Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #51    
Old December 10th, 2008 (4:40 PM).
poddish's Avatar
poddish poddish is offline
Spirit Of Radio
     
    Join Date: May 2008
    Location: Earth
    Posts: 234
    wow... the first tut. on how to delete maps, hope you continue making this.
    __________________
    I believe children are the future.
    As such, we can do whatever we want, and in the future, when it's time to clean up our mess, they will have to do it for us.
    Reply With Quote

    Relevant Advertising!

      #52    
    Old December 10th, 2008 (6:57 PM).
    amtrax's Avatar
    amtrax amtrax is offline
    Pheonix will rule the world...
       
      Join Date: Sep 2008
      Age: 23
      Posts: 43
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by link12552 View Post
      The cave is a little ummmmmm.....

      Try making it look more like this:



      __________________________________________________________________________

      the gap up the side is for an item
      __________________
      Reply With Quote
        #53    
      Old December 11th, 2008 (12:14 AM).
      Spherical Ice's Avatar
      Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
      • Moderator
      • Silver Tier
       
      Join Date: Nov 2007
      Location: Bristol, UK
      Age: 19
      Posts: 5,186
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Korronensu View Post
      Okay... For adding wild pokemon... how do you determine which pokemon are meetable with which rods?
      I'm pretty sure that's defined in the Pokémon's stats, so you can't edit that via AMap, I think. Try using YAPE. Also, I think it's the same for how rare the Pokémon are.
      __________________

      A Pokemon that is discriminated!
      Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
      Reply With Quote
        #54    
      Old December 11th, 2008 (5:21 PM).
      link12552's Avatar
      link12552 link12552 is offline
      to measure how far we wonder
         
        Join Date: Dec 2007
        Location: The blue one
        Age: 21
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Calm
        Posts: 203
        Check out the new section:

        Map scripts

        Just started!
        Reply With Quote
          #55    
        Old December 19th, 2008 (8:31 AM).
        shot571
        Guest
           
          Posts: n/a
          im not sure that youll no the answer to this but i want to make a bulbasur garden thing in pallet town on fire red. i can make the maps just fine and the warps but when i go out of the place it always goes out of the door of the house in which you live.
          if u dont understand that ill put in simple terms. when i go in bulbasuar garden everything is fine but when i leave i come out of the wrong place pleaseeeee help me.
          Reply With Quote
            #56    
          Old December 19th, 2008 (9:31 AM).
          Hiche.. Hiche.. is offline
           
             
            Join Date: Apr 2008
            Posts: 979
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by shot571 View Post
            im not sure that youll no the answer to this but i want to make a bulbasur garden thing in pallet town on fire red. i can make the maps just fine and the warps but when i go out of the place it always goes out of the door of the house in which you live.
            if u dont understand that ill put in simple terms. when i go in bulbasuar garden everything is fine but when i leave i come out of the wrong place pleaseeeee help me.
            That's a simple problem in warping. Can you show us the map bank, number, and the warp number of the map you want to leave the garden to?
            Reply With Quote
              #57    
            Old December 22nd, 2008 (10:27 PM).
            landus landus is offline
               
              Join Date: Mar 2008
              Posts: 13
              hey sweet tutorial this helped alot
              Reply With Quote
                #58    
              Old December 23rd, 2008 (5:00 AM).
              swampert249's Avatar
              swampert249 swampert249 is offline
              finally got his braces off! :D
                 
                Join Date: Jun 2008
                Location: Our planet Earth (Just in case u think Im an alien)
                Age: 18
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Jolly
                Posts: 15
                I do not get it! How do u insert d/p map tiles?
                __________________
                Here is my website:
                http://www.joshb1z.webs.com/
                [spoiler]Josh's PokePet

                Beware the level 99 Swampert!
                Hacks i support...
                Reply With Quote
                  #59    
                Old January 7th, 2009 (11:34 AM).
                MegaMaccer's Avatar
                MegaMaccer MegaMaccer is offline
                If a tree falls in a forest
                   
                  Join Date: Dec 2008
                  Location: New Zealand
                  Age: 27
                  Posts: 276
                  Great Tutorial, this'll help new comers alot. keep it up!
                  __________________
                  Latest Torzach Updates:

