ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

TrollandToad.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #10276    
Old July 8th, 2009 (5:33 AM).
Doom Chaos's Avatar
Doom Chaos Doom Chaos is offline
I don't have a title
     
    Join Date: Jun 2008
    Location: Canada
    Age: 23
    Nature: Calm
    Posts: 44
    I tried editing the rival's intro sprite, but it becomes a screwy palette if I give him a custom name (the first time he looks fine, after I give him a custom name), the shading of the red becomes green (which looks horrible) and the skin becomes blue and white. I used BLUE's face colours, but it doesn't work for crap. Help!!

    Relevant Advertising!

      #10277    
    Old July 8th, 2009 (6:14 AM).
    Full Metal's Avatar
    Full Metal Full Metal is offline
    C(++) Developer.
    • Silver Tier
     
    Join Date: Jan 2008
    Location: In my mind.
    Age: 22
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Timid
    Posts: 806
    Thank you hackmew, i would like to learn how to find these things but i don't know where to begin. maybe if i understood asm more (at all), it would be easier, but for me it's very challenging.
    Would you have a website with some tuts for me to learn how to find these sort of things for myself?
    If posting answer to that is against this thread rules just pm me if ya could.
    __________________

    ★ full metal.

    I like to push it,
    and push it,
    until my luck is over.
      #10278    
    Old July 8th, 2009 (7:30 AM).
    Corvus of the Black Night's Avatar
    Corvus of the Black Night Corvus of the Black Night is offline
    Wild Duck Pokémon
    • Gold Tier
    • Gold Tier
     
    Join Date: Feb 2009
    Location: With the Birds
    Age: 24
    Gender: Other
    Nature: Impish
    Posts: 3,429
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Doom Chaos View Post
    I tried editing the rival's intro sprite, but it becomes a screwy palette if I give him a custom name (the first time he looks fine, after I give him a custom name), the shading of the red becomes green (which looks horrible) and the skin becomes blue and white. I used BLUE's face colours, but it doesn't work for crap. Help!!
    Maybe you overwrote the sprite's pallate...
      #10279    
    Old July 8th, 2009 (8:12 AM).
    HackMew's Avatar
    HackMew HackMew is offline
    Mewtwo Strikes Back
    • Crystal Tier
     
    Join Date: Jun 2006
    Posts: 1,314
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Doom Chaos View Post
    I tried editing the rival's intro sprite, but it becomes a screwy palette if I give him a custom name (the first time he looks fine, after I give him a custom name), the shading of the red becomes green (which looks horrible) and the skin becomes blue and white. I used BLUE's face colours, but it doesn't work for crap. Help!! :S
    How did you edit it, exactly?


    Quote:
    Originally Posted by The blob of blobs View Post
    Thank you hackmew, i would like to learn how to find these things but i don't know where to begin. maybe if i understood asm more (at all), it would be easier, but for me it's very challenging.
    Would you have a website with some tuts for me to learn how to find these sort of things for myself?
    If posting answer to that is against this thread rules just pm me if ya could.
    Stay tuned on my Knowledge thread.
    __________________
      #10280    
    Old July 8th, 2009 (1:34 PM).
    BananasGoMoo's Avatar
    BananasGoMoo BananasGoMoo is offline
    Pokemon Electrum
       
      Join Date: Dec 2008
      Location: Richmond, California
      Age: 26
      Gender:
      Nature: Lax
      Posts: 149
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
      You would know that if you read the built-in guide. Make sure you're using the newest version.
      right after i learned that i could expand my rom in XSE i read the guide to see what else i could do. lol

      newest is 1.1.1 right?
      __________________
      This signature has been disabled.
      Images in the spoiler tags still count; remove the images in the spoiler tags -- too tall.
      Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

      You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

      Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
        #10281    
      Old July 8th, 2009 (1:55 PM).
      HackMew's Avatar
      HackMew HackMew is offline
      Mewtwo Strikes Back
      • Crystal Tier
       
