Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #1351    
Old August 11th, 2010 (05:53 AM).
KotovSyndrome_'s Avatar
KotovSyndrome_
Consumer of many asparagus.
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wales
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Hackmew, I must say.. Awesome programs :D
I've been using most of them a lot, but I was wondering..
Could you develop one that allows the user to edit the Oak speech at the start of the game? :/
I know you can do it with Hex Editing or A-Text, but A-Text doesn't work for many people, and Hex Editing isn't easy (well, at least for me )

Thanks
__________________

Time out, let's stop and think this through,
We've all got better things to do,
Than talk in circles, run in place,
Answers inches from our face.
Reply With Quote
  #1352    
Old August 14th, 2010 (05:39 AM).
Matizam127
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Poland
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
HackMew programs rulez! :-D

Where I can get Advance Item?
Reply With Quote
  #1353    
Old August 16th, 2010 (05:52 AM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
First post: updated. I've said enough :)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #1354    
Old August 16th, 2010 (06:22 AM).
diegoisawesome's Avatar
diegoisawesome
Please understand
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Goldenrod City, Johto
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Nice to see a tool update!
It's nice to see that your new tools will be multiplatform.
Just one thing: You should have FreeSpaceFinder.exe renamed to FSF.exe in the package, so that it works out-of-the-box with XSE.
EDIT: Also, FSF can't load a ROM with another program using it...
Basically, that takes away a lot of the usefulness.
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
Reply With Quote
  #1355    
Old August 16th, 2010 (06:51 AM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote originally posted by diegoisawesome:
Nice to see a tool update!
It's nice to see that your new tools will be multiplatform.
Just one thing: You should have FreeSpaceFinder.exe renamed to FSF.exe in the package, so that it works out-of-the-box with XSE.
EDIT: Also, FSF can't load a ROM with another program using it...
Basically, that takes away a lot of the usefulness.
Thanks for commenting. About the name... Maybe I should have. But the new XSE will take care of the new .exe name. What about the "can't load" problem? Please be specific on the actual program(s). Also, please read carefully the first post.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #1356    
Old August 16th, 2010 (08:01 AM).
diegoisawesome's Avatar
diegoisawesome
Please understand
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Goldenrod City, Johto
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Quote originally posted by HackMew:
Thanks for commenting. About the name... Maybe I should have. But the new XSE will take care of the new .exe name. What about the "can't load" problem? Please be specific on the actual program(s). Also, please read carefully the first post.
Hmm, let's see...
Right now, the programs I have the ROM open in: AdvaneMap 1.92, VisualBoyAdvance 1.8.0 (although that's never been a problem before), XSE, and A-Trainer. The most likely culprit is A-Map, as almost all programs refuse to load a ROM at the same time as it.
The exact error I get is:
Quote:
The process cannot access the file '(my ROM address)' because it is being used by another process.
Code:
See the end of this message for details on invoking 
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.IO.IOException: The process cannot access the file 'C:\ROMs\Hacking Stuff\CrystalDust.gba' because it is being used by another process.
   at System.IO.__Error.WinIOError(Int32 errorCode, String maybeFullPath)
   at System.IO.FileStream.Init(String path, FileMode mode, FileAccess access, Int32 rights, Boolean useRights, FileShare share, Int32 bufferSize, FileOptions options, SECURITY_ATTRIBUTES secAttrs, String msgPath, Boolean bFromProxy)
   at System.IO.FileStream..ctor(String path, FileMode mode, FileAccess access, FileShare share)
   at HackMew.ToolsFactory.GameManager.ReadHeader[T]()
   at FreeSpaceFinder.formMain.LoadFile(String fileName)
   at FreeSpaceFinder.formMain.Open()
   at FreeSpaceFinder.formMain.miOpenROM_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.MenuItem.OnClick(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.MenuItem.MenuItemData.Execute()
   at System.Windows.Forms.Command.Invoke()
   at System.Windows.Forms.Command.DispatchID(Int32 id)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmCommand(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ContainerControl.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Form.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
FreeSpaceFinder
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/ROMs/Hacking%20Stuff/Tools/XSE/FSF.exe
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Configuration
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
----------------------------------------
fjnt6elp
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.
This happens a lot with .NET programs and A-Map.
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
Reply With Quote
  #1357    
Old August 16th, 2010 (08:47 AM). Edited August 16th, 2010 by HackMew.
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote originally posted by diegoisawesome:
Hmm, let's see...
Right now, the programs I have the ROM open in: AdvaneMap 1.92, VisualBoyAdvance 1.8.0 (although that's never been a problem before), XSE, and A-Trainer. The most likely culprit is A-Map, as almost all programs refuse to load a ROM at the same time as it.
The exact error I get is:

[...]

