ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #10576    
Old July 22nd, 2009 (6:39 AM).
LinkEdward LinkEdward is offline
     
    Join Date: Jul 2009
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 1
    Hi I just started to learn how to hack today, and I started with advance map. I looked at some tutorials and I have the right advance map, but when I go to the events view, the event tiles dont show up. I only see the NPCs its kind of annoying. Thanks in advance!

    Relevant Advertising!

      #10577    
    Old July 22nd, 2009 (7:13 AM).
    HackMew's Avatar
    HackMew HackMew is offline
    Mewtwo Strikes Back
    • Crystal Tier
     
    Join Date: Jun 2006
    Posts: 1,314
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by LinkEdward View Post
    Hi I just started to learn how to hack today, and I started with advance map. I looked at some tutorials and I have the right advance map, but when I go to the events view, the event tiles dont show up. I only see the NPCs its kind of annoying. Thanks in advance!
    You need to untick the "Hide other events" option, which is enabled by default.
    __________________
      #10578    
    Old July 22nd, 2009 (7:36 AM). Edited July 22nd, 2009 by MC Blaze.
    MC Blaze's Avatar
    MC Blaze MC Blaze is offline
    The Breeder
       
      Join Date: Jun 2009
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Modest
      Posts: 35
      I need help again, sorry. Thanks for answer my last post.

      I wanted to change the second battle with Rival in FR (You know, when you try to go to the pokemon league). Let´s say I wanted him to have a Tailow and a Mudkip; in Trainer Edit and PET I changed them (one at a time, of course), there is no problem with Taillow but the last pokemon always returns to one of the original starters (I changed the starters in my hack)

      Can someone please help me?
      __________________
        #10579    
      Old July 22nd, 2009 (10:22 AM).
      iTeruri's Avatar
      iTeruri iTeruri is offline
      iAm
         
        Join Date: May 2006
        Location: The Nederlands
        Nature: Relaxed
        Posts: 277
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
        I'm sorry but the multichoice command won't work with buffers. Anyway, if there's a special that let you choose the attacks I would rather use that. Thing is the returned value is the slot, and not the attack value. So you would then need an ASM routine to retrieve the attack value from the selected slot.

        Would the ASM for this be hard? I know zero ASM, so I guess it is :/
        The slot of the Pokémon is stored at 0x8004 (this is 0x0 for the first pokémon in your party, 0x1 for the second, and so on)
        The attack you select is stored at 0x8005 (this is 0x0 for the first attack, 0x1 for the second)

        Technically, this would be enough to retrieve the data, am I correct? According to bulbapedia the attacks are stored in the sub structure, but the order of the sub structure changes with the personality value :/
        I guess this is too hard for someone that knows hardly any ASM to do. I guess the ASM would be simmilar to the ASM in this topic, but with the sub structure instead of the main structure.

        Could somebody guide me trough making this ASM (I believe it's called a routine?)? I'm not asking you to make it for me, that would be lazy from my part (and I wouldn’t learn anything) . I haven’t had the time to really look at some tutorials, so guess I should to that first.
        So yeah, if you are interested in learning this newb how to do this just send me a PM.




        Oh, one more thing. You know Fire Red has gender based blue and red texts for NPC’s, right? Does anybody know how this is stored in the rom? My guess a byte around changes the gender of the NPC. Yeah, I could do the textcolor thing or the [blue_fr], but why do that if you can change around a few bytes in a hex editor? At least, if you know what byte to change. So: what byte determines the gender of a OverWorld/NPC?
          #10580    
        Old July 22nd, 2009 (10:38 AM).
        HackMew's Avatar
        HackMew HackMew is offline
        Mewtwo Strikes Back
        • Crystal Tier
         
        Join Date: Jun 2006
        Posts: 1,314
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by MC Blaze View Post
        I need help again, sorry. Thanks for answer my last post.

