Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.

TrollandToad.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old February 23rd, 2008 (2:19 PM). Edited March 17th, 2008 by RedYoshi.
RedYoshi's Avatar
RedYoshi RedYoshi is offline
Wah! Yoshi!
     
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Location: Yoshi's Island, DUH.
    Age: 24
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 215
    Indexing Sprites

    Hey guys, today I'm going to show you how to index your sprites and later inserting them into your ROM.

    Materials Needed (Method I use)
    -Irfanview
    -Microsoft Paint
    -Unlz-Gba
    -A sprite

    Part 1 - Indexing the Sprite

    So in this tutorial I will be using a YOSHI sprite. :D

    So here we go, first of all make your canvas in paint 64x64



    Once that's done you need to make sure your sprite can fit in that space if not try re-sizing it.

    So once you have your sprite you just copy and paste it onto the blank 64x64 canvas. Now save your image as a PNG.



    Now that thats done it's time to index it!

    So to index it you open up Irfanview and open up your image.
    Now go to IMAGE and click on DECREASE COLOR DEPTH.



    Once you're there select 16 COLORS (4 BPP), and click on OK.
    (4th-pic)

    Now you have your sprite indexed!!:D

    But WAIT!! There's still that white background!!

    All right so now go to Image->Pallete->Edit Pallete.



    Now keep this in mind, the first color on the pallete entries is TRANSPARENT.



    Now let's change that color, so double click on that and you'll get this color selection screen, so now choose a color and save your image. Your sprite will look a little bit messed up if you had a black outline or something like that.

    So now open up PAINT again and open up your image and edit any errors on it and add your transparent background color.



    Congratulations you have indexed your sprite and it is ready to be put in the game!

    But wait a minute!! What if you don't know how to add it into the game??? No worries, I'll show you how!

    Part 2 - Putting it into the ROM.
    MAKE SURE THE SPRITE YOU ARE REPLACING IS BIGGER OR AS BIG AS THE SPRITE YOU ARE INSERTING INSERTING OVER A SMALLER SPRITE CAN LEAD TO YOUR PIC LOOKING ALL MESSED UP WITH SOME UNWANTED PIXELS.


    All right, so now that you have your indexed sprite it's time to open up UNLZ-GBA.

    So do that and search for the images in 667-1441 (POKEMON SPRITES - FIRERED)

    All right so now you look for a Pokemon which is meaningless to you or you don't want in ROM and simply OVERWRITE it.

    Note: I still don't know how to add them over the 25 empty slots

    So go to IMPORT and click on your Indexed Sprite then simply click on WRITE TO ROM and tick all the boxes and then click on OK. In this case I will overwrite IVYSAUR.

    There it is! It's in the ROM now! So now go ahead and test it!

    If you did this correctly it should appear in the game.



    Congratulations! You have successfully indexed your sprite and put it into the ROM!

    RESIZING YOUR IMAGE
    Well this shouldn't be too hard, really. But anyways if you have a huge sprite such as D\P sprites and you want to insert them to your game then you'll need to re-size since you can only use 64x64.
    With D\P Sprites this should be easy heres what you need.

    -Sprite (Indexed or not)
    -Irfanview

    Well first of all open up your sprite in Irfanview and then goto Image->Resize Resample. One there you disable "PRESERVE ASPECT RATIO" and thne where it says "Set New Size" just set the width and height to 64. There you have it, your sprite can now be inserted to your rom. But It may look a bit...pixelated so you may want to edit it a bit and then insert it.

    I will also be releasing a few sprite packs (indexed) but not in this thread.

    Relevant Advertising!

      #2    
    Old February 24th, 2008 (2:28 AM).
    Darthatron's Avatar
    Darthatron Darthatron is offline
    巨大なトロール。
    • Silver Tier
     
    Join Date: Jan 2006
    Location: Melbourne, Australia
    Age: 26
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Modest
    Posts: 1,152
    Good post. I get several PMs a week asking how to do this. When you get the 15 posts be sure to post some images, to help the newbies.
    __________________
    あなた は しきしゃ です
    わたし は ばか です
      #3    
    Old February 24th, 2008 (3:29 PM). Edited February 25th, 2008 by Hellsing.
    Hellsing's Avatar
    Hellsing Hellsing is offline
    The bird of Hermes is my name
       
      Join Date: Aug 2007
      Location: Canada
      Gender:
      Nature: Rash
      Posts: 121
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Darthatron View Post
      Good post. I get several PMs a week asking how to do this. When you get the 15 posts be sure to post some images, to help the newbies.
      Hehe..one of that was me wasn't it?
      Anyway I really needed this tutorial, good for n00bs like me. But if my sprite DOES have a black outline, do you still have to edit the transparent colour, or can you just fill the background with the transparent colour?
        #4    
      Old February 25th, 2008 (5:03 PM).
      RedYoshi's Avatar
      RedYoshi RedYoshi is offline
      Wah! Yoshi!
         