This happens a lot with .NET programs and A-Map.
Just like I guessed. FYI, it has nothing in particular to do with the .NET framework. The problem is indeed AdvanceMap which basically locks the file.

The error you got happened while trying to read the game header, in which code FileShare.Read were used. If I used FileShare.ReadWrite (thus allowing read and write access from other processes), the error wouldn't exists. But if you think about it, it's logical not allowing other processes to write to a file we're reading form. If the file content gets changed while reading it, what we read could be completely wrong. The same thing applies when writing to a file.

To sum it up, everything boils down to AdvanceMap (similar issues could also happen while using unLZ.GBA) which is locking the file even when it doesn't need to. To prove my point: try opening two instances of the new FSF. And load the same ROM in both. No error will happen. Besides writing my own map editor, there's not much I can do about it excepting catching the error and show an error message.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #1358    
Old August 16th, 2010 (08:50 AM).
diegoisawesome's Avatar
diegoisawesome
Please understand
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Goldenrod City, Johto
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Quote originally posted by HackMew:
Just like I guessed. FYI, it has nothing in particular to do with the .NET framework. The problem is indeed AdvanceMap which locks the file. The error you got happened while trying to read the game header, in which code FileShare.Read were used. If I used FileShare.ReadWrite (thus allowing read and write access from other processes), the error wouldn't exists. But if you think about it, it's logical not allowing other processes to write to a file we're reading/writing from/to. If the file content gets changed while reading it, what we read could be completely wrong. To sum it up, everything boils down to AdvanceMap (similar issues could also happen while using unLZ.GBA) which is locking the file even when it doesn't need to. Besides writing my own map editor, there's not much I can do about it excepting catching the error and show an error message.
Yeah, I understand. Maybe, however, you can fix it for Un-LZ Hacked (when you upgrade it).
Also, maybe LU-HO can be told about this bug (although he probably already has been) and, when the next A-Map comes out, it'll be fixed...
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
Reply With Quote
  #1359    
Old August 17th, 2010 (03:23 PM).
Nightcrow's Avatar
Nightcrow
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Belgium
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Send a message via Skype™ to Nightcrow
Finally a trainer editor that doesn't screw you over when you give trainers extra pokemon. LOVE IT!
Reply With Quote
  #1360    
Old August 21st, 2010 (02:36 PM).
Funfat.'s Avatar
Funfat.
Working on scripts that fail
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: At home
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
can you edit SMCA so we can change the X position in firered?
__________________
Cna yuo raed tihs? Olny 55% of plepoe can.

I cdnuolt blveiee taht I cluod aulaclty uesdnatnrd waht I was rdanieg.
The phaonmneal pweor of the hmuan mnid, aoccdrnig to a rscheearch
at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it dseno't mtaetr in waht oerdr the ltteres in a
wrod are, the olny iproamtnt tihng is taht the frsit and lsat ltteer be in the
rghit pclae. The rset can be a taotl mses and you can sitll raed it whotuit
a pboerlm. Tihs is bcuseae the huamn mnid deos not raed ervey lteter
by istlef, but the wrod as a wlohe. Azanmig huh? yaeh and I awlyas tghuhot
slpeling was ipmorantt!
fi yuo cna raed tihs, palce it in yuor siantugre
I feogrt who ollanirigy had tihs but wohveer did. TAHNKS
Reply With Quote[/sig-reason]
Reply With Quote
  #1361    
Old August 21st, 2010 (05:17 PM).
DigitalDetection
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
nice tools mewtwo!
im gana use these in my new hack im gana start soon
Reply With Quote
  #1362    
Old August 28th, 2010 (11:08 AM).
shawn0173's Avatar
shawn0173
Pokemon: Metallic Flames!
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
thanks for the tools! they are so helpful!!!
Reply With Quote
  #1363    
Old August 28th, 2010 (06:13 PM).
Team Rocket's Raichu
Bye-Bye!
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Age: 19
Nice new layout. Hope you get around to changing the whole thread to the nice CSS.
__________________

I'm a supermod of that forum.

I've left, bye PC.
Reply With Quote
  #1364    
Old September 1st, 2010 (12:43 PM). Edited September 1st, 2010 by 0m3GA ARS3NAL.
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Im comin' home...
Community Supporter Tier 1
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
hrmm... just ran into a snag...

XSE is slow... like REALLY slow...
The compiler takes 87 seconds to compile 24 lines of code... Just a simple hello world code, but man...

I was wondering if this would be system based, I'm using my mom's netbook...

Specs...

