ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #51    
Old February 5th, 2007 (2:37 PM).
Deokishisu's Avatar
Deokishisu Deokishisu is offline
Mr. Magius
     
    Join Date: Feb 2006
    Location: If I'm online, it's a safe bet I'm at a computer.
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Relaxed
    Posts: 858
    Thank you. I have another question now. When I cross the border to another map, an event from the first map is duplicated. The person then disappears when I walk farther away and reappears when I go back. I don't know what happened... Can this be fixed?

    Relevant Advertising!

      #52    
    Old February 5th, 2007 (5:59 PM). Edited February 5th, 2007 by Glitchfinder.
    Glitchfinder's Avatar
    Glitchfinder Glitchfinder is offline
    Let's all get along, please?
    • Silver Tier
     
    Join Date: Sep 2006
    Location: The Twilight Zone
    Age: 27
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Careful
    Posts: 477
    I have an... interesting question. If I manually expand the number of bytes in a ROM, (say, double them), add data to the new area in the ROM, and then create an ips patch of that ROM, will someone be able to successfully patch that onto the original game's ROM? (For example, if I did it to Firered, would someone be able to do it to patch it to firered and play it?)

    Also, I was wondering if anyone had a list of the Hex numbers of all the attacks in the Advanced generation. I can't find that anywhere, even at places with hex numbers for everything else.
      #53    
    Old February 6th, 2007 (7:25 AM).
    Christos's Avatar
    Christos Christos is offline
    • Moderator
    • Battle Server Staff
    • Platinum Tier
     
    Join Date: Feb 2006
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Serious
    Posts: 6,386
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Deokishisu View Post
    Thank you. I have another question now. When I cross the border to another map, an event from the first map is duplicated. The person then disappears when I walk farther away and reappears when I go back. I don't know what happened... Can this be fixed?
    It's the same with tilesets, you shouldn't put the events at the sides of the maps when's there's a connection or that will happen.

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Glitchfinder View Post
    I have an... interesting question. If I manually expand the number of bytes in a ROM, (say, double them), add data to the new area in the ROM, and then create an ips patch of that ROM, will someone be able to successfully patch that onto the original game's ROM? (For example, if I did it to Firered, would someone be able to do it to patch it to firered and play it?)

    Also, I was wondering if anyone had a list of the Hex numbers of all the attacks in the Advanced generation. I can't find that anywhere, even at places with hex numbers for everything else.
    If you increase the ROM size it won't be changed if you make a patch and patch it on a Fire Red ROM. The changes under 16MB will be applied on the ROM when you patch it.
    __________________

    A Pokemon that is discriminated!
    Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
      #54    
    Old February 6th, 2007 (8:31 AM).
    Alistair Alistair is offline
    • Silver Tier
     
    Join Date: Mar 2005
    Age: 26
    Nature: Quirky
    Posts: 2,243
    What are the behavior bytes for ledges?
    __________________
    No signature to be found here...
      #55    
    Old February 6th, 2007 (8:40 AM).
    Shiny_Latios's Avatar
    Shiny_Latios Shiny_Latios is offline
       
      Join Date: Dec 2005
      Age: 24
      Nature: Bashful
      Posts: 284
      Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Shiny_Latios
      Is there a way to have bigger trainer overworlds usein overworld editor
      __________________
      White~James~FC:2451-8499-5441
        #56    
      Old February 6th, 2007 (8:48 AM).
      Christos's Avatar
      Christos Christos is offline
      • Moderator
      • Battle Server Staff
      • Platinum Tier
       
      Join Date: Feb 2006
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Serious
      Posts: 6,386
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Shiny_Latios View Post
      Is there a way to have bigger trainer overworlds usein overworld editor
      OE can't edit sprites' sizes so if you want to make the size bigger you have to hex edit.
      __________________

      A Pokemon that is discriminated!
      Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
        #57    
      Old February 6th, 2007 (9:05 AM).
      dreemxweever's Avatar
      dreemxweever dreemxweever is offline
      Full fledged auto mechanic
         
