The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Advertise here

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #24276    
Old March 17th, 2013, 06:21 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552

Advertise here
Quote:
Originally Posted by iDowngrade View Post
Ok, it worked and everything, but there are some errors, mainly in text, it seems like if i replaced something instead of creating something.

Screenies(Sorry but you will get some big damn screenies D
Spoiler:

1.

2.

3.

4.


Notes:
-It seems like if i replaced something instead of creating something.
-As you can see it says TM13 4,000 coins, but it actually has to say "VAPOREON"
-Like, TM13 = VAPOREON / TM23 = JOLTEON / TM24 = FLAREON, and so on...

Ughh!, told you i cant do this...

EDIT: Note
-Ooops, noticed that not every TM is correct, they're all VAPOREON's, lol.
Can you spoiler your huge screen shot in your last post, it makes my page go all funky:p

Now, this will help you greatly: http://174.133.255.180/showthread.php?t=200882

Once you create the multichoice, then we will fix the problem of them all giving the same thing.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24277    
Old March 17th, 2013, 10:58 PM
ShyRayq's Avatar
ShyRayq
Unprofessional Unprofessional
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Quote:
Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
Hey dudes, I've got a problem. I tried doing this,
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=290135
but when I disable the limiter, it still says "BULBASAUR used a NORMAL move! Also, when I exit PGE, the attacks I made new effect e.g. KILLER, same as POUND, I save then exit. Open again with PGE and reverts to POUND imitation not KILLER.
Okay
1. Its supposed to be 6 00's, not 8. So change the last 00 00 to the original two bytes.
2. If the new has a new effect, why would it have a new animation?
__________________
3DS Friend Code: 5069-3944-3902
IGN: Peter, Pokemon Y
Friend Safari: (Fighting) Throh, Meditite, Breloom
Live Pokedex Completed as of 02/03/14
Big thanks especially to DestinedJagold, Xerneas_X and Elements1

PM me if you want to trade, or add my FC.
  #24278    
Old March 17th, 2013, 11:33 PM
kearnseyboy6's Avatar
kearnseyboy6
Aussie's Toughest Mudder
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Hi everyone, I was reading a few pages back and using flags over 0x900 causes bad eggs and other glitches? What flags haven't been used in the game that I can use? I have been using 0x1200 and above at the moment!
__________________
HOLIDAYING CURRENTLY!!
  #24279    
Old March 18th, 2013, 02:31 AM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by kearnseyboy6 View Post
Hi everyone, I was reading a few pages back and using flags over 0x900 causes bad eggs and other glitches? What flags haven't been used in the game that I can use? I have been using 0x1200 and above at the moment!
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthr...56#post6829256

http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpos...&postcount=183

These will help you a lot. Read through them and then come back with any questions.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24280    
Old March 18th, 2013, 02:44 AM
iDowngrade
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
Can you spoiler your huge screen shot in your last post, it makes my page go all funky:p

Now, this will help you greatly: http://174.133.255.180/showthread.php?t=200882

Once you create the multichoice, then we will fix the problem of them all giving the same thing.
Welp, i'll try that, thank you.
I'll try it when i have time...
  #24281    
Old March 18th, 2013, 03:50 AM
exedissolve's Avatar
exedissolve
Straight-edge
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Gender:
Nature: Lax
Do I have to index Icons for Gen IV and V pokemon that I put into my FireRed hack?
__________________

Dissolve's PokePet

Bunsin the level 53 Flareon!
  #24282    
Old March 18th, 2013, 04:54 AM
Aryan143's Avatar
Aryan143
The Fennekin Fan!
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Delhi, India
Age: 14
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by exedissolve View Post
Do I have to index Icons for Gen IV and V pokemon that I put into my FireRed hack?
If you are using Unlz-GBA, then yes. Wichu Sprite Editor automatially indexes the sprite.
__________________

Please click both of these links once in a day and help us grow:

  #24283    
Old March 18th, 2013, 05:27 AM
exedissolve's Avatar
exedissolve
Straight-edge
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Gender:
Nature: Lax
Is thereca place I can download indexed gen 4 & 5 sprites for firered?
__________________

Dissolve's PokePet

Bunsin the level 53 Flareon!
  #24284    
Old March 18th, 2013, 05:38 AM
Aryan143's Avatar
Aryan143
The Fennekin Fan!
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Delhi, India
Age: 14
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by exedissolve View Post
Is thereca place I can download indexed gen 4 & 5 sprites for firered?
You can index them yourself by using Irfanview and 4th and 5th gen sprites for FR can be found here:

http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=267728
__________________

Please click both of these links once in a day and help us grow:

  #24285    
Old March 18th, 2013, 06:22 AM
Noossab Blue's Avatar
Noossab Blue
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Gender: Female
Nature: Quirky
Does anyone know how I can change the pokemon professor oak shows in his introduction (the nidoran f) in FR?
__________________
IGN: Anna/Noossab Blue
3DS FC: 3196 3609 8450

Thanks to SilverGrey for the awesome banner! Click to see!
Current as of 1/31/14: I updated again!