Windows XP Pro SP3

RAM 0.98 GB

Has an Intel Atom 1.6 GHz Processor... I'm confused though, every time I click the 'Debug' button, one of the cores gets MAXED, like, 100% used.

It lasts for around 87 seconds each time (On the same script of course, I can only imagine the horror of anything longer.) and then the script finishes...

Speaking of lag, just tried closing FSF... seems to hang for a few seconds before closing....
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
Reply With Quote
  #1365    
Old September 11th, 2010 (12:51 AM).
Andrut's Avatar
Andrut
Collecting dust since 1898
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Age: 16
Advance Trainer's "search" tool doesn't work for me, no matter on which computer i download it on.
Is it supposed to work? The tool freezes when i start searching....
Reply With Quote
  #1366    
Old September 19th, 2010 (05:39 PM).
Johto_legend's Avatar
Johto_legend
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Gender: Male
ok so im a mac user. Can all these tools run on mac? if not, which which ones? and what are the mono plugins thingys i need to get?
or basically, how do i get these to work on my mac?
Reply With Quote
  #1367    
Old September 23rd, 2010 (05:18 PM).
Team Rocket's Raichu
Bye-Bye!
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Age: 19
You would have to install Windows via Boot Camp (default program on Macs), and then use them from Windows. Don't worry. It won't get rid of your Mac OS if you do it. :D
__________________

I'm a supermod of that forum.

I've left, bye PC.
Reply With Quote
  #1368    
Old September 25th, 2010 (11:01 AM). Edited September 26th, 2010 by Random92.
Random92
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Gender: Male
What is A-patch good for?

Edit: Oh I understand what it's for now. I just thought everyone released their games as .rom files, but I guess that's illegal so they have to make a patch instead.

I am also searching for a 3rd generation item editor. Where can I find one?
Reply With Quote
  #1369    
Old September 28th, 2010 (10:21 AM).
Jm20's Avatar
Jm20
A.k.a. Zig :-)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 22
Gender: Male
I tried to batch compile, and recieved the error:
"Runtime error 13
Type mismatch"
Is this a noobish mistake from me, or is it a bug? Anyway, can I use the batch compiler anyway?
Reply With Quote
  #1370    
Old September 29th, 2010 (03:42 AM).
Poke_DaviD's Avatar
Poke_DaviD
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Age: 24
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via AIM to Poke_DaviD Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Poke_DaviD
For some reason XSE keep's closing when I open it .. I've tried running it with different compatibility and as admin .. any help?

Running Windows 7 32-Bit
__________________

------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------


Dragon Ball Z: New Levels
Progess: 0%[-[15%]---------]100%
Reply With Quote
  #1371    
Old October 14th, 2010 (04:34 PM).
francisbb's Avatar
francisbb
Join the Legacy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SLEEPY ISLAND z...z...Z
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Your hacking tools are awsome
Reply With Quote
  #1372    
Old October 14th, 2010 (04:44 PM).
countryemo's Avatar
countryemo
The Day I've been running from
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Littleroot Town
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Send a message via Skype™ to countryemo
Oh yeah, might as well post this

So I recently downloaded A-ptch, but when I try to apply one, I cant click "run"
__________________
PC Mentions: Best Little Sister ever | Credits | My Amazing Pair

Reply With Quote
  #1373    
Old October 22nd, 2010 (07:23 AM).
Hobusu's Avatar
Hobusu
 
Join Date: May 2009
Nature: Quirky
I have a problem...

I get the Runtime Error 380 in SMCA and I kinda need this program to work.

Just to be sure, I redownloaded the latest version and it still happens.

I'm trying to hack FR right now.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #1374    
Old October 22nd, 2010 (07:36 AM). Edited October 22nd, 2010 by metalsteelix.
metalsteelix's Avatar
metalsteelix
shadow
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: the netherlands
Age: 19
Gender: Female
Nature: Quiet
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to metalsteelix Send a message via Skype™ to metalsteelix
hello hackmew!

i got all the things but i'm missing some files like comctl32.ocx etc.
do you know where i can get these?
i got this now, and i needed player to run it.
got that too, and now i need dll, i don't get it all :s
__________________
hello all, my name is shadow.
i recently joined the pokecommunity, so you will hear more from me
why not look around at my youtube? i make walkthroughs from other hacks.
http://www.youtube.com/user/shadowswalkthroughs
Reply With Quote
  #1375    
Old October 22nd, 2010 (11:10 PM).
plaplo
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Gender: Male
I still Dont Know How Shinyzer Works I've got Version 1.1 or something.
i checked the tutorial but i still dont know how it works!


PLZ Help!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 11:11 AM.