        I wanted to change the second battle with Rival in FR (You know, when you try to go to the pokemon league). Let´s say I wanted him to have a Tailow and a Mudkip; in Trainer Edit and PET I changed them (one at a time, of course), there is no problem with Taillow but the last pokemon always returns to one of the original starters (I changed the starters in my hack)

        Can someone please help me?
        CanI suggest you using A-Trainer? You can get it from my Tools Factory. It's still beta, but it's really worth a try :)


        Quote:
        Originally Posted by iTeruri View Post
        Would the ASM for this be hard? I know zero ASM, so I guess it is :/
        The slot of the Pokémon is stored at 0x8004 (this is 0x0 for the first pokémon in your party, 0x1 for the second, and so on)
        The attack you select is stored at 0x8005 (this is 0x0 for the first attack, 0x1 for the second)

        Technically, this would be enough to retrieve the data, am I correct? According to bulbapedia the attacks are stored in the sub structure, but the order of the sub structure changes with the personality value :/
        I guess this is too hard for someone that knows hardly any ASM to do. I guess the ASM would be simmilar to the ASM in this topic, but with the sub structure instead of the main structure.

        Could somebody guide me trough making this ASM (I believe it's called a routine?)? I'm not asking you to make it for me, that would be lazy from my part (and I wouldn’t learn anything) . I haven’t had the time to really look at some tutorials, so guess I should to that first.
        So yeah, if you are interested in learning this newb how to do this just send me a PM. ^^




        Oh, one more thing. You know Fire Red has gender based blue and red texts for NPC’s, right? Does anybody know how this is stored in the rom? My guess a byte around changes the gender of the NPC. Yeah, I could do the textcolor thing or the [blue_fr], but why do that if you can change around a few bytes in a hex editor? At least, if you know what byte to change. So: what byte determines the gender of a OverWorld/NPC?
        Well, if you know zero ASM then it's pretty hard indeed. The routine itself would be quite simple, but you need some knownledge. Would you mind reaming my ASM lesson, in the meanwhile? It explains all the basic concepts.

        As for the gender-based text... It doesn't actually need to be a byte, as it could be simply a bit (just like trainers). Either way, I haven't found it yet. But rest assured I will someday, and at that point I will implement it into my overworld editor ;)
        __________________
          #10581    
        Old July 22nd, 2009 (12:17 PM).
        Otter's Avatar
        Otter Otter is offline
        Reminiscing Every Now and Then
           
          Join Date: Apr 2009
          Location: Mapping out from Cal
          Age: 23
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Relaxed
          Posts: 46
          Oh boy.. I was saving up my 1st post for something else, but this has been really bugging me...

          I'm stuck on how to enlarge the number of blocks a specific tileset has in A-Map. I searched this topic and one of the answers I found was that you can't, which confused me since the A-Map readme says that it's possible to do so by tinkering with Tilesets.ini. Well, i checked out that config file, now I'm just lost on how to actually input the changes I want and have them incorporated into my rom.

          Thanks for any help!
            #10582    
          Old July 22nd, 2009 (1:17 PM).
          MC Blaze's Avatar
          MC Blaze MC Blaze is offline
          The Breeder
             
            Join Date: Jun 2009
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Modest
            Posts: 35
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
            CanI suggest you using A-Trainer? You can get it from my Tools Factory. It's still beta, but it's really worth a try


            God Bless your Tools Factory! This will solve all my worries, thank you!
            __________________
              #10583    
            Old July 22nd, 2009 (1:47 PM).
            Corvus of the Black Night's Avatar
            Corvus of the Black Night Corvus of the Black Night is offline
            Wild Duck Pokémon
            • Gold Tier
            • Gold Tier
             
            Join Date: Feb 2009
            Location: With the Birds
            Age: 24
            Gender: Other
            Nature: Impish
            Posts: 3,429
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Otter View Post
            Oh boy.. I was saving up my 1st post for something else, but this has been really bugging me...

            I'm stuck on how to enlarge the number of blocks a specific tileset has in A-Map. I searched this topic and one of the answers I found was that you can't, which confused me since the A-Map readme says that it's possible to do so by tinkering with Tilesets.ini. Well, i checked out that config file, now I'm just lost on how to actually input the changes I want and have them incorporated into my rom.

