ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

TrollandToad.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #1326    
Old July 15th, 2007 (3:52 AM).
salmjak's Avatar
salmjak salmjak is offline
     
    Join Date: Jul 2007
    Gender:
    Nature: Adamant
    Posts: 80
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by charmander07 View Post
    If this message appears than you have one Error. The name of your .rbc has a space like this:

    Pokémon Script.rbc

    If you want to make it working it should be this:

    PokémonScript.rbc

    Don't have a space in the name.
    May solve the problem :D Thanks :D

    Is there any way to create new maps without overwrite other maps?

    Relevant Advertising!

      #1327    
    Old July 15th, 2007 (3:54 AM).
    Youji's Avatar
    Youji Youji is offline
    Game Designer
    • Crystal Tier
     
    Join Date: Jun 2007
    Location: Germany
    Age: 25
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Quiet
    Posts: 600
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by salmjak View Post
    May solve the problem :D Thanks :D

    Is there any way to create new maps without overwrite other maps?
    I tried it a few times but i didn't get it. But ask Zel. I think he made some new ones.
      #1328    
    Old July 15th, 2007 (3:59 AM).
    Epsilon's Avatar
    Epsilon Epsilon is offline
    Shiny Scizor
       
      Join Date: Jun 2006
      Location: Johto
      Nature: Adamant
      Posts: 246
      Were can i find english inis for pokemon amplier?
        #1329    
      Old July 15th, 2007 (4:01 AM).
      Youji's Avatar
      Youji Youji is offline
      Game Designer
      • Crystal Tier
       
      Join Date: Jun 2007
      Location: Germany
      Age: 25
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Quiet
      Posts: 600
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Cronos View Post
      Were can i find english inis for pokemon amplier?
      Do you mean Amplifier 2006? There are no English inis. But if you need help. I'm german so PM me your probs.
        #1330    
      Old July 15th, 2007 (8:35 AM).
      salmjak's Avatar
      salmjak salmjak is offline
         
        Join Date: Jul 2007
        Gender:
        Nature: Adamant
        Posts: 80
        Made a new map but I get "image-rom crash" when I try to warp to it :/ What is the correct way to make warps in advance map?
          #1331    
        Old July 15th, 2007 (9:18 AM).
        mattheulmcinnis mattheulmcinnis is offline
           
          Join Date: Jul 2007
          Gender:
          Nature: Adamant
          Posts: 34
          Is it possible to get all the offsets for the items and how do you do it?
            #1332    
          Old July 15th, 2007 (9:26 AM).
          Youji's Avatar
          Youji Youji is offline
          Game Designer
          • Crystal Tier
           
          Join Date: Jun 2007
          Location: Germany
          Age: 25
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Quiet
          Posts: 600
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by mattheulmcinnis View Post
          Is it possible to get all the offsets for the items and how do you do it?
          If you have Elitemap than go into the folder.
          Look out for the file "stditems.rbh". Open it with a Text Editor and scroll down. There are all indexes for the items when you make a script. (Items havn't offsets as you maybe think. The offsets they have in Advancemap is the offset of the script.) Than make a script. For getting an item it should look like this.
          #org 0xfreeoffset
          checkflag 0xfreeflag
          giveitem 0xitemid 0xhow much
          setflag 0x freeflag 'it has to be the value form above!'
          release
          end

          I don't know how to erease the Pic of the event so ask somone else. Hope it'll help you.
            #1333    
          Old July 15th, 2007 (9:40 AM).
          mattheulmcinnis mattheulmcinnis is offline
             
            Join Date: Jul 2007
            Gender:
            Nature: Adamant
            Posts: 34
            I mean't I would like to get the item in a pokeball, like I want to get the Eon ticket in a pokeball so I need to find the Eon Ticket Script I think. Can anyone help me?
              #1334    
            Old July 15th, 2007 (10:10 AM).
            Erick's Avatar
            Erick Erick is offline
            It's been a long time!
               
              Join Date: Oct 2006
              Location: Seoul
              Age: 23
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Adamant
              Posts: 737
              I have made the image smaller and it says: Error: Image not indexed please, could someone help me??

              I have attached the sprite(Credit to pokemonelite200)
              Attached Images
              File Type: png dpmfa491.png‎ (938 Bytes, 76 views) (Save to Dropbox)
                #1335    
              Old July 15th, 2007 (10:27 AM).
              UnitRico's Avatar
              UnitRico UnitRico is offline
                 
                Join Date: Jan 2007
                Age: 24
                Gender:
                Nature: Relaxed
                Posts: 154
                Ehrm...another question...
                If you make a patch out of a ROM which has no edited maps and patch it on a ROM that has edited maps, will the maps be still edited or will they become "unedited"?