      Join Date: Jun 2006
      Posts: 1,314
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by BananasGoMoo View Post
      right after i learned that i could expand my rom in XSE i read the guide to see what else i could do. lol

      newest is 1.1.1 right?
      Yeah, the newest version is 1.1.1. The Live Update will confirm that.
      __________________
        #10282    
      Old July 8th, 2009 (2:27 PM).
      Doom Chaos's Avatar
      Doom Chaos Doom Chaos is offline
      I don't have a title
         
        Join Date: Jun 2008
        Location: Canada
        Age: 23
        Nature: Calm
        Posts: 44
        I pasted the sprite I made on the RIVAL sprite, the colours automaticaly changed so it would fit the format (PNG). How was I supposed to edit it?
          #10283    
        Old July 8th, 2009 (2:30 PM).
        HackMew's Avatar
        HackMew HackMew is offline
        Mewtwo Strikes Back
        • Crystal Tier
         
        Join Date: Jun 2006
        Posts: 1,314
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Doom Chaos View Post
        I pasted the sprite I made on the RIVAL sprite, the colours automaticaly changed so it would fit the format (PNG). How was I supposed to edit it?
        Now I understand... that's normal. Take you sprite and index it. Then, insert it through unLZ.
        __________________
          #10284    
        Old July 8th, 2009 (3:01 PM).
        Doom Chaos's Avatar
        Doom Chaos Doom Chaos is offline
        I don't have a title
           
          Join Date: Jun 2008
          Location: Canada
          Age: 23
          Nature: Calm
          Posts: 44
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
          Now I understand... that's normal. Take you sprite and index it. Then, insert it through unLZ.
          What do you mean by "indexing"? (My English sucks by the way)
            #10285    
          Old July 8th, 2009 (3:40 PM).
          sab's Avatar
          sab sab is offline
          Now too much of a life.
             
            Join Date: Jul 2008
            Location: Midgar
            Age: 21
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Timid
            Posts: 996
            Indexing (to my knowledge) means to assign a palette to the picture. In gba pokemon hacking the pallette will be either 16bit (meaning it has 16 colors) or 256bit (meaning it has 256). That is the clearest I can explain it.
            __________________
              #10286    
            Old July 8th, 2009 (3:54 PM).
            PlatniumPiano's Avatar
            PlatniumPiano PlatniumPiano is offline
            You are now breathing manually
               
              Join Date: Dec 2008
              Location: Yesterday
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Lax
              Posts: 480
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Doom Chaos View Post
              What do you mean by "indexing"? (My English sucks by the way)
              To index the sprite, download irfanview. Then go to "image" and "decrease color depth" and make sure it is decreased to 16 colors.
              __________________

              If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice.
                #10287    
              Old July 8th, 2009 (4:33 PM).
              Doom Chaos's Avatar
              Doom Chaos Doom Chaos is offline
              I don't have a title
                 
                Join Date: Jun 2008
                Location: Canada
                Age: 23
                Nature: Calm
                Posts: 44
                Tried it. I tried it in two ways (probably not the right ones).
                1- I take my original rival sprite and convert it in 16-bit with Irfanview. I take the 16-bit sprite and paste it on the BLUE sprite. Results: Same problem as before.
                2- I paste my original rival sprite on the BLUE sprite. I save and convert it in 16-bit with Irfanview. Results: Worse than before. All the colours are screwed up. None match and there is no transparency.

