Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #24001    
Old February 24th, 2013 (01:27 PM). Edited February 24th, 2013 by iDowngrade.
iDowngrade iDowngrade is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 34
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
Search "creating new battle animations" and look for a thread by Chaos Rush.
Oh i see, using the old images for a new attack, ok.

2 more simple questions

1rst)How do i CREATE (not remake) a new type? like space-type pokemons with its weaknesses and its superiorness(if that word exists)
2nd) How do i ADD a new attack data? this time im talking about images, but data...

Note: Sorry if im asking too much, or asking complicated questions, you guys dont have answer any of 'em, but if you feel like, yay!

and by the way karatekid, i see you've been REALLY helpful in this thread, and i really want to thank you for all your help
  #24002    
Old February 24th, 2013 (01:54 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by iDowngrade:
Oh i see, using the old images for a new attack, ok.

2 more simple questions

1rst)How do i CREATE (not remake) a new type? like space-type pokemons with its weaknesses and its superiorness(if that word exists)
2nd) How do i ADD a new attack data? this time im talking about images, but data...

Note: Sorry if im asking too much, or asking complicated questions, you guys dont have answer any of 'em, but if you feel like, yay!

and by the way karatekid, i see you've been REALLY helpful in this thread, and i really want to thank you for all your help
1) I have no clue how you would create one, my best guess is there is a table somewhere that would need expanding. For type matchups I found a program by FinalZero called Type Resistance Editor that can alter the effectiveness of one type over another. This might help you.

2)This is fun and requires a lot of hex editing. You will need to repoint both the table that contains the attack animations as well as their data and expand it to add in your new attacks.

These tutorials and research threads should help:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=281520
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=263479
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=290135

And thank you for your compliment
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24003    
Old February 24th, 2013 (05:10 PM). Edited February 24th, 2013 by iDowngrade.
iDowngrade iDowngrade is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 34
Thanks once again!, i beleive there's no more questions, thaaaanks!

Oh wait, heeere goes the questioning again D:

Is there any program where i can change the pokemon icon? the one you see when you go to: Start>POKéMON, the icon you see in the pokemon inventory?

I have Wichu's icon editor but i dont see where i can import the image
  #24004    
Old February 25th, 2013 (01:28 AM). Edited February 25th, 2013 by ShyRayq.
ShyRayq's Avatar
ShyRayq ShyRayq is online now
Unprofessional Unprofessional
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 828
Okay people, so I have tried to expand the Pokedex.
So I changed the bytes at 0x88EA4, 0x103920 and 0x104C28 to 0x182 (386) which expands the dex by 1 to test.
I also compiled the ASM routines that Jambo posted in his Pokedex Expanding thread: the Malloc routine and the Seen/Caught Flag repoint routine.
However, my starter does not register as 'caught', instead becoming a Treecko.
I'm not sure if this goes here, but if you can help, that'd be great.

Edit: Other problems I have seen are that:
My 'new pokemon' is counted as an Illumise.
The Type/Smallest/Lightest/A-Z modes do not work, but I'm not concerned about those right now.
__________________
3DS Friend Code: 5069-3944-3902
IGN: Peter, (Pokemon Y, Pokemon OR)
Friend Safari: (Fighting) Throh, Meditite, Breloom
Live Pokedex (Y) Completed as of 02/03/14 (718), 10/11/14 (719)
Live Pokedex (OR) Completed as of 25/12/14 (719)
Big thanks especially to DestinedJagold, Xerneas_X, Elements1 and ~RNC~

PM me if you want to trade, or add my FC.
  #24005    
Old February 25th, 2013 (02:59 AM).
QuartierGenerale QuartierGenerale is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 53
Is there any way to delete the animation from a block?

I've modified the Mauville City tiles, but a large part of the block i've used have an animation associated (flower or water tipically)...how can i remove it for show only my image?

Thanks
  #24006    
Old February 25th, 2013 (12:03 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by QuartierGenerale:
Is there any way to delete the animation from a block?

I've modified the Mauville City tiles, but a large part of the block i've used have an animation associated (flower or water tipically)...how can i remove it for show only my image?

Thanks
I lied in my comment. This post should be useful: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=260619
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24007    
Old February 25th, 2013 (05:17 PM). Edited February 25th, 2013 by The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D.
The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D's Avatar
The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 54
ok so i have been watching a video for scripting, and apparently this test ode worked for the dude but i get to the point where i talk to the guy and the text will NOT show up.