            Thanks for any help!
            There's a way to do it, but it's honestly too much work, and a LOT can go wrong. A hella lot. A nightmare's lot. Woo.
              #10584    
            Old July 22nd, 2009 (1:53 PM).
            Otter's Avatar
            Otter Otter is offline
            Reminiscing Every Now and Then
               
              Join Date: Apr 2009
              Location: Mapping out from Cal
              Age: 23
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Relaxed
              Posts: 46
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Charon the Ferryman View Post
              There's a way to do it, but it's honestly too much work, and a LOT can go wrong. A hella lot. A nightmare's lot. Woo.
              Hm.. alright. I suppose I'll just work my way around it, then. Thanks for the reply!
                #10585    
              Old July 22nd, 2009 (2:08 PM).
              Corvus of the Black Night's Avatar
              Corvus of the Black Night Corvus of the Black Night is offline
              Wild Duck Pokémon
              • Gold Tier
              • Gold Tier
               
              Join Date: Feb 2009
              Location: With the Birds
              Age: 24
              Gender: Other
              Nature: Impish
              Posts: 3,429
              An easy circumnavigation is to replace tiles you know you won't be using.
                #10586    
              Old July 22nd, 2009 (3:47 PM).
              BlitŻ's Avatar
              BlitŻ BlitŻ is offline
              guahh my dog is so cute
              • Crystal Tier
               
              Join Date: Feb 2009
              Location: Bay Area, Califronia.
              Age: 22
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Jolly
              Posts: 472
              hello...

              I have a question about a text, I never used it before and I heard that it can screw up your rom...

              I want to edit the beginning oak text, but when I get the "the legend" where he tells about all the stuff, it's a bunch of symbols and brackets and parantheses. I wondering if I erase this and over write it, it will screw up my game...

              so is this the way to do it? erasing and overwriting the text? or is there another way?

              edit: I also need to find out ow to edit the text where it says all the text like welcome to the world of pokemon and such
              __________________
                #10587    
              Old July 22nd, 2009 (5:11 PM).
              Aljam's Avatar
              Aljam Aljam is offline
              Pierce the heavens
              • Gold Tier
               
              Join Date: Jul 2008
              Location: Canada
              Age: 23
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Modest
              Posts: 583
              Anyone know the offset for the status bar in FR?
              __________________
              Paired with Druyii.
                #10588    
              Old July 22nd, 2009 (5:54 PM).
              :3 :3 is offline
              3:
                 
                Join Date: Sep 2008
                Age: 23
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 156
                Here's my problem.

                I've correctly inserted, Turtwig, Grotle, Torterra, Piplup, Prinplup, Empoleon, Budew, Roserade, and Mamoswine. Icons and all, into my Fire Red Rom.

                The thing Im having a problem with is Chimchar.

                I tried replacing it over Charmander, then Mankey, and both times the front sprite comes out perfect. But the back sprite is messed up. So after that, I will try to repoint it to anoher location, but it doesnt work.

                Normally after typing 3A8 into FSF I get 936 and then put that into the Unlz Offset, then I get a pop up saying it has been repointed. But I can only do that once.



                Have I reached my limit of insertion?
                __________________
                5129-1471-0167 [Pokémon Y]
                  #10589    
                Old July 22nd, 2009 (6:21 PM).
                Aljam's Avatar
                Aljam Aljam is offline
                Pierce the heavens
                • Gold Tier
                 
                Join Date: Jul 2008
                Location: Canada
                Age: 23
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Modest
                Posts: 583
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by jonathanObrien View Post
                Here's my problem.

                I've correctly inserted, Turtwig, Grotle, Torterra, Piplup, Prinplup, Empoleon, Budew, Roserade, and Mamoswine. Icons and all, into my Fire Red Rom.

                The thing Im having a problem with is Chimchar.

                I tried replacing it over Charmander, then Mankey, and both times the front sprite comes out perfect. But the back sprite is messed up. So after that, I will try to repoint it to anoher location, but it doesnt work.

                Normally after typing 3A8 into FSF I get 936 and then put that into the Unlz Offset, then I get a pop up saying it has been repointed. But I can only do that once.



