Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #26    
Old June 13th, 2008 (7:17 AM).
Megiddo-san's Avatar
Megiddo-san Megiddo-san is offline
Barium - Summer '12 Return?
     
    Join Date: Dec 2007
    Location: Where you least expect it
    Age: 25
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Relaxed
    Posts: 1,329
    If @begin is the 802000 then yes I did.
    __________________

    Hashire! Asu e tsudzuku shinka no micha wa

    Relevant Advertising!

      #27    
    Old June 13th, 2008 (3:55 PM).
    cooley's Avatar
    cooley cooley is offline
    ///Keepin' it simple
    • Silver Tier
     
    Join Date: Feb 2007
    Location: United States
    Age: 22
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Impish
    Posts: 1,147
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Darthatron View Post
    Nice video, it's a good idea. :)

    Also, your Level Script guide is very nice, however I never did my level scripts like that. Then again, I taught myself, since nobody loves me...

    Still, very nice addition, can't wait to see what else you can come up with, if anything.
    You did? So did I, xD
    I experimented until I got it right every time, what other way were you talking about? Was it through hex?

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by megiddo View Post
    If @begin is the 802000 then yes I did.
    What kind of map are you using? Is it a Town map, like pallet town, or an indoor map, like the player's room.

    If it's pallet town, then you have to enter pallet town from a house or from a path(e.g. Route 1)
    If it's the player's room, then that might not work sometimes. I haven't mastered Level scripting yet, so I have to see why things like this happen.
    __________________

      #28    
    Old June 13th, 2008 (6:01 PM).
    Megiddo-san's Avatar
    Megiddo-san Megiddo-san is offline
    Barium - Summer '12 Return?
       
      Join Date: Dec 2007
      Location: Where you least expect it
      Age: 25
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Relaxed
      Posts: 1,329
      It's a pokemon center. It's ok. Adiktus helped me fix it. The problems are that a-map's level script tool is buggy and that 0x4000 resets to 0 when you exit the map. So it happens again.
      __________________

      Hashire! Asu e tsudzuku shinka no micha wa
        #29    
      Old June 13th, 2008 (7:04 PM).
      ZodiacDaGreat's Avatar
      ZodiacDaGreat ZodiacDaGreat is offline
      Working on a Mobile System
         
        Join Date: Feb 2007
        Location: South Pacific
        Age: 24
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Relaxed
        Posts: 429
        Quote:
        It's a pokemon center. It's ok. Adiktus helped me fix it. The problems are that a-map's level script tool is buggy and that 0x4000 resets to 0 when you exit the map. So it happens again.
        I don't think so, you must know that the game itself uses some variables, so I'd say for you not to use 4000 & 4001, maybe the 8000s as well. Try variables starting from 7000.
        __________________
          #30    
        Old June 13th, 2008 (9:34 PM). Edited June 13th, 2008 by Darthatron.
        Darthatron's Avatar
        Darthatron Darthatron is offline
        巨大なトロール。
        • Silver Tier
         
        Join Date: Jan 2006
        Location: Melbourne, Australia
        Age: 25
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Modest
        Posts: 1,152
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by cooley View Post
        You did? So did I, xD
        I experimented until I got it right every time, what other way were you talking about? Was it through hex?
        Well, that was one of the ways. This way seems to be better though.
        __________________
        あなた は しきしゃ です
        わたし は ばか です
          #31    
        Old June 16th, 2008 (12:03 AM).
        Dan13x's Avatar
        Dan13x Dan13x is offline
           
          Join Date: Apr 2007
          Location: Brisbane, Australia
          Age: 21
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Quiet
          Posts: 75
          Wow! Awesome! This is a great tutorial. Thanks!
            #32    
          Old June 20th, 2008 (7:14 PM).
          Megiddo-san's Avatar
          Megiddo-san Megiddo-san is offline
          Barium - Summer '12 Return?
             
