Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #22401    
Old August 8th, 2012 (02:42 PM). Edited August 8th, 2012 by SpadeEdge16.
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
I'm a bit confused with something. First i just need to know, how do you fill out the trainerbattle command on XSE? i get the type of battle and the pointers, but what would i be putting in "battle # to start" and "reserved"?
And now my main concern
on the script for this trainer battle, its the rival battle in the beginning
the script i made links to three different battles because the rival can potentially have three different pokemon. But i can do that, right? cause if my script cant lead to the other trainer battles, then ill have to break down the script i made into smaller chunks, which this one has alreayd taken long enough....
Also, how do i make the rival sprite not be there BEFORE the event happens? cause i already know how to make them disappear after.

Sorry for the double post, but i had another question.
How do I make videos of my gameplay? cause I have a problem with my script and and i wanted to post it on the script help thread.
  #22402    
Old August 8th, 2012 (05:27 PM).
Nate VonGrimm's Avatar
Nate VonGrimm
Mime Jr.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote originally posted by SpadeEdge16:
I'm a bit confused with something. First i just need to know, how do you fill out the trainerbattle command on XSE? i get the type of battle and the pointers, but what would i be putting in "battle # to start" and "reserved"?
And now my main concern
on the script for this trainer battle, its the rival battle in the beginning
the script i made links to three different battles because the rival can potentially have three different pokemon. But i can do that, right? cause if my script cant lead to the other trainer battles, then ill have to break down the script i made into smaller chunks, which this one has alreayd taken long enough....
Also, how do i make the rival sprite not be there BEFORE the event happens? cause i already know how to make them disappear after.

Sorry for the double post, but i had another question.
How do I make videos of my gameplay? cause I have a problem with my script and and i wanted to post it on the script help thread.
1. Read this tutorial ----> http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=164276
It has info on every command and script there. Find the trainer battle section and follow that. (This question should really be in the 'Script Help' thread but no worries).

2. Look for screen capture software. There is plenty of freeware programs that record your screen. Hypercam is the biggest freeware so far. It's not great but it does what it's supposed to.
__________________
Currently working on a new Pokemon Hack with an in-depth story line!
That's about as much as you're going to get for now...


  #22403    
Old August 8th, 2012 (09:30 PM).
FrozenInfernoZX's Avatar
FrozenInfernoZX
Legendary Trainer ZX
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via AIM to FrozenInfernoZX
Is it possible to extend Eevee's limit of five alternative evolutions to seven evolutions? Has something to do with limiters?
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Pokémon Teal Version
: Alphere's Throne
Pokémon Ultimate ZX
: God of Restoration
Uiyto region map still in progress...
  #22404    
Old August 9th, 2012 (12:05 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami
Memento Mori
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote originally posted by FrozenInfernoZX:
Is it possible to extend Eevee's limit of five alternative evolutions to seven evolutions? Has something to do with limiters?
Unfortunately it doesn't seem to work... III gen ROMs seem to have maximum of 5 evolutions and no more...
I don't know whether JPAN's patch has this limitation... you can try it for I think it's the only possibility for this to happen.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
  #22405    
Old August 9th, 2012 (04:39 AM).
Liquid Twilight's Avatar
Liquid Twilight
Super Geek
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New Bark Town
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Hey,

Does anyone know of any hacks which contain Pokemon fusions (both sprite fusions and edited movesets at least?) and any hacks which contain good quality, convincing fakemon?

I have done a search but found very little. Thank you.
__________________
Challenges
  #22406    
Old August 9th, 2012 (06:46 AM).
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote originally posted by SpadeEdge16:
Sorry for the double post, but i had another question.
How do I make videos of my gameplay? cause I have a problem with my script and and i wanted to post it on the script help thread.
VBA has built in video capture software. If you install the ffdshow video codec, the video and audio won't desync either.

