The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Creative Discussions > Emulation & ROM Hacking > Tutorials
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Tutorials Looking for a guide to help you out? Then you're in the right place! We've got everything you need, ranging from Mapping to Music!
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed. The thread revival limit does not apply here.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old February 8th, 2007, 09:16 AM
Pazuzu's Avatar
Pazuzu
Flushing Meadows
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Room 1202
Nature: Bold
How to change Pokémon sprites
(Beginner Tutorial)



Note that this is a repost of the old tutorial that was posted before the Documents forum wipe. A new and freshly updated version might be posted later.


Well looks like it's kind of a mystery how to change Pokémon sprites in the games...
Hopefully this tutorial will help you.

Please note that this is made for beginners.

Requirements: unLZ-GBA (comes with EliteMap), Imaging Program.

1) Well first off you need a base to draw your new Pokémon on.
For this you open unLZ-GBA, and keep clicking the "next" button untill you reach the Pokémon image you want to use as base.
Once you found the one you want, click on the "Save as" button and save your image in PNG format.



2) Now you have the base image. Edit it in any imaging program and draw your own Pokémon right over it. Save it as an indexed PNG image.
Note: You might need to adjust the palette, but I won't go into detail here since this is a beginners guide.
Okay, once you've finished that, you should have 2 images. The old one (as backup) and your new one. (I called mine "Boxie". =P)



3) Sweet! Now you go back to unLZ-GBA and (if you have closed it before) go back to the Pokémon you want to change.
Now you click the "Import" button and select your new Image.
Secondly, you click on the "Write to rom" button to save your new Pokémon.
When a message box pops up, just select the options you need, enter a new offset for the image that points to free space in the ROM and hit OK.





4) w00t! You're done.
Preview your new Pokémon in the game.


Congrats!
You've successfully changed the sprites and inserted a new Pokémon to your game.
If you want you can now customize the Abilities and Stats of your Pokémon.
This can be done by using program like BaseEDIT (comes with EliteMap), Pokémon-Amplifier, Dexter (comes with EliteMap) and N-E-A or by just using a Hex-Editor.
All tools can be found in the Toolbox, or on sites which are linked in the Tools Reference.

This tutorial is designed for newbies to the Rom-Hacking scene and that's why things are kept simple. I hope its helpful for you.

If I missed out anything, feel free to post the addition.

Tutorial copyright 2007 by Scizz.
You're not allowed to copy things without permission.
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Height well exceeds 350px.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.

Last edited by Pazuzu; October 5th, 2007 at 05:43 AM.
  #2    
Old February 8th, 2007, 01:26 PM
Superkid11's Avatar
Superkid11
Covered in Shroomish
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Age: 22
Gender:
Nature: Lax
Are you still able to get the Pokemon you replaced after that?

... and thanks a bunch for putting this up. I haven't made any new Pokemon with it but it showed me what I was doing wrong when I was trying to replace Gary with the FR/LG girl. xD
__________________
  #3    
Old February 11th, 2007, 10:00 AM
King Hyperion
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
I'm trying to replace May with a Team Aqua member.
But he ends up being Black in the game, yet in Unlz-GBA it is exactly how it looks in Paint.
Do you know how to fix that?
  #4    
Old February 12th, 2007, 12:52 PM
Swampert26's Avatar
Swampert26
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
how do you know which sprite/pic youre editing???
__________________

  #5    
Old February 13th, 2007, 03:23 PM
Leon2457's Avatar
Leon2457
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Nature: Adamant
do yuo know how to change the colour pallete and keep the pokemon that colour? cause i want the black rayquaza with messing up the pictures

oh and thanks a ton it helped me with the basic editing!
  #6    
Old February 13th, 2007, 10:18 PM
Silver11's Avatar
Silver11
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
What imaging program in general
  #7    
Old February 13th, 2007, 10:26 PM
Overclocked's Avatar
Overclocked
Paired with......Myself
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Age: 20
Gender:
Nature: Impish
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Overclocked
Paint, Paint Shop Pro, Photoshop, Fireworks. Whatever you have.
__________________

