Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.

Draconius GO
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #26    
Old July 31st, 2008 (6:29 PM).
<~F.M.P~>'s Avatar
<~F.M.P~> <~F.M.P~> is offline
I got you whistling Blue Box!
  • Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Nature: Mild
Posts: 640
I got the first sprite in perfectly, tested it out and I saw it from the front, but when I tried to use him as one of my own pokemon(Back pic) The game froze. Do you know what the problem is or can anyone help me?
Reply With Quote

Relevant Advertising!

  #27    
Old August 2nd, 2008 (2:24 PM).
timson733333's Avatar
timson733333 timson733333 is offline
Woah.
     
    Join Date: Mar 2007
    Location: Stealth!
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Quiet
    Posts: 130
    I think there's a problem with my computer.

    I tried to put a Pirahna Plant sprite into the game, but it aborted it. The next time I turned to Bulbasaur, it was totally glitched up.

    I tried it again, this time pointing to free space, and there was a "sharing violence". It messed me up.

    Seriously, what is the problem?
    Reply With Quote
      #28    
    Old August 5th, 2008 (11:48 AM).
    Chary's Avatar
    Chary Chary is offline
    Yeah-Hah!
       
      Join Date: Jun 2008
      Location: GBAtemp
      Age: 20
      Gender: Female
      Nature: Adamant
      Posts: 200
      Hey um.. could someone give me a link to get irfanview [ sorry if it is misspelled ]
      __________________
      Reply With Quote
        #29    
      Old August 7th, 2008 (12:14 PM).
      timson733333's Avatar
      timson733333 timson733333 is offline
      Woah.
         
        Join Date: Mar 2007
        Location: Stealth!
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Quiet
        Posts: 130
        Google Irfanview. That's what I did. ^_^
        Reply With Quote
          #30    
        Old August 9th, 2008 (2:47 PM).
        NTA's Avatar
        NTA NTA is offline
        Where?
           
          Join Date: Nov 2007
          Nature: Adamant
          Posts: 265
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Chary View Post
          Hey um.. could someone give me a link to get irfanview [ sorry if it is misspelled ]

          here: http://www.google.com/url?q=http://www.irfanview.com/main_download_engl.htm&sa=X&oi=smap&resnum=1&ct=result&cd=1&usg=AFQjCNF91glhMEEVPIRMna222-DBnR6GCg
          __________________

          Reply With Quote
            #31    
          Old August 10th, 2008 (12:59 PM).
          timson733333's Avatar
          timson733333 timson733333 is offline
          Woah.
             
            Join Date: Mar 2007
            Location: Stealth!
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Quiet
            Posts: 130
            Now there are backgrounds around my Pokemon. <_
            Reply With Quote
              #32    
            Old August 10th, 2008 (2:05 PM).
            poddish's Avatar
            poddish poddish is offline
            Spirit Of Radio
               
              Join Date: May 2008
              Location: Earth
              Posts: 234
              How do you put the new sprite over one of the many ?? pokemon instead of over the real pokemon? Also how do you know that an offset is blank in fire red?
              __________________
              I believe children are the future.
              As such, we can do whatever we want, and in the future, when it's time to clean up our mess, they will have to do it for us.
              Reply With Quote
                #33    
              Old August 11th, 2008 (9:07 PM).
              <~F.M.P~>'s Avatar
              <~F.M.P~> <~F.M.P~> is offline
              I got you whistling Blue Box!
              • Silver Tier
               
              Join Date: Jul 2006
              Location: Germany
              Age: 25
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Mild
              Posts: 640
              I'll help all of you as best I can But I need pictures to see what your trying to explain. I work better when I can see the problem visually rather than Reading it.

              P.s. I fixed my problems on my indexing and spriting problems thats why I say I'll help all of you as best I can.
              Reply With Quote
                #34    
              Old August 13th, 2008 (8:28 AM). Edited August 13th, 2008 by Morgoth509.
              Morgoth509 Morgoth509 is offline
                 
                Join Date: Jul 2008
                Posts: 2
                When I try to insert a sprite it says image not indexed. How do I fix this?