It's under Tools -> Record -> Start AVI Recording
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
  #22407    
Old August 9th, 2012 (07:04 AM).
That one username's Avatar
That one username
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
HG/SS
I have a rather rare question, about park balls, to be specific.
If I capture a wild pokémon, as in one without a ball 'bound' to it, with a Park Ball, will it be ball-less or is there some sort of flag in play that will place it in a normal pokéball like in the case of hatching?
__________________

http://www.facebook.com/PokemonKnaveyOfficial
Quote:
Yes, we spelled it wrong. Oops.
  #22408    
Old August 9th, 2012 (11:08 AM).
The_Show
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carracosta Rock, Akmin Region
Gender: Male
Nature: Sassy
To hack the multi choice commands in RUBY and change what they say, do I use A-text or do I have to hex edit?
  #22409    
Old August 9th, 2012 (11:52 AM).
machomuu's Avatar
machomuu
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: 'Murca
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote originally posted by The_Show:
To hack the multi choice commands in RUBY and change what they say, do I use A-text or do I have to hex edit?
You could use a hex editor, but I'd suggest using a script editor and editing the script that way.
__________________
  #22410    
Old August 9th, 2012 (01:42 PM).
aar2697
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Send a message via Skype™ to aar2697
Whenever I modify the game's code for inserting ASM routines, the palettes (for all graphics) get messed up, some maps get destroyed, the game crashes when going into battle, and A-trainer says "subscript out of range." All of this happens after even modifying just 10 bytes. (XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX) I tried the same stuff on a clean ROM, and I still got the same results.
  #22411    
Old August 9th, 2012 (08:28 PM).
ectyrant
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Gender: Male
When I make a map in advance map and insert it, it always goes to Pallet Town. Then I cannot access either the events tab or the wild pokemon tab. Is there any way to change /fix these?
  #22412    
Old August 9th, 2012 (08:46 PM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
Inserting maps with AMap 1.9.5 is glitchy. Use 1.9.2 when you want to insert maps.
  #22413    
Old August 9th, 2012 (09:03 PM).
ectyrant
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Gender: Male
Well that made a significant difference. Thank you
  #22414    
Old August 10th, 2012 (06:21 AM).
Cyclone's Avatar
Cyclone
Eye of the Storm
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Gender: Male
Fakémon - Any Pokémon created for a hack that does not exist in the game which is being hacked.

Most hacks that I've seen around here involve Fakémon - sometimes all 386 catchable characters in the game are Fakémon, in fact. Do we have a list anywhere of hacks created that do NOT employ Fakémon? I am familiar with this thread. but many of these even have Fakémon in them. What I'd love to see is a new region, maybe a new story, etc. that uses the existing Pokémon and doesn't destroy what's already there. In other words, everything else is fair game (even evolutionary chains for those that evolve by trading normally), but just use the existing Pokémon. I make odd exceptions; for instance, I'm trying out Shining Opal where the starter is swapped with an experimental one from the lab (with special rules, such as it must remain in your party at all times), but all catchable Pokémon are otherwise the existing ones and this is the only Fakémon; something like that makes a good storyline.

So, if anyone can point to games that use only existing Pokémon, I am interested.

FTR, yes, adding Zorua or Rufflet (or so on) to Ruby/Emerald qualifies as Fakémon.

Cyclone
__________________
"Y'know...my Emolga really wants to shock your Dedenne."

Cyclone. FC: 5327-1949-9511. Safari: Lampent, Pumpkaboo, and Golurk (Ghost). Champion of the GC11 Pokémon Challenge!
Breeder extraordinaire. Horrible battler. I take requests! Looking ahead to SSB3D for even more fun!

Pokémon Black National Pokédex completed on December 13, 2012. My Lv.7 UT Shiny Nincada (Hoenn) is now in Kalos for trade offers.

  #22415    
Old August 10th, 2012 (07:57 AM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote originally posted by CycloneGU:
Fakémon - Any Pokémon created for a hack that does not exist in the game which is being hacked.