            Join Date: Dec 2007
            Location: Where you least expect it
            Age: 25
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Relaxed
            Posts: 1,329
            Don't use 4000. The event will happen more than once. Goto the grayed script offset in a hex editor. You should see something like 004000008008. If there is FFFF after the 08, change it to 0000.
            __________________

            Hashire! Asu e tsudzuku shinka no micha wa
              #33    
            Old June 20th, 2008 (7:32 PM).
            Verzerrung's Avatar
            Verzerrung Verzerrung is offline
            → P e r s i s t e n c e
            • Crystal Tier
             
            Join Date: Jan 2008
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Relaxed
            Posts: 732
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by megiddo View Post
            Don't use 4000. The event will happen more than once. Goto the grayed script offset in a hex editor. You should see something like 004000008008. If there is FFFF after the 08, change it to 0000.
            Finally it worked!!
            Thanks Megiido.
              #34    
            Old June 23rd, 2008 (7:07 AM).
            foullump's Avatar
            foullump foullump is offline
            Rom Hacking Guru
               
              Join Date: Mar 2007
              Location: United States
              Nature: Calm
              Posts: 220
              Well, I have my own concept of "Map Scripting". It works well. I'm not entirely sure how it works, but it does and that's all that really matters. But you know, you can do map scripting in advance map 1.82 or anything lower. All you need to do is look in the advance/professional view of the header and it's all right there. But I guess it's easier for noobs that there's a map scripting box. It kind of ruins the fact that only masters can do it though...
              And it's also kind of annoying because it took me like, three days to learn and master it and now I can't do anything without my hex editor. Good thing Ultraedit never expires for me! So you'd understand what the bytes like 03 FF FF FF 08 04 FF FF FF 08 02 FF FF FF 08 00 represent in the hex editor huh?
              __________________
                #35    
              Old June 23rd, 2008 (3:48 PM). Edited June 24th, 2008 by cooley.
              cooley's Avatar
              cooley cooley is offline
              ///Keepin' it simple
              • Silver Tier
               
              Join Date: Feb 2007
              Location: United States
              Age: 22
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Impish
              Posts: 1,147
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by foullump View Post
              Well, I have my own concept of "Map Scripting". It works well. I'm not entirely sure how it works, but it does and that's all that really matters. But you know, you can do map scripting in advance map 1.82 or anything lower. All you need to do is look in the advance/professional view of the header and it's all right there. But I guess it's easier for noobs that there's a map scripting box. It kind of ruins the fact that only masters can do it though...
              And it's also kind of annoying because it took me like, three days to learn and master it and now I can't do anything without my hex editor. Good thing Ultraedit never expires for me! So you'd understand what the bytes like 03 FF FF FF 08 04 FF FF FF 08 02 FF FF FF 08 00 represent in the hex editor huh?
              Yeah, I do now

              E.G.
              03 FF FF FF 08 = Level script #3(on entering map), FF FF FF 08 = Pointer to script
              04 FF FF FF 08 = Level script #4(validates values, and loads handler to 0x03000F28), FF FF FF 08 = Pointer to script
              02 FF FF FF 08 = Level script #2(validates values, and loads handler to 0x03000EB0), FF FF FF 08 = Pointer to script

              02 and 03 are the most used throughout the game.
              04 is really for Immediate activites, they have only been used for "spriteface 0xFF 0x2"

              But it's really up to people to experiment. I do not have time, you know, my hack, my programs, and my tutorials. xD

              how's that for lol
              __________________

                #36    
              Old June 23rd, 2008 (4:06 PM).
              adiktus's Avatar
              adiktus adiktus is offline
                 
                Join Date: May 2008
                Nature: Hardy
                Posts: 248
                XD well, compared to how I insert level scripts previously (manually), this way is more practical because it somehow saves some space.. O.o
                __________________
                *´¨) Love life! Get paid!! Get laid!!!!
                ¸.´¸.*´¨) ¸.*¨) I'm the DiStOrTeD one
                (¸.´ (¸.` * ..:¨¨**¤°¨¨°...............
                  #37    
                Old July 1st, 2008 (10:02 AM).
                cooley's Avatar
                cooley cooley is offline
                ///Keepin' it simple
                • Silver Tier
                 
                Join Date: Feb 2007
                Location: United States
                Age: 22
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Impish
                Posts: 1,147
                Well, I just wanted to know does anyone need anything to be added to this tutorial?

                @adiktus: I see, your the level script inserter of a few hacks, which is pretty much not needed because, it is so easy. You make people think you can do these advanced things, when they're not really.
                __________________

                  #38    
                Old July 6th, 2008 (11:13 AM).
                Ozumas's Avatar
                Ozumas Ozumas is offline
                Creatos Golden Sun/Silver moon
                   
                  Join Date: Dec 2006
                  Location: Sevilla,Spain
                  Gender:
                  Nature: Adamant
                  Posts: 74
                  WTF!
                  I don´t know if you get the script of my tutorial, but ...That my tutorial was made long ago is therefore think that I was the first that it knew, or I think.

