Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #23151    
Old November 10th, 2012 (11:03 AM).
Andrut's Avatar
Andrut Andrut is offline
Collecting dust since 1898
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Age: 16
Posts: 277
Thanks for all the answers to the Ralts catching script, even thoughI still haven't found a way to change the Pokémon without screwing it up.
Is it possible to make double battles with two unrelated trainers like in Emerald in Fire Red? I mean the type of double battle in which you can either talk to one of the trainers and battle him/her in a single battle or walk inbetween of them and they both approach you.
  #23152    
Old November 10th, 2012 (11:08 AM).
ultiomos's Avatar
ultiomos ultiomos is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: At Home
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 8
Send a message via Skype™ to ultiomos
I have two questions.
1. Would this be the place to request sprites?
If not then, 2. Where would that be?
If so then, 2. Could someone make me a set of Haruhi Suzumiya overworld sprites?
Sorry if this isn't where I should be posting this, but it's the only place I can think of.
  #23153    
Old November 10th, 2012 (11:17 AM).
Herpahermaderp's Avatar
Herpahermaderp Herpahermaderp is offline
I liek Mudkipz
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 62
Send a message via Skype™ to Herpahermaderp
Quote originally posted by ultiomos:
I have two questions.
1. Would this be the place to request sprites?
If not then, 2. Where would that be?
If so then, 2. Could someone make me a set of Haruhi Suzumiya overworld sprites?
Sorry if this isn't where I should be posting this, but it's the only place I can think of.
I believe the best place to request sprites would be in Game Development's Tutorials & Resources, there is a Requests thread there.
__________________
Y: Roak || 1177-8023-4387
  #23154    
Old November 10th, 2012 (03:04 PM).
Dullstar's Avatar
Dullstar Dullstar is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 63
Is it possible to insert new maps into the Pokemon Gold Rom? Or can I only edit existing ones?

Google has not been very helpful here.
__________________

  #23155    
Old November 10th, 2012 (10:13 PM).
miksy91's Avatar
miksy91 miksy91 is online now
A GB/C Rom Hacker since 2010
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: A small country in the North
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 1,298
Quote originally posted by Dullstar:
Is it possible to insert new maps into the Pokemon Gold Rom? Or can I only edit existing ones?

Google has not been very helpful here.
It is possible but you can't do anything about the amount of maps (yet). Join Skeetendo forums and start reading through all the tutorials we've got there, maybe one day you can actually accomplish adding more maps into the rom (this does require quite a lot of elementary knowledge and is not one of the easiest things to do but no way impossible to do either).
__________________
My Rom Hack




Learn how to hack GB/C games:

Check my GameBoy/Color hacking videos in Youtube
-The video set uses Pokemon Silver (U) rom for demonstrations
  #23156    
Old November 11th, 2012 (10:08 AM).
Krika Krika is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 16
Quote originally posted by Krika:
When I try and load my Emerald ROM in A-Trainer, I get an error message saying "Subscript is out of range - DrawTile8@ModLZ77", and then I can't proceed any farther? This is the first time that this has happened when I've used it, so I'm not sure what the issue is. It isn't just my modified ROM, a clean one gets the same message.

Also, the Bug.txt file gets this printed out into it: "20121016|224113|6.1.7601|0.9.1|DrawTile8|9|modLZ77|Subscript out of range|4" if that helps identify the problem.

This is kinda a big deal, so if someone could help me fix this, I'd really appreciate it.
Any chance I could get this answered?
  #23157    
Old November 11th, 2012 (12:12 PM).
Andrut's Avatar
Andrut Andrut is offline
Collecting dust since 1898
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Age: 16
Posts: 277
is there a palette offset for bug-type TM in generation III, despite the fact that the generation had no bug-type TMs?
__________________
Quote originally posted by anonymous:
Florges
It's a forest guardian that pities how bad a type Grass is, so it gets moves to help out Grass-types, but is smart enough not to be Grass-type itself. The appearance is simply mimicry to hide from humans.
  #23158    
Old November 11th, 2012 (12:16 PM).
raging-inferno-1986 raging-inferno-1986 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 21
Quote originally posted by raging-inferno-1986:
Hi this is for Fire Red, when you get certain gym badges it enables the use of certain HM's. Is there a script controlling this? As i am removing FLASH and instead want to enable the use of ROCK SMASH with a gym badge. Thanks.
Can anyone help me? Thank you.
  #23159    
Old November 11th, 2012 (01:37 PM).
crystalmole crystalmole is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 8
Help! I tried playing my hack of FireRed and whenever I leave the starting house the game resets to the title screen! Does anyone know why this happens?
  #23160    
Old November 11th, 2012 (04:10 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by crystalmole:
Help! I tried playing my hack of FireRed and whenever I leave the starting house the game resets to the title screen! Does anyone know why this happens?
I've had this happen in other areas of my Ruby hack. I found that most times, a map script had been corrupted on the map you were trying to access and the game auto resets. Check all the map scripts for pallette town and compare them to a clean rom. You will probobly find your answer there.