Most hacks that I've seen around here involve Fakémon - sometimes all 386 catchable characters in the game are Fakémon, in fact. Do we have a list anywhere of hacks created that do NOT employ Fakémon? I am familiar with this thread. but many of these even have Fakémon in them. What I'd love to see is a new region, maybe a new story, etc. that uses the existing Pokémon and doesn't destroy what's already there. In other words, everything else is fair game (even evolutionary chains for those that evolve by trading normally), but just use the existing Pokémon. I make odd exceptions; for instance, I'm trying out Shining Opal where the starter is swapped with an experimental one from the lab (with special rules, such as it must remain in your party at all times), but all catchable Pokémon are otherwise the existing ones and this is the only Fakémon; something like that makes a good storyline.

So, if anyone can point to games that use only existing Pokémon, I am interested. :)

FTR, yes, adding Zorua or Rufflet (or so on) to Ruby/Emerald qualifies as Fakémon.

Cyclone
SkyLine by DJG may be only using 3rd gen and before, if I recall... Unless I misread it... Anyway, all of the remakes (ShinyGold, Liquid Crystal, CrystalDust) don't either, neither do the Omega, 386 or harder versions hacks (they count, Okay?)
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #22416    
Old August 10th, 2012 (08:53 AM).
Cyclone's Avatar
Cyclone
Eye of the Storm
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Gender: Male
Yeah, I'm playing CrystalDust and am familiar with both ShinyGold and Liquid Crystal. I wish there were more original games using the same set of Pokémon, though.

I will look at SkyLine.

So a question on these others that I referred to that use 4th/5th gen. Are the sprites literally pasted over top of something else, or are they actually coded as their own Pokédex with their original stat and move lists?

Cyclone
__________________
"Y'know...my Emolga really wants to shock your Dedenne."

Cyclone. FC: 5327-1949-9511. Safari: Lampent, Pumpkaboo, and Golurk (Ghost). Champion of the GC11 Pokémon Challenge!
Breeder extraordinaire. Horrible battler. I take requests! Looking ahead to SSB3D for even more fun!

Pokémon Black National Pokédex completed on December 13, 2012. My Lv.7 UT Shiny Nincada (Hoenn) is now in Kalos for trade offers.

  #22417    
Old August 10th, 2012 (08:58 AM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote originally posted by CycloneGU:
Yeah, I'm playing CrystalDust and am familiar with both ShinyGold and Liquid Crystal. I wish there were more original games using the same set of Pokémon, though.

I will look at SkyLine.

So a question on these others that I referred to that use 4th/5th gen. Are the sprites literally pasted over top of something else, or are they actually coded as their own Pokédex with their original stat and move lists?

Cyclone
Depends on the hack. Most, if not all, at least have the stats and movelists changed to be similar (but not identical due to lack of 4th and 5th gen moves), and some do have the Pokedex entries changed to match what the Pokemon now is. It truly depends on the hack.
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #22418    
Old August 10th, 2012 (12:48 PM).
leogrecchi
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Gender: Male
Hi again.

I've been trying to set a level script for the starting map (4.1)

I've tried it the hard way (adding a new script to tag with 0x168CC8 (which is the starting script), but nothing I did worked. Then, I've tried to replace the data for the new level script, as follows:

Code:
#org 0x168CC8 'original level script address for the room
call 0x8800A82
end

