Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub > Beginner’s Lounge
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Beginner’s Lounge Where all good (and bad) ideas start. This is the Beginner’s Lounge, where if you need a helping hand or want to develop your small ideas, you bring it here. We won't bite.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #2451    
Old October 1st, 2007 (04:45 PM).
M i n a t o //'s Avatar
M i n a t o // M i n a t o // is offline
Listen to the Stereo
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: IL, U.S.
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 297
Quote originally posted by Ice Lightning:
well I have a problem I'm debating wether I should use an Emerald ROM because it has the pokeblock mixing and the battle frontier, but Fire Red has better graphics, more maps, and the battle tower thing. But I just wanted to know which one would be better fo a n00b on hacking like me.
lol emerald for a beginner hacker?
might be better if u stick to fire red or ruby
much more stable
__________________














Credits for Avatar and Banner goes to Memory.
雷の守護者
  #2452    
Old October 1st, 2007 (05:11 PM). Edited October 1st, 2007 by cooley.
cooley's Avatar
cooley cooley is offline
///Keepin' it simple
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United States
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Posts: 1,150
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to cooley Send a message via Skype™ to cooley
Quote originally posted by johnlycett:
Ok this sucks how can i edit the battle text boxes palletes!! Its strange i find the pallete and edit it nothing happens because there is so many of the same pallete!

Any one know the hex offset?
Find ALL of them, and replace ALL of them with the palettes you want.
Quote originally posted by Kelg:
I have a problem... I read all the tutorials on how to use pokescript and i followed all the instructions but when i put in a script and load it to a npc the game just goes into a red screen and freezes. ive tried messing with the unknowns and person id but nothing really changes.. does anyone know a way to fix this or am I doing something wrong?
here is the script I was using and the rom is fire red
Spoiler:
#org $begin
lock
faceplayer
checkflag 0x200
if B_true goto $done
message $talk
boxset 6
giveitem 0xD 1
setflag 0x200
release
end

#org $done
message $talk2
boxset 6
release
end

#org $talk
$talk 1 = Oh hello \v\h01./pHere take this potion!

#org $talk2
$talk2 1 = Hello.
I edited the things you should change in BOLD. if this is a 'Green s' Script for A-Map, then you put:
Code:
Unknown: 03 00
Var Number: 50 40
Var Value: 00 00
Unknown: 00 00
If it isn't then put 200 in people ID. If nothing I've said works, then use a different version of poketscript.

NOTE: Use "Script sharing and discussion" thread next time.
~cooley~
__________________

  #2453    
Old October 1st, 2007 (05:48 PM).
Kelg's Avatar
Kelg Kelg is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 18
Quote originally posted by cooley:
Find ALL of them, and replace ALL of them with the palettes you want.


I edited the things you should change in BOLD. if this is a 'Green s' Script for A-Map, then you put:
Code:
Unknown: 03 00
Var Number: 50 40
Var Value: 00 00
Unknown: 00 00
If it isn't then put 200 in people ID. If nothing I've said works, then use a different version of poketscript.

NOTE: Use "Script sharing and discussion" thread next time.
~cooley~
I did all this too still it doesnt work I even tried a new version of pokescript and got the same results... Maybe im doing something wrong
when it gives me a log file It says Invalid comand on everything I put in.. it looks like this:
Spoiler:
#PROCESS: c:\docume~1\owner\desktop\test2.rbc F:2 for input
----------------------------------------------------------

#OFFSET: 0, 0
Invalid Command : lock
Invalid Command : faceplayer
Invalid Command : checkflag
Invalid Command : if
Invalid Command : message
Invalid Command : boxset
Invalid Command : giveitem
Invalid Command : setflag
Invalid Command : release
Invalid Command : end

#OFFSET: 0, 0
Invalid Command : message
Invalid Command : boxset
Invalid Command : release
Invalid Command : end


#OFFSET: 0, 0

#INLINE: 0, 1
37: Encoding text: Oh hello \v\h01./pHere take this potion!

#OFFSET: 0, 0

#INLINE: 0, 1
42: Encoding text: Hello.
|
\- Processed 0 Lines

#PROCESS: c:\docume~1\owner\desktop\test2.buf F:2 for write
----------------------------------------------------------
COMMENT BUFFER DROP 10 [NO COMMENT]
DROPPING 0 Pointers
DROPPING 2 Offsetts
$begin at buffer 0 position 0
$done at buffer 0 position 117
DROPPING 2 Offsetts
$talk at buffer 1 position 0
$talk2 at buffer 1 position 511
BUFFER 0 DROP: 153 [lock faceplayer checkflag &h200 if B_true goto $done message $talk boxset 6 giveitem &hD 1 setflag &h200 release end message $talk2 boxset 6 release end ]
BUFFER 1 DROP: 1022 [hhlo\\0.peetk hspto!
|
\- Processed 16 Buffers

