Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #24676    
Old April 20th, 2013 (02:24 AM). Edited April 20th, 2013 by AtecainCorp..
AtecainCorp.'s Avatar
AtecainCorp.
Rejishan awake...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Takoabe Town (Region Thonsu)
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
I have an Question. It is possible to add more than 5 evolution methods? I want add to my POKEMON RUBY hack a LEAFEON, GLACEON and SYLVEON. I want use for them an Empty Pokemon Slots. It is possible to expand Pokemon Evolution methods from 5 to 8? I try search for it in Google but I do not found any answer.
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Exceeds the 600px width limit.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #24677    
Old April 20th, 2013 (02:31 AM).
Shadowraze's Avatar
Shadowraze
Love and Peace
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Philippines
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via Skype™ to Shadowraze
Quote originally posted by dondon151:
ZodiacDaGreat's Trader Advanced editor allows one to edit the OT, ID, species, nature, IVs, ability, etc. of Pokemon received in in-game trades.

Is it possible to edit the gender of the received Pokemon?
The gender varies from what gender the pokemon you are going to trade.

For example you gave a Male Spearow for a Farfetch'd then you will get a male Farfetch'd. It's that simple.
__________________
  #24678    
Old April 20th, 2013 (03:30 AM).
AtecainCorp.'s Avatar
AtecainCorp.
Rejishan awake...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Takoabe Town (Region Thonsu)
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
Meybe someone help me with add new ingame TRADE? I want add a trade WURMPLE for LEAFEON. I make new 4th trade for it... And I don't know how to add that new one
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Exceeds the 600px width limit.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #24679    
Old April 20th, 2013 (03:45 AM). Edited April 20th, 2013 by karatekid552.
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by QuartierGenerale:
Hi,

in Ruby a good list of free variables are the 5xxx (like 5000,5001,...)

Anyone known a list of free flags?

Thanks in advance

EDIT: I known that flags from 0x1000 are not used in script directly...but is it safe to use that flags? Or maybe they was used for other things like pokemon in pokedex?

Thanks
I would base my conclusions off of the flags that were used in game. I still would say (since the engines were similar) that what was safe for FR is safe for Ruby. This also means that vars in the 5000s are not safe. I have said in the past that they were, but I learned differently and went back to edit all of those posts.

However, there is no list for Ruby.

Quote originally posted by Ksiazek Bartlomiej:
I have an Question. It is possible to add more than 5 evolution methods? I want add to my POKEMON RUBY hack a LEAFEON, GLACEON and SYLVEON. I want use for them an Empty Pokemon Slots. It is possible to expand Pokemon Evolution methods from 5 to 8? I try search for it in Google but I do not found any answer.
It is possible, but you would have to rewrite the entire evolution checking routine. You see, all evolutions are stored in a pool of data. There are 2 bytes per evolution, so 10 bytes per pokemon, and every 10 bytes is a new pokemons data. The game basically does this: "pokemon's number" * "10" + "offset of evolution table" = "Evolution bank for pokemon X".

So, you would have to rewrite the routine to multiply by 16 instead of 10 and then rewrite the entire table to have 8 evolutions for each pokemon.

Now, you could also branch the evolution routine when it is an eevee to go to a separate routine which will run a new code specifically for the new evolutions.

All of these require ASM.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24680    
Old April 20th, 2013 (03:59 AM).
AtecainCorp.'s Avatar
AtecainCorp.
Rejishan awake...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Takoabe Town (Region Thonsu)
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
I'm not strong in ASM hacking...
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Exceeds the 600px width limit.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #24681    
Old April 20th, 2013 (05:15 AM).
QuartierGenerale
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
So thousand of people are hacking ruby, but no one known which flags are safe? So many hack will have script problems

Thanks anyway karatekid

ps. You will be present as a character in my hack
  #24682    
Old April 20th, 2013 (05:27 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by QuartierGenerale:
So thousand of people are hacking ruby, but no one known which flags are safe? So many hack will have script problems

Thanks anyway karatekid

ps. You will be present as a character in my hack
Well, people know, they just don't have a list:p. If you are erasing events, steal that event's flag. Look around at scripts and see if the are similar to FR's and judge what flags are safe and such from that.

