ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

TrollandToad.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #10926    
Old August 12th, 2009 (10:41 AM).
Outbreak's Avatar
Outbreak Outbreak is offline
Brick Break
     
    Join Date: Jul 2009
    Location: Planet Earth...for moment :P
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Careful
    Posts: 51
    I have a question:
    Les's say that i create a new map...how can i change the blocks from the right side of the map task?...it always shows me the blocks from towns, caves but i want the ones from the interior of the houses...how can I get then? thx in advance
    __________________
    A piece of the Europe:

    link:\

    and...so it is....

    Relevant Advertising!

      #10927    
    Old August 12th, 2009 (10:45 AM).
    Logan's Avatar
    Logan Logan is offline
    • Platinum Tier
     
    Join Date: Nov 2008
    Location: Salisbury, England
    Age: 22
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Sassy
    Posts: 10,034
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Outbreak View Post
    I have a question:
    Les's say that i create a new map...how can i change the blocks from the right side of the map task?...it always shows me the blocks from towns, caves but i want the ones from the interior of the houses...how can I get then? thx in advance
    Go to "header" and scroll down and change the tileset number.
    __________________
    Wait, I saw bare kicks, saw bare clothes
    Said psyduck that, I can't wear those
    I don't like them, they're not my ting
    They went silent, they're all weirdos
      #10928    
    Old August 12th, 2009 (10:55 AM).
    Vrai's Avatar
    Vrai Vrai is offline
    can you feel my heart?
    • Crystal Tier
     
    Join Date: Jun 2008
    Age: 23
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Adamant
    Posts: 2,898
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Anjirusensei View Post
    Is it possible to make the attacks in 3rd gen, exactly like 4th gen's Physical/Special system?
    Examples would be Shadow ball as a special attack, all Elemental punches physical.

    Very curious to know... XD
    Not that I have heard of. Editing the moves to have a physical/special alignment that did not follow their types (like it does in FRLG and below) would take some major hacking; going through and editing all of the moves would take quite a while.
    __________________
      #10929    
    Old August 12th, 2009 (10:55 AM).
    Outbreak's Avatar
    Outbreak Outbreak is offline
    Brick Break
       
      Join Date: Jul 2009
      Location: Planet Earth...for moment :P
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Careful
      Posts: 51
      Thanks it really helped me a lot....that thing was getting frustrating...
      __________________
      A piece of the Europe:

      link:\

      and...so it is....
        #10930    
      Old August 12th, 2009 (11:20 AM).
      giradialkia's Avatar
      giradialkia giradialkia is offline
      • Crystal Tier
       
      Join Date: Apr 2009
      Location: Ireland
      Age: 24
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Timid
      Posts: 1,566
      Uh, does anyone have a good resource for ROM Bases? I found a few on PHO, but most of them dont work for me- for example, the DPP Tiles base just screws up EVERYTHING. And i don't just mean a few map errors, i mean the majority of tiles are black, with a few glitched ones. And the ROM doesn't open in an emulator, when the DPP base is used. (And before you say, yes, my ROM was clean). So, could someone please give me an alternate resource? Google hasn't helped at all.
      Apologies for the lengthy post.
      __________________

      I'm working on an album of Pokémon-inspired music. Check out the Soundcloud link if you're interested!


      This is my Soundcloud | | This is my bandcamp
        #10931    
      Old August 12th, 2009 (11:24 AM).
      ghostofherooftime's Avatar
      ghostofherooftime ghostofherooftime is offline
      Phantom of the Internet
         
        Join Date: Mar 2009
        Location: Tennessee
        Age: 31
        Gender:
        Nature: Lax
        Posts: 32
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Alice. View Post
        1. There is a way, I used to know it. I'll dig up some research and PM you if I remember.

        2. Yes, there a few in the tutorials section, go check it out. :D

        3. As far as I know, no there isn't. You'll just have to replace existing ones for the time being. In the future, who knows.