#dynamic 0x800190

#org @start
lock
faceplayer
msgbox @talk1 '"Hey there!\nHow are you?\pWhat's yo..."
release
end

#org @talk1
= Hey there!\nHow are you?\pWhat's you name?\p[player]?\nThats a cool name!


lol nevermind i forgot about the "callstd 0x6" its working now
__________________
C: creating a Hack "Pokemon Nightmare Version" There will be a Pokemon Dream as a sequel! A thread will be put up :D


To be changed to Terror!
Ive been let aware of a Pokemon Nightmare Hack being released already, i waited to long, and i checked it out and it looks really cool
I wanted to keep a connection to Nightmare, so i thought of Night Terrors, and kept Terror!

Currently in Design Stage, will be begin to code in around a month!
Pokemon Dream will be the sequel and made Somewhat after.
  #24008    
Old February 25th, 2013 (06:00 PM).
FBI agent's Avatar
FBI agent FBI agent is offline
If my PM box is full, VM instead :x
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Unknown Island
Gender: Male
Posts: 817
Quote originally posted by The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D:
ok so i have been watching a video for scripting, and apparently this test ode worked for the dude but i get to the point where i talk to the guy and the text will NOT show up.

#dynamic 0x800190

#org @start
lock
faceplayer
msgbox @talk1 '"Hey there!\nHow are you?\pWhat's yo..."
release
end

#org @talk1
= Hey there!\nHow are you?\pWhat's you name?\p[player]?\nThats a cool name!


lol nevermind i forgot about the "callstd 0x6" its working now
You should just delete your post if you fixed it by yourself :)
In future, if you can tell us what scripting language you're using and what version you're hacking, it'll help your helpers a great deal. Also, you can just use #dynamic 0x800000 rather than 0x800190 (the same effect would occur).
__________________
...

My name forum name is FBI Agent, though you can call me FBI because it's shorter.

Some of my stuff:
ASM request/resource thread
ASM tutorials thread
ASM Workshop
  #24009    
Old February 25th, 2013 (07:27 PM). Edited February 25th, 2013 by The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D.
The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D's Avatar
The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 54
What are the hex codes for items and such?
__________________
C: creating a Hack "Pokemon Nightmare Version" There will be a Pokemon Dream as a sequel! A thread will be put up :D


To be changed to Terror!
Ive been let aware of a Pokemon Nightmare Hack being released already, i waited to long, and i checked it out and it looks really cool
I wanted to keep a connection to Nightmare, so i thought of Night Terrors, and kept Terror!

Currently in Design Stage, will be begin to code in around a month!
Pokemon Dream will be the sequel and made Somewhat after.
  #24010    
Old February 25th, 2013 (10:14 PM).
miksy91's Avatar
miksy91 miksy91 is offline
A GB/C Rom Hacker since 2010
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: A small country in the North
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 1,300
Quote originally posted by The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D:
What are the hex codes for items and such?
http://www.ign.com/faqs/2005/pokemon-firered-version-gameshark-sp-codes-568292

(Everything between IV and X)
__________________
My Rom Hack




Learn how to hack GB/C games:

Check my GameBoy/Color hacking videos in Youtube
-The video set uses Pokemon Silver (U) rom for demonstrations
  #24011    
Old February 26th, 2013 (08:49 AM).
QuartierGenerale QuartierGenerale is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 53
Thanks another time to karatekid, but i've another problem.

1. I wanted to change the script entering the safari, but does not compile. So i've re-pasted the original code...and don't compile too! The problem is now the code is not working, how can i restore the default one? Also in other offset, no problem. I'm using PKSV, maybe with XSE will work?

2. Is there a way to add a PokeBlock (not the case, just the pokeblock) by script, without using berries?

Thanks a lot
  #24012    
Old February 26th, 2013 (12:48 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by QuartierGenerale:
Thanks another time to karatekid, but i've another problem.

1. I wanted to change the script entering the safari, but does not compile. So i've re-pasted the original code...and don't compile too! The problem is now the code is not working, how can i restore the default one? Also in other offset, no problem. I'm using PKSV, maybe with XSE will work?

2. Is there a way to add a PokeBlock (not the case, just the pokeblock) by script, without using berries?

Thanks a lot
1. Find the script in a clean rom and replace it. I personally use XSE, but I know FBI agent uses PKSV so it is your own personal prefrerence. Give both a try and pick which one you like best.

