Thread: Quick Question
View Single Post
Old September 3rd, 2012 (10:25 AM).
donavannj's Avatar
donavannj donavannj is offline
  • Moderator
  • Crystal Tier
TCGO: donavannj
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 'cause it get cold like Minnesota
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 20,405
Your league leader is wrong in this instance. The attack does not say "in order to use this attack" when mentioning the discard cost. Here's the ruling from the compendium over at PokeGym:

Q. If Zoroark uses "Foul Play" to copy Reshiram's "Blue Flare" attack, what happens if I don't have have any Fire Energy attached to Zoroark?
A. The damage amount is done regardless of whether Zororark has any Fire Energy attached to it or not, but if you have one or two Fire Energy attached to Zoroark you must discard them. (Black & White FAQ; Apr 28, 2011 PUI Rules Team)

A Pokemon that is amazing.
Support Bulbasaur because Charmander and Squirtle both suck!
Reply With Quote