The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Tutorial Taking Advantage of the Title Screen (FR/LG)

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #26    
Old November 16th, 2008 (8:47 PM). Edited November 17th, 2008 by Liquid Shadow.
Liquid Shadow's Avatar
Liquid Shadow Liquid Shadow is offline
xD
     
    Join Date: Mar 2008
    Gender:
    Posts: 223
    Ok.. I have a problem.. =(
    I made my image, and yes I made it a 16 color palette and it turned out quite nice. Then, I imported that image over the gamefreak one, but since it was too big to be written I changed the Image Offset to 845000. It worked, and the image was written to the game (firered). Then, after like an hour of trying to make the tilemap I finished it. I used NTME, not cyclone because it's messed up for me. anyway, I saved it as RAW and when I import it into UnlZ there is no image there. It's just blank. If I try to write it to the game anyway, nothing happens and the tilemap of gamefreak gets replaced with a blank one. I've been trying to make it work all day but to no avail. Anyone knows what's up with it?

    Oh and I managed to change the Pokemon to celebi so that worked fine I duno what's up with this image.

    Here is my image and tilemap for reference:

    Spoiler:


    Oh and bananapeelz... You replace the charizard picture with another picture of a pokemon you want to insert. After that you insert the tilemap.
    Search some tuts on UnlZ or something.

    Relevant Advertising!

      #27    
    Old November 17th, 2008 (8:05 PM).
    Bananapeelz's Avatar
    Bananapeelz Bananapeelz is offline
       
      Join Date: Oct 2008
      Posts: 11
      ya thats what i did, and i did it all right but whenever i opened up my game, charizard just wasnt there
        #28    
      Old November 17th, 2008 (8:16 PM).
      Darthatron's Avatar
      Darthatron Darthatron is offline
      巨大なトロール。
      • Silver Tier
       
      Join Date: Jan 2006
      Location: Melbourne, Australia
      Age: 25
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Modest
      Posts: 1,152
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by halobro35 View Post
      Ok.. I have a problem.. =(
      I made my image, and yes I made it a 16 color palette and it turned out quite nice. Then, I imported that image over the gamefreak one, but since it was too big to be written I changed the Image Offset to 845000. It worked, and the image was written to the game (firered). Then, after like an hour of trying to make the tilemap I finished it. I used NTME, not cyclone because it's messed up for me. anyway, I saved it as RAW and when I import it into UnlZ there is no image there. It's just blank. If I try to write it to the game anyway, nothing happens and the tilemap of gamefreak gets replaced with a blank one. I've been trying to make it work all day but to no avail. Anyone knows what's up with it?

      Oh and I managed to change the Pokemon to celebi so that worked fine I duno what's up with this image.

      Here is my image and tilemap for reference:

      Spoiler:


      Oh and bananapeelz... You replace the charizard picture with another picture of a pokemon you want to insert. After that you insert the tilemap.
      Search some tuts on UnlZ or something.
      Did you fix the pointers?
      __________________
      あなた は しきしゃ です
      わたし は ばか です
        #29    
      Old November 17th, 2008 (8:50 PM). Edited November 18th, 2008 by Liquid Shadow.
      Liquid Shadow's Avatar
      Liquid Shadow Liquid Shadow is offline
      xD
         
        Join Date: Mar 2008
        Gender:
        Posts: 223
        You mean by checking the box "automatically fix pointers" then yes. If not, then no. But that's not my problem.. or I don't think so.. Because if I just import my tilemap into UnlZ, the current tilemap gets replaced by a blank image. Meaning, UnlZ won't read the tilemap or something... If I write it to the game anyway, and I check UnlZ again for the gamefreak tilemap, it's just a blank tilemap. Any help?

        EDIT: OK...It's either my UnlZ GBA or my ROM, because if I make a RAW DUMP of the original Gamefreak tilemap and then try to re-import that same tilemap into UnlZ, the tilemap is replaced by a blank image.

        EDIT 2: Problem solved... was my game. XD
          #30    
        Old November 19th, 2008 (9:01 AM). Edited November 20th, 2008 by torferno lvl-X.
        torferno lvl-X's Avatar
        torferno lvl-X torferno lvl-X is offline
        learning asm
           
          Join Date: Sep 2008
          Gender:
          Nature: Relaxed
          Posts: 148
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by thethethethe View Post
          Well don't take this the wrong way or anything, but if you've been hacking for a year, and you still don't have the basic skill of finding a palette without APE, you must have wasted a hell of a lot of time.
          Yeah sorry you're right, I have been hacking for a year but I've been on and off it and I've been focused on scripting and stuff mainly. Sorry, its just I don't like sarcasm that much,(nervous hypocrtitical sideways glance). And the offsets VBA gives me don't work. So......
          __________________
          The best hacks ever:
          Spoiler:




          I'm a spriter for



          Insert new pokemon WITHOUT removing old ones up to 25!
          Tom's PokePet

          Charizard the level 36 Charizard!

          For All GBC hackers!
            #31    
          Old November 27th, 2008 (12:38 PM).
          Aljam's Avatar
          Aljam Aljam is offline
          Pierce the heavens
          • Gold Tier
           
          Join Date: Jul 2008
          Location: Canada
          Age: 23
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Modest
          Posts: 583
          after i put in the tileset and picture, i get to the part where u have to change the pallete. when i load my pallete off set some of the colours have a pink box and the colours are black. Can ya Help
          __________________
          Paired with Druyii.
            #32    
          Old November 30th, 2008 (1:30 AM).
          loitraitim's Avatar
          loitraitim loitraitim is offline
          Hoài Niệm Dấu Yêu
             
            Join Date: Sep 2007
            Location: Vietnam
            Age: 25
            Gender: Female
            Nature: Lonely
            Posts: 65
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by aljam View Post
            after i put in the tileset and picture, i get to the part where u have to change the pallete. when i load my pallete off set some of the colours have a pink box and the colours are black. Can ya Help
            You can see it...
            You open VBA, open ROM, play to Tittle screen!
            After, you click Tools --> Pallete Viewer, Save file pal!

