Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #26    
Old June 29th, 2009 (2:22 PM).
Link_971's Avatar
Link_971 Link_971 is offline
French Rom-Hacker
     
    Join Date: Jul 2006
    Location: France
    Age: 24
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Relaxed
    Posts: 212
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by -DarK- View Post
    Well, if the pointers for the sprites can be changed, so should the pointers for the cries, I guess. Or not?
    Yes, but before we need to create tool for this.

    And R/S/E capture : Freeze
    FR/LG capture : OK (with not entries)
    Reply With Quote

    Relevant Advertising!

      #27    
    Old June 29th, 2009 (6:39 PM).
    Gloosh's Avatar
    Gloosh Gloosh is offline
    Is Playsing the Porkemons.
       
      Join Date: Jun 2009
      Location: H-TOWN BABY!!!!
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Bold
      Posts: 14
      I used this to put in 2 sprites and it worked perfectly. (Bulbasaur and Charmander)
      Then I changed the back sprite of Bulbasaur.
      I entered the battle with Gary and the back sprite of my new pokemon was there, but the coloring was completely messed up

      HALP?
      Reply With Quote
        #28    
      Old June 29th, 2009 (6:44 PM).
      Link_971's Avatar
      Link_971 Link_971 is offline
      French Rom-Hacker
         
        Join Date: Jul 2006
        Location: France
        Age: 24
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Relaxed
        Posts: 212
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Gloosh View Post
        I used this to put in 2 sprites and it worked perfectly. (Bulbasaur and Charmander)
        Then I changed the back sprite of Bulbasaur.
        I entered the battle with Gary and the back sprite of my new pokemon was there, but the coloring was completely messed up

        HALP?
        Change offset of the palette with RS Ball.
        Reply With Quote
          #29    
        Old June 29th, 2009 (10:11 PM).
        -DarK- -DarK- is offline
        Hold Your Colour
           
          Join Date: Jun 2007
          Location: Belgium
          Age: 24
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Brave
          Posts: 185
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Gloosh View Post
          I used this to put in 2 sprites and it worked perfectly. (Bulbasaur and Charmander)
          Then I changed the back sprite of Bulbasaur.
          I entered the battle with Gary and the back sprite of my new pokemon was there, but the coloring was completely messed up

          HALP?
          The backsprite must have the exact same pallete as the normal sprite, because they use that same one in-game.
          Reply With Quote
            #30    
          Old June 29th, 2009 (11:23 PM).
          amtrax's Avatar
          amtrax amtrax is offline
          Pheonix will rule the world...
             
            Join Date: Sep 2008
            Age: 23
            Posts: 43
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by -DarK- View Post
            The backsprite must have the exact same pallete as the normal sprite, because they use that same one in-game.
            actually your backsprite should have the shiny pallete while the front sprite has the normal pallete and the games programming shares the pallates and recognizes the back sprite as the shiny pallete

            anyway i had the problem of the black screen upon encountering the pokemon inserted over a ? spot after celebi aswell
            __________________
            Reply With Quote
              #31    
            Old June 30th, 2009 (8:35 AM).
            PlatniumPiano's Avatar
            PlatniumPiano PlatniumPiano is offline
            You are now breathing manually
               
              Join Date: Dec 2008
              Location: Yesterday
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Lax
              Posts: 480
              Haha thanks this tutorial really helped alot:


              I didn't really want to fight a dude BUT oh well lol.

              I do have one question, though:

              Is it possible to edit/add a new trainer into uNLZ? Because that's kinda what I wanted to insert but I got a Pokemon instead lol
              __________________

              If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice.
              Reply With Quote
                #32    
              Old June 30th, 2009 (9:25 AM).
              FinalZero's Avatar
              FinalZero FinalZero is offline
              ...
                 
                Join Date: Dec 2008
                Posts: 113
                Quote:
                Yes, but before we need to create tool for this.

                And R/S/E capture : Freeze
                FR/LG capture : OK (with not entries)
                What do you mean: "(with not entries)"? Do you mean that there just isn't any pokedex entries?

                Btw, those offsets you posted are for the cries right?

                Quote:
                Is it possible to edit/add a new trainer into uNLZ? Because that's kinda what I wanted to insert but I got a Pokemon instead lol
                Well, it's easy enough to add the graphic to the rom with UNLZ, and it's easy to create a new trainer with PET (or some variant), there's plenty of empty trainer entries in a rom. The problem is I don't know how to assign the picture to the trainer. I'll run some tests tonight and see if I can figure something out;

                Btw, speaking of the pokedex earlier, does anyone know how to edit the part of the pokedex in FRLG that lets one go through entries by the habitat of the pokemon? I'm saying, if one added pokemon to the ?????????? spots, would there be some way to add them to the habitat part also?