Good Luck!
  #23161    
Old November 11th, 2012 (04:25 PM).
crystalmole crystalmole is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 8
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
I've had this happen in other areas of my Ruby hack. I found that most times, a map script had been corrupted on the map you were trying to access and the game auto resets. Check all the map scripts for pallette town and compare them to a clean rom. You will probobly find your answer there.

Good Luck!
Thanks, all I had to do for the fix was copy and paste the map script over from a clean rom lol :D
  #23162    
Old November 11th, 2012 (04:40 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by raging-inferno-1986:
Can anyone help me? Thank you.
Quote originally posted by raging-inferno-1986:
Can anyone help me? Thank you.
I have an idea, but I'm not sure if it will completely work. When you recieve a gym badge, what happens is a flag a set. Then, lets say you walk up to a rock, it checks to see if the flag that goes with that particular badge has been set. When you approach a rock, the script checks flag 0x825 in firered. This is the same flag that is set when you recieve the marsh badge. Okay, now to make it so that the boulder badge alows rock smash, open up 0x1BE00C in a script editor (the comand for rock smash in firered). On line 7, change the flag from 0x825 (marsh badge) to flag 0x820 (boulder badge). Flash will still be usable as I dont know where its script is, but you will now be able to use rock smash after recieving the boulder badge.

I usually hack ruby because its the game I grew up with, and this is how it works in Ruby. I dont know if there is more to it than this, but its worth a try.
  #23163    
Old November 12th, 2012 (03:14 AM).
raging-inferno-1986 raging-inferno-1986 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 21
Thank you, that helps a lot.
  #23164    
Old November 12th, 2012 (07:47 PM).
Dddzort Dddzort is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
What command do I put in a trainer battle script to make the vs seeker work?
  #23165    
Old November 13th, 2012 (06:01 AM).
Herpahermaderp's Avatar
Herpahermaderp Herpahermaderp is offline
I liek Mudkipz
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 62
Send a message via Skype™ to Herpahermaderp
Quote originally posted by Dddzort:
What command do I put in a trainer battle script to make the vs seeker work?
This question was answered by tajaros in the Script Help Thread. You use the trainerbattle 0x3. If you need more help with scripting, look up diegoisawesomes XSE scripting tutorial, there's a ton of stuff there.
__________________
Y: Roak || 1177-8023-4387
  #23166    
Old November 13th, 2012 (08:17 AM).
truekidmoney truekidmoney is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 3
How can I insert this into a free space in my rom?
03 B5 03 48 00 68 03 49 80 89 08 80 03 BD C0 46
0C 50 00 03 D0 70 03 02
  #23167    
Old November 13th, 2012 (08:57 AM). Edited November 13th, 2012 by wwmb.
wwmb's Avatar
wwmb wwmb is offline
Watcher
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 20
Quote originally posted by truekidmoney:
How can I insert this into a free space in my rom?
03 B5 03 48 00 68 03 49 80 89 08 80 03 BD C0 46
0C 50 00 03 D0 70 03 02
First: Download a hex editor (I use HxD and XVI32)
2nd: Open you rom with the hex editor.
3rd: Select a space, equal to the length of your hex, of 00 (I believe that people said this is freespace for Ruby and Sapphire, someone correct me if I'm wrong) or FF (Firered, Leafgreen and Emerald) ... check around E3D000
4th: Paste your hex code into the selection you made in step 3
5th: Take note of the location you inserted the code into (You will need it to make pointers, use it in custom scripts and such) DON'T LOSE IT.
6th: save
7th: Use your hex in a custom command somewhere! haha
  #23168    
Old November 13th, 2012 (09:14 AM).
truekidmoney truekidmoney is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 3
thx alot wwmb. 1 more question in fire red all spots with FF counts as free space?Also when u say take note of the location I inserted the code do u mean offset? and if so what happens if the code is 2 lines like mine?
  #23169    
Old November 13th, 2012 (09:27 AM).
wwmb's Avatar
wwmb wwmb is offline
Watcher
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 20
Quote originally posted by truekidmoney:
thx alot wwmb. 1 more question in fire red all spots with FF counts as free space?Also when u say take note of the location I inserted the code do u mean offset? and if so what happens if the code is 2 lines like mine?
Kind of.... if you see large spaces of FF's (Like down at the bottom of the ROM) then yes... but, a lone FF (or a small pach) could be used for something already (so try to judge if you think it's large enough or not.)
Correct, the offset. In HxD you can find the offset of your selection by looking in the bottom left-hand corner.