                  To say, that script you can see the camera script in the script of Ho-oh in FR
                    #39    
                  Old July 6th, 2008 (4:33 PM).
                  cooley's Avatar
                  cooley cooley is offline
                  ///Keepin' it simple
                  • Silver Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Feb 2007
                  Location: United States
                  Age: 22
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Impish
                  Posts: 1,147
                  Well, I never knew about the one in Wah, I knew how it was done, but I was using the wrong specials before.

                  - HackMew -'s XSE reminded me of it, then I asked him, and then I tested, and experimented. Until I perfected it. So no, I did not know about the one on Wah, I can't even read spanish, xD
                  __________________

                    #40    
                  Old July 9th, 2008 (11:42 AM). Edited July 9th, 2008 by Bokkun.
                  Bokkun Bokkun is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Mar 2008
                    Posts: 7
                    how can i made a level script, that the message always apear?
                      #41    
                    Old July 16th, 2008 (7:43 AM).
                    cooley's Avatar
                    cooley cooley is offline
                    ///Keepin' it simple
                    • Silver Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Feb 2007
                    Location: United States
                    Age: 22
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Impish
                    Posts: 1,147
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Bokkun View Post
                    how can i made a level script, that the message always apear?
                    Yeah, sorry about that. I'll update the first post with how to fix this. You see, Advance map overwrites the values with 'FFFF'. Which is why most level scripts won't work if you do it through advance map. I'll update the first post with how to make a level script through XSE, or for those who don't like XSE, through hex. The only thing you'll need from A-map is the 'Professional Header' and the 'Map script offset' from it.

                    You will eventually need XSE to check the script though...And Advance Map with a Hex editor.
                    Get prepared everyone!
                    __________________

                      #42    
                    Old July 16th, 2008 (7:10 PM).
                    Tyrantrum's Avatar
                    Tyrantrum Tyrantrum is offline
                    ʕ´•ᴥ•`ʔ
                    • Crystal Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Oct 2007
                    Location: New Jersey
                    Age: 23
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Lonely
                    Posts: 5,811
                    Here's what I don't get about level scripts.
                    When u insert them, how A-Map and the script know where to start.

                    Explanation:
                    Like, if u want a level script to happen right when u come downstairs from ur bedroom, how will it know if the script will work at the staircase or at the front door? :\
                    __________________




                    (x) Tumblr
                    (y) Twitter
                    Previously Eeveon
                      #43    
                    Old July 17th, 2008 (8:08 AM).
                    cooley's Avatar
                    cooley cooley is offline
                    ///Keepin' it simple
                    • Silver Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Feb 2007
                    Location: United States
                    Age: 22
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Impish
                    Posts: 1,147
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Eeveon View Post
                    Here's what I don't get about level scripts.
                    When u insert them, how A-Map and the script know where to start.

                    Explanation:
                    Like, if u want a level script to happen right when u come downstairs from ur bedroom, how will it know if the script will work at the staircase or at the front door? :\
                    I dunno, xD
                    I've tried to do that with Level scripts, but it'll only work if you use "setmaptile" scripts or "On entering map/not on menu close" or "Load handler to 0x03000F28"

                    But the scirpts I just mentioned, they can't use messages, applymovement, or anything that requires "Pointer to data to load". They are however very useful, and can check if a flag has been set, then do something else. These are some of the many compatible commands I've encountered.

                    checkflag (0x2B
                    clearflag (0x2A)
                    hidesprite (0x53)
                    movesprite2 (0x63)
                    showsprite (0x55)
                    setfarbyte (0x13)
                    setflag (0x29)
                    spriteface (0x5B)
                    writebytetooffset (0x11)
                    __________________

                      #44    
                    Old July 17th, 2008 (9:17 AM).
                    KhaosKnight's Avatar
                    KhaosKnight KhaosKnight is offline
                    The 1 and only Khaotic Hacker
                       
                      Join Date: Dec 2007
                      Nature: Relaxed
                      Posts: 355
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by cooley View Post
                      I dunno, xD
                      I've tried to do that with Level scripts, but it'll only work if you use "setmaptile" scripts or "On entering map/not on menu close" or "Load handler to 0x03000F28"

                      But the scirpts I just mentioned, they can't use messages, applymovement, or anything that requires "Pointer to data to load". They are however very useful, and can check if a flag has been set, then do something else. These are some of the many compatible commands I've encountered.