        Join Date: Jul 2006
        Location: U.S.
        Age: 24
        Nature: Relaxed
        Posts: 217
        mmkay.. i need this question answered ASAP.. its a matter if hack or no hack
        does anyone know how to change the beginning sprites with prof. elm and hero on G/S/C?
        if so PM me immmeediatly.. i need to know.. just leave instructions..
        we'll give you credit in the hack
        __________________
        Soul Silver FC: 5199 5025 6011 (battle me!)
          #58    
        Old February 6th, 2007 (9:27 AM).
        dakelland12's Avatar
        dakelland12 dakelland12 is offline
        fire type master
           
          Join Date: Oct 2006
          Age: 24
          Gender:
          Nature: Brave
          Posts: 128
          Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to dakelland12
          how do i insert sprites that i have made?
          __________________
          HI come and join my forum you will love it there is lots of thing that you might like to do here is the link to the forum feel free to join and please do join. POKEMON EVOLUTION

          looking for good hackers to join.

          Mod note: Size 6 text is not allowed.
            #59    
          Old February 6th, 2007 (11:12 AM).
          Colin's Avatar
          Colin Colin is offline
          TotW spriter
             
            Join Date: Nov 2006
            Location: Must I tell you?
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Calm
            Posts: 42
            I've asked but before nobody answered.
            How do I change the music for FR?
            What is the easiest way to insert tiles?
            __________________
            The members of my Team:Me(Head of team), ash2000(Mapper).

            Check out http://shibuyah-kun.deviantart.com/ to see my latest sprite work.
              #60    
            Old February 6th, 2007 (11:35 AM).
            Christos's Avatar
            Christos Christos is offline
            • Moderator
            • Battle Server Staff
            • Platinum Tier
             
            Join Date: Feb 2006
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Serious
            Posts: 6,386
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Colin View Post
            I've asked but before nobody answered.
            How do I change the music for FR?
            What is the easiest way to insert tiles?
            1. You can use Sappy to edit the music.

            2. You can insert tiles with unLZ GBA or Advance Map. It's easier with Advance Map, search for how to insert tiles with AM in the thread.
            __________________

            A Pokemon that is discriminated!
            Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
              #61    
            Old February 6th, 2007 (11:37 AM).
            Shiny_Latios's Avatar
            Shiny_Latios Shiny_Latios is offline
               
              Join Date: Dec 2005
              Age: 24
              Nature: Bashful
              Posts: 284
              Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Shiny_Latios
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Christos View Post
              OE can't edit sprites' sizes so if you want to make the size bigger you have to hex edit.
              How do you do that and pallete sprites in a hex editor as i have one but don't know how to use it and if possible a link to a tutorial for how to use a hex editor
              __________________
              White~James~FC:2451-8499-5441
                #62    
              Old February 6th, 2007 (11:46 AM).
              Christos's Avatar
              Christos Christos is offline
              • Moderator
              • Battle Server Staff
              • Platinum Tier
               
              Join Date: Feb 2006
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Serious
              Posts: 6,386
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Don Patch View Post
              What are the behavior bytes for ledges?
              Advance Map doesn't have behavior bytes for the blocks.

              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Shiny_Latios View Post
              How do you do that and pallete sprites in a hex editor as i have one but don't know how to use it and if possible a link to a tutorial for how to use a hex editor
              Palette sprites? To change the size you have to go to the overworld sprite's offset find where the size is and change it. In the OE ini file there's the hero's overworld sprite offset.
              __________________

              A Pokemon that is discriminated!
              Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
                #63    
              Old February 6th, 2007 (11:53 AM).
              Shiny_Latios's Avatar
              Shiny_Latios Shiny_Latios is offline
                 
                Join Date: Dec 2005
                Age: 24
                Nature: Bashful
                Posts: 284
                Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Shiny_Latios
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Christos View Post
                Advance Map doesn't have behavior bytes for the blocks.



                Palette sprites? To change the size you have to go to the overworld sprite's offset find where the size is and change it. In the OE ini file there's the hero's overworld sprite offset.
                thanks what i mean is to pallete a sprite to insert with hex editor and can i have a tutorial to use a hex editor
                __________________
                White~James~FC:2451-8499-5441
                  #64    
                Old February 6th, 2007 (12:21 PM).
                Glitchfinder's Avatar
                Glitchfinder Glitchfinder is offline
                Let's all get along, please?
                • Silver Tier
                 
                Join Date: Sep 2006
                Location: The Twilight Zone
                Age: 27
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Careful
                Posts: 477
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Christos View Post
                It's the same with tilesets, you shouldn't put the events at the sides of the maps when's there's a connection or that will happen.