  #24286    
Old March 18th, 2013, 06:41 AM
Reygok's Avatar
Reygok
Beginning Hacker
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Gender: Male
Hi again, I'd like to know how many full size maps fit in FireRed? I plan on creating 3 seperate Islands, with 5-6 Cities each and over 50 Routes. Is this possible? If not, is there a possibility to increase the size of the Rom?

Thanks for all answers
  #24287    
Old March 18th, 2013, 06:52 AM
Aryan143's Avatar
Aryan143
The Fennekin Fan!
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Delhi, India
Age: 14
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noossab Blue View Post
Does anyone know how I can change the pokemon professor oak shows in his introduction (the nidoran f) in FR?
You can use IntroEd I found on Whack a hack:

http://wahackpokemon.com/descarga/herras/IntroEd.zip
__________________

Please click both of these links once in a day and help us grow:

  #24288    
Old March 18th, 2013, 06:59 AM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noossab Blue View Post
Does anyone know how I can change the pokemon professor oak shows in his introduction (the nidoran f) in FR?
Tool by MewThree Inc(?) called IntroEd.

Edit: Whoops, already answered

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reygok View Post
Hi again, I'd like to know how many full size maps fit in FireRed? I plan on creating 3 seperate Islands, with 5-6 Cities each and over 50 Routes. Is this possible? If not, is there a possibility to increase the size of the Rom?

Thanks for all answers
Easily, the max, not counting Data size limits, is about 65,000. Granted, some maps will take up a lot of bytes, but you should be fine.
__________________

Paired with Simba

Last edited by karatekid552; March 18th, 2013 at 07:09 AM.
  #24289    
Old March 18th, 2013, 08:21 AM
TweenyTodd
Quitting cuz i got a job
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NOYB
Nature: Sassy
Would it be possible to add a 4th world map to FR?
It doesn't seem possible, or else someone would already have done it.
  #24290    
Old March 18th, 2013, 08:47 AM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by TweenyTodd View Post
Would it be possible to add a 4th world map to FR?
It doesn't seem possible, or else someone would already have done it.
Anything is possible, but that would be extremely difficult, I mean really, really difficult.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24291    
Old March 18th, 2013, 03:27 PM
kj3400's Avatar
kj3400
Wants a Magneton for a Charger
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Send a message via Skype™ to kj3400
I've been looking everywhere, but I don't see any specific guidance so I wanted to settle it once and for all. What exactly is the lowest flag number you can use assuming I'm using the Hacked engine by JPAN?
  #24292    
Old March 18th, 2013, 03:55 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by kj3400 View Post
I've been looking everywhere, but I don't see any specific guidance so I wanted to settle it once and for all. What exactly is the lowest flag number you can use assuming I'm using the Hacked engine by JPAN?
With the hacked engine: 28. On DavidJCobbs list, anything that says "Used for cut tree in ___" or "Used for rock smash bolder in ____" (or the like) is temporary, and can't be used, even if you have nothing there.

Flags that pertain to story events are good though, those you can use.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24293    
Old March 19th, 2013, 04:49 PM
shinyabsol1's Avatar
shinyabsol1
Pokemon DarkJasper!?
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
I've run into a problem with Walking Scripts on JPAN's hacked engine. As long as a Walking Script is functioning, repel will never wear off. Presumably, this is because (according to JPAN's guide) the Walking Script code blocks low-leveled walking events from occurring. This problem also prevents wild encounters, but JPAN got around it by making a couple of specials that call the random water/grass battle generators from the Walking Script to make it work.

So my question is, is there any way I can call the repel check (or whatever it is) from my walking script? It seems possible in some way or another, but does anybody have any idea about how to do it?
  #24294    
Old March 19th, 2013, 04:59 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by shinyabsol1 View Post
I've run into a problem with Walking Scripts on JPAN's hacked engine. As long as a Walking Script is functioning, repel will never wear off. Presumably, this is because (according to JPAN's guide) the Walking Script code blocks low-leveled walking events from occurring. This problem also prevents wild encounters, but JPAN got around it by making a couple of specials that call the random water/grass battle generators from the Walking Script to make it work.

