< >
Hello, guest! Please log in or register.

The PokéCommunity

Go Back     The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub > Beginner’s Lounge [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices

Beginner’s Lounge Where all good (and bad) ideas start. This is the Beginner’s Lounge, where if you need a helping hand or want to develop your small ideas, you bring it here. We won't bite.

Closed Thread Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #24276    
Old March 17th, 2013 (10:58 PM).
ShyRayq's Avatar
ShyRayq ShyRayq is online now
Unprofessional Unprofessional
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 980
Quote:
Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
Hey dudes, I've got a problem. I tried doing this,
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=290135
but when I disable the limiter, it still says "BULBASAUR used a NORMAL move! Also, when I exit PGE, the attacks I made new effect e.g. KILLER, same as POUND, I save then exit. Open again with PGE and reverts to POUND imitation not KILLER.
Okay
1. Its supposed to be 6 00's, not 8. So change the last 00 00 to the original two bytes.
2. If the new has a new effect, why would it have a new animation?
3DS Friend Code: 5069-3944-3902
IGN: Peter, (Pokemon Y, Pokemon OR)
Friend Safari: (Fighting) Throh, Meditite, Breloom
Live Pokedex (Y) Completed as of 02/03/14 (718), 10/11/14 (719), 21/01/16 (720)
Live Pokedex (OR) Completed as of 25/12/14 (719), 21/01/16 (720)
Big thanks especially to DestinedJagold, Xerneas_X, Elements1 and ~RNC~

PM me if you want to trade, or add my FC.

Relevant Advertising!

  #24277    
Old March 17th, 2013 (11:33 PM).
kearnseyboy6's Avatar
kearnseyboy6 kearnseyboy6 is offline
Aussie's Toughest Mudder
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 298
Hi everyone, I was reading a few pages back and using flags over 0x900 causes bad eggs and other glitches? What flags haven't been used in the game that I can use? I have been using 0x1200 and above at the moment!
HOLIDAYING CURRENTLY!!
  #24278    
Old March 18th, 2013 (2:31 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,766
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by kearnseyboy6 View Post
Hi everyone, I was reading a few pages back and using flags over 0x900 causes bad eggs and other glitches? What flags haven't been used in the game that I can use? I have been using 0x1200 and above at the moment!
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthr...56#post6829256

http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpos...&postcount=183

These will help you a lot. Read through them and then come back with any questions.

Paired with Simba
  #24279    
Old March 18th, 2013 (2:44 AM).
iDowngrade iDowngrade is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
Can you spoiler your huge screen shot in your last post, it makes my page go all funky:p

Now, this will help you greatly: http://174.133.255.180/showthread.php?t=200882

Once you create the multichoice, then we will fix the problem of them all giving the same thing.
Welp, i'll try that, thank you.
I'll try it when i have time...
  #24280    
Old March 18th, 2013 (3:50 AM).
exedissolve's Avatar
exedissolve exedissolve is offline
Straight-edge
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Gender:
Nature: Lax
Posts: 40
Do I have to index Icons for Gen IV and V pokemon that I put into my FireRed hack?

Dissolve's PokePet

Bunsin the level 53 Flareon!
  #24281    
Old March 18th, 2013 (4:54 AM).
Aryan143's Avatar
Aryan143 Aryan143 is offline
The Fennekin Fan!
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Delhi, India
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 756
Quote:
Originally Posted by exedissolve View Post
Do I have to index Icons for Gen IV and V pokemon that I put into my FireRed hack?
If you are using Unlz-GBA, then yes. Wichu Sprite Editor automatially indexes the sprite.
Check out my gaming company:

  #24282    
Old March 18th, 2013 (5:27 AM).
exedissolve's Avatar
exedissolve exedissolve is offline
Straight-edge
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Gender:
Nature: Lax
Posts: 40
Is thereca place I can download indexed gen 4 & 5 sprites for firered?

Dissolve's PokePet

Bunsin the level 53 Flareon!
  #24283    
Old March 18th, 2013 (5:38 AM).
Aryan143's Avatar
Aryan143 Aryan143 is offline
The Fennekin Fan!
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Delhi, India
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 756
Quote:
Originally Posted by exedissolve View Post
Is thereca place I can download indexed gen 4 & 5 sprites for firered?
You can index them yourself by using Irfanview and 4th and 5th gen sprites for FR can be found here:

http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=267728
Check out my gaming company:

  #24284    
Old March 18th, 2013 (6:22 AM).
Noossab Blue's Avatar
Noossab Blue Noossab Blue is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Gender: Female
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 242
Does anyone know how I can change the pokemon professor oak shows in his introduction (the nidoran f) in FR?
IGN: Anna/Noossab Blue
3DS FC: 3196 3609 8450

Thanks to SilverGrey for the awesome banner! Click to see!
Current as of 1/31/14: I updated again!

  #24285    
Old March 18th, 2013 (6:41 AM).
Reygok's Avatar
Reygok Reygok is offline
Beginning Hacker
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 60
Hi again, I'd like to know how many full size maps fit in FireRed? I plan on creating 3 seperate Islands, with 5-6 Cities each and over 50 Routes. Is this possible? If not, is there a possibility to increase the size of the Rom?