        Join Date: Feb 2008
        Location: Yoshi's Island, DUH.
        Age: 24
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 215
        There we go, finally posted some pics, now it should be a little bit easier to understand.
          #5    
        Old February 25th, 2008 (5:08 PM).
        Night_Blue Night_Blue is offline
        STFU
           
          Join Date: Sep 2007
          Posts: 130
          Thanks
          This really helps
          I used to make them smaller in paint but they messed up there
          Now to add pokemon with less problems
            #6    
          Old February 25th, 2008 (5:24 PM).
          RedYoshi's Avatar
          RedYoshi RedYoshi is offline
          Wah! Yoshi!
             
            Join Date: Feb 2008
            Location: Yoshi's Island, DUH.
            Age: 24
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 215
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Rabid_Lime View Post
            Hehe..one of that was me wasn't it?
            Anyway I really needed this tutorial, good for n00bs like me. But if my sprite DOES have a black outline, do you still have to edit the transparent colour, or can you just fill the background with the transparent colour?
            You will want to edit the transparent color or else the background (when you insert it) will still be there. If your outline was black and you didn't edit it then that will be gone once it's in the rom. So you'll have 15 other colors you can use in your sprite so you can try to edit one of those colors to something fairly similar to black.
              #7    
            Old February 25th, 2008 (10:16 PM). Edited February 25th, 2008 by Murkrow.
            Murkrow's Avatar
            Murkrow Murkrow is offline
            Nasty Plotting
               
              Join Date: Jan 2008
              Nature: Calm
              Posts: 613
              hi all something to ask...i resized an image into 64*64 and then reduce it into 16 colours using irfanview. Then i changed the first colour in that palette (which u define as the transparent colour) under the "edit palette" option into a definite colour i.e.green. So why does my image have a weird green outline now? What else must i do?
                #8    
              Old February 25th, 2008 (11:43 PM).
              RedYoshi's Avatar
              RedYoshi RedYoshi is offline
              Wah! Yoshi!
                 
                Join Date: Feb 2008
                Location: Yoshi's Island, DUH.
                Age: 24
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 215
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by manutdrule View Post
                hi all something to ask...i resized an image into 64*64 and then reduce it into 16 colours using irfanview. Then i changed the first colour in that palette (which u define as the transparent colour) under the "edit palette" option into a definite colour i.e.green. So why does my image have a weird green outline now? What else must i do?
                You must either edit the pallete with a color you aren't using to black and then use that color again on your outline.

                NOTE: You have to use that weird green outline as your background color in order for the background to be transparent.
                  #9    
                Old February 26th, 2008 (1:33 AM).
                Murkrow's Avatar
                Murkrow Murkrow is offline
                Nasty Plotting
                   
                  Join Date: Jan 2008
                  Nature: Calm
                  Posts: 613
                  well i've done all that, but unlz-gba still sees it as having 256 colours (from the palette on the right-hand side), so i can't import it in! The sprite that i got was found on this website: http://pokemonelite2000.com/sprites.html in the pokemon d/p section. Following ur instructions, i still can't make the sprite fully indexed to be imported.
                    #10    
                  Old February 26th, 2008 (7:02 AM).
                  Gogz7314 Gogz7314 is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Jul 2005
                    Gender:
                    Nature: Adamant
                    Posts: 4
                    The only problem I have is resizing D/P sprites and making the main and back sprites use the same pallet.
                    Any advice?
                      #11    
                    Old February 26th, 2008 (12:39 PM). Edited February 26th, 2008 by RedYoshi.
                    RedYoshi's Avatar
                    RedYoshi RedYoshi is offline
                    Wah! Yoshi!
                       
                      Join Date: Feb 2008
                      Location: Yoshi's Island, DUH.
                      Age: 24
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 215
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by manutdrule View Post
                      well i've done all that, but unlz-gba still sees it as having 256 colours (from the palette on the right-hand side), so i can't import it in! The sprite that i got was found on this website: http://pokemonelite2000.com/sprites.html in the pokemon d/p section. Following ur instructions, i still can't make the sprite fully indexed to be imported.
                      Did you go to Irfanview and decrease the colors to 16? Thats the only way that it can be imported into the ROM.

