Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub > Beginner’s Lounge
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Beginner’s Lounge Where all good (and bad) ideas start. This is the Beginner’s Lounge, where if you need a helping hand or want to develop your small ideas, you bring it here. We won't bite.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #22276    
Old July 27th, 2012 (03:18 PM).
Blue's Avatar
Blue Blue is offline
coven
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location:
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 11,338
This is the script:

#dynamic 0x800000

#org @start
trainerbattle 0x1 0x15 0x0 @intro @defeat @after
msgbox @msg 0x2
end

#org @after
msgbox @msg2 0x2
end

#org @intro
= Hi! Allow me to introduce myself!\nI'm Norma and I love Normal types.\lI've been a Gym leader for quite\lsome time now so I've gained a\lpretty decent battle technique!\lPrepare yourself, really...

#org @defeat
= Losing to a champion is\nrespectable! We tried our best but\lit wasn't enough..

#org @msg
= Hehe! Did you enjoy my floor\npuzzle? Did it confuse you? I\linstalled it myself!

#org @msg2
= I will remember you [player], you're one\nof those special trainers who\ldon't come along all too often!



I don't know if something needs to be included to make the music occur i.e specialx176.
__________________
  #22277    
Old July 27th, 2012 (03:38 PM).
machomuu's Avatar
machomuu machomuu is offline
Let the Good Times roll!
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Americalanavania
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 7,541
Hm...did you untick the "Trainer" box in A-Map?
__________________
  #22278    
Old July 27th, 2012 (05:59 PM).
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51 Jambo51 is offline
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 730
Quote originally posted by Suicune™:
This is the script:

#dynamic 0x800000

#org @start
trainerbattle 0x1 0x15 0x0 @intro @defeat @after
msgbox @msg 0x2
end

#org @after
msgbox @msg2 0x2
end

#org @intro
= Hi! Allow me to introduce myself!\nI'm Norma and I love Normal types.\lI've been a Gym leader for quite\lsome time now so I've gained a\lpretty decent battle technique!\lPrepare yourself, really...

#org @defeat
= Losing to a champion is\nrespectable! We tried our best but\lit wasn't enough..

#org @msg
= Hehe! Did you enjoy my floor\npuzzle? Did it confuse you? I\linstalled it myself!

#org @msg2
= I will remember you [player], you're one\nof those special trainers who\ldon't come along all too often!



I don't know if something needs to be included to make the music occur i.e specialx176.
The part I bolded in your post is the problem. Trainerbattles of type 0x1 DO NOT have the music and walking up part. If you NEED the script to be executed after you win the battle, change it to type 0x2. It will then do the music and walking up, as well as execute the script after victory.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
  #22279    
Old July 27th, 2012 (06:01 PM).
DragoonFL DragoonFL is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
Hi, I am looking for a hacking tool that let's me alter pokemon sprites for G/S/C.
I want to add a sprite to the game in place of another, anything like that around?
I saw a video showing Kirby in the game, and raquayza and stuff. Is it possible,
and can I have a link to the tool?
  #22280    
Old July 27th, 2012 (06:06 PM).
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji DrFuji is offline
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Downia-upside
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 1,322
Quote originally posted by Xealeos:
How do you change the battle music for a single trainer into (for example) the gym leader battle music?
Quote originally posted by Suicune™:
Basically it's Fire Red, when I set the trainer class as "Leader" it just plays the normal trainer battle theme, I've previously created custom trainers and set the class as leader which worked fine but since making more it just doesn't seem to be playing the right music anymore. I've edited the money rate a couple of times and the unknown and music is 1 & 1 I think but there's something I've changed.
If you're both using Fire Red and still having problems then I would suggest using Mastermind_X's event music changer.
__________________
  #22281    
Old July 27th, 2012 (08:33 PM).
supernova651 supernova651 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
Hello I have a question. can you change how a weather effect looks by using UNLZ for pokemon ruby? example make the snowing effect have more detail such as in diamond and pearl. If this is possible which offset is the weather located on UNLZ?
  #22282    
Old July 28th, 2012 (03:27 AM).
Blue's Avatar
Blue Blue is offline
coven
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location:
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 11,338
I've made those changes but it still doesn't seem to work... the only thing I want to do is make it so the Gym Leader theme plays in battle, no movement or anything.
__________________
  #22283    
Old July 28th, 2012 (09:51 AM).
BlueLeafeon's Avatar
BlueLeafeon BlueLeafeon is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Gender: Female
Posts: 9
Can anyone tell me the location of Yellow's sgb frame palette? I've been searching the forums and on google and can't find it. I found Blue's, but when I entered that into the palette editor program it crashed. :/
  #22284    
Old July 28th, 2012 (10:57 AM).
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51 Jambo51 is offline
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 730
Quote originally posted by Suicune™:
I've made those changes but it still doesn't seem to work... the only thing I want to do is make it so the Gym Leader theme plays in battle, no movement or anything.
Oh, I see. I misunderstood what you wanted. The only way in FR to make gym leader music play in a trainerbattle is to have the trainer's class as Leader or Elite Four.