2. Most likely it is created by a special. Look at JPAN's Study on the Special and Special2 Commands and see if it is in there.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24013    
Old February 26th, 2013 (01:17 PM).
QuartierGenerale QuartierGenerale is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 53
In a clean rom the safari script does not compile
  #24014    
Old February 26th, 2013 (01:30 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by QuartierGenerale:
In a clean rom the safari script does not compile
What are the errors you are receiving?
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24015    
Old February 26th, 2013 (01:33 PM).
FBI agent's Avatar
FBI agent FBI agent is offline
If my PM box is full, VM instead :x
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Unknown Island
Gender: Male
Posts: 817
Quote originally posted by QuartierGenerale:
In a clean rom the safari script does not compile :shocked:
Why not just use the Safari script rather than recompile it? Also, if you want to recompile an existing script (for whatever reason) you should define a dyn offset. I.e:

#dyn 0x740000
#org @start
--rest--

Remember if you modified the script you need to repoint the body of the section you modified. I.E:

#dyn 0x740000
#org @start
jump 0x816D36D

#org 0x816D36D
msgbox @text
callstd MSG_NORMAL
'Say I were to add another movement here like this:
'applymovement PLAYER @surprised
'pauseevent 0x0
'I would need to change 0x816D36D to an offset with free space, or to something like @new
release
end


#org @surprised
m say_!! end

#org @text
= Heyo!
__________________
...

My name forum name is FBI Agent, though you can call me FBI because it's shorter.

Some of my stuff:
ASM request/resource thread
ASM tutorials thread
ASM Workshop
  #24016    
Old February 26th, 2013 (02:17 PM).
iDowngrade iDowngrade is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 34
Is there any program where i can change the pokemon icon? the one you see when you go to: Start>POKéMON, the icon you see in the pokemon inventory?

I have Wichu's icon editor but i dont see where i can import the image
  #24017    
Old February 26th, 2013 (05:14 PM).
jbrown12333 jbrown12333 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 11
I don't think I asked my question right last time, so here goes trying to rephrase it.

In YAPE, where there is a limitation on how many total moves all Pokemon can learn (which is 3972), how can I increase that limit? Is it very complicated to do (involving a lot of hex editing)?

Thanks
  #24018    
Old February 26th, 2013 (05:57 PM).
MrElephant's Avatar
MrElephant MrElephant is offline
Pokemon Researcher
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Posts: 70
I asked this question while ago but nobody answered. What setflags are available in emerald? That is all I am wondering.
__________________
Trying to find time to mod

Lets see I like modding

Dragon Warrior, Lego Racers, Pokemon, Final Fantasy, Mario Racing, Super Smash Bros Brawl, and Banjo.
  #24019    
Old February 26th, 2013 (07:14 PM). Edited February 26th, 2013 by karatekid552.
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by MrElephant:
I asked this question while ago but nobody answered. What setflags are available in emerald? That is all I am wondering.
This is all we know for now. http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=291605 Try finding some on your own by taking a completed save file and checking flags.

Quote originally posted by iDowngrade:
Is there any program where i can change the pokemon icon? the one you see when you go to: Start>POKéMON, the icon you see in the pokemon inventory?

I have Wichu's icon editor but i dont see where i can import the image
It is in one of the top menus.

Quote originally posted by jbrown12333:
I don't think I asked my question right last time, so here goes trying to rephrase it.

In YAPE, where there is a limitation on how many total moves all Pokemon can learn (which is 3972), how can I increase that limit? Is it very complicated to do (involving a lot of hex editing)?

Thanks
No way in YAPE, but it can be done in PGE. I answered this question in far more detail just a week or two ago, most likely for someone else. Look back through the last ten or so pages or use the handy-dandy search bar.:D
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24020    
Old February 26th, 2013 (08:20 PM).
jbrown12333 jbrown12333 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 11
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
No way in YAPE, but it can be done in PGE. I answered this question in far more detail just a week or two ago, most likely for someone else. Look back through the last ten or so pages or use the handy-dandy search bar.:D
What part of PGE do you use to do that? Is it the attack editor or something else? I'm having trouble finding your other answer to the question (this thread is really dense).
  #24021    
Old February 27th, 2013 (12:01 AM). Edited February 27th, 2013 by Kurapika.
Kurapika's Avatar
Kurapika Kurapika is offline
Grudgebearer
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Lavendar Town - Morocco
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 396
Yo!
I started making some tiles lately and just had this problem when I enter a door or get out from a door the bottom of the houses I made myself become messy, screenshots in spoiler:
Spoiler:





Thanks in advance.

