The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Tutorial Can't compile scripts in Pokescript when you right-click the script? Read here.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old October 21st, 2007 (9:40 AM). Edited November 10th, 2007 by Pieman.
Pieman's Avatar
Pieman Pieman is offline
Crystal Advance Maker
     
    Join Date: Oct 2007
    Age: 24
    Gender:
    Nature: Gentle
    Posts: 35
    Send a message via AIM to Pieman
    *** NOTE: For some reason, the Pokescript site is down. ***

    For any of you that DO NOT get the "Compile Script" shortcut menu function, make sure your scripts end in .rbc. If they don't, open them, click "Save As...", select "All Files" from the file type box, and save as "somename.rbc". If that doesn't work, you most likely didn't install your file associations correctly.

    1. Use the uninstall.reg file that you see on the pokescript website. Run it and ignore anything that it says about modifying the registry; this file is safe. It will clean out all file extensions related to PokeScript in the registry.

    2. Uninstall Pokescript and any PkmnADV database you installed.

    3. Download a fresh copy of Pokescript.

    4. Install Pokescript.

    5. Now download the PkmnADV database installer. SAVE IT TO THE SAME DIRECTORY YOU PUT POKESCRIPT IN.

    6. Run the installer and extract the database to the same folder Pokescript is in. If it does not have the Pokescript directory in the location to install, then put the correct directory there.

    7. Do not run the Pokescript installer again after the database installs. Close it.

    8. Go to the Pokescript directory and run PokeScript.exe.

    9. A log window should pop up that looks like this:


    10. If your log window does not contain the four lines that start with "REGISTERED", you did something wrong, and the file associations are NOT registered right. Start over from Step 1. Otherwise, compiling scripts should now work. Try right-clicking a .rbc file that was properly saved. If "Compile Script" appears, then the associations are set correctly. Otherwise, make sure your user account has Administrative permissions, as a last measure.

    IF ALL ELSE FAILS AND YOU STILL CANNOT COMPILE SCRIPTS, TRY THE MANUAL COMPILING METHOD. IF THAT DOES NOT WORK OR YOU WANT ADDITIONAL ASSISTANCE WITH THE FILE EXTENSIONS, ASK AWAY.

    Relevant Advertising!

      #2    
    Old October 26th, 2007 (1:21 AM).
    Elementologist Elementologist is offline
    Pokemon Master
       
      Join Date: Jul 2007
      Location: Somewhere in Greece
      Age: 25
      Gender:
      Nature: Gentle
      Posts: 12
      Send a message via Yahoo to Elementologist
      I don't have that problem. It Sais "compile script", but when i click burn later i don't get the script selection floating window.
        #3    
      Old October 26th, 2007 (2:29 AM).
      Pieman's Avatar
      Pieman Pieman is offline
      Crystal Advance Maker
         
        Join Date: Oct 2007
        Age: 24
        Gender:
        Nature: Gentle
        Posts: 35
        Send a message via AIM to Pieman
        Did you choose a destination?
          #4    
        Old October 26th, 2007 (1:20 PM).
        cooley's Avatar
        cooley cooley is offline
        ///Keepin' it simple
        • Silver Tier
         
        Join Date: Feb 2007
        Location: United States
        Age: 22
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Impish
        Posts: 1,147
        Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to cooley
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Elementologist View Post
        I don't have that problem. It Sais "compile script", but when i click burn later i don't get the script selection floating window.
        Well, I had that problem too. All you have to do is move the scripts to the desktop, or in one folder.

        Say you had a scripts folder like I do, and all of your scripts are located on that directory, you can compile the script and the buffer will come up.

        But if you had it in "my documents" and had a folder called "hacking related...Blah" and another folder called scripts, and all of your scripts are there,

        Then It won't work. I don't know why. Use v.1.0 instead of the crossover version.
        -cooley
        __________________

          #5    
        Old November 2nd, 2007 (6:36 PM).
        blueray's Avatar
        blueray blueray is offline
        Zombie
           
          Join Date: Sep 2007
          Location: I live in the darkness
          Gender:
          Nature: Brave
          Posts: 21
          Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to blueray
          Ye I have a weirder problem
            #6    
          Old November 2nd, 2007 (7:43 PM).
          spenceroone3's Avatar
          spenceroone3 spenceroone3 is offline
          <he eats lots of burgers.
             
            Join Date: Aug 2007
            Location: In your closet
            Gender:
            Nature: Hasty
            Posts: 215
            Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to spenceroone3
            If you have a weirder problem, why don't you tell us so we can help? :\
            __________________
            <wtf? A lugi-oh?
            <What the hell did you do to my Arceus?
              #7    
            Old November 4th, 2007 (2:05 AM).
            johnlycett's Avatar
            johnlycett johnlycett is offline
            Not Booted Out - be like me!
               