                It says my image isn't indexed. How do I fix this?
                Reply With Quote
                  #35    
                Old August 13th, 2008 (1:27 PM).
                Tiehunter Tiehunter is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Feb 2008
                  Gender:
                  Posts: 7
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Mario_Bones View Post
                  Ah, that's how you get free space to work. Thanks a bunch!
                  EDIT: I tried it, and inserted a sprite over Mudkip in Ruby. When I chose the Pokemon in Birch's bag, the game froze... What do I do?
                  EDIT2: I used the Free Space you used in your tutorial and it worked fine. I think the Free Space that I got from Free Space Finder may have been wrong or something. How do I use a Hex Editing Program to find free space?
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Xenomorph View Post
                  Hey, I was wondering if someone could help me. My screen goes black when i try to catch the custom sprite.

                  I would also like to know how to add a custom back sprite to my custom front sprite (if that's what its called?)
                  I'm pretty sure the problems both of you had were that the free space you used from FSF didn't have enough space for your sprites or you put the palette too close. I had this problem as well and it's best to do what Jagold did and put the palette way in the back of the ROM with the sprite at the first bit of free space you find. I hope this clears up the problems people might have.
                  __________________
                  Tim?'s PokePet

                  Pip the level 1 Piplup!
                  Reply With Quote
                    #36    
                  Old August 24th, 2008 (4:54 PM).
                  Zephiel Zephiel is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Feb 2007
                    Nature: Adamant
                    Posts: 42
                    I did exactly what you said, and it always comes out with that message "Ptr found at [Hex number]. Changing."

                    My sprite kind of looks like the Gulpin and Swalot in those pictures posted before...The same sprites, but with the pallette changed. Is that supposed to happen? I'm afraid I can't see if it should or not yet because the character I'm editing is later in the game...in retrospect that was kind of a bad idea...
                    Reply With Quote
                      #37    
                    Old August 24th, 2008 (9:32 PM).
                    destinedjagold's Avatar
                    destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
                    Oh Hai Thar~
                    • Silver Tier
                     
                    Join Date: May 2007
                    Location: Philippines
                    Age: 27
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Careful
                    Posts: 8,574
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Zephiel View Post
                    I did exactly what you said, and it always comes out with that message "Ptr found at [Hex number]. Changing."

                    My sprite kind of looks like the Gulpin and Swalot in those pictures posted before...The same sprites, but with the pallette changed. Is that supposed to happen? I'm afraid I can't see if it should or not yet because the character I'm editing is later in the game...in retrospect that was kind of a bad idea...
                    since you changed the sprite location, yes, you can only see the old sprite with changed palletes...
                    if you wanna test if it looks exactly as you planned, try it by playing the ROM.

                    but do so remember to save back-ups.
                    __________________


                    FC: 0061-1111-6462
                    TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

                    Reply With Quote
                      #38    
                    Old August 25th, 2008 (5:39 AM).
                    Zephiel Zephiel is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Feb 2007
                      Nature: Adamant
                      Posts: 42
                      It works fine, now. Thanks for your help.
                      Reply With Quote
                        #39    
                      Old August 25th, 2008 (10:27 PM).
                      Mario_Bones's Avatar
                      Mario_Bones Mario_Bones is offline
                      Lazuli Version Creator
                         
                        Join Date: Jun 2008
                        Location: Australia
                        Gender:
                        Posts: 42
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by poddish View Post
                        How do you put the new sprite over one of the many ?? pokemon instead of over the real pokemon? Also how do you know that an offset is blank in fire red?
                        1. I think I may have figured out how to do this, but I'm going to test it first. I'll post here if I figure out how.
                        2. To find blank offsets, get a hex editor. Open your ROM and scrool down until you find a load of F's. Look at the offset listed and write it down because its blank. Make sure it only has F's, like in the picture in the tutorial.
                        __________________


                        Current Projects:
                        Pokemon Lazuli Version: 1% Complete (Or something like that)
                        Editing various tiles into the same style: Around 15% Complete
                        Reply With Quote
                          #40    
                        Old August 26th, 2008 (1:37 AM).
                        mgmntrigger mgmntrigger is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Aug 2008
                          Gender:
                          Posts: 2
                          i got a problem where my sprite's colors become inverted in the game. i'm trying to swap out gardeviors sprite for its moe version in emerald because i guess the English patcher missed it but it becomes green where it should be white ext. am i missing a step or do i just fail?
                          Reply With Quote
                            #41    
                          Old August 26th, 2008 (1:46 AM). Edited August 26th, 2008 by brokencandle.
                          brokencandle's Avatar
                          brokencandle brokencandle is offline
                          Expert Hacker
                             