                If you increase the ROM size it won't be changed if you make a patch and patch it on a Fire Red ROM. The changes under 16MB will be applied on the ROM when you patch it.
                So, you're saying that the data after the end of the original ROM won't get patched? If that's true, do you know how I can make it so that the data WILL get added?
                  #65    
                Old February 6th, 2007 (2:01 PM).
                Superkid11's Avatar
                Superkid11 Superkid11 is offline
                Covered in Shroomish
                   
                  Join Date: Sep 2006
                  Age: 25
                  Gender:
                  Nature: Lax
                  Posts: 175
                  ScriptED won't work for me. I try to veiw something's script in Elitemap but it doesn't show anything...
                  __________________
                    #66    
                  Old February 6th, 2007 (3:53 PM).
                  userpr's Avatar
                  userpr userpr is offline
                  Quilava Trainer
                     
                    Join Date: Nov 2006
                    Age: 25
                    Gender:
                    Nature: Adamant
                    Posts: 51
                    yeah 1)im having problems with rs ball, when ever i try dumping the gfx bank or even look at trainer/pokemon backpicks it says: trainer/pokemon backpics location is not specified in INI. how can i fix this and if its not fixable is there another program that can do this for me.
                    2) In advance-map whenever i try making a new map it just overwrites already existing maps, so am I doing anything wrong or what?
                    thats all for now thanks in advance and if it makes any difference im working on emerald.
                      #67    
                    Old February 6th, 2007 (4:29 PM).
                    Deokishisu's Avatar
                    Deokishisu Deokishisu is offline
                    Mr. Magius
                       
                      Join Date: Feb 2006
                      Location: If I'm online, it's a safe bet I'm at a computer.
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Relaxed
                      Posts: 858
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Christos View Post
                      It's the same with tilesets, you shouldn't put the events at the sides of the maps when's there's a connection or that will happen.
                      The thing is... that event was nowhere near where it was duplicated. It wasn't near the edges of the map. (Does 10 tiles away count?) I don't know what to do but edit the map to make the connection farther away from that area and I don't want to do that unless neccessary. Is there any way it can be fixed?
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Superkid11 View Post
                      ScriptED won't work for me. I try to veiw something's script in Elitemap but it doesn't show anything...
                      Put the ROM in the same directory as Elitemap and ScriptEd. That should fix it.
                        #68    
                      Old February 6th, 2007 (4:56 PM).
                      dreemxweever's Avatar
                      dreemxweever dreemxweever is offline
                      Full fledged auto mechanic
                         
                        Join Date: Jul 2006
                        Location: U.S.
                        Age: 24
                        Nature: Relaxed
                        Posts: 217
                        asking again.. anyone answer plzzz
                        how do you change the beginning sprites in G/S/C
                        professor Elm, Hero, etc...
                        plzzz tell me
                        __________________
                        Soul Silver FC: 5199 5025 6011 (battle me!)
                          #69    
                        Old February 6th, 2007 (5:05 PM).
                        Deokishisu's Avatar
                        Deokishisu Deokishisu is offline
                        Mr. Magius
                           
                          Join Date: Feb 2006
                          Location: If I'm online, it's a safe bet I'm at a computer.
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Relaxed
                          Posts: 858
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by dreemxweever View Post
                          asking again.. anyone answer plzzz
                          how do you change the beginning sprites in G/S/C
                          professor Elm, Hero, etc...
                          plzzz tell me
                          Do you mean Overworlds or Intro sprites?
                            #70    
                          Old February 6th, 2007 (5:18 PM).
                          dreemxweever's Avatar
                          dreemxweever dreemxweever is offline
                          Full fledged auto mechanic
                             
                            Join Date: Jul 2006
                            Location: U.S.
                            Age: 24
                            Nature: Relaxed
                            Posts: 217
                            the intro sprites.. you know, like Elm that says "welcome to the pokemon world..." bla bla bla.. the larger ones
                            __________________
                            Soul Silver FC: 5199 5025 6011 (battle me!)
                              #71    
                            Old February 6th, 2007 (5:28 PM).
                            Superkid11's Avatar
                            Superkid11 Superkid11 is offline
                            Covered in Shroomish
                               
                              Join Date: Sep 2006
                              Age: 25
                              Gender:
                              Nature: Lax
                              Posts: 175
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Deokishisu View Post
                              Put the ROM in the same directory as Elitemap and ScriptEd. That should fix it.
                              It IS in the same directory.
                              __________________
                                #72    
                              Old February 6th, 2007 (11:29 PM).
                              phshfe's Avatar
                              phshfe phshfe is offline
                              OLD MAN HACKER
                                 
                                Join Date: Jan 2007
                                Gender:
                                Nature: Adamant
                                Posts: 11
                                I downloaded Amplifier 2006 from Scizz's tool site,

                                It has an option to select English as language.