See Dr. Fuji's post above. It has a link to a method you can use to temporarily switch the battle music. It's an excellent, if limited, way to achieve the music switching you desire.
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
  #22285    
Old July 28th, 2012 (01:54 PM).
Xealeos Xealeos is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 16
I tried importing a custom image in the place of the Rival image in Fire Red using unLZ that is stored on offset 4623EC, but it didn't really work. In fact, what happens is that the image of the player character (Red) shows up and his head explodes. Not really what I was going for.

I didn't import this image in the place of the rival, nor did I import the original player image in it's place. This just sort of pops up and I have no clue where the image is that I imported. Any ideas anyone?
  #22286    
Old July 28th, 2012 (01:59 PM).
Renegade's Avatar
Renegade Renegade is offline
Time for real life...
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 998
Quote originally posted by Xealeos:
I tried importing a custom image in the place of the Rival image in Fire Red using unLZ that is stored on offset 4623EC, but it didn't really work. In fact, what happens is that the image of the player character (Red) shows up and his head explodes. Not really what I was going for.

I didn't import this image in the place of the rival, nor did I import the original player image in it's place. This just sort of pops up and I have no clue where the image is that I imported. Any ideas anyone?
If you need help replacing sprites in unLZ, I have a video here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oGihhXkQOPk
  #22287    
Old July 28th, 2012 (02:06 PM).
tajaros's Avatar
tajaros tajaros is offline
Hi I'm dawg
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 857
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to tajaros
Quote originally posted by Xealeos:
I tried importing a custom image in the place of the Rival image in Fire Red using unLZ that is stored on offset 4623EC, but it didn't really work. In fact, what happens is that the image of the player character (Red) shows up and his head explodes. Not really what I was going for.

I didn't import this image in the place of the rival, nor did I import the original player image in it's place. This just sort of pops up and I have no clue where the image is that I imported. Any ideas anyone?
Here I don't know if it's easy for you but it's easy for me...

Herre's a tut to replace Trainer Sprites using NSE 2.x xD
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=285168

__________________
  #22288    
Old July 28th, 2012 (02:22 PM).
DarkPsychic's Avatar
DarkPsychic DarkPsychic is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 73
Hello, I was told to try to ask people on here and maybe I might get an answer I was woundering what kind of program or programs are people like HackMew using to create these tools that mod ROMs. And I was also woundering what scripting language is being used, like C++ or C# ect.. I am wanting to get one of the Visual studio 2010 express packages but not really sure which one to get and don't want to go and learn the whole wrong software.. So If Anyone could help that would be just great
  #22289    
Old July 28th, 2012 (03:24 PM).
Renegade's Avatar
Renegade Renegade is offline
Time for real life...
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 998
Quote originally posted by Suicune™:
With A-Map, how do I get RSE music to play on a FRLG ROM?
You would have to insert the RSE music into the FRLG ROM. (Using Sappy and all of that jazz)
  #22290    
Old July 28th, 2012 (04:32 PM).
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51 Jambo51 is offline
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 730
Quote originally posted by DarkPsychic:
Hello, I was told to try to ask people on here and maybe I might get an answer I was woundering what kind of program or programs are people like HackMew using to create these tools that mod ROMs. And I was also woundering what scripting language is being used, like C++ or C# ect.. I am wanting to get one of the Visual studio 2010 express packages but not really sure which one to get and don't want to go and learn the whole wrong software.. So If Anyone could help that would be just great
1) Epic facepalm at the "scripting" language. It is not a scripting language, it is a programming language. There is a definable difference between the 2. Eg, the difference between ASM and Scripting in Pokémon. Scripting is building on top of the existing engine while programming is creating or modifying the engine itself.