                      checkflag (0x2B
                      clearflag (0x2A)
                      hidesprite (0x53)
                      movesprite2 (0x63)
                      showsprite (0x55)
                      setfarbyte (0x13)
                      setflag (0x29)
                      spriteface (0x5B)
                      writebytetooffset (0x11)

                      Ok, so like if i was going to make a setmaptile script i cant make it like this

                      Code:
                        
                      #Dynamic 0x800000
                       
                      #org @main
                      checkflag 0x201
                      if 0x1 goto @change
                      release
                      end
                       
                      #org @change
                      movesprite2 0x15 0x11 0x08
                      setmaptile 0x14 0x7 0x78 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x15 0x7 0x79 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x16 0x7 0x79 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x17 0x7 0x7A 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x14 0x8 0x189 0x0
                      setmaptile 0x15 0x8 0x189 0x0
                      setmaptile 0x16 0x8 0x189 0x0
                      setmaptile 0x17 0x8 0x189 0x0
                      setmaptile 0x14 0x9 0x3E 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x15 0x9 0x3E 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x16 0x9 0x3E 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x17 0x9 0x3E 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x14 0xA 0x1 0x0
                      setmaptile 0x15 0xA 0x1 0x0
                      setmaptile 0x16 0xA 0x1 0x0
                      setmaptile 0x17 0xA 0x1 0x0
                      release
                      end

                      i have to make it like this for it to work?

                      Code:
                       
                      #Dynamic 0x800000
                       
                      #org @main
                      checkflag 0x201
                      if 0x0 goto @end
                      movesprite2 0x15 0x11 0x08
                      setmaptile 0x14 0x7 0x78 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x15 0x7 0x79 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x16 0x7 0x79 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x17 0x7 0x7A 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x14 0x8 0x189 0x0
                      setmaptile 0x15 0x8 0x189 0x0
                      setmaptile 0x16 0x8 0x189 0x0
                      setmaptile 0x17 0x8 0x189 0x0
                      setmaptile 0x14 0x9 0x3E 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x15 0x9 0x3E 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x16 0x9 0x3E 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x17 0x9 0x3E 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x14 0xA 0x1 0x0
                      setmaptile 0x15 0xA 0x1 0x0
                      setmaptile 0x16 0xA 0x1 0x0
                      setmaptile 0x17 0xA 0x1 0x0
                      release
                      end
                       
                      #org @end
                      release
                      end
                      __________________





                        #45    
                      Old July 17th, 2008 (12:04 PM).
                      cooley's Avatar
                      cooley cooley is offline
                      ///Keepin' it simple
                      • Silver Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Feb 2007
                      Location: United States
                      Age: 22
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Impish
                      Posts: 1,147
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by khaosknight1 View Post
                      Ok, so like if i was going to make a setmaptile script i cant make it like this

                      Code:
                        
                      #Dynamic 0x800000
                       
                      #org @main
                      checkflag 0x201
                      if 0x1 goto @change
                      release
                      end
                       
                      #org @change
                      movesprite2 0x15 0x11 0x08
                      setmaptile 0x14 0x7 0x78 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x15 0x7 0x79 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x16 0x7 0x79 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x17 0x7 0x7A 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x14 0x8 0x189 0x0
                      setmaptile 0x15 0x8 0x189 0x0
                      setmaptile 0x16 0x8 0x189 0x0
                      setmaptile 0x17 0x8 0x189 0x0
                      setmaptile 0x14 0x9 0x3E 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x15 0x9 0x3E 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x16 0x9 0x3E 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x17 0x9 0x3E 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x14 0xA 0x1 0x0
                      setmaptile 0x15 0xA 0x1 0x0
                      setmaptile 0x16 0xA 0x1 0x0
                      setmaptile 0x17 0xA 0x1 0x0
                      release
                      end
                      i have to make it like this for it to work?

                      Code:
                       
                      #Dynamic 0x800000
                       
                      #org @main
                      checkflag 0x201
                      if 0x0 goto @end
                      movesprite2 0x15 0x11 0x08
                      setmaptile 0x14 0x7 0x78 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x15 0x7 0x79 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x16 0x7 0x79 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x17 0x7 0x7A 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x14 0x8 0x189 0x0
                      setmaptile 0x15 0x8 0x189 0x0
                      setmaptile 0x16 0x8 0x189 0x0
                      setmaptile 0x17 0x8 0x189 0x0
                      setmaptile 0x14 0x9 0x3E 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x15 0x9 0x3E 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x16 0x9 0x3E 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x17 0x9 0x3E 0x1
                      setmaptile 0x14 0xA 0x1 0x0
                      setmaptile 0x15 0xA 0x1 0x0
                      setmaptile 0x16 0xA 0x1 0x0
                      setmaptile 0x17 0xA 0x1 0x0
                      release
                      end
                       