You're welcome!

p.s. Awesome!
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24683    
Old April 20th, 2013 (09:21 AM).
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
It is possible, but you would have to rewrite the entire evolution checking routine. You see, all evolutions are stored in a pool of data. There are 2 bytes per evolution, so 10 bytes per pokemon, and every 10 bytes is a new pokemons data. The game basically does this: "pokemon's number" * "10" + "offset of evolution table" = "Evolution bank for pokemon X".
Sorry, but this is just wrong. Each Pokémon has 5 evolutions, yes, but the data length for a single evolution is 8 bytes, not 2.

So each species has 40 bytes, as opposed to the 10 that you proclaim.
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
  #24684    
Old April 20th, 2013 (09:31 AM).
Reisen's Avatar
Reisen
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: 永遠亭
Age: 15
Gender: Female
Nature: Quiet
Send a message via Skype™ to Reisen
So I have heard that removing script data from a ROM directly with a Hex Editor will corrupt the game. I have seen instances of this in the Generation III games, and I was wondering if something like this could be reversed, or if merely deleting the script data was incomplete, thereby corrupting data by a null pointer.

Thanks,
~Tosaka
__________________
  #24685    
Old April 20th, 2013 (09:32 AM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Where IS the offset of the evolution table? For FR that is

EDIT: Cool! Tosaka and I replied at the same time! High five
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Pokemonhackersonline Profile - Youtube Channel

Join us in the romhacking chat
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
  #24686    
Old April 20th, 2013 (09:38 AM).
AtecainCorp.'s Avatar
AtecainCorp.
Rejishan awake...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Takoabe Town (Region Thonsu)
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
Ok. I have Another Question. Really Two questions. <Important but I do not found any cleary answer>

1. How can I add Pokedex Entries for 25 Empty Slots?
2. How can i add cries for 25 empty slots?

I really need it to continue my Pokemon Ruby Extension.
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Exceeds the 600px width limit.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #24687    
Old April 20th, 2013 (10:52 AM).
TweenyTodd
Quitting cuz i got a job
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NOYB
Nature: Sassy
Quote originally posted by Ksiazek Bartlomiej:
Ok. I have Another Question. Really Two questions. <Important but I do not found any cleary answer>

1. How can I add Pokedex Entries for 25 Empty Slots?
2. How can i add cries for 25 empty slots?

I really need it to continue my Pokemon Ruby Extension.
Theres been so many tuts on this its not even funny.
Q1: Tutorial
and if u can't read that: a different one
Q2: A different tut
  #24688    
Old April 20th, 2013 (11:12 AM).
AtecainCorp.'s Avatar
AtecainCorp.
Rejishan awake...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Takoabe Town (Region Thonsu)
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
Q1 - I do not ask about CHANGING EXISTING pokedex Entries. But I ask about add new Pokedex Entry to one of Empty Places <Which normaly do not have Pokedex Entry>

Q2 - That same task. I do not want change existing Cry. But I want add new cry to empty placeholders....

It is to hard to understand.
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Exceeds the 600px width limit.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #24689    
Old April 20th, 2013 (11:25 AM).
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote originally posted by Ksiazek Bartlomiej:
Ok. I have Another Question. Really Two questions. <Important but I do not found any cleary answer>

1. How can I add Pokedex Entries for 25 Empty Slots?
2. How can i add cries for 25 empty slots?

I really need it to continue my Pokemon Ruby Extension.
1) I'm sorry to tell you that extending the Pokédex on Ruby and Sapphire (and possibly Emerald) is very impractical. Unlike FireRed, which handles everything through a Malloc (Memory Allocation), RS both use manual pointers to point to data necessary for operation of the Pokédex, which directly follows the Pokédex data itself!

What this means, in laymen's terms, is that you would have to change some 40-50 pointers (including some ASM) to make it work. I know, I tried.

2) This requires some very basic hex editing and a table repoint/extension. I don't know the location, but unless the code is drastically different from FR, which I doubt, then it's as easy as what I said.
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
  #24690    
Old April 20th, 2013 (11:46 AM).
AtecainCorp.'s Avatar
AtecainCorp.
Rejishan awake...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Takoabe Town (Region Thonsu)
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
Is there any method to add new Cry Pointer to empty Place holders?
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Exceeds the 600px width limit.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #24691    
Old April 20th, 2013 (01:44 PM).
verysuperfamous
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Is there any way to change which area something is grouped in? I know how to change warps/names but I mean having a building originally in Pallet Town listed as part Viridian City group for example.
  #24692    
Old April 20th, 2013 (01:51 PM).
Shadowraze's Avatar
Shadowraze
Love and Peace
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Philippines
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via Skype™ to Shadowraze
Quote originally posted by verysuperfamous:
Is there any way to change which area something is grouped in? I know how to change warps/names but I mean having a building originally in Pallet Town listed as part Viridian City group for example.