                  The Hero sprite and Heroine overworlds, and Torzach's own Forum!
                  Reply With Quote
                    #60    
                  Old January 8th, 2009 (12:28 PM).
                  shazaam33's Avatar
                  shazaam33 shazaam33 is offline
                  Assassin Cross/Lord Knight
                     
                    Join Date: Sep 2008
                    Location: Yanille,Kandarin (RuneScape)
                    Age: 23
                    Gender:
                    Nature: Relaxed
                    Posts: 1
                    Thanks link12552 for this awsome tutorial. This one is the first out of a lot that is easy to understand.☺
                    Reply With Quote
                      #61    
                    Old January 8th, 2009 (2:43 PM).
                    TheNerdyPotato's Avatar
                    TheNerdyPotato TheNerdyPotato is offline
                    Feraligatr is actually a Croc!
                       
                      Join Date: Dec 2008
                      Location: Idaho
                      Age: 23
                      Nature: Rash
                      Posts: 136
                      is there any easy way to get a pokemon from the Prof Oak pokeballs without using the event, like I want to just walk up and press it, see the pokemon and get it.
                      Also im a newb at this
                      Reply With Quote
                        #62    
                      Old January 10th, 2009 (4:19 AM). Edited January 10th, 2009 by V.
                      V's Avatar
                      V V is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Jan 2009
                        Gender:
                        Nature: Calm
                        Posts: 5
                        Warps only work for me if they're in front staircases or on doors. They won't work for me when I try connecting forest levels. Is there a restriction on warp events that will only allow them to work on certain tiles?



                        *EDIT*
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by swampert249 View Post
                        I do not get it! How do u insert d/p map tiles?
                        Edited tilesets? Sections 3-4
                        Spoiler:
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by link12552 View Post

                        3) Create new tiles


                        1. Click the puzzle piece.
                        2. Go to Picture > Save tileset1 and Save tileset2
                        3. Save them somewhere you can remember
                        4. Open them in paint
                        5. They should be in the palette color that was open, so set it accordingly
                        6. Look for a black block on the bottom
                        7. Draw your new tile
                        8. Make sure that the colors you use are the same as other ones in the image

                        [Can't include the picture in the quote because I haven't made 15+ posts D=]

                        ___________________________________________________
                        4) Insert those tiles


                        1. Click the puzzle piece.
                        2. Go to Picture > Load tileset1 and Load tileset2
                        3. Select the image files
                        4. Click save


                        Also, when I went back, I think I found the answer to my question in section 6. Please disregard my n00b-ness
                        Reply With Quote
                          #63    
                        Old January 10th, 2009 (8:36 AM).
                        GuyNamedSean's Avatar
                        GuyNamedSean GuyNamedSean is offline
                        Cobalt Scizor
                           
                          Join Date: May 2008
                          Age: 22
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Calm
                          Posts: 18
                          Is there a way to edit what the region map looks like? Or maybe just the town map?
                          __________________

                          !!!SEANSCIZOR!!! YES! I HAVE EVOLVED!!!

                          Yes, the Scyther and Quilava are RED with BLUE highlights...
                          No, I'm not crazy... I think...



                          Reply With Quote
                            #64    
                          Old January 10th, 2009 (3:54 PM).
                          HentaiHentai HentaiHentai is offline
                          Banned
                             
                            Join Date: Dec 2008
                            Location: Washington, USA
                            Age: 28
                            Gender:
                            Nature: Calm
                            Posts: 51
                            I liked this new most of it, however it would be cool if you could give greater examples of map scripts. Oh, btw ty for the tiles behaviour part that is something I hadnt noticed yet.
                            Reply With Quote
                              #65    
                            Old January 11th, 2009 (11:06 AM).
                            deathscythe deathscythe is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Mar 2005
                              Posts: 27
                              Great Tutorial... Thumbs up!

                              I need a little help on the inserting new map.

                              Using Ruby version... I've recreate a map 24,14 and resize it to Width [ 35 ] and Height [ 100 ].



                              Once everything is done, I've always test out everything from the beginning and I encounter this major bug.