                Thanks for answering on all my questions,

                ~Cya, UnitRico

                P.S. I indeed ask alot of questions. It's for my hack. Click my spoiler to check it out!
                __________________

                Gogo Pokémon Gale!
                  #1336    
                Old July 15th, 2007 (10:31 AM).
                Youji's Avatar
                Youji Youji is offline
                Game Designer
                • Crystal Tier
                 
                Join Date: Jun 2007
                Location: Germany
                Age: 25
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Quiet
                Posts: 600
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by UnitRico View Post
                Ehrm...another question...
                If you make a patch out of a ROM which has no edited maps and patch it on a ROM that has edited maps, will the maps be still edited or will they become "unedited"?

                Thanks for answering on all my questions,

                ~Cya, UnitRico

                P.S. I indeed ask alot of questions. It's for my hack. Click my spoiler to check it out!
                If the patch has non edited maps than the patched one will also have non edited maps
                  #1337    
                Old July 15th, 2007 (11:31 AM).
                redragon's Avatar
                redragon redragon is offline
                Beginning Hacker
                   
                  Join Date: Jul 2007
                  Gender:
                  Nature: Adamant
                  Posts: 14
                  I loaded my sript into ScriptED, and hit save, but it won't let me press COMPILE.
                    #1338    
                  Old July 15th, 2007 (11:32 AM).
                  Youji's Avatar
                  Youji Youji is offline
                  Game Designer
                  • Crystal Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Jun 2007
                  Location: Germany
                  Age: 25
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Quiet
                  Posts: 600
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by redragon View Post
                  I loaded my sript into ScriptED, and hit save, but it won't let me press COMPILE.
                  I think you can't compile scripts with scripted. Use Pokéskript or Diamond cutter.
                    #1339    
                  Old July 15th, 2007 (11:51 AM).
                  jimmy-killed-me's Avatar
                  jimmy-killed-me jimmy-killed-me is offline
                  you know me, i'm god
                     
                    Join Date: Jun 2007
                    Location: in the sky
                    Gender:
                    Nature: Impish
                    Posts: 33
                    Um whenever i patch a ROM, The rom never works when i load it on VBA, why is this?
                    __________________
                      #1340    
                    Old July 15th, 2007 (11:59 AM).
                    Youji's Avatar
                    Youji Youji is offline
                    Game Designer
                    • Crystal Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Jun 2007
                    Location: Germany
                    Age: 25
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Quiet
                    Posts: 600
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by jimmy-killed-me View Post
                    Um whenever i patch a ROM, The rom never works when i load it on VBA, why is this?
                    Be sure that you've got a clear ROM.
                      #1341    
                    Old July 15th, 2007 (12:11 PM).
                    mattheulmcinnis mattheulmcinnis is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Jul 2007
                      Gender:
                      Nature: Adamant
                      Posts: 34
                      I have a new Island I made using Advance Map for Pokemon Fire Red, and when I open my town map it says I am on 5 Island and I would like it to be a different map and I want it to say that I am on Island 8. Is there any way I can do this. I also would like to input the Island into the Rainbow pass so I can travel to that Island 8 by ferry. Please Help me.
                        #1342    
                      Old July 15th, 2007 (12:35 PM).
                      Hiidoran's Avatar
                      Hiidoran Hiidoran is offline
                      ohey
                      • Crystal Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Oct 2005
                      Location: Indiana
                      Age: 26
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Jolly
                      Posts: 6,245
                      Quote:
                      "When I compile a script through ScriptEd (I don't like using PokeScript) and overwrite a gba game to put in the script, it always says the file wasn't found, even though it's really there."

                      Go same problem...
                      I just solved the problem for that person, so I'll help you too. First, name your rom image "game". DO NOT PUT ANY EXTENSIONS ON IT. Make it simply "game". Now, put your script into ScriptED and press compile. Do not select your game from the list! Instead, go to where it says, "File name:" and type in "game.gba.gba". Hit save, and it should work for you now.

                      Quote:
                      Could someone give me a place to get a good Hex Tutorial, as I'm trying to do a translation project for "Keitai Denjuu Telefang" and is there a possible way to make it so yo can have a choice between Kuriputo and Fangusa?
                      Most to all hex-editors are good in my opinion, you just have to know how to use them. I suggest Hexecute 2.10. I suggested this version because it has a "Search Relative" function. But for later, you'll need Hexecute RC7, which allows you to input a table file a lot easier. If you know of better hex editor, feel free to use it, these are only suggestion.