2) Most tools that I'm aware of are programmed in the Visual Basic language, and are programmed using Visual Studio as you suggest. There are a handful of exceptions to that rule. Eg, A-Map.

The main reason people use this seems to be that there are ROM hacking libraries available for use. I'm not sure where people get them from right enough.

3) With enough experience, you could easily programme these tools in any language you liked. As I said above, VB seems to be most common because of the pre-existing libraries.

Quote originally posted by CrystalStatic:
You would have to insert the RSE music into the FRLG ROM. (Using Sappy and all of that jazz)
He would also have to port the voicegroup, as most RSE music uses a different VG from what FR tracks do. The drumset is completely different too (although the RSE drumset IS in FR). It's a relatively simple process nowadays with sappy's new functions, but back in the old days - porting music was murder!
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
  #22291    
Old July 28th, 2012 (04:59 PM).
pikakitten's Avatar
pikakitten pikakitten is offline
You met with a terrible fate
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Termina, Clock Tower
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 911
Does anybody know how to make an evolution item like the fire stone on pokemon ruby I tried making an Ice stone with Item Manager for Eevee to evolve into Glaceon since I don't know how to do it like they did in D/P/Pt so I tried making the item and so far it does show the green HP Bar instead of NOT ABLE but when I press A it says that it can't evolve help please?
__________________
Credit |Kitty Pair | VM/PM | Photobucket | Theme
  #22292    
Old July 28th, 2012 (06:08 PM). Edited July 28th, 2012 by merky.
merky merky is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
Hi, I have another question. I couldn't really find the answer after searching quite a bit. (By the way, I'm using Ruby Version)

For example, in Advancemap, if I edited Route 101's wild pokemon information and changed it so Rhyhorn could be caught on route 101, the pokedex's "Area" entry for Rhyhorn would be updated with the location that I edited in.

When making a new map, how would I make it so if I edit the wild pokemon data to add Rhyhorn, it would show up blinking on the Pokedex Area feature? Would I have to somehow assign each map a location on the Pokedex area map?

EDIT: I'm just editing an existing Ruby version and the new map is located in a cave in Littleroot town. I put the new map under the same header and
when I use the Map on the Pokenav, the player's avatar shows up where it should be.
  #22293    
Old July 28th, 2012 (07:26 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 538
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by pikakitten:
Does anybody know how to make an evolution item like the fire stone on pokemon ruby I tried making an Ice stone with Item Manager for Eevee to evolve into Glaceon since I don't know how to do it like they did in D/P/Pt so I tried making the item and so far it does show the green HP Bar instead of NOT ABLE but when I press A it says that it can't evolve help please?
Your first issue is that you can only replace existing evolution stones. Of course, you can make them, buts its advanced ASM...it's not a matter of just making an item called an Ice Stone and assigning it like any other stone. I recommend replacing the Sun Stone, since only two Pokemon use it.

Your second issue is that a Pokemon can only have five branches in the Gen III games, which means you'll have to replace the pre-existing Eeveelutions with the new ones.

If you've done both of those things, make sure the evolution type is set to the right stone in YAPE.

Quote originally posted by merky:
Hi, I have another question. I couldn't really find the answer after searching quite a bit. (By the way, I'm using Ruby Version)

For example, in Advancemap, if I edited Route 101's wild pokemon information and changed it so Rhyhorn could be caught on route 101, the pokedex's "Area" entry for Rhyhorn would be updated with the location that I edited in.

When making a new map, how would I make it so if I edit the wild pokemon data to add Rhyhorn, it would show up blinking on the Pokedex Area feature? Would I have to somehow assign each map a location on the Pokedex area map?