|
\- Processed 0 Lines

|
\- Processed 0 Lines
idont know if thats normal but if im doing something wrong can someone please help me?
  #2454    
Old October 1st, 2007 (05:57 PM).
Kava1 Kava1 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Gender:
Posts: 11
im trying to use cyclone and i got this error:
Component 'COMDLG32.OCX' or one of its dependencies not correctly registered: a file is missing or invalid

can someone help me?
  #2455    
Old October 1st, 2007 (06:01 PM). Edited October 1st, 2007 by Axaj.
Axaj's Avatar
Axaj Axaj is offline
Mi estas tre epiko.
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Posts: 13
Quote originally posted by Kava1:
im trying to use cyclone and i got this error:
Component 'COMDLG32.OCX' or one of its dependencies not correctly registered: a file is missing or invalid

can someone help me?
Try redownloading the program.

Also, what is the offset for the world map in ruby?
  #2456    
Old October 1st, 2007 (09:33 PM).
Soul.//Silver's Avatar
Soul.//Silver Soul.//Silver is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 495
I inserted a Back picture of Shaymin using Rayquaza colours in UnLz GBA and after I clicked write to ROM, underneath Shaymin it was all glitchy.
The front picture inserted perfectly with no glitches but the back picture keeps going glitchy.
Can someone please tell me why it is doing that and if possible tell me how to fix it.

Thankyou to anyone who helps me.
  #2457    
Old October 1st, 2007 (10:16 PM).
Milanor's Avatar
Milanor Milanor is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Gender:
Posts: 76
Quote originally posted by johnlyclett:
Ok this sucks how can i edit the battle text boxes palletes!! Its strange i find the pallete and edit it nothing happens because there is so many of the same pallete!

Any one know the hex offset?
As cooley say, but use a clean rom and try every offset and write down teh correkt one.
Well, APE cant find all palettes, use a Hex Editor.

Quote originally posted by Kava1:
im trying to use cyclone and i got this error:
Component 'COMDLG32.OCX' or one of its dependencies not correctly registered: a file is missing or invalid

can someone help me?
Well teh error message gives you teh solution,
search "COMDLG32.OCX download" with google or something.
Save it where youre cyclone is, it should work now.

Quote originally posted by SceptileHero:
I inserted a Back picture of Shaymin using Rayquaza colours in UnLz GBA and after I clicked write to ROM, underneath Shaymin it was all glitchy.
The front picture inserted perfectly with no glitches but the back picture keeps going glitchy.
Can someone please tell me why it is doing that and if possible tell me how to fix it.

Thankyou to anyone who helps me.
Try to Repoint your back pic,
when you are click on "write to rom" type in the Image Offset a free offset and mark fix pointers (the rest is not so important).
__________________
My English isn't the best, sry
  #2458    
Old October 1st, 2007 (11:58 PM).
natu133's Avatar
natu133 natu133 is offline
Belive It!
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ninja Councill
Gender:
Nature: Brave
Posts: 27
Whats the offset number for the fire red logo in un-LZ for fire red and what pallete do i use?
  #2459    
Old October 2nd, 2007 (12:48 AM).
Milanor's Avatar
Milanor Milanor is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Gender:
Posts: 76
Quote originally posted by natu133:
Whats the offset number for the fire red logo in un-LZ for fire red and what pallete do i use?
It should be between 2005 and 2010, 256 color mode.
And unlz gba only shows lz77 compressed palettes.
Its a bit hard but use the Black/White Mode.
__________________
My English isn't the best, sry
  #2460    
Old October 2nd, 2007 (01:39 AM).
cheezman852's Avatar
cheezman852 cheezman852 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Age: 25
Gender:
Nature: Brave
Posts: 1
How do I get advance battle to work? Every time I open it I get runtime error 76.
  #2461    
Old October 2nd, 2007 (05:52 AM).
light_trainer921's Avatar
light_trainer921 light_trainer921 is offline
Flamethrower Helper
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Treasure Town at the human world
Age: 19
Gender:
Nature: Timid
Posts: 137
What is the best program to edit events?
  #2462    
Old October 2nd, 2007 (08:09 AM).
ebcellis ebcellis is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Gender:
Posts: 3
Hey i was wondering how i make the trainers ... when they see their baks in a battle and when they throw the ball and ... at the start of your adventure when oak is talking to you and you see yourself

i rly need help
thanks, bye
  #2463    
Old October 2nd, 2007 (12:05 PM).
ryan123456789019's Avatar
ryan123456789019 ryan123456789019 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 87
where can i download a porgram what can chage the map of pokemon yellow. please help

so can any one help me
  #2464    
Old October 2nd, 2007 (12:16 PM).
M i n a t o //'s Avatar
M i n a t o // M i n a t o // is offline
Listen to the Stereo
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: IL, U.S.
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 297
Quote originally posted by light_trainer921:
What is the best program to edit events?
edit events?
for me i just use elite map and ctrl + click the events already there
__________________