                      Quote:
                      Um whenever i patch a ROM, The rom never works when i load it on VBA, why is this?
                      Like Charmander said; make sure you have a clean Rom. Other than that, your on your own I'm afraid...

                      Quote:
                      I have a new Island I made using Advance Map for Pokemon Fire Red, and when I open my town map it says I am on 5 Island and I would like it to be a different map and I want it to say that I am on Island 8. Is there any way I can do this. I also would like to input the Island into the Rainbow pass so I can travel to that Island 8 by ferry. Please Help me.
                      First of all, change the name of the island! Second, you'll have to edit the town map, to look the way you want. Also, if you want an event that makes it where you get the "Rainbow Pass" and a ferry takes you to "Island 8". You'll just have to make a simple script that does so. Ps. Warp scripts are super easy!

                      Quote:
                      I think you can't compile scripts with scripted. Use Pokéskript or Diamond cutter.
                      Actually, Yeah it does. In reality that's what ScriptED is for, to insert or "compile" scripts into the game. Besides, Diamond Cutter is basically an earlier version of ScriptED. As for why it did not work, I'm not sure...Tell me exactly what happened.

                      As always, Hope this helped you all!
                      -Hiidoran
                        #1343    
                      Old July 15th, 2007 (12:40 PM).
                      tomdotcom4 tomdotcom4 is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Jul 2007
                        Gender:
                        Nature: Adamant
                        Posts: 7
                        I am trying to make a hack of Emerald and i cannot get BaseEdit, BeWildered, or Patted to work for it. I always get a message saying "supported rom, but monsters base stats are not specified in the database." Is there anything i can do to fix it or are there and different programs that i can use that do the same thing?
                          #1344    
                        Old July 15th, 2007 (12:46 PM). Edited July 15th, 2007 by Knoxius.
                        Knoxius's Avatar
                        Knoxius Knoxius is offline
                        Knoxskorner.com
                           
                          Join Date: Jul 2007
                          Location: I dont know
                          Gender:
                          Nature: Adamant
                          Posts: 14
                          I have a problem with Advance Map

                          Whenever I try to change the tileset the tiles that are already on the map get replaced with the tiles on the new tileset that I just loaded and the houses and other buildings get messed up

                          If and one could tell me how to fix this I would greatly aprreciate it
                            #1345    
                          Old July 15th, 2007 (12:56 PM).
                          mattheulmcinnis mattheulmcinnis is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Jul 2007
                            Gender:
                            Nature: Adamant
                            Posts: 34
                            Quote:
                            I have a new Island I made using Advance Map for Pokemon Fire Red, and when I open my town map it says I am on 5 Island and I would like it to be a different map and I want it to say that I am on Island 8. Is there any way I can do this. I also would like to input the Island into the Rainbow pass so I can travel to that Island 8 by ferry. Please Help me.
                            Quote:
                            First of all, change the name of the island! Second, you'll have to edit the town map, to look the way you want. Also, if you want an event that makes it where you get the "Rainbow Pass" and a ferry takes you to "Island 8". You'll just have to make a simple script that does so. Ps. Warp scripts are super easy!
                            How do I edit the Town Map? Can't I just input a new map of my own for 8 Island, and the New Jhoto Region. I know warp scripts are easy, but how can I warp the ferry there?

                            Help in Advance Map- How do I make a new town of my own without changing the name of an existing map and so on. I would like to put a new town with a new map, but if I change the name of an existing map it edits all the maps that are there.

                            Can you please help me?
                              #1346    
                            Old July 15th, 2007 (2:14 PM).
                            salmjak's Avatar
                            salmjak salmjak is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Jul 2007
                              Gender:
                              Nature: Adamant
                              Posts: 80
                              Ummh my rom crashes when I try to warp to my custom map, solution?

                              How do I edit the bag and PROF BIRCH so I can have the scripts on another place?

                              What causes image-rom crash?
                                #1347    
                              Old July 15th, 2007 (3:29 PM).
                              Hiidoran's Avatar
                              Hiidoran Hiidoran is offline
                              ohey
                              • Crystal Tier
                               
                              Join Date: Oct 2005
                              Location: Indiana
                              Age: 26
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Jolly
                              Posts: 6,245
                              Quote:
                              I am trying to make a hack of Emerald and i cannot get BaseEdit, BeWildered, or Patted to work for it. I always get a message saying "supported rom, but monsters base stats are not specified in the database." Is there anything i can do to fix it or are there and different programs that i can use that do the same thing?
                              Sorry, but: BaseEdit, BeWildered, Patted, and all of those other sorts of programs were designed before Emerald was released. They do not support Emerald, sadly... As for other tools, you can use a hex editor to do most of these things. I'm not very experienced at Hacking Emerald though, I mostly only use it to import tiles to other rom images.