                            Join Date: Aug 2008
                            Location: London,England.
                            Gender:
                            Nature: Brave
                            Posts: 5
                            What do you mean by the transparent colour, how do I put it all green. because I tried in paint and it only did parts of it :s

                            Edit: It keeps saying my image is too big, when it is 64x64. Even when i try and insert the original copy !
                            __________________
                            Reply With Quote
                              #42    
                            Old September 1st, 2008 (2:38 PM).
                            master morty's Avatar
                            master morty master morty is offline
                            Master Spriter
                               
                              Join Date: May 2008
                              Location: The world I created yesterday
                              Gender:
                              Nature: Mild
                              Posts: 93
                              I tried editing Giratina over armaldo in Emerald I think it almost worked except all I get is a silhoute of armaldo moving is there a way to do this in emerald with all the animations and all?
                              __________________
                              Reply With Quote
                                #43    
                              Old September 1st, 2008 (3:36 PM).
                              destinedjagold's Avatar
                              destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
                              Oh Hai Thar~
                              • Silver Tier
                               
                              Join Date: May 2007
                              Location: Philippines
                              Age: 27
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Careful
                              Posts: 8,574
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by brokencandle View Post
                              What do you mean by the transparent colour, how do I put it all green. because I tried in paint and it only did parts of it :s

                              Edit: It keeps saying my image is too big, when it is 64x64. Even when i try and insert the original copy !
                              is it saved in PNG?
                              also, is it using only 16 colors?

                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by mattsna View Post
                              I tried editing Giratina over armaldo in Emerald I think it almost worked except all I get is a silhoute of armaldo moving is there a way to do this in emerald with all the animations and all?
                              I don't know about Emerald. :\
                              never touched that ROM before.
                              __________________


                              FC: 0061-1111-6462
                              TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

                              Reply With Quote
                                #44    
                              Old September 1st, 2008 (4:01 PM).
                              master morty's Avatar
                              master morty master morty is offline
                              Master Spriter
                                 
                                Join Date: May 2008
                                Location: The world I created yesterday
                                Gender:
                                Nature: Mild
                                Posts: 93
                                that's o.k. I figured it out, there are a bunch of black pokemon silhoutes around 700 in emerald and those are the animations
                                __________________
                                Reply With Quote
                                  #45    
                                Old September 1st, 2008 (5:01 PM).
                                timson733333's Avatar
                                timson733333 timson733333 is offline
                                Woah.
                                   
                                  Join Date: Mar 2007
                                  Location: Stealth!
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Quiet
                                  Posts: 130
                                  WILL SOMEBODY ANSWER MY QUESTION?!!!!!!!!!!!!

                                  It's been over 2 months now and nobody answered my question. I think I should give up hacking.

                                  When I try to insert it into the ROM, it has one of the following problems:

                                  1. It says "Ptr found at [insert hex number here]. Changed." And when I flip back to the sprite, it is inverted (sorta) with a pitch-black background!
                                  2. The sides are cut off.
                                  3. There is a sharing violence.
                                  4. The sprite messes up and there is a background around it when I play the ROM.

                                  If this question is not answered by the next time I get here, I'm cancelling Dark Red and all of my other projects.
                                  Reply With Quote
                                    #46    
                                  Old September 1st, 2008 (6:30 PM).
                                  destinedjagold's Avatar
                                  destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
                                  Oh Hai Thar~
                                  • Silver Tier
                                   
                                  Join Date: May 2007
                                  Location: Philippines
                                  Age: 27
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Careful
                                  Posts: 8,574
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by timson733333 View Post
                                  WILL SOMEBODY ANSWER MY QUESTION?!!!!!!!!!!!!

                                  It's been over 2 months now and nobody answered my question. I think I should give up hacking.

                                  When I try to insert it into the ROM, it has one of the following problems:

                                  1. It says "Ptr found at [insert hex number here]. Changed." And when I flip back to the sprite, it is inverted (sorta) with a pitch-black background!
                                  2. The sides are cut off.
                                  3. There is a sharing violence.
                                  4. The sprite messes up and there is a background around it when I play the ROM.

