The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #576    
Old January 2nd, 2009, 12:19 PM
D-Trogh's Avatar
D-Trogh
Dead
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Belgium
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to D-Trogh
Well.. In my opinion it's better to keep the 'original' too..
Though, it's quicker to use the new method
__________________
[NTME | WPEDS | HTPE | SGPE | TGPE | PDEDS]
Reply With Quote
  #577    
Old January 2nd, 2009, 01:18 PM
King Mario
Hacker in training
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
I can't get XSE to save the data into the game for some reason, I have tried to compile it. Help, please?
__________________
My Shiny Pokémons in Gen III:
Spoiler:
Reply With Quote
  #578    
Old January 2nd, 2009, 08:41 PM
cyberzero's Avatar
cyberzero
New Hacker. Fast Learner.
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
I also had that problem, King Mario. Despite what I did, sometimes it just wouldn't compile, and it would be wasting a lot of free space with multiple compilations. This is also an issue I would like to bring up.

My solution for it was to manually replace the offsets that XSE gave me into the script and it worked fine after that. I hope that helps the others who have been getting this problem.
Reply With Quote
  #579    
Old January 3rd, 2009, 07:16 AM
iTeruri's Avatar
iTeruri
iAm
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: The Nederlands
Nature: Relaxed
HackMew, The problems I had have a really really simple solution: it works when I turn the line numbers off. So I can use the new version now. ^^
(I'm very happy it works, cause the old version won't open anymore)
Reply With Quote
  #580    
Old January 3rd, 2009, 08:26 AM
Beab
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Gender:
Nature: Lax
Any idea why the guide won't open for me?
Reply With Quote
  #581    
Old January 4th, 2009, 02:15 AM
Swampert 22's Avatar
Swampert 22
Is making tools for you...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Switzerland
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Man, you go away for a little while and loads of stuff happens! :D

Nice job on the updates, Andrea, I'm glad you finally released A-Trainer, a fantastic piece of work!
__________________

I've made some tools for Pokémon hacking! Please check out the thread... Swampert Tools Showcase

Head over to my thread to check out my latest tool, Pokémon Red/Blue Trainer Editor!

Visit my site for Pokémon ROM Hacking tools! Swampert Tools Homepage
Reply With Quote
  #582    
Old January 6th, 2009, 02:33 PM
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberzero View Post
Thanks a lot Darthatron and Aeroshinobi, it's really appreciated! =)
It worked like a charm after that, and once again, awesome tools HackMew!

I also have a suggestion for A-Trainer. For sprites, the only way at the moment to have new trainer sprites is to replace an already existing one using Unlz, as far as I know. A-Trainer recognizes this, which is great, but I was hoping that there could be an option where you can insert an offset where you already inserted a sprite, similar to Darthatron's Pokemon Editor Pro.
The tool is already the best trainer editor out there, I was just thinking of ways that it can be even better =)
Would you mind elaborating a little?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyjoejohnson View Post
Can you take a request? Maybe you could
A.)Make it so that (in unlz. gba) when you press enter the program doesn't close
b.)Have an option to go to an offset as opposed to a number
c.)Add bookmark options
d.)Move the .spr and .pal files to unlz.gba's folder
I know you didn't make unlz.gba but you have hacked it...Maybe you could make unlzhacked.gba v2.0? IDk just a thought of some nice ideas
Sorry but I don't have unLZ source code, so it's pretty impossible making all those things. I have hacked it, yes. But I've just done minor changes to the GUI and the resources, nothing else.


Quote:
Originally Posted by hot_kage View Post
I Just Have A Suggestion; For Version 1.11 Of XSE I Think The msgbox tag should have remained

Code:
msgbox @pointer 
boxset 0x#
instead of merging the msgbox and boxset;

Code:
msgbox @pointer 0x1
I Also Pointed This Out Just To clear this out to confused people if they were confused :p
Quote:
Originally Posted by espa_roba11 View Post
I have a quick question, in A-trainer, I'm trying to make an emerald hack, I wanted to change some Trainer battle music. Can anyone well me what the numbers are I have to enter for all the battle themes? Please and thank you in advance. ^^
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Trogh View Post
Well.. In my opinion it's better to keep the 'original' too..
Though, it's quicker to use the new method ;)
Nope. The "new method" is just better. And I'll explain you why, it's quite simple. Till I released latest XSE, message/msgbox was basically an alias for loadpointer.