#org 0x800A82
spriteface 0xFF 0x2
setvar 0x4056 0x1 'this line and the above are the contents of the original levelscript
lock
msgbox 0x8800B20 MSG_NORMAL
pause 0x3F
msgbox 0x8800B20 MSG_NORMAL
msgbox 0x8800B8E MSG_KEEPOPEN
setvar 0x8004 0x1
setvar 0x8005 0x1
setvar 0x8006 0xC
setvar 0x8007 0x2
special 0x136
msgbox 0x8800BAC MSG_KEEPOPEN
pause 0x1C
closeonkeypress
release
end
No matter what I do, the game freezes right after the oak intro, before you appear into your room.
The script itself isn't a problem (I've assigned it to a NPC, and it works as it should). However it as a level script breaks. I've even tried to put it in another map (4,2, which has no level scripts) and it didn't work as well.
What might be wrong?
  #22419    
Old August 10th, 2012 (05:11 PM). Edited August 10th, 2012 by mrjimi16.
mrjimi16
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by Daikoru:
It appears I've been forgotten already? I'm still waiting for an answer.
Perhaps this is just me being an ass, but are you sure that you are reloading the game? That is of course the first thing to check, but you didn't say anything about it so I figure, eh, why not mention it? Lets hope it is something like this because, though you will feel like an idiot for a few seconds, you should soon realize that this is a much better closing to the problem since any other would be dropping the move or involve lots of extra work. Good Luck either way.

Also, I am having the same problem as the above post with regards to my level scripts.
Spoiler:
#org 0x801065
special2 0x5000 0xB4
end

#org 0x80106C
special 0xCE
msgbox 0x8800F7E MSG_NORMAL '"Congratulations [player]!\nYou jus..."
setvar 0x5000 0x0
setvar 0x5001 0x1
warp 0x4 0x3 0x1 0x0 0x0


What is supposed to happen is that the first script checks the result of the last battle (special 0xB4) and then writes to the variable 0x5000 a value depending on the result and should only run while the variable 0x5001 is 0. The second script should run when 0x5000 is set to 7 (which means a Pokemon was caught), the special ends a safari zone type session and the rest is obvious. What happens is as soon as I step into the map, the player gets locked as if the game is having trouble completing the script (it is seemingly identical to if you try to run a script event without setting the "Var number" in advance map). Naturally, I have run the two scripts in order using other methods, but given the nature of what I want to do, I cannot let that happen (the player should only be able to catch one Pokemon and if they run out of safari balls, I run into issues (the safari zone special script will send them to the map of the safari zone of the official games and I have no way to alter that). As far as I can tell, this is an advance-map issue, but a new set of eyes might see something I have missed.
  #22420    
Old August 10th, 2012 (05:40 PM). Edited August 10th, 2012 by Darkrai Lv.1000.
Darkrai Lv.1000's Avatar
Darkrai Lv.1000
Has a tendency to figure things out
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Aboard the Arc-Gurren
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via AIM to Darkrai Lv.1000
If I were to hack the ???-type as the type for some attacks, would they be able to land critical hits? So far, I'm not seeing any. :/
Also, if you happen to know the battle script for high critical hit ratio (any rom), please tell me, it'd be helpful to me in finding it in Ruby.
__________________
  #22421    
Old August 10th, 2012 (09:11 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by leogrecchi:
Hi again.

I've been trying to set a level script for the starting map (4.1)

I've tried it the hard way (adding a new script to tag with 0x168CC8 (which is the starting script), but nothing I did worked. Then, I've tried to replace the data for the new level script, as follows:

Code:
#org 0x168CC8 'original level script address for the room
call 0x8800A82
end

#org 0x800A82
spriteface 0xFF 0x2
setvar 0x4056 0x1 'this line and the above are the contents of the original levelscript
lock
msgbox 0x8800B20 MSG_NORMAL
pause 0x3F
msgbox 0x8800B20 MSG_NORMAL
msgbox 0x8800B8E MSG_KEEPOPEN
setvar 0x8004 0x1
setvar 0x8005 0x1
setvar 0x8006 0xC
setvar 0x8007 0x2
special 0x136
msgbox 0x8800BAC MSG_KEEPOPEN
pause 0x1C
closeonkeypress
release
end
No matter what I do, the game freezes right after the oak intro, before you appear into your room.
The script itself isn't a problem (I've assigned it to a NPC, and it works as it should). However it as a level script breaks. I've even tried to put it in another map (4,2, which has no level scripts) and it didn't work as well.
What might be wrong?
Time to take a shot in the dark...