                              Quote:
                              I have a problem with Advance Map

                              Whenever I try to change the tileset the tiles that are already on the map get replaced with the tiles on the new tileset that I just loaded and the houses and other buildings get messed up

                              If and one could tell me how to fix this I would greatly aprreciate it
                              It's supposed to do that. To insert new tilesets, you must replace older tilesets. There is only a certain amount of space in the rom. You can, however, change the amount of blocks. Just look around Advance Map, you'll find the option.

                              Quote:
                              How do I edit the Town Map? Can't I just input a new map of my own for 8 Island, and the New Jhoto Region. I know warp scripts are easy, but how can I warp the ferry there?

                              Help in Advance Map- How do I make a new town of my own without changing the name of an existing map and so on. I would like to put a new town with a new map, but if I change the name of an existing map it edits all the maps that are there.

                              Can you please help me?
                              Alright, to insert a new map please do the following.
                              First: Open up Advance Map and load your rom... yadayada
                              Second: Select on any map, it doesn't matter.
                              Third: Go to File > Map... > insert map.
                              A~ window will pop up~
                              Fourth: Go down to the last option "Create New Spot"
                              Fifth: Select where your map will go. I.e. : If you want your new map to be part of the Pallet Town set (Your house, Rival's house, Oak's Lab...) then select "4" where it says "bank".
                              Sixth: Select "1" "amount of reserved maps".
                              Tada! You have now inserted a new map into the game!
                              Warning: I do not suggest this. It is much easier just to replace old locations. You'll understand in the long run.

                              Quote:
                              Ummh my rom crashes when I try to warp to my custom map, solution?

                              How do I edit the bag and PROF BIRCH so I can have the scripts on another place?

                              What causes image-rom crash?
                              1. By custom do you mean, inserted map? I've never had trouble before... until later, that is.

                              2. By "move to another place" do you mean a new map offset? Because if so, that is do-able. Just make sure the sprites are in the same ratio they were from each other on the last map. Also, make sure there are no obstacles in the way, ie. Trees.

                              3. Many things can cause the image-rom to crash. But most likely you have overwritten valuable data. It happens quite often, the only way to fix it when it happens... is to have a backup! Always make a backup file!

                              Hoped this helped!
                              -Hiidoran
                                #1348    
                              Old July 15th, 2007 (3:58 PM).
                              salmjak's Avatar
                              salmjak salmjak is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Jul 2007
                                Gender:
                                Nature: Adamant
                                Posts: 80
                                Yeah a insertet, when I try to warp my rom crash I discovered in elitemap for not so long ago that I got the "girl" event there O.o Maybe that's the reason?

                                Well by the pokemon bag I mean how can I be able to just have the bag, press A-button, choose a pokemon and then I have the pokemon in my team and the bag will be destroyed?
                                Can you maybe post what scripts I need? (the numbers/letters like "$1A030F")

                                Haha ok Today I've been forced to start over three times I think X'D

                                Thanks for the answers
                                  #1349    
                                Old July 15th, 2007 (4:03 PM). Edited July 15th, 2007 by mattheulmcinnis.
                                mattheulmcinnis mattheulmcinnis is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jul 2007
                                  Gender:
                                  Nature: Adamant
                                  Posts: 34
                                  How do I edit the Town Map on Fire red? I know warp scripts are easy, but how can I warp the ferry to my Newly Created Island.

                                  I have another question too.

                                  How do you connect maps together like Cinnibar Island and Pallet.
                                  I would like to know so I can create some new Areas.
                                    #1350    
                                  Old July 15th, 2007 (4:49 PM).
                                  redragon's Avatar
                                  redragon redragon is offline
                                  Beginning Hacker
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jul 2007
                                    Gender:
                                    Nature: Adamant
                                    Posts: 14
                                    Well, for exactly what I did in ScriptED, I wrote a script to give your character a pokemon in wordpad, copied it into ScriptED, then hit save, and triedhitting "COMPILE" but I can't, the button is wierd, like the other buttons have the black lettering so you can click on it, but the letters on compile are just gray, and it's un-clickable
                                    Closed Thread

                                    Quick Reply

                                    Join the conversation!

                                    Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                    Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                    Sponsored Links
                                    Thread Tools

                                    Posting Rules
                                    You may not post new threads
                                    You may not post replies
                                    You may not post attachments
                                    You may not edit your posts

                                    BB code is On
                                    Smilies are On
                                    [IMG] code is On
                                    HTML code is Off

                                    Forum Jump


                                    All times are GMT -8. The time now is 4:08 AM.