Code:
msgbox @hello
callstd 0x2
Code:
loadpointer 0x0 @hello
callstd 0x2
The two examples below were exactly the same thing.
Now, instead, msgbox is a true construct. So:

Code:
msgbox @hello 0x2
which is still the same as

Code:
loadpointer 0x0 @hello
callstd 0x2
See? It's better and not just quickier. You just need to get used to it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by LeSmexyMongoose View Post
Thank you for this collection :D
I'll find this useful..
You're welcome :)


Quote:
Originally Posted by King Mario View Post
I can't get XSE to save the data into the game for some reason, I have tried to compile it. Help, please?
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberzero View Post
I also had that problem, King Mario. Despite what I did, sometimes it just wouldn't compile, and it would be wasting a lot of free space with multiple compilations. This is also an issue I would like to bring up.

My solution for it was to manually replace the offsets that XSE gave me into the script and it worked fine after that. I hope that helps the others who have been getting this problem.
May be a bug... which script(s) were you using? What version of XSE? Did you have any other programs opened beside XSE? What operative system were you using? How to reproduce the problem? Please provide as much details as possible.

And cyberzero, please read the guide. I've clearly explained some new directives like #clean, #removeall etc. which will help you not wasting space in any case.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Teruri View Post
HackMew, The problems I had have a really really simple solution: it works when I turn the line numbers off. So I can use the new version now. ^^
(I'm very happy it works, cause the old version won't open anymore)
Well, good to know ;)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Beab View Post
Any idea why the guide won't open for me?
You didn't read this, did you?


Quote:
Originally Posted by swampert22 View Post
Man, you go away for a little while and loads of stuff happens! :D

Nice job on the updates, Andrea, I'm glad you finally released A-Trainer, a fantastic piece of work!
Thanks. Expect new updates soon :D
XSE and A-Trainer.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #583    
Old January 6th, 2009, 03:20 PM
cyberzero's Avatar
cyberzero
New Hacker. Fast Learner.
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
Would you mind elaborating a little?
In Darthatron's tool, Pokemon Editor Pro, there's a section that allows you to insert a sprite offset and a palette offset, instead of just using the trainer sprites that are in that range in UnLZ.
Here's a picture of what I mean:

ht tp://i43.tinypic [dot] com/2rpf9s0.jpg

Please replace the [dot] with a ".", I'm sorry for being unable to post the actual link.
I hope that makes it a little more clear, and once again, thank you very much for making such great tools!

I'm also sorry about the lack of knowledge about #clean and #removeall. =P
Reply With Quote
  #584    
Old January 6th, 2009, 03:36 PM
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberzero View Post
In Darthatron's tool, Pokemon Editor Pro, there's a section that allows you to insert a sprite offset and a palette offset, instead of just using the trainer sprites that are in that range in UnLZ.
Here's a picture of what I mean:

ht tp://i43.tinypic [dot] com/2rpf9s0.jpg

Please replace the [dot] with a ".", I'm sorry for being unable to post the actual link.
I hope that makes it a little more clear, and once again, thank you very much for making such great tools!

I'm also sorry about the lack of knowledge about #clean and #removeall. =P
All right, what about the compile problems?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #585    
Old January 6th, 2009, 10:24 PM
Ninja Caterpie's Avatar
Ninja Caterpie
Sitting by the back window
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Best City OCE
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Hey, Hackmew, is there a way to change the name of the trainer class? The box underneath the combobox to choose it does nothing.
__________________
Brony represent.
Reply With Quote
  #586    
Old January 7th, 2009, 03:46 AM
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninja Caterpie View Post
Hey, HackMew, is there a way to change the name of the trainer class? The box underneath the combobox to choose it does nothing.
Actually it does, but there's a bug that will "restore" the old class name while saving. Just wait for the next A-Trainer beta.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #587    
Old January 11th, 2009, 04:50 AM
Powersight's Avatar
Powersight
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Gender:
Ur A-Trainer doesnt has the Battle Frontier Brains. Can u update it so i can costumize the gyms and also the characters (: and could u sort the hero's to the front of the list, cause i spend 5 minutes on finding out where they are
Reply With Quote
  #588    
Old January 11th, 2009, 05:29 AM
D-Trogh's Avatar
D-Trogh
Dead
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Belgium
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to D-Trogh
Quote:
Originally Posted by Powersight View Post
Ur A-Trainer doesnt has the Battle Frontier Brains. Can u update it so i can costumize the gyms and also the characters (: and could u sort the hero's to the front of the list, cause i spend 5 minutes on finding out where they are
1. You ask to many questions XD
2. I think there's a search function for the trainers.. so it should only take a few seconds to get the trainer.
3. What do you mean by "the characters"? The sprites? Use NLZ-GBA Advance or RS Ball..
__________________
[NTME | WPEDS | HTPE | SGPE | TGPE | PDEDS]
Reply With Quote
  #589    
Old January 11th, 2009, 08:29 AM
Lady Berlitz's Avatar
Lady Berlitz
Cinnamon ♪
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: An igloo in Canada
Nature: Adamant
Wow, A-Trainer seems pretty impressive, Andrea. It's quite useful, rather than having to use all of those glitchy trainer editors made in the past. I can't wait for a fuller release, because I'd also like to change the names of the Trainer Class.