EDIT: Solved but weird... (I noticed that those tiles that get messed up shared same thing which is that they were in the end of the tileset, so I moved them and now everything works just fine. Sorry if I made you read for nothing...)

EDIT #2: Well... Since I came here might as well ask if anyone knows how do the door animations, grass animation and such work exactly? f.e. if I want to modify the grass animation, where should I go? Thanks again. :] (inb4 EDIT #3..... >.>)
__________________
  #24022    
Old February 27th, 2013 (02:59 AM).
FBI agent's Avatar
FBI agent FBI agent is offline
If my PM box is full, VM instead :x
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Unknown Island
Gender: Male
Posts: 817
Quote originally posted by Kurapika:
Yo!
I started making some tiles lately and just had this problem when I enter a door or get out from a door the bottom of the houses I made myself become messy, screenshots in spoiler:
Spoiler:





Thanks in advance.

EDIT: Solved but weird... (I noticed that those tiles that get messed up shared same thing which is that they were in the end of the tileset, so I moved them and now everything works just fine. Sorry if I made you read for nothing...)

EDIT #2: Well... Since I came here might as well ask if anyone knows how do the door animations, grass animation and such work exactly? f.e. if I want to modify the grass animation, where should I go? Thanks again. :] (inb4 EDIT #3..... >.>)
ZodiacDaGreat has a tool for door animations called door manager, http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=198705

Grass animation editing is done by a tutorial by thethethethe, I don't have a link (rather, I'm too lazy to find one :P) so you will have to search the tutorial section. Note that in your forum settings you have to set the option to see old threads (otherwise it's limited to within 5 pages or something like that). Just use search feature in the tutorial section.
__________________
...

My name forum name is FBI Agent, though you can call me FBI because it's shorter.

Some of my stuff:
ASM request/resource thread
ASM tutorials thread
ASM Workshop
  #24023    
Old February 27th, 2013 (05:41 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by jbrown12333:
What part of PGE do you use to do that? Is it the attack editor or something else? I'm having trouble finding your other answer to the question (this thread is really dense).
PGE is Pokemon Game Editor by Gamer2020 and 0xRH. It contains many programs and one of them is a Pokemon Editor (it is shortened to P.E.). Check it out and I will try and find my post.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24024    
Old February 27th, 2013 (06:24 AM).
QuartierGenerale QuartierGenerale is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 53
First time i've recompiled because i've translate the text. After this, a part of the script was crashed (appear a pointer to a non-rom area). Next, re-using the original code that problem was not solved. Anyhow i'm thinking about a particoular type of safari, so i think i'll use a new custom script. A question about this: if i use removeitems indicating a number > of the owned, what happen? If is a problem, is there a way to store in a variable the excact number of a kind of item ?

Thanks
  #24025    
Old February 27th, 2013 (06:51 AM).
FBI agent's Avatar
FBI agent FBI agent is offline
If my PM box is full, VM instead :x
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Unknown Island
Gender: Male
Posts: 817
Quote originally posted by QuartierGenerale:
First time i've recompiled because i've translate the text. After this, a part of the script was crashed (appear a pointer to a non-rom area). Next, re-using the original code that problem was not solved. Anyhow i'm thinking about a particoular type of safari, so i think i'll use a new custom script. A question about this: if i use removeitems indicating a number > of the owned, what happen? If is a problem, is there a way to store in a variable the excact number of a kind of item ?

Thanks :)
It would be best if you could describe exactly what you're trying to do as well (in order).
For example:

1) Player enters house
2) Mom goes to from her chair player
3) Mom says hi
4) Mom sits back down to her chair

Sometime it helps, especially in this case where you're giving us errors which can't easily be related back to your original problem.

From what I can tell you're trying to get the safari zone to work, with added text? In this case, you need to change the message's pointer to some free space with your message. This is as easy as:

#org 0x8[something]
---
---
msgbox 0x8[Free space]
callstd MSG_NORMAL
---
---
end

#org 0x[Free space]
= Your edited message.
__________________
...

My name forum name is FBI Agent, though you can call me FBI because it's shorter.

Some of my stuff:
ASM request/resource thread
ASM tutorials thread
ASM Workshop
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 03:14 AM.