Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #24926    
Old May 11th, 2013 (04:55 AM).
T3h Reaper's Avatar
T3h Reaper
It must end.
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New Zealand
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
So sorry but I can't be .. Well let me just say I don't favor looking though all the pages to see if this has been asked, but let us say if I wanted to go down the road of stripping a complete ROM of Fire Red down to the basics as in remove all scripts through advance map make sure nothing works what so ever and redesign all the maps add my own XSE scripts and battles.

I understand how to make XSE scripts I have a few tuts and this amazing community I am just wondering would it really work since I could set my own flags and everything I need, but the only question is how would I set the gym badge flags in XSE.
__________________
List of tools I have: HERE
Download link of Tools I have: HERE
PM Me if the link breaks.
To make sure you're not paranoid the Virus Scan is: HERE
Before you fly off the handle remember some of the tools are detected but are false detection's. Don't trust me simple don't download, problem solved.
  #24927    
Old May 11th, 2013 (05:27 AM). Edited May 11th, 2013 by karatekid552.
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by T3h Reaper:
So sorry but I can't be .. Well let me just say I don't favor looking though all the pages to see if this has been asked, but let us say if I wanted to go down the road of stripping a complete ROM of Fire Red down to the basics as in remove all scripts through advance map make sure nothing works what so ever and redesign all the maps add my own XSE scripts and battles.

I understand how to make XSE scripts I have a few tuts and this amazing community I am just wondering would it really work since I could set my own flags and everything I need, but the only question is how would I set the gym badge flags in XSE.
You do know there is a search button at the top of the page, right? That is what it means when it says "Search before asking questions".

These are your flags:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpost.php?p=6829256&postcount=158

Opem up the full findings spoiler. This will tell you everything known about every flag in FireRed and what it does. At 800, you will start to see flags that affect the game such as giving badges, accessing the pokemon menu, and giving the pokedex.

Quote originally posted by Golden Warrior:
I can't find an answer to this so I'll ask here.

Everytime I try to open my game in Advanced IntroEd , I get this: 'Runtime Error 380': Invalid Property Value. This was a Ruby (AXVE) rom. All I want to do is remove the opening truck ASM. So is there some way to fix the error or remove the ASM without the tool?

Thanks in advance.
IntroEd is FR only. You need Truck Remover to remove the truck sequence.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24928    
Old May 11th, 2013 (05:38 AM).
Golden Warrior's Avatar
Golden Warrior
Pokemon Professor
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Hoenn
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via Skype™ to Golden Warrior
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
IntroEd is FR only. You need Truck Remover to remove the truck sequence.
Ah, well, I already got it working on a clean rom for Ruby, so I was able to remove the sequence. Thanks though.

Although, is there a way to remove the Pokemon coming out in the intro, or is that impossible? (I mean the Pokemon that comes out of the ball when Birch says: "This is what we call a Pokemon")
__________________
Current Pokemon re-play through: XD: Gale of Darkness

3DS/Pokemon Y FC: 5300 - 9087 - 1138
I'll be up to battle or trade, I'll also always be up to multibattle. PM me if you add me here, give me a reason that you're adding me, and I'll be sure to add you back!

Friend Safari: Bug Type
Pokemon: Paras, Beautifly, and Pinsir.
  #24929    
Old May 11th, 2013 (05:41 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Golden Warrior:
Ah, well, I already got it working on a clean rom for Ruby, so I was able to remove the sequence. Thanks though.

Although, is there a way to remove the Pokemon coming out in the intro, or is that impossible? (I mean the Pokemon that comes out of the ball when Birch says: "This is what we call a Pokemon")
If I remember correctly, the intro is a mix of ASM and scripting, so it would be tough to remove, but not impossible if you know what you are doing.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24930    
Old May 11th, 2013 (12:39 PM).
CrunchBuggy's Avatar
CrunchBuggy
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Minnesota
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Alright, I searched and it doesn't look like this has been asked.
I have a VisualBoyAdvance and a Mac OS X 10.7.5.
I can play GBA ROMs just fine on my VBA, but for some reason, whenever I try to open a GBC ROM, instead of playing like a GBA ROM would, the screen goes purple and only shows a small portion of the actual screen you would see if you're playing it on a GameBoyColor.
Does anybody know how to fix this? Help!
__________________
R.I.P. Jane
1999-2014
We miss you, sweetheart.

  #24931    
Old May 11th, 2013 (03:43 PM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
How could I make it so showpokepic (FR) doesn't play the cry?
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Pokemonhackersonline Profile - Youtube Channel

Join us in the romhacking chat
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
  #24932    
Old May 11th, 2013 (06:17 PM).
Reisen's Avatar
Reisen
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: 永遠亭
Age: 15
Gender: Female
Nature: Quiet
Send a message via Skype™ to Reisen
Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
How could I make it so showpokepic (FR) doesn't play the cry?
I think you'll have to use Assembly.

Or you could copy the data from the routine, overwrite the 'cry' byte, and call that instead of the regular showpokepic.

