The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #926    
Old July 23rd, 2009 (09:41 AM).
diegoisawesome's Avatar
diegoisawesome
Please understand
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Goldenrod City, Johto
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
I found a glitch in XSE:

As you can see, XSE thinks that ome (of some) is on the next line and won't let me compile.
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
Reply With Quote
  #927    
Old July 24th, 2009 (02:20 AM).
Larsie13
Gone
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 23
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by diegoisawesome View Post
I found a glitch in XSE:

As you can see, XSE thinks that ome (of some) is on the next line and won't let me compile.
I've had that, too, except for me it said "val]" as the unknown keyword. (As in [rival].) It's caused, for some reason, by something (probably the byte 0xA) getting in between two parts of a word. Just delete the word, and type it again, and your problem should be over.
I don't think even HackMew knows what causes it.
Reply With Quote
  #928    
Old July 24th, 2009 (05:56 AM).
diegoisawesome's Avatar
diegoisawesome
Please understand
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Goldenrod City, Johto
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larsie13 View Post
I've had that, too, except for me it said "val]" as the unknown keyword. (As in [rival].) It's caused, for some reason, by something (probably the byte 0xA) getting in between two parts of a word. Just delete the word, and type it again, and your problem should be over.
I don't think even HackMew knows what causes it.
The thing is, that doesn't work for me. I have to compile it, eliminating the "unknown keyword" and everything after it, and then go back and repoint, paste, and recompile. I just wish Hackmew fixes it soon.
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
Reply With Quote
  #929    
Old July 25th, 2009 (12:02 PM).
hashtag's Avatar
hashtag
the man in black
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Salisbury, England
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Hey HM, I've got a slight problem with OWRE I keep getting this error with a FireRed ROM.
Attached Images
File Type: png problem for hm.png‎ (117.7 KB, 41 views) (Save to Dropbox)
__________________
#
Reply With Quote
  #930    
Old July 25th, 2009 (10:19 PM). Edited July 25th, 2009 by JerisEnigma1337.
JerisEnigma1337's Avatar
JerisEnigma1337
Rocket Recruited Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Gender: Female
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamer2020 View Post
I meant that you can have the sprite in the colors you want as long as its in a pallete. Then you import the sprite and the pallete with the tool. You can use IRfan View to give the sprite a pallete. If you need help just vm me. This is not a problem with the tool cause the tool is great. =)
I agree that this tool is great, but I'm having a problem with palettes, too. I've been searching the forums and this seems to be the closest to a similar problem...

See, I can import 1 frame of say the male character and its correct palette fine. But when I go to import the second frame, like him taking a step, the palette goes wonky. The colors are the same, changed to 16 bit with Irfen etc., but there're all in the wrong order? Everytime I correct a frame it does the same for the others around it.

I just PM'd HackMew about this, but I'm hoping it wasn't asked already. I just went through 30+ pages because I really don't want to be a bother. Sorry if ths is a noob-y problem...
EDIT: I'm using Overworld Editor on an english Emerald ROM. Forgot to mention that
__________________

---
Supporter of:


Reply With Quote
  #931    
Old July 26th, 2009 (02:08 AM).
hashtag's Avatar
hashtag
the man in black
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Salisbury, England
Age: 19
Gender: Male
That's because you need to import only the first frame with the new pal. Then, export the mucked up frames and open them in paint, then paste your new ow on top and re-import the image not pal into OWRE.
__________________
#
Reply With Quote
  #932    
Old July 26th, 2009 (10:34 AM). Edited July 26th, 2009 by JerisEnigma1337.
JerisEnigma1337's Avatar
JerisEnigma1337
Rocket Recruited Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Gender: Female
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alice. View Post
That's because you need to import only the first frame with the new pal. Then, export the mucked up frames and open them in paint, then paste your new ow on top and re-import the image not pal into OWRE.
Yeah I tried that, but the palette keeps being read wrong or something... When I reimport the ruined frames it doesn't change the palette and their colors are still all out of place... Its very frustrating.

EDIT: Thanks for answering btw. I just resaved it AGAIN and followed your instructions word for word, and surprise surprise, it worked. Thanks so much! That's stupid that you have to resave them like that though! Ugh! I think it was messing up because I had changed the frame's name before importing... I guess I'll just have to suck it up and be thankful for the tools existance at all! Still annoying though...