                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Gogz7314 View Post
                      The only problem I have is resizing D/P sprites and making the main and back sprites use the same pallet.
                      Any advice?
                      Well in Unlz-Gba the backpic is the shiny form of the Pokemon, so they really shouldn't have the same pallete. You'll have to seperately index the sprite with IrfanView
                        #12    
                      Old February 26th, 2008 (2:24 PM).
                      Gogz7314 Gogz7314 is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Jul 2005
                        Gender:
                        Nature: Adamant
                        Posts: 4
                        Thanks for the reply. Any ideas on how to make the D/P sprites smaller though?
                        Sorry, I'm a total noob
                          #13    
                        Old February 26th, 2008 (3:16 PM).
                        Murkrow's Avatar
                        Murkrow Murkrow is offline
                        Nasty Plotting
                           
                          Join Date: Jan 2008
                          Nature: Calm
                          Posts: 613
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by RedYoshi View Post
                          Did you go to Irfanview and decrease the colors to 16? Thats the only way that it can be imported into the ROM.
                          yup i already did that...
                            #14    
                          Old February 26th, 2008 (5:31 PM). Edited February 26th, 2008 by RedYoshi.
                          RedYoshi's Avatar
                          RedYoshi RedYoshi is offline
                          Wah! Yoshi!
                             
                            Join Date: Feb 2008
                            Location: Yoshi's Island, DUH.
                            Age: 24
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 215
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by manutdrule View Post
                            yup i already did that...
                            Well, I tried it with a lucario sprite and it actually worked, It will look as if it had 256 colors on the pallete preview thing but once you import it, it will just have the 16 colors in the pallete.

                            Do you get a message saying that it can't be imported? Did you add the transparent background?

                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Gogz7314 View Post
                            Thanks for the reply. Any ideas on how to make the D/P sprites smaller though?
                            Sorry, I'm a total noob
                            You can try resizing it in paint or you can leave it as an 80x80, Index it, Fix it up and then resize the whole picture by going to Image -> Resize\Resample, once there go to the box where it says "Preserve Aspect Ratio" and disable it, then where it says "Set new size" and set them to "64 x 64". Now depending on how big the sprite is it might come out a bit pixelated.
                              #15    
                            Old February 26th, 2008 (6:18 PM).
                            Xaivier's Avatar
                            Xaivier Xaivier is offline
                            You trust me with a title?
                               
                              Join Date: Feb 2008
                              Location: Canada (The Great White North!)
                              Age: 26
                              Gender:
                              Nature: Brave
                              Posts: 20
                              Im having a problem, When I get my pokemon added into the ROM (everything works fine on unLZ) The pallet ends up messed up in-game. My pokemon, that was in tones od Green, grey, and red, ended up in tones of olive green, pink, and orange.

                              I replaced treeco with this pokemon.

                              Im fairly new with this, I screwed around a bit in the past, and I have no idea how to fix this.

                              Know whats wrong?
                                #16    
                              Old February 26th, 2008 (6:31 PM).
                              RedYoshi's Avatar
                              RedYoshi RedYoshi is offline
                              Wah! Yoshi!
                                 
                                Join Date: Feb 2008
                                Location: Yoshi's Island, DUH.
                                Age: 24
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 215
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by Xaivier View Post
                                Im having a problem, When I get my pokemon added into the ROM (everything works fine on unLZ) The pallet ends up messed up in-game. My pokemon, that was in tones od Green, grey, and red, ended up in tones of olive green, pink, and orange.

                                I replaced treeco with this pokemon.

                                Im fairly new with this, I screwed around a bit in the past, and I have no idea how to fix this.

                                Know whats wrong?
                                Hmm, Did you enable the "Export Pallete" option when you imported?
                                  #17    
                                Old February 27th, 2008 (2:30 PM).
                                Xaivier's Avatar
                                Xaivier Xaivier is offline
                                You trust me with a title?
                                   
                                  Join Date: Feb 2008
                                  Location: Canada (The Great White North!)
                                  Age: 26
                                  Gender:
                                  Nature: Brave
                                  Posts: 20
                                  I think so, Il try again with a different sprite.
                                    #18    
                                  Old February 27th, 2008 (2:36 PM).
                                  Hellsing's Avatar
                                  Hellsing Hellsing is offline
                                  The bird of Hermes is my name
                                     
                                    Join Date: Aug 2007
                                    Location: Canada
                                    Gender:
                                    Nature: Rash
                                    Posts: 121
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by manutdrule View Post
                                    well i've done all that, but unlz-gba still sees it as having 256 colours (from the palette on the right-hand side), so i can't import it in! The sprite that i got was found on this website: http://pokemonelite2000.com/sprites.html in the pokemon d/p section. Following ur instructions, i still can't make the sprite fully indexed to be imported.
                                    I had the same problem. The pallette preview is messed, then when I write it to the rom, the bottom of the sprite gets all funked up. Any suggestions?
                                      #19    
                                    Old February 27th, 2008 (2:51 PM).
                                    RedYoshi's Avatar
                                    RedYoshi RedYoshi is offline
                                    Wah! Yoshi!
                                       