Thanks for all answers
  #24286    
Old March 18th, 2013 (6:52 AM).
Aryan143's Avatar
Aryan143 Aryan143 is offline
The Fennekin Fan!
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Delhi, India
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 756
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noossab Blue View Post
Does anyone know how I can change the pokemon professor oak shows in his introduction (the nidoran f) in FR?
You can use IntroEd I found on Whack a hack:

http://wahackpokemon.com/descarga/herras/IntroEd.zip
Check out my gaming company:

  #24287    
Old March 18th, 2013 (6:59 AM). Edited March 18th, 2013 by karatekid552.
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,766
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noossab Blue View Post
Does anyone know how I can change the pokemon professor oak shows in his introduction (the nidoran f) in FR?
Tool by MewThree Inc(?) called IntroEd.

Edit: Whoops, already answered

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reygok View Post
Hi again, I'd like to know how many full size maps fit in FireRed? I plan on creating 3 seperate Islands, with 5-6 Cities each and over 50 Routes. Is this possible? If not, is there a possibility to increase the size of the Rom?

Thanks for all answers
Easily, the max, not counting Data size limits, is about 65,000. Granted, some maps will take up a lot of bytes, but you should be fine.

Paired with Simba
  #24288    
Old March 18th, 2013 (8:21 AM).
TweenyTodd TweenyTodd is offline
Quitting cuz i got a job
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NOYB
Nature: Sassy
Posts: 95
Would it be possible to add a 4th world map to FR?
It doesn't seem possible, or else someone would already have done it.
  #24289    
Old March 18th, 2013 (8:47 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,766
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by TweenyTodd View Post
Would it be possible to add a 4th world map to FR?
It doesn't seem possible, or else someone would already have done it.
Anything is possible, but that would be extremely difficult, I mean really, really difficult.

Paired with Simba
  #24290    
Old March 18th, 2013 (3:27 PM).
kj3400's Avatar
kj3400 kj3400 is offline
Wants a Magneton for a Charger
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Posts: 53
Send a message via Skype™ to kj3400
I've been looking everywhere, but I don't see any specific guidance so I wanted to settle it once and for all. What exactly is the lowest flag number you can use assuming I'm using the Hacked engine by JPAN?
  #24291    
Old March 18th, 2013 (3:55 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,766
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by kj3400 View Post
I've been looking everywhere, but I don't see any specific guidance so I wanted to settle it once and for all. What exactly is the lowest flag number you can use assuming I'm using the Hacked engine by JPAN?
With the hacked engine: 28. On DavidJCobbs list, anything that says "Used for cut tree in ___" or "Used for rock smash bolder in ____" (or the like) is temporary, and can't be used, even if you have nothing there.

Flags that pertain to story events are good though, those you can use.

Paired with Simba
  #24292    
Old March 19th, 2013 (4:49 PM).
shinyabsol1's Avatar
shinyabsol1 shinyabsol1 is offline
Pokemon DarkJasper!?
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 330
I've run into a problem with Walking Scripts on JPAN's hacked engine. As long as a Walking Script is functioning, repel will never wear off. Presumably, this is because (according to JPAN's guide) the Walking Script code blocks low-leveled walking events from occurring. This problem also prevents wild encounters, but JPAN got around it by making a couple of specials that call the random water/grass battle generators from the Walking Script to make it work.

So my question is, is there any way I can call the repel check (or whatever it is) from my walking script? It seems possible in some way or another, but does anybody have any idea about how to do it?
  #24293    
Old March 19th, 2013 (4:59 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,766
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by shinyabsol1 View Post
I've run into a problem with Walking Scripts on JPAN's hacked engine. As long as a Walking Script is functioning, repel will never wear off. Presumably, this is because (according to JPAN's guide) the Walking Script code blocks low-leveled walking events from occurring. This problem also prevents wild encounters, but JPAN got around it by making a couple of specials that call the random water/grass battle generators from the Walking Script to make it work.

So my question is, is there any way I can call the repel check (or whatever it is) from my walking script? It seems possible in some way or another, but does anybody have any idea about how to do it?
My thoughts are you could run the ASM routine which checks for repel steps left using the callasm command in the script. Though, you would need to have a little bit of ASM knowledge to find that routine and call it and make sure it returns to your script when it is done.

Me and FBI branched this routine a while back to make Pokémon gain HP every step, though, for the life of me, I can't remember where it was, sorry.

Paired with Simba
  #24294    
Old March 19th, 2013 (5:07 PM).
BlackWhiteRobin BlackWhiteRobin is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 467
Does anybody know how to skip the credits in FR using ASM or Byte Editing? I want to skip it without a press of a button or anything, just skip it.

  #24295    
Old March 19th, 2013 (5:13 PM). Edited March 19th, 2013 by karatekid552.
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,766
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
Does anybody know how to skip the credits in FR using ASM or Byte Editing? I want to skip it without a press of a button or anything, just skip it.
I believe it is built into special 0x110 which also does the hall of fame. Let me check.