EDIT 2: Shoot! Now when I check the ROM the kid has a block around him and his outline is transparent! >.< How the heck do I fix THAT? Can I do it with the same tool or do need to go with a hex editor maybe?
__________________

---
Supporter of:


Reply With Quote
  #933    
Old July 27th, 2009 (01:03 AM).
hashtag's Avatar
hashtag
the man in black
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Salisbury, England
Age: 19
Gender: Male
You must've indexed the first frame incorrectly. Just follow an indexing tutorial somewhere.
__________________
#
Reply With Quote
  #934    
Old July 27th, 2009 (12:07 PM).
JerisEnigma1337's Avatar
JerisEnigma1337
Rocket Recruited Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Gender: Female
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alice. View Post
You must've indexed the first frame incorrectly. Just follow an indexing tutorial somewhere.
Here's what I did:
Open ROM
Export Bitmap (all frames, idividually)
Edited the files using Irfen and MSPaint to paste the 16 bit version of mine onto the existing exported frame.
Imported Frame 1 + its palette
Checked Rom, worked perfectlly (Other normal frames were mangled obiously due to palette change)
Imported next frame after following same steps to make frame 1, no palette (should be the same!)
Frame was mangled, so I tried adding palette.
Frame 2 is fixed, Frame 1 ruined...
All of this is happening in Overworld Editor RE (excluding irfen and paint obviously)
W.T.F.?

I'm going to retry exporting the newly imported sprited, though that should already have fixed it! >.<
__________________

---
Supporter of:


Reply With Quote
  #935    
Old July 27th, 2009 (12:46 PM).
gothboyz1992's Avatar
gothboyz1992
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bay City, MI
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Finely Hopefuly I can start making my Hack Yay!!!!!
__________________
~B Was Here~
Reply With Quote
  #936    
Old July 28th, 2009 (12:17 PM).
JerisEnigma1337's Avatar
JerisEnigma1337
Rocket Recruited Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Gender: Female
Well, it doesn't seem like its fixable... Everything I did just made it worse. I'm going to try tweaking the original male's palette to work on mine, though I'd really rather not because it will look so wrong... I just scrapped the whole file and am in the process of rehacking everything I changed then will try this.
__________________

---
Supporter of:


Reply With Quote
  #937    
Old July 29th, 2009 (06:46 AM).
Pokepal17's Avatar
Pokepal17
More cowbell~
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Steeltown
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
The new built in Auto Abort for unLZ is good for lazy people like me (more time to script, less time tick boxeds XD).

I have another suggestion for Overworld Editor RE.
Have a palette slot replace where on an overworld the all the colour of A on the palette can be replaced by anything else e.g. 7 so if colour A was blue and colour 7 was red, all blue in the OW would be replaced by read.
__________________
Pokémon Stardrop
Reply With Quote
  #938    
Old July 30th, 2009 (01:26 PM).
Kirby98
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Gender: Male
Hey hackmew
I'm pretty much new at this stuff and i encountered a problem.
I downloaded the trainer hack but every time i go to file to open rom, then click on 1986 pokemon emerald it says loaded rom is not supported.
What am i doing or not doing thats causing this to occur
Thx
Reply With Quote
  #939    
Old July 30th, 2009 (03:05 PM).
score_under's Avatar
score_under
I program the *other* ASM.
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Age: 22
Nature: Rash
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirby98 View Post
Hey hackmew
I'm pretty much new at this stuff and i encountered a problem.
I downloaded the trainer hack but every time i go to file to open rom, then click on 1986 pokemon emerald it says loaded rom is not supported.
What am i doing or not doing thats causing this to occur
Thx
It means the loaded ROM is not supported.

In plain english, it means that HackMew didn't give any information on your particular Emerald ROM when writing his tool, try another ROM or see if there are any tutorials on changing it with a hex editor.
__________________
Plz not to PM me, I don't come here often enough. Email if you need me
Reply With Quote
  #940    
Old July 30th, 2009 (03:07 PM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Im comin' home...
Community Supporter Tier 1
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Quote:
Originally Posted by score_under View Post
It means the loaded ROM is not supported.

In plain english, it means that HackMew didn't give any information on your particular Emerald ROM when writing his tool, try another ROM or see if there are any tutorials on changing it with a hex editor.
Or the ROM was tampered with, including having a changed header...
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
Reply With Quote
  #941    
Old August 3rd, 2009 (05:03 AM).
Pokepal17's Avatar
Pokepal17
More cowbell~
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Steeltown
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirby98 View Post
Hey hackmew
I'm pretty much new at this stuff and i encountered a problem.
I downloaded the trainer hack but every time i go to file to open rom, then click on 1986 pokemon emerald it says loaded rom is not supported.
What am i doing or not doing thats causing this to occur
Thx
As 0m3GA said, the header has been changed. This can be fixed by by downloading RHEA from the first page and restoring the header to it's original code.
__________________
Pokémon Stardrop
Reply With Quote
  #942    
Old August 3rd, 2009 (06:24 PM).
tempestdevil
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Gender: Male
I downloaded the newest version of OWE to make sure that wasn't the problem, but I'm getting a recurring error that occurs when I try to edit a sprite. I imported a different sprite (as you can see, the palettes didn't quite match up), and I had most of the colors I needed in the palette, just in the wrong places, so I edited the sprite to look correct. When I tried to save, I got this error. The ROM isn't open anywhere but OWE, so I don't know what's going on with it.