                                      Join Date: Feb 2008
                                      Location: Yoshi's Island, DUH.
                                      Age: 24
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Posts: 215
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by Rabid_Lime View Post
                                      I had the same problem. The pallette preview is messed, then when I write it to the rom, the bottom of the sprite gets all funked up. Any suggestions?
                                      Might be b\c you overwrote a sprite smaller than the one you imported.
                                        #20    
                                      Old March 1st, 2008 (7:23 PM).
                                      Hellsing's Avatar
                                      Hellsing Hellsing is offline
                                      The bird of Hermes is my name
                                         
                                        Join Date: Aug 2007
                                        Location: Canada
                                        Gender:
                                        Nature: Rash
                                        Posts: 121
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by RedYoshi View Post
                                        Might be b\c you overwrote a sprite smaller than the one you imported.
                                        Nah, they were both 64x64.
                                        Thanks though.
                                          #21    
                                        Old March 1st, 2008 (7:30 PM).
                                        RedYoshi's Avatar
                                        RedYoshi RedYoshi is offline
                                        Wah! Yoshi!
                                           
                                          Join Date: Feb 2008
                                          Location: Yoshi's Island, DUH.
                                          Age: 24
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Posts: 215
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by Rabid_Lime View Post
                                          Nah, they were both 64x64.
                                          Thanks though.
                                          I don't mean the size of the canvas, I meant the size of the actual Pokemon\Trainer.
                                          __________________
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by Yoshi
                                          Yoshi!
                                            #22    
                                          Old March 2nd, 2008 (5:42 AM).
                                          Hellsing's Avatar
                                          Hellsing Hellsing is offline
                                          The bird of Hermes is my name
                                             
                                            Join Date: Aug 2007
                                            Location: Canada
                                            Gender:
                                            Nature: Rash
                                            Posts: 121
                                            Quote:
                                            Originally Posted by RedYoshi View Post
                                            I don't mean the size of the canvas, I meant the size of the actual Pokemon\Trainer.
                                            Yeah, that's probably it. But does that really matter? Cause then I have to find a sprite the exact same sixe, don't I?
                                              #23    
                                            Old March 2nd, 2008 (9:50 AM).
                                            RedYoshi's Avatar
                                            RedYoshi RedYoshi is offline
                                            Wah! Yoshi!
                                               
                                              Join Date: Feb 2008
                                              Location: Yoshi's Island, DUH.
                                              Age: 24
                                              Gender: Male
                                              Posts: 215
                                              Quote:
                                              Originally Posted by Rabid_Lime View Post
                                              Yeah, that's probably it. But does that really matter? Cause then I have to find a sprite the exact same sixe, don't I?
                                              Yea, if your sprite is TOO big then it'll have those pixels in the bottom, you don't need to find one the exact size, just something bigger or close to it.
                                              __________________
                                              Quote:
                                              Originally Posted by Yoshi
                                              Yoshi!
                                                #24    
                                              Old March 2nd, 2008 (1:04 PM).
                                              Hellsing's Avatar
                                              Hellsing Hellsing is offline
                                              The bird of Hermes is my name
                                                 
                                                Join Date: Aug 2007
                                                Location: Canada
                                                Gender:
                                                Nature: Rash
                                                Posts: 121
                                                Quote:
                                                Originally Posted by RedYoshi View Post
                                                Yea, if your sprite is TOO big then it'll have those pixels in the bottom, you don't need to find one the exact size, just something bigger or close to it.
                                                Thanks. Maybe I should listen to you without objection next time, eh?
                                                  #25    
                                                Old March 16th, 2008 (2:47 PM). Edited March 16th, 2008 by Asteroth.
                                                Asteroth Asteroth is offline
                                                   
                                                  Join Date: Mar 2008
                                                  Gender:
                                                  Posts: 17
                                                  its not working for me, why?

                                                  Closed Thread

                                                  Quick Reply

                                                  Join the conversation!

                                                  Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                                  Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                                  Sponsored Links
                                                  Thread Tools

                                                  Posting Rules
                                                  You may not post new threads
                                                  You may not post replies
                                                  You may not post attachments
                                                  You may not edit your posts

                                                  BB code is On
                                                  Smilies are On
                                                  [IMG] code is On
                                                  HTML code is Off

                                                  Forum Jump


                                                  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 3:50 PM.