        Thanks!! i'll wait for your PM
        __________________
        Platinum FC - GHOST - 3824-4489-1055
          #10932    
        Old August 12th, 2009 (11:24 AM).
        Logan's Avatar
        Logan Logan is offline
        • Platinum Tier
         
        Join Date: Nov 2008
        Location: Salisbury, England
        Age: 22
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Sassy
        Posts: 10,034
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by giradialkia View Post
        Uh, does anyone have a good resource for ROM Bases? I found a few on PHO, but most of them dont work for me- for example, the DPP Tiles base just screws up EVERYTHING. And i don't just mean a few map errors, i mean the majority of tiles are black, with a few glitched ones. And the ROM doesn't open in an emulator, when the DPP base is used. (And before you say, yes, my ROM was clean). So, could someone please give me an alternate resource? Google hasn't helped at all.
        Apologies for the lengthy post.
        Read through the whole of, PokéCommunity's ROM Hacking Resources Thread.
        __________________
        Wait, I saw bare kicks, saw bare clothes
        Said psyduck that, I can't wear those
        I don't like them, they're not my ting
        They went silent, they're all weirdos
          #10933    
        Old August 12th, 2009 (11:31 AM).
        giradialkia's Avatar
        giradialkia giradialkia is offline
        • Crystal Tier
         
        Join Date: Apr 2009
        Location: Ireland
        Age: 24
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Timid
        Posts: 1,566
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Alice. View Post
        Oh, I didn't think there were any in the Community. Ok, thanks for the reply.
        __________________

        I'm working on an album of Pokémon-inspired music. Check out the Soundcloud link if you're interested!


        This is my Soundcloud | | This is my bandcamp
          #10934    
        Old August 12th, 2009 (2:23 PM).
        pressedlee pressedlee is offline
        Dark-Souled Hacker
           
          Join Date: Apr 2008
          Location: St. Louis, Missouri
          Age: 25
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Quiet
          Posts: 12
          I did a search of this, and I could not find the answer to my question. I do hope I am not repeating something by accident.

          When using Advance Map's Free-Space Finder, how do I know how many bytes to save for my script?
          __________________
          "Pokemon: Clear Orb" To-Do List:

          Map to the Fourth Gym (Current task)
          Script up to the Fourth Gym
          Create a customized Title Screen (Maybe)
          Add new music
          Learn to script lines that are more difficult that "Hello! How are you?" (Hmm...Perhaps this should be at the top...)
            #10935    
          Old August 12th, 2009 (4:08 PM).
          DiSCIclaimer's Avatar
          DiSCIclaimer DiSCIclaimer is offline
          Is Taking Over The Earth
             
            Join Date: Aug 2009
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 41
            Ahmmm ... .does any one know how to find the palletes of stuff?.... things.... like lets say the background of the first scene of pokemon ruby? Or the background of the battle scenes.... and soo on?
            __________________
            Quote:
            ...DAmM taKinG ovA tHe WoRld is HarD...
              #10936    
            Old August 12th, 2009 (7:16 PM).
            Vrai's Avatar
            Vrai Vrai is offline
            can you feel my heart?
            • Crystal Tier
             
            Join Date: Jun 2008
            Age: 23
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Adamant
            Posts: 2,898
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by pressedlee View Post
            I did a search of this, and I could not find the answer to my question. I do hope I am not repeating something by accident.

            When using Advance Map's Free-Space Finder, how do I know how many bytes to save for my script?
            Using Advance Map's Free-Space Finder? I don't believe I've heard of such a thing.. I'm pretty sure you're thinking of HackMew's FSF? In any case, you can find how many bytes each command takes in a script by using XSE's built-in command help; pressing F1 will get you there.

            Quote:
            Originally Posted by DiSCIclaimer View Post
            Ahmmm ... .does any one know how to find the palletes of stuff?.... things.... like lets say the background of the first scene of pokemon ruby? Or the background of the battle scenes.... and soo on?
            Open up VBA's palette viewer while the screen is where you want it (i.e. if you want to know the palettes of the title screen's background, open the palette viewer while you are on the title screen). Now, here's where a little guesswork comes in; try and identify which palette you want. For example, on the FireRed title screen, say I want to find the palette offset of the Charizard. If you notice, it has tons of red shades, which makes finding the palette in the viewer quite simple (it's the third one from the bottom).