                Have I reached my limit of insertion?
                NOPE, ITS JUST A PALETTE ERROR I BELIEVE.
                __________________
                Paired with Druyii.
                  #10590    
                Old July 22nd, 2009 (8:02 PM).
                MC Blaze's Avatar
                MC Blaze MC Blaze is offline
                The Breeder
                   
                  Join Date: Jun 2009
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Modest
                  Posts: 35
                  Guess who´s back!...

                  I know someone will get mad at me because of this but, the script to read a sign is the same as to examine an object?
                  I mean, if I want a text to appear when I examine a door, I put the script as if it were a sign? I think I already messed up my game 4 times over this...
                  __________________
                    #10591    
                  Old July 22nd, 2009 (8:10 PM).
                  Aljam's Avatar
                  Aljam Aljam is offline
                  Pierce the heavens
                  • Gold Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Jul 2008
                  Location: Canada
                  Age: 23
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Modest
                  Posts: 583
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by MC Blaze View Post
                  Guess who´s back!...

                  I know someone will get mad at me because of this but, the script to read a sign is the same as to examine an object?
                  I mean, if I want a text to appear when I examine a door, I put the script as if it were a sign? I think I already messed up my game 4 times over this...
                  you could make it a person event, put the sprite to a clipboard, and make a flag. when your flag is set, it could hide the sprite (hidesprite function). Hope this helps
                  __________________
                  Paired with Druyii.
                    #10592    
                  Old July 22nd, 2009 (10:45 PM).
                  Luck's Avatar
                  Luck Luck is offline
                  ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
                     
                    Join Date: Nov 2007
                    Posts: 6,771
                    Is there an offset in firered that allows you to only bike(that means, you can't walk on it or get off your bike while on it) on a certain block?
                      #10593    
                    Old July 22nd, 2009 (10:52 PM).
                    Tyrantrum's Avatar
                    Tyrantrum Tyrantrum is offline
                    ʕ´•ᴥ•`ʔ
                    • Crystal Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Oct 2007
                    Location: New Jersey
                    Age: 23
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Lonely
                    Posts: 5,811
                    Yes, I believe there is.

                    I don't know what it is, but you might want to go check cycling road. ;3
                    It uses that offset.
                    __________________




                    (x) Tumblr
                    (y) Twitter
                    Previously Eeveon
                      #10594    
                    Old July 23rd, 2009 (4:26 AM).
                    Corvus of the Black Night's Avatar
                    Corvus of the Black Night Corvus of the Black Night is offline
                    Wild Duck Pokémon
                    • Gold Tier
                    • Gold Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Feb 2009
                    Location: With the Birds
                    Age: 24
                    Gender: Other
                    Nature: Impish
                    Posts: 3,429
                    Actually, you guys should probably just check the map script for Cycling Road - it's probably a Special command, which would make use with scripts (dunno if it would necessarily work however) :\

                    If not, it's implemented in the tiles, so you could pass that effect to the tile you wish to use.
                      #10595    
                    Old July 23rd, 2009 (6:19 AM). Edited July 23rd, 2009 by Crysal.
                    Crysal Crysal is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Jun 2009
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 20
                      How can I make an event like snorlax in FRLG, but in emerald. I will make an for exemple makuhita event with his ow sprite on the map and after battling it dissapear. Witch tool I need for this thing?

                      I downloaded rpg maker xp and show the tut but I even dont know ho to install. i install the 2 Programs on it on the setup, but then if I start the program it wont go????
                        #10596    
                      Old July 23rd, 2009 (6:44 AM).
                      Thunderwolf1989's Avatar
                      Thunderwolf1989 Thunderwolf1989 is offline
                      Ninetales fan! Ground trainer
                         
                        Join Date: Oct 2008
                        Location: Cinnabar Island
                        Age: 27
                        Gender:
                        Nature: Calm
                        Posts: 280
                        I was having trouble with the cave warps, that they didn't work. I searched and found several people asking about the same thing...

                        When there's a cave, the tile on which the warp itself is, needs to be the exact same as the one like in the other caves. Although it looks exacly like a normal cave-tile, that cavetile is on a different block entry (the rightmost tile from the upper row of it's tileset) opposed to the normal one (2nd tile, upper row).