                              Any tips or idea on how to fix this, or avoid it?
                              Reply With Quote
                                #66    
                              Old January 11th, 2009 (6:59 PM).
                              V's Avatar
                              V V is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Jan 2009
                                Gender:
                                Nature: Calm
                                Posts: 5
                                That's one of the many reasons why I don't play around with scripts
                                I've tried reading tutorials about scripting various things, but once I start reading all of the random gibberish and all of those numbers... well, everything just goes in one eye and out the other.
                                Reply With Quote
                                  #67    
                                Old January 13th, 2009 (2:16 PM). Edited January 14th, 2009 by Blazichu.
                                link12552's Avatar
                                link12552 link12552 is offline
                                to measure how far we wonder
                                   
                                  Join Date: Dec 2007
                                  Location: The blue one
                                  Age: 21
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Calm
                                  Posts: 203
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by TheNerdyPotato View Post
                                  is there any easy way to get a pokemon from the Prof Oak pokeballs without using the event, like I want to just walk up and press it, see the pokemon and get it.
                                  Also im a newb at this
                                  First can you tell me which scripting language you are using?

                                  (ie: XSE, PKSV, Pokescript)

                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by deathscythe View Post
                                  Great Tutorial... Thumbs up!

                                  I need a little help on the inserting new map.

                                  Using Ruby version... I've recreate a map 24,14 and resize it to Width [ 35 ] and Height [ 100 ].



                                  Once everything is done, I've always test out everything from the beginning and I encounter this major bug.



                                  Any tips or idea on how to fix this, or avoid it?
                                  This is not neccisarily a mapping error, but a scripting eror.

                                  This happens when you put any new scripts in without using a new pionter for texts,

                                  Solutions:
                                  • Open advance map save the map and add it to a fresh rom
                                  • Open all the scripts from the rom and look for problems in text/messages
                                  • Use advance map and correct the error.
                                  To aviod the problem in the futture, use free space finder(s) to look for offsets to use.
                                  Reply With Quote
                                    #68    
                                  Old January 15th, 2009 (2:14 PM).
                                  Snyser's Avatar
                                  Snyser Snyser is offline
                                  Champion
                                     
                                    Join Date: Sep 2008
                                    Location: Forgotten!! LOL
                                    Gender:
                                    Posts: 117
                                    your tutorial helped me alot!!
                                    __________________
                                    Supporter

                                    Join http://www.pokemon-metropolis.co.cc/ TODAY!!
                                    its has alot of features and its free to join you can even play cool games all in one + Its updated a lot!! so join and ask all you'r friends to come allong (JOIN NOW!!)
                                    Reply With Quote
                                      #69    
                                    Old January 16th, 2009 (11:55 PM).
                                    deathscythe deathscythe is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: Mar 2005
                                      Posts: 27
                                      This is not neccisarily a mapping error, but a scripting eror.

                                      This happens when you put any new scripts in without using a new pionter for texts,

                                      Solutions:
                                      • Open advance map save the map and add it to a fresh rom
                                      • Open all the scripts from the rom and look for problems in text/messages
                                      • Use advance map and correct the error.
                                      To aviod the problem in the futture, use free space finder(s) to look for offsets to use. [/QUOTE]


                                      "This happens when you put any new scripts in without using a new pionter for texts"

                                      Fyi, I did not put any new script. All I adds was a couple of WARP. Eitherway, even I redo it again from a backup rom, the problem starts when I resize the map larger then it's original size. Which now, give you a hint that map resizing will not be 100% safe.

                                      Question:
                                      1. How do OPEN ALL SCRIPT from the ROM? Are you mean to say in the map itself or the whole entire rom? There's no program so far which I seen has that capability. Will you please elaborate.


                                      2. The error which I have is coming from the Starting Introductions, and AMAP does not go that far. AMap only edit maps. How do I correct the error using AMap?


                                      3. I've using #dynamic 0x800000 method for my scripting so FSF is quite useless for me. Even so, how do you actually calculate how much space you wanted for the new MAP?
                                      __________________
                                      I SUPPORT!





                                      Reply With Quote
                                        #70    
                                      Old January 23rd, 2009 (6:27 AM).
                                      link12552's Avatar
                                      link12552 link12552 is offline
                                      to measure how far we wonder
                                         
                                        Join Date: Dec 2007
                                        Location: The blue one
                                        Age: 21
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Calm
                                        Posts: 203


                                        "This happens when you put any new scripts in without using a new pionter for texts"

                                        Fyi, I did not put any new script. All I adds was a couple of WARP. Eitherway, even I redo it again from a backup rom, the problem starts when I resize the map larger then it's original size. Which now, give you a hint that map resizing will not be 100% safe.