            Clicking on each color, you should see that there are several values at the bottom: Address, R, G, B, and Value. To search for (and edit) this palette with APE, the only thing we should care about is Value. Now, open your ROM in APE. The next step is to search for the values; they should be numbers like 0x76C3. Flip the bytes: meaning, break it in half (76 C3) and then flip the two pairs of numbers (C3 76) and then put them back together (C376). This is the first color that you should search for; if you did it right, APE should show you the first color of your palette. Continue doing this a couple of times (I usually do the first four or five colors.) After that, press Search to find your palette. The rest is just using APE to edit the palette. :D

            If you have any further questions don't be afraid to ask me.
            __________________
              #10937    
            Old August 12th, 2009 (10:00 PM).
            3dd13's Avatar
            3dd13 3dd13 is offline
            Leader of the Fallen
               
              Join Date: Oct 2008
              Location: Alabama! The Heart of Hell!
              Age: 25
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Lonely
              Posts: 96
              im having these two errors using yape 0.9:
              they both say the application faild to initilize properly, and i have 2 errors, one on each computer respectivly:
              0xc000007b
              and
              0xc0000135
              if anyone has yape working on xp, can they upload it to let me see if its my application, or my computer, or please tell me how to fix these errors...

              Thank you,
              3dd13
              __________________
                #10938    
              Old August 12th, 2009 (10:24 PM).
              Outbreak's Avatar
              Outbreak Outbreak is offline
              Brick Break
                 
                Join Date: Jul 2009
                Location: Planet Earth...for moment :P
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Careful
                Posts: 51
                How can I put a new name to my created route for example Route 26?When I create my map it always sets me the name Pallet Town...
                __________________
                A piece of the Europe:

                link:\

                and...so it is....
                  #10939    
                Old August 12th, 2009 (11:20 PM).
                Ninja Caterpie's Avatar
                Ninja Caterpie Ninja Caterpie is offline
                Sitting by the back window
                   
                  Join Date: Mar 2008
                  Location: Best City OCE
                  Age: 21
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Bold
                  Posts: 5,988
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by pressedlee View Post
                  I did a search of this, and I could not find the answer to my question. I do hope I am not repeating something by accident.

                  When using Advance Map's Free-Space Finder, how do I know how many bytes to save for my script?
                  It's Hackmew's, as stated before.

                  But counting is LAME, so just search up some big amount like 1000 bytes or something.
                  __________________
                  Brony represent.
                    #10940    
                  Old August 13th, 2009 (3:06 AM).
                  Logan's Avatar
                  Logan Logan is offline
                  • Platinum Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Nov 2008
                  Location: Salisbury, England
                  Age: 22
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Sassy
                  Posts: 10,034
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Outbreak View Post
                  How can I put a new name to my created route for example Route 26?When I create my map it always sets me the name Pallet Town...
                  Go to "Header" on your map and it's at the top. Just type in your new name and "Change Name".
                  __________________
                  Wait, I saw bare kicks, saw bare clothes
                  Said psyduck that, I can't wear those
                  I don't like them, they're not my ting
                  They went silent, they're all weirdos
                    #10941    
                  Old August 13th, 2009 (3:09 AM).
                  Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
                  Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
                  hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
                     
                    Join Date: May 2008
                    Age: 23
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Bashful
                    Posts: 3,487
                    Adding on to what Alice. said, that renames all of Pallet Town's Maps. Use the dropdow menu that says Pallet Town under Headers, change it to a route or name you don't want, then rename it.
                    __________________


                    Temmie vibrates intensely.

                    awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

                    OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

                    can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

                    RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

                      #10942    
                    Old August 13th, 2009 (6:38 AM). Edited August 13th, 2009 by ville!.
                    ville!'s Avatar
                    ville! ville! is offline
                    Abbysus, abbysus invocat!
                       
                      Join Date: Jan 2009
                      Location: Perú
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Rash
                      Posts: 53
                      someone knows how can i change the battle background in pokemon fire red?
                        #10943    
                      Old August 13th, 2009 (6:49 AM).
                      Logan's Avatar
                      Logan Logan is offline
                      • Platinum Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Nov 2008
                      Location: Salisbury, England
                      Age: 22
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Sassy
                      Posts: 10,034
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by ville! View Post
                      someone knows how can i change the battle background in pokemon fire red?
                      There, is a tutorial on pkmnhackersonline.
                      __________________
                      Wait, I saw bare kicks, saw bare clothes
                      Said psyduck that, I can't wear those
                      I don't like them, they're not my ting
                      They went silent, they're all weirdos
                        #10944    
                      Old August 13th, 2009 (7:37 AM).
                      DiSCIclaimer's Avatar
                      DiSCIclaimer DiSCIclaimer is offline
                      Is Taking Over The Earth
                         
                        Join Date: Aug 2009
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 41
                        Thank you soo much Vrai it worked!!... hmmm now i goota find some palltes i can change....
                        __________________
                        Quote:
                        ...DAmM taKinG ovA tHe WoRld is HarD...
                          #10945    
                        Old August 13th, 2009 (7:44 AM).
                        pressedlee pressedlee is offline
                        Dark-Souled Hacker
                           
                          Join Date: Apr 2008
                          Location: St. Louis, Missouri
                          Age: 25
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Quiet
                          Posts: 12
                          The value labeled "Person ID" in Advance Map causes a person to disappear after the chosen flag is set, correct?