                      #org @end
                      release
                      end
                      Both ways are good. But setmaptile scripts don't have to include setmaptiles. I don't even think that's the official name for it.
                      __________________

                        #46    
                      Old July 17th, 2008 (3:27 PM).
                      KhaosKnight's Avatar
                      KhaosKnight KhaosKnight is offline
                      The 1 and only Khaotic Hacker
                         
                        Join Date: Dec 2007
                        Nature: Relaxed
                        Posts: 355
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by cooley View Post
                        Both ways are good. But setmaptile scripts don't have to include setmaptiles. I don't even think that's the official name for it.
                        So if i was going to make a "setmaptile" level script what would i have to do to make it work? I compiled that script with XSE and applied it using A-map but it didnt work.
                        __________________





                          #47    
                        Old July 18th, 2008 (10:31 AM). Edited July 18th, 2008 by cooley.
                        cooley's Avatar
                        cooley cooley is offline
                        ///Keepin' it simple
                        • Silver Tier
                         
                        Join Date: Feb 2007
                        Location: United States
                        Age: 22
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Impish
                        Posts: 1,147
                        You aren't supposed to use setmaptile scripts as regular ones...If you'd follow my tutorial, you wouldn't be wondering. setmaptile scripts are the scripts that happens before the map loads, it happens during the black screen that occurs before loading.

                        You should use the ones in my tutorial. I'll update it today.


                        OK, Level scripts are all updated! Enjoy, I've included how to make one with Advance map , and XSE.
                        And I explained it more in-depth with more pictures, etc.

                        Enjoy, only one more update, until I finish this tutorial.
                        __________________

                          #48    
                        Old July 18th, 2008 (6:03 PM).
                        KhaosKnight's Avatar
                        KhaosKnight KhaosKnight is offline
                        The 1 and only Khaotic Hacker
                           
                          Join Date: Dec 2007
                          Nature: Relaxed
                          Posts: 355
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by cooley View Post
                          You aren't supposed to use setmaptile scripts as regular ones...If you'd follow my tutorial, you wouldn't be wondering. setmaptile scripts are the scripts that happens before the map loads, it happens during the black screen that occurs before loading.

                          You should use the ones in my tutorial. I'll update it today.

                          OK, Level scripts are all updated! Enjoy, I've included how to make one with Advance map , and XSE.
                          And I explained it more in-depth with more pictures, etc.

                          Enjoy, only one more update, until I finish this tutorial.
                          I know i have been using them as level scripts, its just i have been using them on a route map and when you enter a route there is no black screen...
                          __________________





                            #49    
                          Old July 20th, 2008 (11:00 AM). Edited July 20th, 2008 by Bokkun.
                          Bokkun Bokkun is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Mar 2008
                            Posts: 7
                            this tut for the level scripts is now really great, thanks =D
                            but how can i make this script, that it every start when i enter the map...

                            and antoher one:
                            i made a level script with a movement of the camera an a text box, but at the end when the script should be at the end, there comes a text box again with some letters, as like as you forget to change the 0xFFFF to 0x0
                              #50    
                            Old July 21st, 2008 (7:59 AM).
                            cooley's Avatar
                            cooley cooley is offline
                            ///Keepin' it simple
                            • Silver Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Feb 2007
                            Location: United States
                            Age: 22
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Impish
                            Posts: 1,147
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Bokkun View Post
                            this tut for the level scripts is now really great, thanks =D
                            but how can i make this script, that it every start when i enter the map...

                            and antoher one:
                            i made a level script with a movement of the camera an a text box, but at the end when the script should be at the end, there comes a text box again with some letters, as like as you forget to change the 0xFFFF to 0x0
                            1. I don't know, I'm still researching that.
                            2. You forgot to put something in Advance map...Like the flag? Or you forgot to fix the problem by Using XSE.
                            __________________

                            Closed Thread
                            Quick Reply

                            Sponsored Links
                            Thread Tools

                            Posting Rules
                            You may not post new threads
                            You may not post replies
                            You may not post attachments
                            You may not edit your posts

                            BB code is On
                            Smilies are On
                            [IMG] code is On
                            HTML code is Off

                            Forum Jump


                            All times are GMT -8. The time now is 7:10 AM.