              Join Date: Feb 2007
              Location: In the fridge
              Gender:
              Nature: Brave
              Posts: 628
              Good work, it's sort of handy I guess although I already know this.
              __________________
              Know I'm know as Johnny know (New account), so all Pms or anything that account thanks
                #8    
              Old November 10th, 2007 (4:13 PM). Edited November 10th, 2007 by Shadow Byte.
              Shadow Byte's Avatar
              Shadow Byte Shadow Byte is offline
                 
                Join Date: Nov 2007
                Gender:
                Posts: 34
                It lets me compile, but when I do it says this-



                #OFFSET: 0, 0
                Invalid Command : lock
                Invalid Command : faceplayer
                Invalid Command : message
                Invalid Command : boxset
                Invalid Command : release
                Invalid Command : end


                Edit: Nevermind I got it working, the problem was that I didn't save my script in the same directory as pokescript and bufrite
                __________________



                Spoiler:
                PM me if you want to help.

                Hack Name: Pokemon Carbon

                Current Team: Just me (Recruiting)

                Needed:
                Someone to give this picture a pixel-over and to put it onto the title screen of my hack: http://www.alara.net/pics/mew2glare.gif

                -TOOLZ-
                  #9    
                Old November 10th, 2007 (4:24 PM).
                Pieman's Avatar
                Pieman Pieman is offline
                Crystal Advance Maker
                   
                  Join Date: Oct 2007
                  Age: 24
                  Gender:
                  Nature: Gentle
                  Posts: 35
                  Send a message via AIM to Pieman
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by johnlycett View Post
                  Good work, it's sort of handy I guess although I already know this.
                  Well, this was created keeping in mind the people that don't know or don't remember how to fix this problem. Hence being in the tutorials forum! :D

                  Also, sorry I haven't kept up with this topic in a while, but I guess no one's really had any problems with it anyways. <<;
                    #10    
                  Old November 10th, 2007 (6:49 PM).
                  cooley's Avatar
                  cooley cooley is offline
                  ///Keepin' it simple
                  • Silver Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Feb 2007
                  Location: United States
                  Age: 22
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Impish
                  Posts: 1,147
                  Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to cooley
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Shadow Byte View Post
                  It lets me compile, but when I do it says this-



                  #OFFSET: 0, 0
                  Invalid Command : lock
                  Invalid Command : faceplayer
                  Invalid Command : message
                  Invalid Command : boxset
                  Invalid Command : release
                  Invalid Command : end


                  Edit: Nevermind I got it working, the problem was that I didn't save my script in the same directory as pokescript and bufrite
                  You don't have to save the script in the same directory, You can save it anywere. YOu have to use 1.00 instead of 1.20(crossover)
                  __________________

                    #11    
                  Old November 12th, 2007 (9:34 AM).
                  crushawake crushawake is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Nov 2007
                    Gender:
                    Posts: 1
                    My one won't compile properly, it keeps coming up with this:
                    Run-time error '457':

                    This key is already associated with an element of this collection.
                    What am I doing wrong? Please help! Thanks in advance.
                      #12    
                    Old January 5th, 2008 (9:28 AM).
                    pokeglitch86 pokeglitch86 is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Jul 2007
                      Gender:
                      Nature: Adamant
                      Posts: 28
                      I finally got it to show complie script when I right click on it, But when i click compile script it opens up and says...
                      --------------------
                      Run-time error 6

                      overflow
                      --------------------
                      If I do it manually my ROM gets currupted.(I do click encode right?)

                      Any ideas?
                        #13    
                      Old January 7th, 2008 (4:53 PM).
                      +Sneasel™'s Avatar
                      +Sneasel™ +Sneasel™ is offline
                      It's a meeee, itman!
                         
                        Join Date: May 2007
                        Location: None of your business!
                        Age: 23
                        Gender:
                        Nature: Lonely
                        Posts: 1,037
                        Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to +Sneasel™
                        This is actually very helpful to people who can't get teh compiling to work. I've seen countless posts saying this has happened.
                        __________________
                        Intentions that were pure have turned obscure,
                        Seconds into hours, minutes into years.
                        Don't ask me why,
                        PLEASE DON'T CRY!
                        I can't tell you lies...

                        Don't click this!

