• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

IPhone Game Developing Questions

Conan Edogawa

One Truth Prevails
Years
I decided that I wanted to try making games for the iPhone. I've read about it a little but I have some questions.
1. What programming language is easiest to learn?
2. Are there any kits that can he helpful for a complete beginner?
3. Can I do all of this on a PC?
4. Are there any limitations on 2-D games?

Thanks in advance for anyone who helps.

|Maximus|

I'm back~
Years
  • Age 28
  • Seen Sep 10, 2010
I decided that I wanted to try making games for the iPhone. I've read about it a little but I have some questions.
1. What programming language is easiest to learn?
2. Are there any kits that can he helpful for a complete beginner?
3. Can I do all of this on a PC?
4. Are there any limitations on 2-D games?

Thanks in advance for anyone who helps.

1)No idea
2)Doubt it
3)Absolutely not
4)Pretty sure the answer is no

Hope I helped...sorta :P

Neo-Dragon

Game Developer
Years
I've developed for the iphone. I've 2 apps on the app store (under a company I was working for).
The iphone uses Objective C for its programming and it also uses Open GL es for 2D graphics (which is better then core animation which is like default for objective C).

You need a mac of course with xCode and it has a great simulator to test things out.

As for other kits, Unity is great.

You can't develop on the PC right now.

2-D games or 3-D the device has certin limits which you can read about.

I would suggest you build your game before you pay for anything with Apple.