Edit: Yes, it does do both, and special 0x1A5 just plays the credits. There is no "just hall of fame" special. So, you would have to do some ASM/byte editing to skip them.

Paired with Simba
  #24296    
Old March 19th, 2013 (5:22 PM).
shinyabsol1's Avatar
shinyabsol1 shinyabsol1 is offline
Pokemon DarkJasper!?
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552
My thoughts are you could run the ASM routine which checks for repel steps left using the callasm command in the script. Though, you would need to have a little bit of ASM knowledge to find that routine and call it and make sure it returns to your script when it is done.

Me and FBI branched this routine a while back to make Pokémon gain HP every step, though, for the life of me, I can't remember where it was, sorry.
I hoped this might be possible, but unfortunately I don't have any knowledge of ASM. However, I did find this page by JPAN that has some information on repel...but I'm not really sure of what to make of the information. Might this be the routine I would be looking for?
  #24297    
Old March 19th, 2013 (5:44 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,766
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by shinyabsol1 View Post
I hoped this might be possible, but unfortunately I don't have any knowledge of ASM. However, I did find this page by JPAN that has some information on repel...but I'm not really sure of what to make of the information. Might this be the routine I would be looking for?
The first routine is the "player used repel" routine that happens when you use it in the bag. Let me look farther. BTW, possibly one of my favorite threads on PC. It is what I used to write my evolution stone tut:p.

I don't see the outside of bag routine in there. It wouldn't be too hard for me to find where the byte is that decreases with each step. Then I could trace it back a little bit. Maybe I have that old routine laying around somewhere....

Edit: yeah, I found the routine, but I neglected to write down where it goes.... Damn.

Paired with Simba
  #24298    
Old March 19th, 2013 (6:03 PM).
shinyabsol1's Avatar
shinyabsol1 shinyabsol1 is offline
Pokemon DarkJasper!?
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552
Edit: yeah, I found the routine, but I neglected to write down where it goes.... Damn.
Well, if you didn't write down where it goes, how might I go about finding it? I really have no clue how to pinpoint an ASM routine :\

Thanks for your help!
  #24299    
Old March 19th, 2013 (6:37 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,766
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by shinyabsol1 View Post
Well, if you didn't write down where it goes, how might I go about finding it? I really have no clue how to pinpoint an ASM routine :\

Thanks for your help!
I can explain it, but if you don't know ASM, it will be really tough.

1) Use a Max repel. Then open up the create cheat function in VBA and use that to pinpoint the location of the step counter which will decrease (255, 254, 253....) with each step. Just give it a quick youtube, it is fairly simple to use.

2) Set a breakpoint on read of that location. This will be the point at which the game says, "Hmm, he has 25 steps left, continue..." And then later, "Oh! 0 steps left, play message." If you can work backwards from here by following the routine back, you will eventually find where it begins. However, if you can't read ASM, you won't know where that point is.:p

My best advice: if you are serious about hacking, hit up both HackMew's and shinyquagsire's ASM tutorials. From there, read JPAN's documentation and start experimenting. It is a lot, I know, but it is deffinately worth it.

Here is some useful stuff (Darthatron, FBI, and I all use it, probobly more people too):

Instruction reference: https://ece.uwaterloo.ca/~ece222/ARM...manual-pt3.pdf

JPAN's doc: http://www.pokecommunity.com/attachm...7&d=1247104157

Paired with Simba
  #24300    
Old March 19th, 2013 (6:54 PM). Edited March 19th, 2013 by shinyabsol1.
shinyabsol1's Avatar
shinyabsol1 shinyabsol1 is offline
Pokemon DarkJasper!?
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552
I can explain it, but if you don't know ASM, it will be really tough.

1) Use Max repel. The open up the create cheat function in VBA and use that to pinpoint the location of the step counter which will decrease (255, 254, 253....) with each step. Just give it a quick youtube, it is fairly simple to use.

2) Set a breakpoint on read of that location. This will be the point at which the game says, "Hmm, he has 25 steps left, continue..." And then later, "Oh! 0 steps left, play message." If you can work backwards from here by following the routine back, you will eventually find where it begins. However, if you can't read ASM, you won't know where that point is.:p

My best advice: if you are serious about hacking, hit up both HackMew's and shinyquagsire's ASM tutorials. From there, read JPAN's documentation and start experimenting. It is a lot, I know, but it is deffinately worth it.

Here is some useful stuff (Darthatron, FBI, and I all use it, probobly more people too):

Instruction reference: https://ece.uwaterloo.ca/~ece222/ARM...manual-pt3.pdf

JPAN's doc: http://www.pokecommunity.com/attachm...7&d=1247104157
Well, I'll give it a shot but I doubt it will work for me. I've looked at lots of ASM tutorials before but never really understood any of them.

Thanks anyways!

EDIT: Just for clarification, what do you mean by "follow the routine back?"
Closed Thread Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 8:43 PM.


Contact Us Archive Privacy Statement Terms of Service Top