                What did I do wrong?
                  #10288    
                Old July 8th, 2009 (5:47 PM).
                lizardman974's Avatar
                lizardman974 lizardman974 is offline
                I'm honestly just that awesome
                   
                  Join Date: Oct 2008
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Adamant
                  Posts: 156
                  Not too sure if this is in the correct topic due to the nature of the question, but here goes:

                  Is it possible to play two different hacks of Pokemon Fire Red on the same emulator if I use different ROMs? I'm wondering because I don't want to accidentally erase my saved data and have to start all over again.
                    #10289    
                  Old July 8th, 2009 (5:49 PM).
                  BananasGoMoo's Avatar
                  BananasGoMoo BananasGoMoo is offline
                  Pokemon Electrum
                     
                    Join Date: Dec 2008
                    Location: Richmond, California
                    Age: 26
                    Gender:
                    Nature: Lax
                    Posts: 149
                    yea, just name the two roms two different things.

                    at least, it works with vba.
                    __________________
                    This signature has been disabled.
                    Images in the spoiler tags still count; remove the images in the spoiler tags -- too tall.
                    Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

                    You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

                    Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
                      #10290    
                    Old July 8th, 2009 (6:02 PM).
                    lizardman974's Avatar
                    lizardman974 lizardman974 is offline
                    I'm honestly just that awesome
                       
                      Join Date: Oct 2008
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Adamant
                      Posts: 156
                      Thanks for the quick answer!
                        #10291    
                      Old July 8th, 2009 (7:06 PM).
                      DrBoners DrBoners is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Jul 2009
                        Gender: Female
                        Posts: 3
                        I am getting an error message when I try to play any version of pokemon that says "The 1M sub-circuit board is not installed."

                        What does this mean and how do I fix it?
                          #10292    
                        Old July 8th, 2009 (7:11 PM).
                        BananasGoMoo's Avatar
                        BananasGoMoo BananasGoMoo is offline
                        Pokemon Electrum
                           
                          Join Date: Dec 2008
                          Location: Richmond, California
                          Age: 26
                          Gender:
                          Nature: Lax
                          Posts: 149
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by DrBoners View Post
                          I am getting an error message when I try to play any version of pokemon that says "The 1M sub-circuit board is not installed."

                          What does this mean and how do I fix it?

                          Options>emulator> savetype> flash 128k


                          next time please search the forums, as it was already answered multiple times.
                          __________________
                          This signature has been disabled.
                          Images in the spoiler tags still count; remove the images in the spoiler tags -- too tall.
                          Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

                          You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

                          Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
                            #10293    
                          Old July 8th, 2009 (7:17 PM).
                          DrBoners DrBoners is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Jul 2009
                            Gender: Female
                            Posts: 3
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by BananasGoMoo View Post
                            Options>emulator> savetype> flash 128k


                            next time please search the forums, as it was already answered multiple times.
                            Thank you very much! I also apologize for my ignorance, I did not realize that option would effect this problem.
                              #10294    
                            Old July 8th, 2009 (7:19 PM).
                            BananasGoMoo's Avatar
                            BananasGoMoo BananasGoMoo is offline
                            Pokemon Electrum
                               
                              Join Date: Dec 2008
                              Location: Richmond, California
                              Age: 26
                              Gender:
                              Nature: Lax
                              Posts: 149
                              no problem.

                              i think vba is set to this by default. or at least mine was
                              __________________
                              This signature has been disabled.
                              Images in the spoiler tags still count; remove the images in the spoiler tags -- too tall.
                              Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

                              You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

                              Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
                                #10295    
                              Old July 8th, 2009 (9:32 PM).
                              onyx79's Avatar
                              onyx79 onyx79 is offline
                              Red Dead Revolver
                                 
                                Join Date: Jan 2009
                                Location: Orange Islands (=
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Modest
                                Posts: 503
                                well I took a theme from emerald and put on fire red it seems like it has been changed but then I played the song on sappy,and instead of playing sappy has quited and I had to reopen it,is that OK or not?
                                also how to change the trainer\pokemon battle music,lots of people was asking for it and no one answered....
                                __________________
                                my room base: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpost.php?p=5397075&postcount=64
                                  #10296    
                                Old July 8th, 2009 (11:43 PM).
                                Xatoku's Avatar
                                Xatoku Xatoku is offline
                                Game Developer
                                   