Also, I'd like to suggest a different way of scrolling through a Trainer's Pokémon Data (obviously if the Trainer has more than one Pokémon), because it just seems a little awkward (I've become used to the page moving when there is a page scrolling method). Could you possibly change it to an up arrow button and a down arrow button?
__________________
_█████████_
_█▄█████▄█_
_█▼▼▼▼▼▼▼█_
██_______██
_█▲▲▲▲▲▲▲█_
_█████████_
_██_____██_
Reply With Quote
  #590    
Old January 11th, 2009, 01:32 PM
interdpth
I've seen things, man.
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
So I looked at your sources

Storing offsets in strings? Why?

And as decimal values? What is wrong with you? :(

Unless you're reading/writing from a text/ini file, or putting a value onto a window, there's no reason to put values into strings.


Please change your technique your programs will be faster as such, also.

Commenting your code would be amazing ;(
__________________
yes, this is doge.

potato is not here.

bye
Reply With Quote
  #591    
Old January 15th, 2009, 02:11 AM
~Poke~'s Avatar
~Poke~
Hasn't played 5th gen yet.
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: On the moon
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Hi, I was using your Overworld editor, and it was going fine until it wouldn't save. It said something about how it couldn't save because it was already open. so I took a screenshot, shrunk it down to normal sprite size, restarted the editor, and tried to import it. It said it didn't have a 16 colour palette! THERE WERE ONLY 3 COLORS! And I checked it with the eraser trick, and it really was just 3. So then I used another screenshot of the palette and put those colors in, so it was the same 16 colors as in the palette, and it still didn't work!

I hope you fix this bug soon, because I can't find the sprites in unLZ gba and I really need to edit them.

EDIT:
It worked when I redrew the sprite (maybe because I changed the palette, saved, drew my new sprite, saved?)
The only other difference is the second time I had paint open twice
The Import and export options are also working now...
__________________
I refuse to enter a battle of the wits with you,
it's against my morals to attack an unarmed person.


Last edited by ~Poke~; January 15th, 2009 at 02:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #592    
Old January 15th, 2009, 01:36 PM
Snyser's Avatar
Snyser
Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Forgotten!! LOL
Gender:
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Snyser
hackmew tools are my favorite tools
they are very helpfull
__________________
Supporter

Join http://www.pokemon-metropolis.co.cc/ TODAY!!
its has alot of features and its free to join you can even play cool games all in one + Its updated a lot!! so join and ask all you'r friends to come allong (JOIN NOW!!)
Reply With Quote
  #593    
Old January 17th, 2009, 10:36 AM
sab's Avatar
sab
Now too much of a life.
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Midgar
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Wow A-trainer rocks! It's a pity that it doesn't cover fr though...
__________________
anCay ouyay eakspay igpay atinlay? Ifay osay easeplay m.p.ay
emay enthay opycay anday astepay isthay inay ouryay ignaturesay.
Reply With Quote
  #594    
Old January 17th, 2009, 02:10 PM
Pokepal17's Avatar
Pokepal17
More cowbell~
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Steeltown
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Found my first bug with A-Trainer although it's already been reported.
Anyway HackMew, please can you put these what these specials do in the XSE guide.

Spoiler:

Special 0x187 - not sure, but it's the first command of the "timed steps" scripts.
Special 0x188 - checks the amount of taken steps. "compare 0x4025 0x14F" is on the next line btw
Special 0x197 - resets amount if steps taken.
__________________
Pokémon Stardrop
Reply With Quote
  #595    
Old January 18th, 2009, 07:15 PM
diegoisawesome's Avatar
diegoisawesome
Not the Script Help Thread
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Goldenrod City, Johto
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Hey, HackMew!