If memory serves, the original script (the spriteface one) is a very special type of level script, type [04]. This type of level script is specifically designed to run before the player has finished warping, allowing you to face up when you first start the game, instead of down like a traditional warp.

Additionally, this type of level script is EXTREMELY picky about the commands it runs...it should only really be used for things like spriteface, and I've found the specials that put the player on the surf and bike work with it as well. Messages, however, don't. For that, you need to use type [02] level scripts.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #22422    
Old August 11th, 2012 (01:50 AM).
EHero70's Avatar
EHero70
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Connecticut
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Hey! I am trying to change the water to a different tile but I can't figure out which tileset from A-Map the water is in! Help please!
  #22423    
Old August 11th, 2012 (01:52 AM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote originally posted by EHero70:
Hey! I am trying to change the water to a different tile but I can't figure out which tileset from A-Map the water is in! Help please!
The water is always in the main tileset, Tileset 0. So, just go to Block Editor, find the pallette that the water uses (depends on the ROM, it is mainly just blues) and then "Save Tileset 1" (which saves the main tileset), then find the water.

Yet, to truly change the water, you also need to change the animation of the water with AnimEditor which I advise you find.
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #22424    
Old August 11th, 2012 (02:00 AM).
EHero70's Avatar
EHero70
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Connecticut
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Ok but now it wont let me save tileset 0. It says Export of this palette is not possiable, there are multiple entries of the same color in this palette.
  #22425    
Old August 11th, 2012 (04:10 AM).
LugiaMZ's Avatar
LugiaMZ
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Gender: Male
Hello everyone, I just repost my question. Hope now have someone can answer me.

1.This question is about .s file. .s file original manuscript is Unknown Application, I double click the .s file. After that, It appeared 2 choices " Use the Web service to find the correct program " and "
Select a program from a list of installed programs ". I choosed "
Select a program from a list of installed programs " and choose Notepad and checked "Always use the selected program to open this kind of file".
Then, I use Sappy 2006 mod 15 to assembly .s file and click " Cook it "( In another Version that's "Assembly that ugly thing", it appeared a error, "XXXX Can't find file "MPlayDef.s" for inclusion Assembly halted". I placed MPlayDef.s file with the .s file I wanted to insert my rom, but also have this problem, so I think is the " "Always use the selected program to open this kind of file" problem, it's make the .s file doesn't show .s. I use Windows 7, how can I change the .s file return to Unknown Application? Or a else way to fix this problem.

Hope have someone can know what I want to express.

Now I have a Map Script problem.

2. I create a map script to show the ship started to gone. For example:

When I get in the ship, the map script is activate, for my map script I used the setvar 0x5000 0x1 for this map script before.

#dynamic 0x800000
#org @talk
setvar 0x5000 0x0002
warpmuted 0x1 0x7 0xFF 0x20 0x0F
release
end

I need to warpmuted to a dock and load the map script to show the ship is gone. For my map script:

#dynamic 0x800000
#org @script
applymovement 0xFF @hide
waitmovement 0x0
applymovement 0x1 @gone
waitmovement 0x0
setvar 0x5000 0x3
warpmuted 0x1 0x4 0xFF 0x20 0x07
release
end
#org @hide
#raw 0x60
#raw 0xFE
#org @ride
#raw 0xA
#raw 0xA
#raw 0xA
#raw 0xA
#raw 0xA
#raw 0xA
#raw 0xA
#raw 0xA
#raw 0xFE

The person event no.1 is for the ship. Then I warpmuted back inside the it appeared the text box and unknown word. I pressed A button it dissapeared and appeared and repeat and repeat. For example:



How to fix this problem?

I already setvar, the map script flag inside the ship is 5000 and value is 0001 and at the dock value is 0002.

3)Have everyone know how to close the JPAN Fire red hacked engine show uncompressed image? I only know how to display it but don't know how to hide it. A extra question, can an uncompressed image can more than 16 colour?

Thanks.

PS: Sorry for my bad english.
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 01:05 PM.