                                  Join Date: Feb 2009
                                  Location: Canada
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Posts: 451
                                  Is there a way to search for specific scripts? Like say I want to change the surf script to make it so that you need waterfall to surf instead, how would I go about finding it? Is there any program in which I could type "would you like to use SURF?" find the text, and then find the whole script offset?
                                    #10297    
                                  Old July 8th, 2009 (11:56 PM).
                                  HackMew's Avatar
                                  HackMew HackMew is offline
                                  Mewtwo Strikes Back
                                  • Crystal Tier
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jun 2006
                                  Posts: 1,314
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by Doom Chaos View Post
                                  Tried it. I tried it in two ways (probably not the right ones).
                                  1- I take my original rival sprite and convert it in 16-bit with Irfanview. I take the 16-bit sprite and paste it on the BLUE sprite. Results: Same problem as before.
                                  2- I paste my original rival sprite on the BLUE sprite. I save and convert it in 16-bit with Irfanview. Results: Worse than before. All the colours are screwed up. None match and there is no transparency.

                                  What did I do wrong?
                                  Fact is you're pasting your sprite over another. Don't do that.


                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by Xatoku View Post
                                  Is there a way to search for specific scripts? Like say I want to change the surf script to make it so that you need waterfall to surf instead, how would I go about finding it? Is there any program in which I could type "would you like to use SURF?" find the text, and then find the whole script offset?
                                  You just need to find the text. Any hex editor that support tables will do.
                                  __________________
                                    #10298    
                                  Old July 9th, 2009 (4:38 AM).
                                  sab's Avatar
                                  sab sab is offline
                                  Now too much of a life.
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jul 2008
                                    Location: Midgar
                                    Age: 21
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Timid
                                    Posts: 996
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by Doom Chaos View Post
                                    Tried it. I tried it in two ways (probably not the right ones).
                                    1- I take my original rival sprite and convert it in 16-bit with Irfanview. I take the 16-bit sprite and paste it on the BLUE sprite. Results: Same problem as before.
                                    2- I paste my original rival sprite on the BLUE sprite. I save and convert it in 16-bit with Irfanview. Results: Worse than before. All the colours are screwed up. None match and there is no transparency.

                                    What did I do wrong?
                                    Is the new sprite in the same palette as the old one?
                                    __________________
                                      #10299    
                                    Old July 9th, 2009 (5:00 AM).
                                    onyx79's Avatar
                                    onyx79 onyx79 is offline
                                    Red Dead Revolver
                                       
                                      Join Date: Jan 2009
                                      Location: Orange Islands (=
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Modest
                                      Posts: 503
                                      can someone tell me what are the color offsets of those sprites in hacckmew's APE?
                                      here:


                                      I really need it....
                                      please insert the sprite and do a screen shot of the offset
                                      __________________
                                      my room base: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpost.php?p=5397075&postcount=64
                                        #10300    
                                      Old July 9th, 2009 (5:34 AM).
                                      Corvus of the Black Night's Avatar
                                      Corvus of the Black Night Corvus of the Black Night is offline
                                      Wild Duck Pokémon
                                      • Gold Tier
                                      • Gold Tier
                                       
                                      Join Date: Feb 2009
                                      Location: With the Birds
                                      Age: 24
                                      Gender: Other
                                      Nature: Impish
                                      Posts: 3,429
                                      You can use Unlz.gba to find the pallate's offset... also, you may need to repoint the sprite.
                                      Closed Thread

                                      Quick Reply

                                      Join the conversation!

                                      Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                      Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                      Sponsored Links
                                      Thread Tools

                                      Posting Rules
                                      You may not post new threads
                                      You may not post replies
                                      You may not post attachments
                                      You may not edit your posts

                                      BB code is On
                                      Smilies are On
                                      [IMG] code is On
                                      HTML code is Off

                                      Forum Jump


                                      All times are GMT -8. The time now is 1:35 AM.