                                  If this question is not answered by the next time I get here, I'm cancelling Dark Red and all of my other projects.
                                  I really would care less about you cancelling your hack.

                                  However, have you chacked if it's in 64x64 in size?
                                  also, it is supposed to look like the old sprite with an inverted pallete if you insert a new sprite.

                                  check the other pages and i have demonstarted how it looks in game around here in this thread.


                                  edit:
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by Time View Post
                                  okay... they work pretty fine and perfect in my case. :\
                                  Spoiler:





                                  I really do not know why it doesn't work in your case. however, I am also sure this works in FireRed as well.
                                  I got no time though, busy in real life. :\
                                  but if you wish, I can post some proof that this method does work in FireRed as well. But maybe later. :\

                                  Maybe you have overwritten an offset which was already have been used. :\


                                  EDIT

                                  here's proof that it also works with FireRed. :\
                                  Spoiler:

                                  __________________


                                  FC: 0061-1111-6462
                                  TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

                                  Reply With Quote
                                    #47    
                                  Old September 1st, 2008 (6:50 PM).
                                  timson733333's Avatar
                                  timson733333 timson733333 is offline
                                  Woah.
                                     
                                    Join Date: Mar 2007
                                    Location: Stealth!
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Quiet
                                    Posts: 130
                                    Thanks! ^_^ I will try that.
                                    Reply With Quote
                                      #48    
                                    Old September 4th, 2008 (8:18 AM).
                                    Raging_Lugia's Avatar
                                    Raging_Lugia Raging_Lugia is offline
                                    ProjectPokemon Member
                                       
                                      Join Date: Aug 2008
                                      Location: A house
                                      Gender:
                                      Nature: Adamant
                                      Posts: 89
                                      can you do all this but just put it into pokemon diamond ds?
                                      __________________
                                      http://www.pokeclan.megalogs.net/
                                      ^new pokemon Site
                                      visit it its got lots of pokemon hacks,news
                                      Reply With Quote
                                        #49    
                                      Old September 11th, 2008 (5:05 PM).
                                      Kaizer-X's Avatar
                                      Kaizer-X Kaizer-X is offline
                                      RoM HaCkeR
                                         
                                        Join Date: Mar 2008
                                        Location: Look outside your window and you will see me there
                                        Age: 26
                                        Gender:
                                        Nature: Bold
                                        Posts: 391
                                        hey time, i tried inserting some d/p sprites using ur tutorial but in the end i got only the same pokemon with different pallets. is that suppose to happen?
                                        and when i tried playing the game the sprites are okay but instead it is in the backsprite postion of the sprite
                                        __________________








                                        LINKS:
                                        MY HACK:
                                        Pokemon Twilight: Road to Dreams
                                        MY TEAM:
                                        Rom Tempest Crew
                                        NEWLETTER:
                                        Rom Hacking Newsletter
                                        Credit to Rényui for theme
                                        Reply With Quote
                                          #50    
                                        Old September 11th, 2008 (5:11 PM).
                                        destinedjagold's Avatar
                                        destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
                                        Oh Hai Thar~
                                        • Silver Tier
                                         
                                        Join Date: May 2007
                                        Location: Philippines
                                        Age: 27
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Careful
                                        Posts: 8,574
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by Kaizer-X View Post
                                        hey time, i tried inserting some d/p sprites using ur tutorial but in the end i got only the same pokemon with different pallets. is that suppose to happen?
                                        and when i tried playing the game the sprites are okay but instead it is in the backsprite postion of the sprite
                                        I already explained it like just a few post above yours.
                                        They are suppose to happen.

                                        but I don't know why the backsprites are the only ones which shows up.
                                        __________________


                                        FC: 0061-1111-6462
                                        TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

                                        Reply With Quote
                                        Reply

                                        Quick Reply

                                        Join the conversation!

                                        Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                        Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                        Sponsored Links
                                        Thread Tools

                                        Posting Rules
                                        You may not post new threads
                                        You may not post replies
                                        You may not post attachments
                                        You may not edit your posts

                                        BB code is On
                                        Smilies are On
                                        [IMG] code is On
                                        HTML code is Off

                                        Forum Jump


                                        All times are GMT -8. The time now is 4:28 AM.