Problem...RAWNET went down so I'll be a while 'till I come back on
  #8    
Old February 16th, 2007, 11:42 PM
Silver11's Avatar
Silver11
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
si the save has to be png and do i just get a regular sprite
  #9    
Old February 17th, 2007, 01:38 AM
Spheal's Avatar
Spheal
Project Shinx
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Spain, Went's room
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Hyperion View Post
I'm trying to replace May with a Team Aqua member.
But he ends up being Black in the game, yet in Unlz-GBA it is exactly how it looks in Paint.
Do you know how to fix that?
The Team Aqua sprite needs to be indexed. To replace it easier, export the Team Aqua member sprite and then import it and replace Mat's sprite. Choose "Export Palette" when you insert the sprite.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leon2457 View Post
do yuo know how to change the colour pallete and keep the pokemon that colour? cause i want the black rayquaza with messing up the pictures

oh and thanks a ton it helped me with the basic editing!
Choose a palette and then choose "Write to ROM" and choose "Export Palette" to keep the palette.
__________________
I DON'T HAVE THE POKECOMMUNITY VIRUS(ALSO KNOW AS PC VIRUSE)
What I mean by this is, I'm not strict like MOST people *cough* Admins/Mods *cough* on this site. And no not all Admins/Mods are like that, but MOST are,
Post this in your sign. if you are PC Viruse free!
  #10    
Old February 21st, 2007, 04:33 PM
Cless
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Nature: Adamant
Nice tutorial... The only thing is, when I Import the image, it gets screwed up. o.O This is how I do it:

-Make whatever sprite
-Change the Color Depth to 16
-Import the Sprite

Is there something else you have to do? o.O (I don't know how to index, or what it is, and whatnot. Yes, I used the search feature. No luck.)

Thanks.
  #11    
Old February 22nd, 2007, 06:37 AM
Spheal's Avatar
Spheal
Project Shinx
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Spain, Went's room
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Indexing a sprite is changing the color depth to 16.
The sprite has to be the same size as the one you're replacing.
And when you write it to the ROM tick export palette too.
__________________
I DON'T HAVE THE POKECOMMUNITY VIRUS(ALSO KNOW AS PC VIRUSE)
What I mean by this is, I'm not strict like MOST people *cough* Admins/Mods *cough* on this site. And no not all Admins/Mods are like that, but MOST are,
Post this in your sign. if you are PC Viruse free!
  #12    
Old February 22nd, 2007, 06:51 AM
Monkey's Avatar
Monkey
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
maby a suggest to put in where u can find the lg/fr can find thats on 669

edit:when i try to load me indexed.png picture it says error:image is not indexed

Last edited by Monkey; February 22nd, 2007 at 06:57 AM.
  #13    
Old February 22nd, 2007, 12:07 PM
Cless
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Nature: Adamant
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christos View Post
Indexing a sprite is changing the color depth to 16.
The sprite has to be the same size as the one you're replacing.
And when you write it to the ROM tick export palette too.
Thanks, I did all those things, and I'm quite sure that the Sapphire/Ruby is supposed to be 64x64... I'll re-check.
  #14    
Old February 22nd, 2007, 12:14 PM
Pazuzu's Avatar
Pazuzu
Flushing Meadows
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Room 1202
Nature: Bold
The picture frames in R/S/E/FR/LG are a bit tricky.
It's true that the overall picture has to be 64x64 pixel. However, each Pokémon has it's own set dimensions.
So, when redrawing from a base, make sure that the Pokémon fits in the exact same place dimensions as the original. (That means you draw a square around the base Pokémon's outer edges, and fit your new Pokémon in there.)
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Height well exceeds 350px.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #15    
Old February 23rd, 2007, 02:54 AM
Monkey's Avatar
Monkey
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
scizz do u maby know to how to do this withouth deleting the old pokemon? so just adding something and not deleting?

edit:i did try to replace 1 pokemon with the ?? but then it shows a sort of glitch pokemon
  #16    
Old February 25th, 2007, 12:51 PM
Artty
aka. Unown !
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Gender:
Nature: Calm
Send a message via AIM to Artty
Scizz, everytime I try to put my own sprite in the game, I come into a battle, then the screen goes purple. Could someone help me?
Edit: Never mind, I fixed it.