EDIT: I'm just editing an existing Ruby version and the new map is located in a cave in Littleroot town. I put the new map under the same header and
when I use the Map on the Pokenav, the player's avatar shows up where it should be.
If Ruby is anything like Firered, changing the wild data doesn't automatically update the location list like you said. In Firered, there's a large data table that dictates where each Pokemon is located, from the standpoint of the Pokedex, which is independent of the Wild Pokemon data.

But then again, I don't hack Ruby, so I don't know the systems behind it.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #22294    
Old July 29th, 2012 (09:07 AM).
Blue's Avatar
Blue Blue is offline
coven
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location:
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 11,338
Is there any way to add NEW OW's to a FR ROM without overwriting any using NSE or another tool? There is only 151 OW's and I want to insert more than 10 and to do that I would need to overwrite some necessary sprites.
__________________
  #22295    
Old July 29th, 2012 (09:21 AM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 3,446
Quote originally posted by Suicune™:
Is there any way to add NEW OW's to a FR ROM without overwriting any using NSE or another tool? There is only 151 OW's and I want to insert more than 10 and to do that I would need to overwrite some necessary sprites.
Doesn't J-PAN's patch that is for FR expand the amount of OWs that are in the ROM?
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...

Nerves of Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #22296    
Old July 29th, 2012 (09:28 AM). Edited July 29th, 2012 by redriders180.
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 538
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by Suicune™:
Is there any way to add NEW OW's to a FR ROM without overwriting any using NSE or another tool? There is only 151 OW's and I want to insert more than 10 and to do that I would need to overwrite some necessary sprites.
There's a nice big table at 0x39FDB0 that has pointers to all the OW data, which in turn points to the sprites. Simply repoint that table, and add on pointers to the end that point to new OW data. The structure of OW data can be found on many tutorials, like this one.

Edit: Just tested this out, and it works fine. However, due to the nature of Overworld Editor Rebirth Edition, separating the OW data in this way means you can only edit one or the other at a given time. I recommend using NSE to edit the original 151, and modifying the .ini of OERE to edit your new ones.

Double Edit: Just learned how to edit the NSE ini. If you know how, feel free to choose that path as well.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #22297    
Old July 29th, 2012 (12:41 PM). Edited July 29th, 2012 by MissDigitalis.
MissDigitalis's Avatar
MissDigitalis MissDigitalis is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Gender: Female
Posts: 115
When I'm transitioning from one map to another it freezes.

It's fine going from Palette Town to Route 1 to the Veridian Forest but when I try to enter Pewter City it freezes the whole game. Anyone know how to fix this?
__________________

  #22298    
Old July 29th, 2012 (01:59 PM).
shinyabsol1's Avatar
shinyabsol1 shinyabsol1 is offline
Pokemon DarkJasper!?
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 330
Quote originally posted by MissDigitalis:
When I'm transitioning from one map to another it freezes.

It's fine going from Palette Town to Route 1 to the Veridian Forest but when I try to enter Pewter City it freezes the whole game. Anyone know how to fix this?
You'll have to provide more information...what changes have you made to Pewter?

Now my question:

I have a question regarding new voicegroups. How many instruments can I make a new voicegroup play? I read that voicegroups have 128 voices...but none of the groups in FR use that many. Instead, they range from having 1 or 2 to having 12+! Can somebody explain to me how this works?
  #22299    
Old July 29th, 2012 (07:25 PM).
MissDigitalis's Avatar
MissDigitalis MissDigitalis is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Gender: Female
Posts: 115
With some help from one of my friends the issue I previously listed has been resolved. Apparently there was a person event that caused the maps to transition incorrectly.


I do have a new question though. There is an option in Visual Boy Advance that is called "cheats". I would like to know the cheat to get all the pokemon in your pokedex.
__________________

  #22300    
Old July 29th, 2012 (07:32 PM).
tajaros's Avatar
tajaros tajaros is offline
Hi I'm dawg
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 857
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to tajaros
Quote originally posted by MissDigitalis:
With some help from one of my friends the issue I previously listed has been resolved. Apparently there was a person event that caused the maps to transition incorrectly.


I do have a new question though. There is an option in Visual Boy Advance that is called "cheats". I would like to know the cheat to get all the pokemon in your pokedex.
Search through google "GameShark Codes" and follow the instructions there and play it...

(Your Questions is not really related to ROM HACKING though... )
__________________
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 10:51 AM.