                Also, on the subject of adding pokemon, does anyone know how to repoint the learned moves list of pokemon? That is, if one added a pokemon, they wouldn't be abled to tell it to learn moves unless they deleted some that already exist for other pokemon. (Same situation for egg moves, which I'm working on... slowly...)
                Reply With Quote
                  #33    
                Old June 30th, 2009 (12:45 PM). Edited June 30th, 2009 by liveitout.
                liveitout's Avatar
                liveitout liveitout is offline
                What? Where?
                   
                  Join Date: Jun 2009
                  Location: Canada
                  Age: 24
                  Gender: Female
                  Nature: Adamant
                  Posts: 40
                  You might want to add a little disclaimer to your tutorial: it doesn't work in Emerald. The sprite can be changed, but its palette will stay the same.

                  Okay, I managed to change a sprite image in Ruby. (Yay.) But I can't change any of the other attributes, like attacks and type. Pokemon Editor says that everything saves fine, but when I load the game, Electrike is still an electric Pokemon with the same attacks.
                  __________________
                  Wal-mart (a haiku)

                  Tendrils spreading wide,
                  Oh bastion of urban sprawl
                  Fill us with your grace.
                  Reply With Quote
                    #34    
                  Old June 30th, 2009 (1:04 PM). Edited June 30th, 2009 by FinalZero.
                  FinalZero's Avatar
                  FinalZero FinalZero is offline
                  ...
                     
                    Join Date: Dec 2008
                    Posts: 113
                    Quote:
                    What do you suppose I did wrong?
                    When you put the sprite into the rom with UNLZ, you have to check the "export pallete" box also, then repoint the pokemon's offsets to the sprite AND pallete with Pokemon Editor or some other program (Pokemon Editor is the only one that I'm aware of.).

                    Also, a small note about Pokemon Editor Pro: It switches the base xp and catch rate when you save (my version does this at least). I don't know if the author ever released a version that fixes this or not. So, to make sure the base xp and catch rate stay correct, hit the save button twice so it switches it back correctly on the second hit. Anyone else have this problem with Pokemon Editor Pro?
                    Reply With Quote
                      #35    
                    Old June 30th, 2009 (1:40 PM).
                    liveitout's Avatar
                    liveitout liveitout is offline
                    What? Where?
                       
                      Join Date: Jun 2009
                      Location: Canada
                      Age: 24
                      Gender: Female
                      Nature: Adamant
                      Posts: 40
                      Sorry, I edited my post since then. Yes, I checked all of the boxes and repointed everything. I think it's just Emerald. I'm using Ruby now, and it's much better with the sprites, but I still can't edit anything aside from sprite graphics.
                      __________________
                      Wal-mart (a haiku)

                      Tendrils spreading wide,
                      Oh bastion of urban sprawl
                      Fill us with your grace.
                      Reply With Quote
                        #36    
                      Old June 30th, 2009 (2:04 PM).
                      FinalZero's Avatar
                      FinalZero FinalZero is offline
                      ...
                         
                        Join Date: Dec 2008
                        Posts: 113
                        Quote:
                        I think it's just Emerald.
                        Oh, I didn't know it was emerald you were working with. If you explore an Emerald rom with UNLZ, you'll see why sprites mess up; Emeralds are twice as large to include the graphic movement that begins when a pokemon comes out.

                        I'm not sure why Pokemon Editor Pro (hencforth PEP) isn't working for you. I can only ask you to make sure you're editing and testing the same rom.

                        Quote:
                        Yes, I checked all of the boxes and repointed everything.
                        Well, you actually only need the the "Export Image" and "Export Pallet" checked. You only need "Auto abort..." if you're replacing an already existing picture instead of putting it in empty space (lots of FFs or 00s). I've never used the "automatically fix pointers" option. I do all my repointing of pokemon sprites through PEP.
                        Reply With Quote
                          #37    
                        Old June 30th, 2009 (3:05 PM). Edited June 30th, 2009 by liveitout.
                        liveitout's Avatar
                        liveitout liveitout is offline
                        What? Where?
                           
                          Join Date: Jun 2009
                          Location: Canada
                          Age: 24
                          Gender: Female
                          Nature: Adamant
                          Posts: 40
                          I think I know why it might not work with Emerald - isn't Emerald's free space byte 00 instead of FF? As for the animations, there's no problem with that at all. I edited my sprite so that its tail wiggled a bit, and it worked. The only error is with the palette.