Credits for Avatar and Banner goes to Memory.
雷の守護者
  #2465    
Old October 2nd, 2007 (02:59 PM).
Ice Lightning's Avatar
Ice Lightning Ice Lightning is offline
Ya realy like that alien movie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: I live in a house, duh :F
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 29
alright I guess I'll go with fire red, but how can I enter custom music like the first pokemon theme song, also is there a way I can enter custom music?
__________________
Stay in touch on the forums for *Da Da DaDa DaDa Da* POKEMON GOLDEN TREASURES!

Kyle's PokePet

Blaze the level 999 Raikou!
  #2466    
Old October 2nd, 2007 (06:19 PM).
M i n a t o //'s Avatar
M i n a t o // M i n a t o // is offline
Listen to the Stereo
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: IL, U.S.
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 297
Quote originally posted by Ice Lightning:
alright I guess I'll go with fire red, but how can I enter custom music like the first pokemon theme song, also is there a way I can enter custom music?
u could try sappy
im not shure if itll work since i never bother with music but
u could give it a shot

u can download it here:
its near the bottom
click me
or here
click me if u want
__________________














Credits for Avatar and Banner goes to Memory.
雷の守護者
  #2467    
Old October 2nd, 2007 (06:41 PM).
Axaj's Avatar
Axaj Axaj is offline
Mi estas tre epiko.
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Posts: 13
Quote originally posted by Ice Lightning:
alright I guess I'll go with fire red, but how can I enter custom music like the first pokemon theme song, also is there a way I can enter custom music?
There's a utility in the toolbox.
  #2468    
Old October 3rd, 2007 (01:07 AM). Edited October 3rd, 2007 by natu133.
natu133's Avatar
natu133 natu133 is offline
Belive It!
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ninja Councill
Gender:
Nature: Brave
Posts: 27
ok found it.

Does anyone know these ones now?
Hero and Heroine Gender Select Sprite
"" Battle Sprites (back view)

Thats all i need right now :3
Thank You!
  #2469    
Old October 3rd, 2007 (03:30 AM).
Milanor's Avatar
Milanor Milanor is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Gender:
Posts: 76
In R/S/E you can change the battle sprites with unlz gba.
In FR/LG you have to search those sprites with a tileviewer because the battle spites are uncompressed.
__________________
My English isn't the best, sry
  #2470    
Old October 3rd, 2007 (11:36 AM).
OMNIPOTENT OMNIPOTENT is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 55
if i need to find out a script that says

goto #hexoffset (ABC123 for example)

what i've to look for in the hex editor? how a goto+offset is written in hex?
  #2471    
Old October 3rd, 2007 (12:58 PM).
Axaj's Avatar
Axaj Axaj is offline
Mi estas tre epiko.
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Posts: 13
What is the hex offset for the world map in firered?
  #2472    
Old October 3rd, 2007 (01:22 PM).
Quilava's Master's Avatar
Quilava's Master Quilava's Master is offline
Shattered Dreams '13
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 694
i dont really know if i should ask this ( or if Im even allowed to) but
can someone give me a picture of suicune in the same format as Charizard at the start of Fire Red. Like you'll see it when you start the game?
__________________
The return of Pokemon Shattered Dreams! Click the screenshot to visit the thread, you know you want to.
  #2473    
Old October 3rd, 2007 (01:50 PM).
Kava1 Kava1 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Gender:
Posts: 11
when using Cyclon to change the world map, if you change where the cities and towns are, what effect will that have, like on flying or scrolling over things to see their names?
  #2474    
Old October 3rd, 2007 (03:39 PM).
Erick's Avatar
Erick Erick is online now
It's been a long time!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Seoul
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 738
[noob]How do i index a oW pallletss and maked them workk!!!11one!!!???!!eleven?!?[/noob]

[NormalQuestion] How do I index an OverWorld and its palletes?
And how do I make them work?[/NQ]

Thanks
  #2475    
Old October 3rd, 2007 (04:09 PM).
cooley's Avatar
cooley cooley is offline
///Keepin' it simple
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United States
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Posts: 1,150
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to cooley Send a message via Skype™ to cooley
Quote originally posted by *~*TwiLiTeDaRkRai*~*:
[noob]How do i index a oW pallletss and maked them workk!!!11one!!!???!!eleven?!?[/noob]

[NormalQuestion] How do I index an OverWorld and its palletes?
And how do I make them work?[/NQ]

Thanks
Just make them the same size as the original sprite your overwriting, in OWE
You have to click import, then load the sprite. Check the 'import sprite' and the 'import palette' command.
__________________

Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 07:59 AM.