But I know you know that.
__________________
  #24933    
Old May 11th, 2013 (06:50 PM). Edited May 11th, 2013 by Golden Warrior.
Golden Warrior's Avatar
Golden Warrior
Pokemon Professor
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Hoenn
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via Skype™ to Golden Warrior
Ok, another truck related question. I have the map I want the intro map to be and the truck animation successfully removed, but there are three tiles that are messed up from when the truck didn't move.



I tried to use a maptile script to change them to what they should be, but it doesn't work. Any fix for this?
__________________
Current Pokemon re-play through: XD: Gale of Darkness

3DS/Pokemon Y FC: 5300 - 9087 - 1138
I'll be up to battle or trade, I'll also always be up to multibattle. PM me if you add me here, give me a reason that you're adding me, and I'll be sure to add you back!

Friend Safari: Bug Type
Pokemon: Paras, Beautifly, and Pinsir.
  #24934    
Old May 11th, 2013 (07:10 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Golden Warrior:
Ok, another truck related question. I have the map I want the intro map to be and the truck animation successfully removed, but there are three tiles that are messed up from when the truck didn't move.



I tried to use a maptile script to change them to what they should be, but it doesn't work. Any fix for this?
I don't know much about those tiles or why they won't change, but I do know you can change the starting map with SMCA.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24935    
Old May 11th, 2013 (07:32 PM).
Golden Warrior's Avatar
Golden Warrior
Pokemon Professor
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Hoenn
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via Skype™ to Golden Warrior
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
I don't know much about those tiles or why they won't change, but I do know you can change the starting map with SMCA.
Well, that's the thing. I did that. That is a different map completely, but the tiles remain. Ah, well, I'll think of something.
__________________
Current Pokemon re-play through: XD: Gale of Darkness

3DS/Pokemon Y FC: 5300 - 9087 - 1138
I'll be up to battle or trade, I'll also always be up to multibattle. PM me if you add me here, give me a reason that you're adding me, and I'll be sure to add you back!

Friend Safari: Bug Type
Pokemon: Paras, Beautifly, and Pinsir.
  #24936    
Old May 11th, 2013 (08:00 PM).
Elaitenstile's Avatar
Elaitenstile
I am legend
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Send a message via Skype™ to Elaitenstile
As soon as the truck stops moving; a script that sets tiles gets activated. I'm certain this is an in-built or a header script; but since you say that you used a completely new map, I'm guessing it's an inbuilt thing. Just in case though, look at the header script.

What I suggest though is, you move the whole map down, so that the buggish tiles aren't seen. Or move it left or right. Try it.
__________________
~
  #24937    
Old May 12th, 2013 (01:29 AM).
ep!c
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Gender: Male
Send a message via Skype™ to ep!c
You can change the starting map with SMCA, thats right..
But the truck script is something internal in the ROM, that starts after the intro.

To "remove" (in fact its bypass) it, you must make a map-script that contains:

XSE 1.0.0
Code:
warp2 0xBank 0xMap 0xFF 0xX 0xY
XSE 1.1.1
Code:
warpmuted 0xBank 0xMap 0xFF 0xX 0xY
In this case you will be warped without any sound or animation.

I wonder why there is not existing a tut on PC..
  #24938    
Old May 12th, 2013 (01:32 AM).
~Anbuja's Avatar
~Anbuja
Let's Keep It Simple
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: In Snorlax Stomach
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Send a message via Skype™ to ~Anbuja
Quote originally posted by Golden Warrior:
Ok, another truck related question. I have the map I want the intro map to be and the truck animation successfully removed, but there are three tiles that are messed up from when the truck didn't move.



I tried to use a maptile script to change them to what they should be, but it doesn't work. Any fix for this?
Just open the tileset where these tiles are and move them in the tileset to another place.
after this reinsert them into other clocks, and look if that works.
__________________
  #24939    
Old May 12th, 2013 (03:14 PM). Edited May 12th, 2013 by Golden Warrior.
Golden Warrior's Avatar
Golden Warrior
Pokemon Professor
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Hoenn
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via Skype™ to Golden Warrior
Thanks for all the answers on this, I won't need anymore, I'm going to try moving the map, although a warp should work too, I'll try both. Again, thanks allot!

EDIT: I used the muted warp and it worked perfectly. Thanks allot! Things should go smoothly from here.
__________________
Current Pokemon re-play through: XD: Gale of Darkness

3DS/Pokemon Y FC: 5300 - 9087 - 1138
I'll be up to battle or trade, I'll also always be up to multibattle. PM me if you add me here, give me a reason that you're adding me, and I'll be sure to add you back!

Friend Safari: Bug Type
Pokemon: Paras, Beautifly, and Pinsir.
  #24940    
Old May 12th, 2013 (04:34 PM).
Exodrake
 
Join Date: May 2013
Gender: Female
Nature: Quirky
I have searched this thread and scoured the internet to no avail, and since I am on the verge of burning my face off in frustration, I am going to ask.

