going to edit the Pokedex order anymore. It's a looooooooong and tedious task, not including having to edit the footprints and the description of each assigned number since the description, etc is tied to the number. Ohh, and the habitats for the Pokemon. I think I'll just have to go the National Dex route.

Or is there a faster way to do this?
  #22125    
Old July 20th, 2012 (01:46 AM).
vasilis vasilis is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 80
hi ,i would like to know how i can change the starting pokemon in soul silver
__________________
<a href=http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=158324><img src=http://img511.imageshack.us/img511/1667/fanbarl.png border=0 alt= /></a>
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 04:14 PM.