So my question is, is there any way I can call the repel check (or whatever it is) from my walking script? It seems possible in some way or another, but does anybody have any idea about how to do it?
My thoughts are you could run the ASM routine which checks for repel steps left using the callasm command in the script. Though, you would need to have a little bit of ASM knowledge to find that routine and call it and make sure it returns to your script when it is done.

Me and FBI branched this routine a while back to make Pokémon gain HP every step, though, for the life of me, I can't remember where it was, sorry.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24295    
Old March 19th, 2013, 05:07 PM
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
Does anybody know how to skip the credits in FR using ASM or Byte Editing? I want to skip it without a press of a button or anything, just skip it.
__________________
LET'S PARTY!
  #24296    
Old March 19th, 2013, 05:13 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
Does anybody know how to skip the credits in FR using ASM or Byte Editing? I want to skip it without a press of a button or anything, just skip it.
I believe it is built into special 0x110 which also does the hall of fame. Let me check.

Edit: Yes, it does do both, and special 0x1A5 just plays the credits. There is no "just hall of fame" special. So, you would have to do some ASM/byte editing to skip them.
__________________

Paired with Simba

Last edited by karatekid552; March 19th, 2013 at 05:20 PM.
  #24297    
Old March 19th, 2013, 05:22 PM
shinyabsol1's Avatar
shinyabsol1
Pokemon DarkJasper!?
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552
My thoughts are you could run the ASM routine which checks for repel steps left using the callasm command in the script. Though, you would need to have a little bit of ASM knowledge to find that routine and call it and make sure it returns to your script when it is done.

Me and FBI branched this routine a while back to make Pokémon gain HP every step, though, for the life of me, I can't remember where it was, sorry.
I hoped this might be possible, but unfortunately I don't have any knowledge of ASM. However, I did find this page by JPAN that has some information on repel...but I'm not really sure of what to make of the information. Might this be the routine I would be looking for?
  #24298    
Old March 19th, 2013, 05:44 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by shinyabsol1 View Post
I hoped this might be possible, but unfortunately I don't have any knowledge of ASM. However, I did find this page by JPAN that has some information on repel...but I'm not really sure of what to make of the information. Might this be the routine I would be looking for?
The first routine is the "player used repel" routine that happens when you use it in the bag. Let me look farther. BTW, possibly one of my favorite threads on PC. It is what I used to write my evolution stone tut:p.

I don't see the outside of bag routine in there. It wouldn't be too hard for me to find where the byte is that decreases with each step. Then I could trace it back a little bit. Maybe I have that old routine laying around somewhere....

Edit: yeah, I found the routine, but I neglected to write down where it goes.... Damn.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24299    
Old March 19th, 2013, 06:03 PM
shinyabsol1's Avatar
shinyabsol1
Pokemon DarkJasper!?
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552
Edit: yeah, I found the routine, but I neglected to write down where it goes.... Damn.
Well, if you didn't write down where it goes, how might I go about finding it? I really have no clue how to pinpoint an ASM routine :\

Thanks for your help!
  #24300    
Old March 19th, 2013, 06:37 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by shinyabsol1 View Post
Well, if you didn't write down where it goes, how might I go about finding it? I really have no clue how to pinpoint an ASM routine :\

Thanks for your help!
I can explain it, but if you don't know ASM, it will be really tough.

1) Use a Max repel. Then open up the create cheat function in VBA and use that to pinpoint the location of the step counter which will decrease (255, 254, 253....) with each step. Just give it a quick youtube, it is fairly simple to use.

2) Set a breakpoint on read of that location. This will be the point at which the game says, "Hmm, he has 25 steps left, continue..." And then later, "Oh! 0 steps left, play message." If you can work backwards from here by following the routine back, you will eventually find where it begins. However, if you can't read ASM, you won't know where that point is.:p

My best advice: if you are serious about hacking, hit up both HackMew's and shinyquagsire's ASM tutorials. From there, read JPAN's documentation and start experimenting. It is a lot, I know, but it is deffinately worth it.

Here is some useful stuff (Darthatron, FBI, and I all use it, probobly more people too):

Instruction reference: https://ece.uwaterloo.ca/~ece222/ARM...manual-pt3.pdf

JPAN's doc: http://www.pokecommunity.com/attachm...7&d=1247104157
__________________

Paired with Simba
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Advertise here
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 07:05 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.