I found a bug in FSF:
I put 256 in the Needed Bytes and 1 in the Skip Interval, and look what came up:

Can you fix this?
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
Reply With Quote
  #596    
Old January 18th, 2009, 10:02 PM
Rangoinim
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Gender:
Thanks HackMew! This will really help!
Reply With Quote
  #597    
Old January 24th, 2009, 05:15 AM
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
When are you going to be able to do the Y tile in SMCA?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #598    
Old January 24th, 2009, 07:35 AM
Hellsing's Avatar
Hellsing
The bird of Hermes is my name
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Gender:
Nature: Rash
A little problem with XSE : I get "error 5003 : Unexpected error" whenever I attempt to open XSE. At first I was merely missing msvbvm60.dll, however after I downloaded the proper dll, I started getting error 5003.
This is odd, as I was able to work XSE 1.1.1 perfectly fine up until I re-downloaded it.
Any solutions?
Reply With Quote
  #599    
Old January 24th, 2009, 04:14 PM
Prelacter's Avatar
Prelacter
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Gender:
Nature: Calm
Sorry to bother you, HackMew. But i'm having trouble with XSE.

I don't really understand how to use it, I attempted to give a new Person (NPC) (That i added into Ruby VIA Advanced Map) a Short amount of text to Say once i click on it in the game,

The script is fine, i used FSF to find some free space, I Put the offset in the script (#dynamic 0x6B0FF4) as i compiled, Compiler output came up. (Normal i assume) but at the very bottom it displayed the following:

Dynamic Offsets:
@Start 6B1002
@Speak 6B0FF5

Which are similare to the original offset, I thought it would have compiled and that was just nothing, Then, i took the offset from the Script (#dynamic 0x6B0FF4) and put it as the NPC's Offset in Advanced Map, So in-game when i click the NPC, It should execute the script, Right?

Well it did not execute the script, it did nothing.
I did a search of my question on this compile issue, And i read about something saying XSE finds free space for you, and then outputs an offset for you to use, Which was not explained in the program or near the download.. Which is what caused my confusion i guess.

Can you just explain to me how i can work this? as you can se i'm very new to ROM Editing (Hacking) and from what i've read, Your compiler is the best to use, So i hope i get a reply clearing up my confusion as soon as possible so i can get on with what i need to do.

Please and Thank You.

- Prelacter
Reply With Quote
  #600    
Old January 24th, 2009, 08:15 PM
Liquid Shadow's Avatar
Liquid Shadow
xD
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Gender:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prelacter View Post
Sorry to bother you, HackMew. But i'm having trouble with XSE.

I don't really understand how to use it, I attempted to give a new Person (NPC) (That i added into Ruby VIA Advanced Map) a Short amount of text to Say once i click on it in the game,

The script is fine, i used FSF to find some free space, I Put the offset in the script (#dynamic 0x6B0FF4) as i compiled, Compiler output came up. (Normal i assume) but at the very bottom it displayed the following:

Dynamic Offsets:
@Start 6B1002
@Speak 6B0FF5

Which are similare to the original offset, I thought it would have compiled and that was just nothing, Then, i took the offset from the Script (#dynamic 0x6B0FF4) and put it as the NPC's Offset in Advanced Map, So in-game when i click the NPC, It should execute the script, Right?

Well it did not execute the script, it did nothing.
I did a search of my question on this compile issue, And i read about something saying XSE finds free space for you, and then outputs an offset for you to use, Which was not explained in the program or near the download.. Which is what caused my confusion i guess.

Can you just explain to me how i can work this? as you can se i'm very new to ROM Editing (Hacking) and from what i've read, Your compiler is the best to use, So i hope i get a reply clearing up my confusion as soon as possible so i can get on with what i need to do.

Please and Thank You.

- Prelacter
Right after you compile your script hit the copy button. You take the offset of where the script begins at, so in your case in Amap you put the offset for the NPC 6B1002, and not 6B0FF4, because 6B1002 is the @start's offset.
__________________

4 truths of life
1. You cannot touch all your teeth with your tongue.
2. All idiots, after reading the first truth, will try it.
3. And discover that the first truth is a lie.
4. You're smiling now because you're an idiot.
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 12:45 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.