                                Everytime I try to select English I get this message:

                                Run-time error "13"
                                type mismatch

                                Any idea what I am doing wrong.

                                Or how to fix it.

                                Looks to be a wonderful program, I just can't read German.
                                  #73    
                                Old February 7th, 2007 (1:11 AM).
                                Chiaki Shinichi's Avatar
                                Chiaki Shinichi Chiaki Shinichi is offline
                                Beginning Hacker
                                   
                                  Join Date: May 2006
                                  Location: South Pacific
                                  Nature: Calm
                                  Posts: 118
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by phshfe View Post
                                  I downloaded Amplifier 2006 from Scizz's tool site,

                                  It has an option to select English as language.

                                  Everytime I try to select English I get this message:

                                  Run-time error "13"
                                  type mismatch

                                  Any idea what I am doing wrong.

                                  Or how to fix it.

                                  Looks to be a wonderful program, I just can't read German.
                                  You have to put VB runtime in the same folder.
                                    #74    
                                  Old February 7th, 2007 (4:12 AM).
                                  Christos's Avatar
                                  Christos Christos is offline
                                  • Moderator
                                  • Battle Server Staff
                                  • Platinum Tier
                                   
                                  Join Date: Feb 2006
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Serious
                                  Posts: 6,386
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by Superkid11 View Post
                                  ScriptED won't work for me. I try to veiw something's script in Elitemap but it doesn't show anything...
                                  Some scripts won't load with ScriptED. Messages and short scripts do.

                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by userpr View Post
                                  yeah 1)im having problems with rs ball, when ever i try dumping the gfx bank or even look at trainer/pokemon backpicks it says: trainer/pokemon backpics location is not specified in INI. how can i fix this and if its not fixable is there another program that can do this for me.
                                  2) In advance-map whenever i try making a new map it just overwrites already existing maps, so am I doing anything wrong or what?
                                  thats all for now thanks in advance and if it makes any difference im working on emerald.
                                  1. The pkmn backpics should have been extracted, you can't extract trainer backpics.

                                  2. Create a new map with Advance Map and finish it. Then choose "Insert" and insert it in a new spot.

                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by Deokishisu View Post
                                  The thing is... that event was nowhere near where it was duplicated. It wasn't near the edges of the map. (Does 10 tiles away count?) I don't know what to do but edit the map to make the connection farther away from that area and I don't want to do that unless neccessary. Is there any way it can be fixed?
                                  Can you show me a screenshot of the duplicated event?
                                  In the top and bottom edges 5 blocks and left and right edges 7 blocks.
                                  __________________

                                  A Pokemon that is discriminated!
                                  Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
                                    #75    
                                  Old February 7th, 2007 (4:27 AM).
                                  Blazin Blazin is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Aug 2006
                                    Gender:
                                    Nature: Adamant
                                    Posts: 4
                                    Hi, I'm new at ROM Hacking and just have a couple of quick questions which have probably been answered dozens of times but I cannot find the answers most likely because their is so much to look through.

                                    1. How do you create new pokemon sprites, both for in battle and full image.
                                    2. How do you add the sprites into the game.

                                    Sorry if this has been answered many times and I am just a nuisance, but I have taught myself how to use advanced map and a few others pretty effectively and have learnt from what i have read so I appreciate it.
                                    Closed Thread
                                    Quick Reply

                                    Sponsored Links
                                    Thread Tools

                                    Posting Rules
                                    You may not post new threads
                                    You may not post replies
                                    You may not post attachments
                                    You may not edit your posts

                                    BB code is On
                                    Smilies are On
                                    [IMG] code is On
                                    HTML code is Off

                                    Forum Jump


                                    All times are GMT -8. The time now is 6:28 PM.