The lines don't really matter, since binary is really just one dimensional, you're only breaking it up into chucks to read easier. (You could probably set a hex editor to read it all in one line. But that would be hard to read. haha)
So to answer your question, Just select a space big enough to fit it all, and paste them in. If they are two separate commands: note the offsets where each starts. (You could paste one, the skip two FFs or so and paste the other, if you want to play things safe and make it easier to read)

Good luck
  #23170    
Old November 13th, 2012 (11:18 AM).
Aquibian Aquibian is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
I'm hacking Ruby, and I want to make it, so at a certain point in the game, an individual gives you the PokeDex. I can't seem to be able to edit the order that Pokemon appear in the Hoenn regional dex, example changing Oddish to be #20 instead of whatever. If someone could help me with that
OR
I could give the player a National Mode Dex instead, which I believe can be edited easier, but what is the flag for that in Ruby?
  #23171    
Old November 13th, 2012 (11:30 AM).
wwmb's Avatar
wwmb wwmb is offline
Watcher
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 20
Quote originally posted by Aquibian:
I'm hacking Ruby, and I want to make it, so at a certain point in the game, an individual gives you the PokeDex. I can't seem to be able to edit the order that Pokemon appear in the Hoenn regional dex, example changing Oddish to be #20 instead of whatever. If someone could help me with that
OR
I could give the player a National Mode Dex instead, which I believe can be edited easier, but what is the flag for that in Ruby?
Saddly, there isn't a flag for turning the national dex on in RS. I did find this though:
Code:
writebytetooffset 0x2 0x2026B00
writebytetooffset 0x3 0x2026B01
writebytetooffset 0xDA 0x2024EBE
writebytetooffset 0x67 0x2026A5A
youtu.be/EdT38tz28OM
  #23172    
Old November 13th, 2012 (11:58 AM). Edited November 13th, 2012 by Aquibian.
Aquibian Aquibian is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
How do I change the order of PKMN in the Hoenn regional Dex?
Change 001 Treecko to 001 Togepi and so on

I've been using the Pokedex Order Editor by team snagem but nothing changes in-game
  #23173    
Old November 13th, 2012 (02:42 PM).
LCCoolJ95's Avatar
LCCoolJ95 LCCoolJ95 is offline
Limited Capacity
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: The World That Never Was
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
Posts: 247
How come every time I go into a random Pokemon battle, the game freezes?
__________________
"The greatest obstacle in life is Yourself. Overcome it, and you will achieve the greatest accomplishment of all." -Art Beins, 1982

Pokémon Emerald 650 (Resource Patch): http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=346694
Pokémon Emerald 650 (FULL GAME: Coming soon!
  #23174    
Old November 13th, 2012 (04:14 PM). Edited November 13th, 2012 by wwmb.
wwmb's Avatar
wwmb wwmb is offline
Watcher
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 20
Quote originally posted by Aquibian:
How do I change the order of PKMN in the Hoenn regional Dex?
Change 001 Treecko to 001 Togepi and so on

I've been using the Pokedex Order Editor by team snagem but nothing changes in-game
I used XSE and my sapphire ROM and made:
Code:
//---------------
#org 0x720000
lock
faceplayer
checkflag 0x801 //check if the player has gotten the pokedex from the professor yet
if 0x1 call 0x872000E
release
end

//---------------
#org 0x72000E
writebytetooffset 0x2 0x2026B00
writebytetooffset 0x3 0x2026B01
writebytetooffset 0xDA 0x2024EBE
writebytetooffset 0x67 0x2026A5A
return
and it worked!
(Yes it starts with it still in HOENN mode, but simply pressing SELECT and going to the newly unlocked: "SHIFT">"MODE">"NATIONAL DEX">"OK" will set the dex to show in the correct order)
I haven't tried Ruby (yet.. I'll do that later) EDIT: Yup, it worked in Ruby too! Good luck with your hack

and about changing the order... can't help you. Sorry. I don't have experience in that area.
  #23175    
Old November 13th, 2012 (04:28 PM).
Aquibian Aquibian is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
Tthanks wwmb for your help, although I had some success on my part too!

Note for all people editing the Hoenn Dex using the POE: Make the first pokemon (In my case, Togepi) have the same national value as Treecko, who is the first in the Hoenn Dex... and so on.

I don't know if this was resolved somewhere else at an earlier time, but I feel quite proud for figuring it out after many trials and errors.
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 02:08 AM.