                                        Question:
                                        1. How do OPEN ALL SCRIPT from the ROM? Are you mean to say in the map itself or the whole entire rom? There's no program so far which I seen has that capability. Will you please elaborate.


                                        2. The error which I have is coming from the Starting Introductions, and AMAP does not go that far. AMap only edit maps. How do I correct the error using AMap?


                                        3. I've using #dynamic 0x800000 method for my scripting so FSF is quite useless for me. Even so, how do you actually calculate how much space you wanted for the new MAP?[/quote]

                                        In the post I meant to say Advance Text sorry for the typo

                                        Secondly when your scripting in XSE the dynamic tells it where to start the scripts offset. FSF finds an unused offset so that when you're compilling it doesn't erase or even mess up your script.

                                        Also AMAP 1.90 & 1.91 have a map ressising error. For best results use 1.92.

                                        IMPORTANT: when inserting a new map or any thing in AMAP, caution yourself from ussing the first offset you see.
                                        The first sometimes leads to errors in the rom.

                                        ________________________________________________

                                        Notice: I do most of my scripting in pokescript, I am still familiar with using XSE, but it's just that I use more for ediiting or revising my scripts.

                                        If you have any more questions about this error PM me.
                                        Reply With Quote
                                          #71    
                                        Old January 25th, 2009 (4:25 PM).
                                        Chibi Robo's Avatar
                                        Chibi Robo Chibi Robo is offline
                                        of the entire epoch!
                                        • Silver Tier
                                         
                                        Join Date: Aug 2008
                                        Location: Cali
                                        Age: 21
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Jolly
                                        Posts: 853
                                        Im having a problem when Im saving the tileset on my computer it says when I open it on paint that it cant work with the saved format
                                        __________________
                                        Pair: Vrai
                                        Reply With Quote
                                          #72    
                                        Old January 25th, 2009 (4:37 PM).
                                        link12552's Avatar
                                        link12552 link12552 is offline
                                        to measure how far we wonder
                                           
                                          Join Date: Dec 2007
                                          Location: The blue one
                                          Age: 21
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Calm
                                          Posts: 203
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by HFI View Post
                                          Im having a problem when Im saving the tileset on my computer it says when I open it on paint that it cant work with the saved format
                                          1st make sure that your picking the right option:
                                          You have to be under "Picture"





                                          ______________________________________________
                                          MSPaint should be able to open the image file.

                                          P.S. Isn't this in my tutorial?

                                          Reply With Quote
                                            #73    
                                          Old January 26th, 2009 (7:24 AM).
                                          Chibi Robo's Avatar
                                          Chibi Robo Chibi Robo is offline
                                          of the entire epoch!
                                          • Silver Tier
                                           
                                          Join Date: Aug 2008
                                          Location: Cali
                                          Age: 21
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Jolly
                                          Posts: 853
                                          Ohhhhh thanks thats going to help a lot more!
                                          __________________
                                          Pair: Vrai
                                          Reply With Quote
                                            #74    
                                          Old January 28th, 2009 (6:35 PM).
                                          V.L.'s Avatar
                                          V.L. V.L. is offline
                                          The site's biggest noob
                                             
                                            Join Date: Aug 2008
                                            Location: CANADA!
                                            Gender:
                                            Nature: Quirky
                                            Posts: 41
                                            Is it possible to add a flying position to a place that doesn't normally have one?
                                            __________________
                                            *is a noob here*

                                            Well, this signature blatantly sucks. It'll be better someday, I swear.


                                            Reply With Quote
                                              #75    
                                            Old January 30th, 2009 (4:53 AM).
                                            ZX_Fear ZX_Fear is offline
                                               
                                              Join Date: Jan 2009
                                              Gender:
                                              Posts: 3
                                              I have a problem. I can't Prof. Oak to follow me. He can't go to the lab properly. I also go to some place automatically and I appear inside the lab! Anyway on how to fix this?
                                              Reply With Quote
                                              Reply
                                              Quick Reply

                                              Sponsored Links
                                              Thread Tools

                                              Posting Rules
                                              You may not post new threads
                                              You may not post replies
                                              You may not post attachments
                                              You may not edit your posts

                                              BB code is On
                                              Smilies are On
                                              [IMG] code is On
                                              HTML code is Off

                                              Forum Jump


                                              All times are GMT -8. The time now is 7:15 AM.