                        PPH - A great hacking forum
                          #14    
                        Old January 7th, 2008 (4:57 PM).
                        Thrace's Avatar
                        Thrace Thrace is offline
                        @tion
                        • Gold Tier
                         
                        Join Date: Jun 2007
                        Age: 26
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 1,048
                        I have a problem where if I try to compile a script that has \p \l \n or anything with a \ it says
                        Runtime Error '5':
                        Invalid procedure call or argument
                        But when I compile without it, it compiles normally.
                        __________________
                          #15    
                        Old January 7th, 2008 (5:14 PM).
                        pokeglitch86 pokeglitch86 is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Jul 2007
                          Gender:
                          Nature: Adamant
                          Posts: 28
                          How do you do it without the compile right click.
                            #16    
                          Old January 7th, 2008 (5:25 PM).
                          Thrace's Avatar
                          Thrace Thrace is offline
                          @tion
                          • Gold Tier
                           
                          Join Date: Jun 2007
                          Age: 26
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 1,048
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by pokeglitch86 View Post
                          How do you do it without the compile right click.
                          Open PokeScript.exe then File -> Encode then find the .rbc file you want to compile and you are done. BUT it won't compile without PkmnAdv.
                          __________________
                            #17    
                          Old January 20th, 2008 (4:55 PM).
                          Hellsing's Avatar
                          Hellsing Hellsing is offline
                          The bird of Hermes is my name
                             
                            Join Date: Aug 2007
                            Location: Canada
                            Gender:
                            Nature: Rash
                            Posts: 121
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by cooley View Post
                            Well, I had that problem too. All you have to do is move the scripts to the desktop, or in one folder.

                            Say you had a scripts folder like I do, and all of your scripts are located on that directory, you can compile the script and the buffer will come up.

                            But if you had it in "my documents" and had a folder called "hacking related...Blah" and another folder called scripts, and all of your scripts are there,

                            Then It won't work. I don't know why. Use v.1.0 instead of the crossover version.
                            -cooley
                            Is the link you posted to birminstudios the crossover or the 1.0?
                            If it's the crossover where do you get the 1.0?
                              #18    
                            Old February 5th, 2008 (11:31 AM).
                            WaterSplash's Avatar
                            WaterSplash WaterSplash is offline
                            Common
                               
                              Join Date: Jan 2008
                              Location: Wherever I am, I am
                              Age: 24
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Serious
                              Posts: 70
                              Send a message via AIM to WaterSplash
                              I did everything it said but pokescript gets this:

                              Run-time error '429':
                              ActiveX component can't create object

                              Someone please help. A hack is no good without good scripts
                              __________________

                              Berries Grow, Birds Fly, Sun Shines, and Brotha...I Splash People.
                                #19    
                              Old March 27th, 2008 (11:33 AM). Edited April 1st, 2008 by [enter name here].
                              [enter name here]'s Avatar
                              [enter name here] [enter name here] is offline
                              spalsh,my one weakness
                                 
                                Join Date: Mar 2008
                                Location: [enter town here]
                                Gender:
                                Nature: Mild
                                Posts: 9
                                can you do a tutorial like this for script-ed
                                because the compile button on my spript-ed will not work

                                thank you in advance
                                  #20    
                                Old June 23rd, 2008 (5:30 AM).
                                MYSTERIOUS MISSINGNO's Avatar
                                MYSTERIOUS MISSINGNO MYSTERIOUS MISSINGNO is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jun 2008
                                  Gender:
                                  Posts: 10
                                  I can't get "compile script" to work.

                                  I'm pretty sure its Administrative Preferences, as when I check on the Administator's account, it works. The problem is...He turned the preferences off, and it still won't work. I am on a Windows Vista Laptop. Help?

                                  P.S. I get the screen with four lines of register:
                                  WELCOME TO POKESCRIPT
                                  Copyrite Pokewitch Inc
                                  [insert address here]
                                  #PROCESS: pkmadv\install.psc F:2 for Input
                                  -----------------------------------------
                                  REGISTERED .rbc as Rubikon
                                  REGISTERED .rbh as Rubikon
                                  REGISTERED .buf as Rubikon
                                  REGISTERED .gba as GBAdvanced
                                  |
                                  \- Processed 0 Lines
                                    #21    
                                  Old June 23rd, 2008 (6:16 AM).
                                  Christos's Avatar
                                  Christos Christos is offline
                                  • Moderator
                                  • Battle Server Staff
                                  • Platinum Tier
                                   
                                  Join Date: Feb 2006
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Serious
                                  Posts: 6,370
                                  Do not revive threads that are over a month old. It is against the rules.
                                  __________________

                                  A Pokemon that is discriminated!
                                  Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
                                  Closed Thread
                                  Quick Reply

                                  Sponsored Links
                                  Thread Tools

                                  Posting Rules
                                  You may not post new threads
                                  You may not post replies
                                  You may not post attachments
                                  You may not edit your posts

                                  BB code is On
                                  Smilies are On
                                  [IMG] code is On
                                  HTML code is Off

                                  Forum Jump


                                  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:20 PM.