                          If this is correct, then is there a value that works in the opposite manner in the form of it causing a person to appear (rather than disappear) after a flag has been set?
                          __________________
                          "Pokemon: Clear Orb" To-Do List:

                          Map to the Fourth Gym (Current task)
                          Script up to the Fourth Gym
                          Create a customized Title Screen (Maybe)
                          Add new music
                          Learn to script lines that are more difficult that "Hello! How are you?" (Hmm...Perhaps this should be at the top...)
                            #10946    
                          Old August 13th, 2009 (7:51 AM).
                          ville!'s Avatar
                          ville! ville! is offline
                          Abbysus, abbysus invocat!
                             
                            Join Date: Jan 2009
                            Location: Perú
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Rash
                            Posts: 53
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Banjora Marxvile View Post
                            Adding on to what Alice. said, that renames all of Pallet Town's Maps. Use the dropdow menu that says Pallet Town under Headers, change it to a route or name you don't want, then rename it.
                            I TRY TO DO ALL THE THINGS THAT YOU SAID, BUT, THE NAME CHANGE TO ALL "PALLET TOWN'S", NOT ONLY TO THE MAP THAT I INSERT
                              #10947    
                            Old August 13th, 2009 (7:53 AM). Edited August 13th, 2009 by Lover's Kite.
                            Lover's Kite Lover's Kite is offline
                            the age of empathy
                            • Crystal Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Jul 2007
                            Location: California
                            Age: 25
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Lonely
                            Posts: 734
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by pressedlee View Post
                            The value labeled "Person ID" in Advance Map causes a person to disappear after the chosen flag is set, correct?

                            If this is correct, then is there a value that works in the opposite manner in the form of it causing a person to appear (rather than disappear) after a flag has been set?
                            Yes that's the the Person ID textbox is used for flags, making sprites, objects and things like that appear (or disappear) by the flags set.
                              #10948    
                            Old August 13th, 2009 (7:55 AM).
                            Logan's Avatar
                            Logan Logan is offline
                            • Platinum Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Nov 2008
                            Location: Salisbury, England
                            Age: 22
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Sassy
                            Posts: 10,034
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by ville! View Post
                            I TRY TO DO ALL THE THINGS THAT YOU SAID, BUT, THE NAME CHANGE TO ALL "PALLET TOWN'S", NOT ONLY TO THE MAP THAT I INSERT
                            Try changing Pallet town's name before inserting the new map. Then change the new maps name, and then change what is meant to be Pallet, back to Pallet.
                            __________________
                            Wait, I saw bare kicks, saw bare clothes
                            Said psyduck that, I can't wear those
                            I don't like them, they're not my ting
                            They went silent, they're all weirdos
                              #10949    
                            Old August 13th, 2009 (8:01 AM).
                            ville!'s Avatar
                            ville! ville! is offline
                            Abbysus, abbysus invocat!
                               
                              Join Date: Jan 2009
                              Location: Perú
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Rash
                              Posts: 53
                              THANKS ALICE, NOW WORKS AND I CAN INSERT MORE MAPS!
                                #10950    
                              Old August 13th, 2009 (10:54 AM).
                              yusufs1's Avatar
                              yusufs1 yusufs1 is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Aug 2008
                                Posts: 32
                                i know there is a patch to make the text in ruby look more similar to firered. i can't find the patch anywhere, can any1 help me?
                                Closed Thread

                                Quick Reply

                                Join the conversation!

                                Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                Sponsored Links
                                Thread Tools

                                Posting Rules
                                You may not post new threads
                                You may not post replies
                                You may not post attachments
                                You may not edit your posts

                                BB code is On
                                Smilies are On
                                [IMG] code is On
                                HTML code is Off

                                Forum Jump


                                All times are GMT -8. The time now is 6:09 AM.