                          Edit: Well, I've solved my problem. I was changing info for the wrong Pokemon. xDD It works perfectly now (in Ruby, at least).
                          __________________
                          Wal-mart (a haiku)

                          Tendrils spreading wide,
                          Oh bastion of urban sprawl
                          Fill us with your grace.
                          Reply With Quote
                            #38    
                          Old June 30th, 2009 (3:33 PM).
                          Link_971's Avatar
                          Link_971 Link_971 is offline
                          French Rom-Hacker
                             
                            Join Date: Jul 2006
                            Location: France
                            Age: 24
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Relaxed
                            Posts: 212
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by FinalZero View Post
                            What do you mean: "(with not entries)"?
                            "Without entries", sorry.


                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by liveitout View Post
                            You might want to add a little disclaimer to your tutorial: it doesn't work in Emerald.
                            No. It works for Emerald, and all versions too.



                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by liveitout View Post
                            I think I know why it might not work with Emerald - isn't Emerald's free space byte 00 instead of FF?
                            You need FF free space, in all versions, for insert new sprites with palettes.
                            Reply With Quote
                              #39    
                            Old June 30th, 2009 (6:30 PM).
                            liveitout's Avatar
                            liveitout liveitout is offline
                            What? Where?
                               
                              Join Date: Jun 2009
                              Location: Canada
                              Age: 24
                              Gender: Female
                              Nature: Adamant
                              Posts: 40
                              Quote:
                              You need FF free space, in all versions, for insert new sprites with palettes.
                              According to XSE's scripting guide, Emerald's free space byte is 00.
                              __________________
                              Wal-mart (a haiku)

                              Tendrils spreading wide,
                              Oh bastion of urban sprawl
                              Fill us with your grace.
                              Reply With Quote
                                #40    
                              Old June 30th, 2009 (6:48 PM).
                              tpravetz tpravetz is offline
                              ... doesn't exist.
                              • Crystal Tier
                               
                              Join Date: May 2009
                              Location: In a swirling vortex of impending doom
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Careful
                              Posts: 76
                              I put up a note on Emerald. I never use Emerald, and it is very rarely used as a hacking base, so I don't know how to edit the animation and all that, but I am pretty sure that will work for fixing the palette...
                              __________________
                              Join the Suro revolution |Win the war of Majasuroshia| Fight the Oppressors
                              Reply With Quote
                                #41    
                              Old June 30th, 2009 (8:39 PM).
                              FinalZero's Avatar
                              FinalZero FinalZero is offline
                              ...
                                 
                                Join Date: Dec 2008
                                Posts: 113
                                Quote:
                                According to XSE's scripting guide, Emerald's free space byte is 00.
                                It has both. In the middle of the rom it has patches of 00s, but at the end there's a large chunk of FFs. Anyways, you shouldn't be hacking Emerald; It's notoriously unstable.
                                Reply With Quote
                                  #42    
                                Old July 1st, 2009 (10:41 AM).
                                onyx79's Avatar
                                onyx79 onyx79 is offline
                                Red Dead Revolver
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jan 2009
                                  Location: Orange Islands (=
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Modest
                                  Posts: 503
                                  no non noooooooo
                                  this is my final result:
                                  I'm getting sick about it,I'm doing evrything and I get this stupid girugamesh!
                                  __________________
                                  my room base: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpost.php?p=5397075&postcount=64
                                  Reply With Quote
                                    #43    
                                  Old July 1st, 2009 (11:51 AM).
                                  tpravetz tpravetz is offline
                                  ... doesn't exist.
                                  • Crystal Tier
                                   
                                  Join Date: May 2009
                                  Location: In a swirling vortex of impending doom
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Careful
                                  Posts: 76
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by onyx79 View Post
                                  no non noooooooo
                                  this is my final result:
                                  I'm getting sick about it,I'm doing evrything and I get this stupid girugamesh!