Well you can create a new map under Viridian City using the preferences of Pallet Town so that it will look like it. So just press Ctrl+H and copy everything to your new map and it should be good.

Although there's an easier way, if you're not gonna use Pallet Town anymore just name it Viridian City and have the warp from the original one to there.
__________________
  #24693    
Old April 20th, 2013 (02:27 PM).
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote originally posted by verysuperfamous:
Is there any way to change which area something is grouped in? I know how to change warps/names but I mean having a building originally in Pallet Town listed as part Viridian City group for example.
If you're using A-Map, see the drop down box in the header page? It's beside the rename box?

Click that and select your new map name. It's that easy. Sadly, that functionality isn't exactly obvious, it took me several weeks when I was learning A-Map to figure that out.
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
  #24694    
Old April 20th, 2013 (04:06 PM).
verysuperfamous
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote originally posted by Shadowraze:
Well you can create a new map under Viridian City using the preferences of Pallet Town so that it will look like it. So just press Ctrl+H and copy everything to your new map and it should be good.

Although there's an easier way, if you're not gonna use Pallet Town anymore just name it Viridian City and have the warp from the original one to there.
Thanks, I mean more of a regroup a building/area I have changed the warp to into a group with its new warp area amap, if that makes sense just to make it easier to modify.

Also how does one edit wild pokemon on a route? And add 4th/5th gen into Fire Red?
  #24695    
Old April 20th, 2013 (05:17 PM). Edited April 20th, 2013 by karatekid552.
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Jambo51:
Sorry, but this is just wrong. Each Pokémon has 5 evolutions, yes, but the data length for a single evolution is 8 bytes, not 2.

So each species has 40 bytes, as opposed to the 10 that you proclaim.
Well, I just going off memory, so I was wrong:p shoot me:D

Quote originally posted by verysuperfamous:
Thanks, I mean more of a regroup a building/area I have changed the warp to into a group with its new warp area amap, if that makes sense just to make it easier to modify.

Also how does one edit wild pokemon on a route? And add 4th/5th gen into Fire Red?
You go to the wild Pokemon tab in A-map on the route.

Ummm... like... expanding them? You would have to repoint a lot of data and change a lot of things in order to add new ones. Jambo51 is in the process of making a hack base with all 649 pokemon, which will be great when it is done. You can also replace existing pokemon, which is much easier.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24696    
Old April 21st, 2013 (12:37 AM).
AtecainCorp.'s Avatar
AtecainCorp.
Rejishan awake...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Takoabe Town (Region Thonsu)
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
How can I add new Pointers from placeholders <Position 252-276> in Pokemon Ruby?
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Exceeds the 600px width limit.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #24697    
Old April 21st, 2013 (01:22 AM). Edited April 21st, 2013 by robin22gongon.
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
Guys! Newbie question here!

How does new hacks implement animated tree tiles and everything?
__________________
LET'S PARTY!
  #24698    
Old April 21st, 2013 (02:02 AM).
~Anbuja's Avatar
~Anbuja
Let's Keep It Simple
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: In Snorlax Stomach
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Send a message via Skype™ to ~Anbuja
Quote originally posted by robin22gongon:
Guys! Newbie question here!

How does new hacks implement animated tree tiles and everything?
They create they're own animation.
And insert the animation as a normal animation with Lu-Ho's animeditor.
Google it.
__________________
  #24699    
Old April 21st, 2013 (02:56 AM).
AtecainCorp.'s Avatar
AtecainCorp.
Rejishan awake...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Takoabe Town (Region Thonsu)
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
Anyone finaly answer for my question?
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Exceeds the 600px width limit.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #24700    
Old April 21st, 2013 (04:56 AM).
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
Quote originally posted by Anbuja's_BlooDY:
They create they're own animation.
And insert the animation as a normal animation with Lu-Ho's animeditor.
Google it.
Is that what you did in your hack too?

Hey in your hack's screenshots, the grass is also animated am I right? When the player steps on it, does it play a different animation, stop moving, or just go on with the animation?
__________________
LET'S PARTY!
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 09:41 AM.