Also, on a slightly related note, since you have the APE up there and everything.. Is there any way to add a new overworld palette, instead of just changing one? I'd like to use different palettes for custom sprites, but there are only like 7 overworld sprite palettes total, and overwriting one of them ruins half the trainers in the game. :/
Attached Images
File Type: png error.png‎ (21.8 KB, 18 views) (Save to Dropbox)
Reply With Quote
  #943    
Old August 3rd, 2009 (06:57 PM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Im comin' home...
Community Supporter Tier 1
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Quote:
Originally Posted by tempestdevil View Post
I downloaded the newest version of OWE to make sure that wasn't the problem, but I'm getting a recurring error that occurs when I try to edit a sprite. I imported a different sprite (as you can see, the palettes didn't quite match up), and I had most of the colors I needed in the palette, just in the wrong places, so I edited the sprite to look correct. When I tried to save, I got this error. The ROM isn't open anywhere but OWE, so I don't know what's going on with it.


Also, on a slightly related note, since you have the APE up there and everything.. Is there any way to add a new overworld palette, instead of just changing one? I'd like to use different palettes for custom sprites, but there are only like 7 overworld sprite palettes total, and overwriting one of them ruins half the trainers in the game. :/
It is telling you that the file is already open with another program.
Close any other programs taht are tampering with your ROM, and it should work fine.

And Pokepal, you can change the header with a Hex Editor too, by opening it up and changing the usual BPRE (Or whatever else it usually is, lol)
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
Reply With Quote
  #944    
Old August 4th, 2009 (12:20 AM).
Taichi's Avatar
Taichi
The Keyblader of The Future
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Gender:
Nature: Calm
I keep getting this error for OV Editor. Error 55 (File already open). Anyway to fix this.
__________________
The Fake Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days Commercial
Reply With Quote
  #945    
Old August 4th, 2009 (04:29 PM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Im comin' home...
Community Supporter Tier 1
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taichi View Post
I keep getting this error for OV Editor. Error 55 (File already open). Anyway to fix this.
I just posted the answer, it is the post above yours.
READ THE DAMN POSTS. Jeez I hate when people do this.
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
Reply With Quote
  #946    
Old August 5th, 2009 (02:21 AM).
Taichi's Avatar
Taichi
The Keyblader of The Future
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Gender:
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL View Post
I just posted the answer, it is the post above yours.
READ THE DAMN POSTS. Jeez I hate when people do this.
Damn, calm down. My computer wouldn't load up to that post.
It loaded up and kept stopping at the "ROM was tampered with".
If I was able to read that post I wouldn't bother posting.
I can now, so thank you for the help N TEH CAPZ LOCK. lol
__________________
The Fake Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days Commercial
Reply With Quote
  #947    
Old August 5th, 2009 (07:01 AM).
Pokepal17's Avatar
Pokepal17
More cowbell~
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Steeltown
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL View Post
It is telling you that the file is already open with another program.
Close any other programs taht are tampering with your ROM, and it should work fine.

And Pokepal, you can change the header with a Hex Editor too, by opening it up and changing the usual BPRE (Or whatever else it usually is, lol)
Yeah
I would know since I never used RHEA for my hack XD.
__________________
Pokémon Stardrop
Reply With Quote
  #948    
Old August 6th, 2009 (11:47 AM).
killanotha1's Avatar
killanotha1
Master Nothing
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Wut? 8D
Gender: Female
Nature: Modest
All of these tool are great! In fact, without these I never even would have thought of making my own hack since I suck at hex/scripting. But the only problem I have it in Start Map Chooser Advance, What does it mean by "level/bank"? I've tried just messing with the numbers but I just can't seem to catch a pattern. Any help?

Sorry if this question has already been answered, I searched but I didn't see any questions like this.
Reply With Quote
  #949    
Old August 6th, 2009 (01:05 PM).
ΡλЯλđΘЖ's Avatar
ΡλЯλđΘЖ
Insane
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
The "level/bank" thingy in SMCA controls which map you apear on when you start.
You can find the correct levels/banks using Advance Map.
__________________

I carry a big gun...

Reply With Quote
  #950    
Old August 6th, 2009 (01:27 PM).
killanotha1's Avatar
killanotha1
Master Nothing
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Wut? 8D
Gender: Female
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lunatic-X View Post
The "level/bank" thingy in SMCA controls which map you apear on when you start.
You can find the correct levels/banks using Advance Map.
Wow, Thanks. I can't believe I didn't notice that in AM. D:
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 06:41 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.