                        That way the cave warp works...
                        __________________

                        GPXPlus

                        Favorite Pokémon



                        My Hack's (Manarii Islands) Thread:



                          #10597    
                        Old July 23rd, 2009 (6:54 AM).
                        Samike360's Avatar
                        Samike360 Samike360 is offline
                        Lover of May
                           
                          Join Date: Mar 2009
                          Location: ATL
                          Gender:
                          Nature: Bold
                          Posts: 396
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by Crysal View Post
                          How can I make an event like snorlax in FRLG, but in emerald. I will make an for exemple makuhita event with his ow sprite on the map and after battling it dissapear. Witch tool I need for this thing?

                          I downloaded rpg maker xp and show the tut but I even dont know ho to install. i install the 2 Programs on it on the setup, but then if I start the program it wont go????
                          You will need XSE and learn how to script wildbattle events.
                          __________________





                          Please warm my eggs...I'll be sure to return the favor

                          From now one, if you haven't contacted me yet....I will not accept hacks unless they are at least in progressing hacks. So if you want my help, get some screenshots first.
                            #10598    
                          Old July 23rd, 2009 (7:44 AM).
                          MC Blaze's Avatar
                          MC Blaze MC Blaze is offline
                          The Breeder
                             
                            Join Date: Jun 2009
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Modest
                            Posts: 35
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Archon View Post
                            you could make it a person event, put the sprite to a clipboard, and make a flag. when your flag is set, it could hide the sprite (hidesprite function). Hope this helps
                            ...I'm sorry, I'm kind of new in the hacking bussiness, so... What!? I know you're
                            trying to help but I can't understand it, could you be clearer?
                            __________________
                              #10599    
                            Old July 23rd, 2009 (8:40 AM).
                            Sonic YE's Avatar
                            Sonic YE Sonic YE is offline
                            Pokemon Special Fan
                               
                              Join Date: Sep 2008
                              Location: Cerise Island
                              Posts: 6
                              Hi,

                              I saw this question in a FAQ or something recently, but I would really like if someone can help me about it, since there's no answer. My Andvance Mart and Advance Text don't launch anymore! Sometimes, I get a simple sound of error and nothing, sometimes I get this: Component 'comctl32.ocx' or one of its dependencies not correcly registered: a file is missing or invalid.

                              I tried download again AM and AT, download the comctl32.ocx, nothing.

                              It's very frustrating, since I liked a lot those two softwares.

                              Thanks a lot for your help,
                                #10600    
                              Old July 23rd, 2009 (11:03 AM).
                              Aljam's Avatar
                              Aljam Aljam is offline
                              Pierce the heavens
                              • Gold Tier
                               
                              Join Date: Jul 2008
                              Location: Canada
                              Age: 23
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Modest
                              Posts: 583
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Sonic YE View Post
                              Hi,

                              I saw this question in a FAQ or something recently, but I would really like if someone can help me about it, since there's no answer. My Andvance Mart and Advance Text don't launch anymore! Sometimes, I get a simple sound of error and nothing, sometimes I get this: Component 'comctl32.ocx' or one of its dependencies not correcly registered: a file is missing or invalid.

                              I tried download again AM and AT, download the comctl32.ocx, nothing.

                              It's very frustrating, since I liked a lot those two softwares.

                              Thanks a lot for your help,
                              did you try registering them with the command prompt? Sometimes you have to do that. to do that, open command prompt as an administrator and the system32 folder will automatically open. Then type in regsvr32 comctl32.ocx and then a box wil pop up and say "component comctl32.ocx has been correctly registered." Hope this helps.
                              __________________
                              Paired with Druyii.
                              Closed Thread
                              Quick Reply

                              Sponsored Links
                              Thread Tools

                              Posting Rules
                              You may not post new threads
                              You may not post replies
                              You may not post attachments
                              You may not edit your posts

                              BB code is On
                              Smilies are On
                              [IMG] code is On
                              HTML code is Off

                              Forum Jump


                              All times are GMT -8. The time now is 3:29 PM.