Last edited by Artty; February 25th, 2007 at 12:58 PM.
  #17    
Old February 26th, 2007, 10:07 PM
shirokiryuu's Avatar
shirokiryuu
L'Arc Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Northern California
Age: 22
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
I followed all the directions, but I still have this problem

I edited Professor Oak's sprite, and it doesn't appear when I go through the introduction sequence (the one in which he talks about the world of Pokemon)

When I revist unLZ the sprite looks like this: http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b1...rmenterror.jpg

=/ I'm not sure why....
__________________
Left trainer card by me, right by Dark Latios of Serebii.net. Trainer sprites by me

I heart L'Arc~en~Ciel!
  #18    
Old February 27th, 2007, 07:18 AM
Spheal's Avatar
Spheal
Project Shinx
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Spain, Went's room
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Quote:
Originally Posted by shirokiryuu View Post
I followed all the directions, but I still have this problem

I edited Professor Oak's sprite, and it doesn't appear when I go through the introduction sequence (the one in which he talks about the world of Pokemon)

When I revist unLZ the sprite looks like this: http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b1...rmenterror.jpg

=/ I'm not sure why....
You edited Oak's trainer sprite. The sprite in the intro is in unLZ but with dark colors. You have to insert your sprite over the one with the dark colors but it must be the same size and you mustn't export the palette.
__________________
I DON'T HAVE THE POKECOMMUNITY VIRUS(ALSO KNOW AS PC VIRUSE)
What I mean by this is, I'm not strict like MOST people *cough* Admins/Mods *cough* on this site. And no not all Admins/Mods are like that, but MOST are,
Post this in your sign. if you are PC Viruse free!
  #19    
Old February 27th, 2007, 06:14 PM
shirokiryuu's Avatar
shirokiryuu
L'Arc Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Northern California
Age: 22
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christos View Post
You edited Oak's trainer sprite. The sprite in the intro is in unLZ but with dark colors. You have to insert your sprite over the one with the dark colors but it must be the same size and you mustn't export the palette.
Oh okay! I figured after a while that it wasn't the same sprite. Haha

I'm assuming it's the same with the choose your gender trainers.
__________________
Left trainer card by me, right by Dark Latios of Serebii.net. Trainer sprites by me

I heart L'Arc~en~Ciel!
  #20    
Old March 5th, 2007, 01:56 PM
D R E ™'s Avatar
D R E ™
Goku's back oh yeh!
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: In Shinnoh
Gender:
Nature: Docile
Send a message via AIM to D R E ™ Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to D R E ™
ive tryee and tryed and cant seem too get my d/p pokemon intto my game like the pokemon opal and coral creator kike could somone pm me some tip or a tut.
  #21    
Old March 6th, 2007, 12:07 PM
Spheal's Avatar
Spheal
Project Shinx
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Spain, Went's room
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Quote:
Originally Posted by shirokiryuu View Post
Oh okay! I figured after a while that it wasn't the same sprite. Haha

I'm assuming it's the same with the choose your gender trainers.
Yep.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cuttyflam View Post
ive tryee and tryed and cant seem too get my d/p pokemon intto my game like the pokemon opal and coral creator kike could somone pm me some tip or a tut.
The sprites have to be indexed and have the same size as the ones you're replacing.
__________________
I DON'T HAVE THE POKECOMMUNITY VIRUS(ALSO KNOW AS PC VIRUSE)
What I mean by this is, I'm not strict like MOST people *cough* Admins/Mods *cough* on this site. And no not all Admins/Mods are like that, but MOST are,
Post this in your sign. if you are PC Viruse free!
  #22    
Old March 15th, 2007, 11:48 AM
XelementdragonX
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
ummm im trying to import a sprite but everytime i do it says "compresed size is 658 which is too big. aborting. how do i make it smaller so it can imported. respone asap
  #23    
Old March 18th, 2007, 10:27 AM
Lyzo's Avatar
Lyzo
On vacation
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Lyzo
Could I get unLZ without having to download EliteMap????
  #24    
Old March 19th, 2007, 07:47 PM
Mewten1's Avatar
Mewten1
A Wanna Be Rom Hacker
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Gender:
Nature: Calm
Hey can anyone help when I open the program unLZ-GBA and open my rom(pokemon ruby) it brings all the sprites up as a mess of colors. I don't know how to get it to display the pokemon sprite can someone help me.
  #25    
Old March 20th, 2007, 08:23 AM
XelementdragonX
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Mewten1 just keep pressing next it will eventually show u a pokemon sprite. just takes a while.
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.