            Open VBA, Search file pal! You can see it :D

            Goodluck ^^
            __________________
              #33    
            Old December 4th, 2008 (8:02 PM).
            cyberzero's Avatar
            cyberzero cyberzero is offline
            New Hacker. Fast Learner.
               
              Join Date: Nov 2008
              Posts: 11
              everythings been working great for me, but when i go to file > load RAW, it says "RAW too big"
              I did everything in this, I don't know what I did wrong
              any help please?
                #34    
              Old December 7th, 2008 (12:45 PM).
              wingzro17's Avatar
              wingzro17 wingzro17 is offline
              ......................... .....
                 
                Join Date: Aug 2007
                Location: Under a box, near 31st street, on FAKE AVE. in FAKE YORK.
                Nature: Quiet
                Posts: 46
                Send a message via AIM to wingzro17 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to wingzro17
                I have a really bad problem. When I load and write the RAW to the ROM, the Pokemon at the intro takes the palette of the "Pokemon logo".

                Here's an exapmle:
                Spoiler:
                  #35    
                Old December 16th, 2008 (11:16 AM).
                NTA's Avatar
                NTA NTA is offline
                Where?
                   
                  Join Date: Nov 2007
                  Nature: Adamant
                  Posts: 264
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by wingzro17 View Post
                  I have a really bad problem. When I load and write the RAW to the ROM, the Pokemon at the intro takes the palette of the "Pokemon logo".

                  Here's an exapmle:
                  Spoiler:
                  did u set the plaette to 14?
                    #36    
                  Old December 16th, 2008 (3:06 PM).
                  wingzro17's Avatar
                  wingzro17 wingzro17 is offline
                  ......................... .....
                     
                    Join Date: Aug 2007
                    Location: Under a box, near 31st street, on FAKE AVE. in FAKE YORK.
                    Nature: Quiet
                    Posts: 46
                    Send a message via AIM to wingzro17 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to wingzro17
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Nine-Tailed Assassin View Post
                    did u set the plaette to 14?
                    That's most likely the reason... Thank you.
                      #37    
                    Old December 17th, 2008 (1:16 PM).
                    treecko 22's Avatar
                    treecko 22 treecko 22 is offline
                    Lucario 9's brother
                       
                      Join Date: Jul 2008
                      Gender:
                      Posts: 19
                      wow ill be learning this for my hack thanks alot.
                      __________________
                      hacks i support:
                      Spoiler:


                        #38    
                      Old December 17th, 2008 (3:22 PM).
                      Anonamous's Avatar
                      Anonamous Anonamous is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Mar 2008
                        Gender:
                        Posts: 28
                        no matter what i seem to the pallet wont change i get a yellow picture of the item im trying to insert. i have tried al of the cyclone pallete options and they're not changing a thing
                          #39    
                        Old December 21st, 2008 (5:34 PM).
                        Semblance Semblance is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Aug 2008
                          Posts: 152
                          Um, what do you mane "indexing"? That's the only part of the tutorial that confuses me, good job!
                            #40    
                          Old December 22nd, 2008 (4:21 AM).
                          Bibliophibian's Avatar
                          Bibliophibian Bibliophibian is offline
                          Wonder Trade Addict
                             
                            Join Date: Jul 2008
                            Location: Goldenrod City
                            Age: 27
                            Gender: Female
                            Nature: Timid
                            Posts: 398
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Semblance View Post
                            Um, what do you mane "indexing"? That's the only part of the tutorial that confuses me, good job!
                            Indexing is when you decrease the color depth to 16 colors. You can do it using Irfanview.
                            If you need more help, do a forum search for "Indexing Spites" and there should be some tutorials.
                            __________________

                            FC: 4055-4446-2346
                            Safari Type: Fighting [Machoke, Pancham, Riolu]

                            PM if you add me and I'll add you back~

                              #41    
                            Old January 26th, 2009 (7:48 AM). Edited January 26th, 2009 by Aljam.
                            Aljam's Avatar
                            Aljam Aljam is offline
                            Pierce the heavens
                            • Gold Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Jul 2008
                            Location: Canada
                            Age: 23
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Modest
                            Posts: 583
                            here is a problem that i have at the bottom the letters flash like the press start and i dont know what i did wrong.

                            vid link http://ca.youtube.com/watch?v=exwJRybWeQk&feature=channel_page
                            __________________
                            Paired with Druyii.
                              #42    
                            Old January 26th, 2009 (11:20 PM).
                            Blazichu's Avatar
                            Blazichu Blazichu is offline
                            Bahhhh?
                               
                              Join Date: Mar 2006
                              Location: The ground?
                              Age: 26
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 1,388
                              Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Blazichu
                              No need to revive month old threads.

                              *Locks*
                              __________________

                              ←(left) the online world for life(MSN, PC etc.)~
                              Closed Thread
                              Quick Reply

                              Sponsored Links
                              Thread Tools

                              Posting Rules
                              You may not post new threads
                              You may not post replies
                              You may not post attachments
                              You may not edit your posts

                              BB code is On
                              Smilies are On
                              [IMG] code is On
                              HTML code is Off

                              Forum Jump


                              All times are GMT -8. The time now is 2:58 PM.