                                  What ROM are you using Onyx?
                                  __________________
                                  Join the Suro revolution |Win the war of Majasuroshia| Fight the Oppressors
                                  Reply With Quote
                                    #44    
                                  Old July 1st, 2009 (12:58 PM).
                                  -DarK- -DarK- is offline
                                  Hold Your Colour
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jun 2007
                                    Location: Belgium
                                    Age: 24
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Brave
                                    Posts: 185
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by tpravetz View Post
                                    What ROM are you using Onyx?
                                    And also, can you tell step-by-step what exactly you did?
                                    Reply With Quote
                                      #45    
                                    Old July 1st, 2009 (5:41 PM).
                                    tpravetz tpravetz is offline
                                    ... doesn't exist.
                                    • Crystal Tier
                                     
                                    Join Date: May 2009
                                    Location: In a swirling vortex of impending doom
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Careful
                                    Posts: 76
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by -DarK- View Post
                                    And also, can you tell step-by-step what exactly you did?
                                    Yes, that too. That'd definitely help us diagnose your problem...
                                    __________________
                                    Join the Suro revolution |Win the war of Majasuroshia| Fight the Oppressors
                                    Reply With Quote
                                      #46    
                                    Old July 1st, 2009 (7:48 PM).
                                    onyx79's Avatar
                                    onyx79 onyx79 is offline
                                    Red Dead Revolver
                                       
                                      Join Date: Jan 2009
                                      Location: Orange Islands (=
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Modest
                                      Posts: 503
                                      the room I use is fire red
                                      __________________
                                      my room base: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpost.php?p=5397075&postcount=64
                                      Reply With Quote
                                        #47    
                                      Old July 1st, 2009 (8:18 PM).
                                      Cyclone Dragon's Avatar
                                      Cyclone Dragon Cyclone Dragon is offline
                                      Dragon & Video Game Fanatic
                                         
                                        Join Date: Jun 2009
                                        Location: Hyrule
                                        Gender: Female
                                        Nature: Jolly
                                        Posts: 20
                                        This looks really awesome, and I tried to do it, but im having a small problem; in step 11 when I go to FSF and try to open the ROM i downloaded, it doesn't show up.. I checked it out online, and it said something about a nds file and a emulator? Do you know what im talking about? im confused, It says that you need an emulator to open a nds. file. So did i download something wrong? Or can someone explain to me how to open an nds file...

                                        Also Is this only for a certain game? because i have platnium and diamond, and i downloaded a platnium ROM, could that be the problem...? I mean like is this only for Fire Red, or emerald?
                                        __________________

                                        (^ Pokemon Team Unfinished^)


                                        "Duct tape is like the force. It has a light side, a dark side, and it holds the world together."
                                        Reply With Quote
                                          #48    
                                        Old July 1st, 2009 (8:51 PM).
                                        tpravetz tpravetz is offline
                                        ... doesn't exist.
                                        • Crystal Tier
                                         
                                        Join Date: May 2009
                                        Location: In a swirling vortex of impending doom
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Careful
                                        Posts: 76
                                        FSF only works for GBA files, and Platinum is a NDS. I have never tried doing this with a NDS file, but I would be willing to bet my bottom dollar that it won't work... Sorry...
                                        __________________
                                        Join the Suro revolution |Win the war of Majasuroshia| Fight the Oppressors
                                        Reply With Quote
                                          #49    
                                        Old July 1st, 2009 (9:06 PM).
                                        onyx79's Avatar
                                        onyx79 onyx79 is offline
                                        Red Dead Revolver
                                           
                                          Join Date: Jan 2009
                                          Location: Orange Islands (=
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Modest
                                          Posts: 503
                                          maybe my sprite wasn't good?I've tried to replace bulbusaur with a magmortar that I took from bulbapedia....
                                          __________________
                                          my room base: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpost.php?p=5397075&postcount=64
                                          Reply With Quote
                                            #50    
                                          Old July 1st, 2009 (9:31 PM).
                                          sky_queen3's Avatar
                                          sky_queen3 sky_queen3 is offline
                                          Mimikyu is cute :3
                                             
                                            Join Date: Feb 2009
                                            Location: Australia
                                            Age: 27
                                            Gender: Female
                                            Nature: Naive
                                            Posts: 263
                                            Quote:
                                            Originally Posted by onyx79 View Post
                                            maybe my sprite wasn't good?I've tried to replace bulbusaur with a magmortar that I took from bulbapedia....
                                            Hmm, have you triend shrinking it to 64*64 size?

                                            Nice tutorial by the way mate, now I can have Minusle and all the real Pokemon up yo 3rd gen. :D
                                            __________________
                                            Mimic me, mimic you
                                            Reply With Quote
                                            Reply
                                            Quick Reply

                                            Sponsored Links
                                            Thread Tools

                                            Posting Rules
                                            You may not post new threads
                                            You may not post replies
                                            You may not post attachments
                                            You may not edit your posts

                                            BB code is On
                                            Smilies are On
                                            [IMG] code is On
                                            HTML code is Off

                                            Forum Jump


                                            All times are GMT -8. The time now is 7:25 PM.