1. How does one change the substitute sprites in Platinum Version?

2. How would I change the sprites for both of Giratina's Formes, not just its Altered Forme, in Platinum? PokeDSPic only shows the Altered Forme.

3. In regards to changing icons in Gen IV (specifically Platinum), I have succeeded in changing the sprites with a modified PokeDSPic, but the palette is wrong. How do I choose which palette to use for icons in Platinum?

I realize these are probably noobish questions, but I am rather green in Gen IV hacking and I am about to ragequit and cry in a corner. Help, please. ;A;
  #24941    
Old May 12th, 2013 (04:34 PM).
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
Hey guys! Is it possible to make gender based flight positions in FR? Thanks!

~robin22gongon
__________________
LET'S PARTY!
  #24942    
Old May 12th, 2013 (05:05 PM).
The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D's Avatar
The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
What type of commands would you use to create a script where
-youd have a person instantly come into the room at the begining of the game and talk
-have someone walk up to you give an item/pokemon or battle
-have the player walk to a position and have a group conversation then a battle
__________________
C: creating a Hack "Pokemon Nightmare Version" There will be a Pokemon Dream as a sequel! A thread will be put up :D


To be changed to Terror!
Ive been let aware of a Pokemon Nightmare Hack being released already, i waited to long, and i checked it out and it looks really cool
I wanted to keep a connection to Nightmare, so i thought of Night Terrors, and kept Terror!

Currently in Design Stage, will be begin to code in around a month!
Pokemon Dream will be the sequel and made Somewhat after.
  #24943    
Old May 12th, 2013 (05:15 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D:
What type of commands would you use to create a script where
-youd have a person instantly come into the room at the begining of the game and talk
-have someone walk up to you give an item/pokemon or battle
-have the player walk to a position and have a group conversation then a battle
1) Showsprite command, then the applymovement on the sprite, then msgbox

2) applymovement then givepokemon/giveitem or trainerbattle

3) applymovement, bunch of msgboxs, then trainerbattle
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24944    
Old May 12th, 2013 (05:26 PM).
The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D's Avatar
The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
what would be the amount of space needed for the ofssets
__________________
C: creating a Hack "Pokemon Nightmare Version" There will be a Pokemon Dream as a sequel! A thread will be put up :D


To be changed to Terror!
Ive been let aware of a Pokemon Nightmare Hack being released already, i waited to long, and i checked it out and it looks really cool
I wanted to keep a connection to Nightmare, so i thought of Night Terrors, and kept Terror!

Currently in Design Stage, will be begin to code in around a month!
Pokemon Dream will be the sequel and made Somewhat after.
  #24945    
Old May 12th, 2013 (05:45 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D:
what would be the amount of space needed for the ofssets
Depends on how far they have to walk and how long your text is. Just do it dynamicly, XSE can take care of the size and placement.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24946    
Old May 13th, 2013 (02:52 AM). Edited May 13th, 2013 by LusoTrainer.
LusoTrainer's Avatar
LusoTrainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Gender: Male
I have two questions for a FireRed hack:

1. Does this method make any future Mew caught in the wild obedient by default? If not, how can I do that?
2. Is there a way to make Pokémons that evolve by trade, evolve by level without YAPE (I can't use it because I have a v1.1)? If so, how?

Thanks in advance.
__________________
  #24947    
Old May 13th, 2013 (02:59 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by LusoTrainer:
I have two questions for a FireRed hack:

1. Does this method make any future Mew caught in the wild obedient by default? If not, how can I do that?
2. Is there a way to make Pokémons that evolve by trade, evolve by level without YAPE (I can't use it because I have a v1.1)? If so, how?

Thanks in advance.
1) I have no idea. Why not test it out?

2) PGE by Gamer202 might work, but you will find that v1.1 of FireRed is far more uncommon and less supported. I suggest switching to v1.0 before putting in too much work.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24948    
Old May 13th, 2013 (03:23 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami
Memento Mori
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote originally posted by robin22gongon:
Hey guys! Is it possible to make gender based flight positions in FR? Thanks!

~robin22gongon
Wouldn't something like checkgender and then setflyingposition suffice?
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
  #24949    
Old May 13th, 2013 (03:38 AM).
Elaitenstile's Avatar
Elaitenstile
I am legend
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Send a message via Skype™ to Elaitenstile
Quote originally posted by Ash493:
Wouldn't something like checkgender and then setflyingposition suffice?
Exactly. It works in Ruby, but you can't be sure about FireRed. Although I think so.
__________________
~
  #24950    
Old May 13th, 2013 (04:02 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by ★Hoenn★:
Exactly. It works in Ruby, but you can't be sure about FireRed. Although I think so.
Well, it is the flight posistion itself: the little red tile you see in A-map with the F on it. In Ruby, there are two in LittleRoot; one for male and one for female. The problem with using check gender is finding the script that is used to select and then fly to the location. If you can find the script, it shouldn't be too hard.
__________________

Paired with Simba
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 09:57 AM.