ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

TrollandToad.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #11026    
Old August 17th, 2009 (5:10 AM).
BlitŻ's Avatar
BlitŻ BlitŻ is offline
guahh my dog is so cute
  • Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bay Area, Califronia.
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 472
so thrace which do I repoint?, The map script offset or the map footer offset or a dfferent offset in the advance header menu
__________________

Relevant Advertising!

  #11027    
Old August 17th, 2009 (5:15 AM).
Curt_09's Avatar
Curt_09 Curt_09 is offline
Also known as Chozo
     
    Join Date: Feb 2009
    Location: Oklahoma
    Age: 26
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 500
    I've scrounged around for anything on this, but haven't had much luck. I followed haefele's tutorial on inserting the world map, and it worked like a charm. Except for two things...

    The colors of the town squares are wrong, and the little location buttons from the original FireRed are still there.
    Does anybody know the RGB values of the correct shades of grey to use for the towns to where they will use the right colors in game?
    Does anybody know why those old pieces are still showing up on the map?
    __________________
    Old hacks I liked back in the day:



      #11028    
    Old August 17th, 2009 (7:18 AM).
    NarutoActor's Avatar
    NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
    The rocks cry out to me
    • Silver Tier
     
    Join Date: Jan 2009
    Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
    Age: 24
    Gender: Female
    Nature: Bashful
    Posts: 1,979
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Curt_09 View Post
    I've scrounged around for anything on this, but haven't had much luck. I followed haefele's tutorial on inserting the world map, and it worked like a charm. Except for two things...

    The colors of the town squares are wrong, and the little location buttons from the original FireRed are still there.
    Does anybody know the RGB values of the correct shades of grey to use for the towns to where they will use the right colors in game?
    Does anybody know why those old pieces are still showing up on the map?
    the firered titles are an easy fix you can use advance map
    __________________
    ~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
      #11029    
    Old August 17th, 2009 (7:39 AM).
    Curt_09's Avatar
    Curt_09 Curt_09 is offline
    Also known as Chozo
       
      Join Date: Feb 2009
      Location: Oklahoma
      Age: 26
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 500
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by narutoactor View Post
      the firered titles are an easy fix you can use advance map
      Care to elaborate on that? It doesn't do me much good.
      I've looked at it in advance map and changed the routes, but it didn't seem to do anything.
      __________________
      Old hacks I liked back in the day:



        #11030    
      Old August 17th, 2009 (8:16 AM).
      NarutoActor's Avatar
      NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
      The rocks cry out to me
      • Silver Tier
       
      Join Date: Jan 2009
      Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
      Age: 24
      Gender: Female
      Nature: Bashful
      Posts: 1,979
      mmm rele I thought that would fix that problem I am having problems inserting my world map too So I put It off to I become a better hacker Sorry :C
      __________________
      ~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
        #11031    
      Old August 17th, 2009 (8:20 AM).
      Diegoisawesome's Avatar
      Diegoisawesome Diegoisawesome is offline
      Oh god the bees
      • Silver Tier
       
      Join Date: Dec 2007
      Location: :noitacoL
      Age: 20
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Naive
      Posts: 1,039
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by diegoisawesome View Post
      I have the same tilemap being used for two of my world maps. For some reason, on the fourth world map (which is #3 in the programming), nine tiles near the bottom-right corner keep getting replaced with tile #3, while on the other, it works just fine.

      Can anyone help?
      Yet another repost. Can anyone help?
      __________________


      My other resources:
      My Website
      diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
      diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
      The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
      Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
      GBA Intro Manager
      The Secret Sauce: Triple-Layer Tiles
        #11032    
      Old August 17th, 2009 (9:19 AM).
      IceSage's Avatar
      IceSage IceSage is offline
      Sage of Ice
      • Silver Tier
       
      Join Date: Jul 2007
      Location: Boston, MA
      Age: 33
      Nature: Modest
      Posts: 241
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Thrace View Post
      It sounds like you might be forgetting to repoint the tilemap data. Use NTME (*sigh* why are people still using Cyclone?) theres a video in the thread that shows you how to edit title screens that should help.
      I meant I used the guide that was included with Cyclone, not Cyclone itself. Although, NTME is just about the same, only it's a bit easier to use. Also, neither program allows for selecting multiple tiles, so they're just about even on the playing field for me anyway.

      Also, which thread are you referring to that has the video?

      Argh. I'll figure it out... someday... Someday..
        #11033    
      Old August 17th, 2009 (9:32 AM).
      Diegoisawesome's Avatar
      Diegoisawesome Diegoisawesome is offline
      Oh god the bees
      • Silver Tier
       
      Join Date: Dec 2007
      Location: :noitacoL
      Age: 20
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Naive
      Posts: 1,039
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Curt_09 View Post
      I've scrounged around for anything on this, but haven't had much luck. I followed haefele's tutorial on inserting the world map, and it worked like a charm. Except for two things...

      The colors of the town squares are wrong, and the little location buttons from the original FireRed are still there.
      Does anybody know the RGB values of the correct shades of grey to use for the towns to where they will use the right colors in game?
      Does anybody know why those old pieces are still showing up on the map?
      When putting in the town squares, they must be in Pal 1, not Pal 0. Choose Pal 1 when mapping the squares.
      __________________


      My other resources:
      My Website
      diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
      diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
      The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
      Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
      GBA Intro Manager
      The Secret Sauce: Triple-Layer Tiles
        #11034    
      Old August 17th, 2009 (9:43 AM).
      siper x's Avatar
      siper x siper x is offline
      I'm Russia, Fear Russia
         
        Join Date: Jul 2009
        Age: 21
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Lonely
        Posts: 376
        FIRE RED QUESTIONS

        how do you insert town maps?

        I keep trying to make signpost items, but it doesn't work.
        in my hack it is on a shrub. can you put 1 there?

        how do you make it so you don't have to go to the 2nd city to get oak's parecel, but can get it in pallet town?
        __________________
        Never wish for death, but life. If you die, who will protect those precious to you?

        Blood brother to Kroso
          #11035    
        Old August 17th, 2009 (11:43 AM).
        Curt_09's Avatar
        Curt_09 Curt_09 is offline
        Also known as Chozo
           
          Join Date: Feb 2009
          Location: Oklahoma
          Age: 26
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 500
          Thanks Diego, that worked. Really, thanks a lot.
          Narutoactor I went back and tried it again and it worked this time.
          You guys just saved me hours of fiddling around on my own.
          __________________
          Old hacks I liked back in the day:



            #11036    
          Old August 17th, 2009 (4:26 PM). Edited August 17th, 2009 by siper x.
          siper x's Avatar
          siper x siper x is offline
          I'm Russia, Fear Russia
             
            Join Date: Jul 2009
            Age: 21
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Lonely
            Posts: 376
            what is the xse script for:

            geting a cubone lv 15 with pokerus,

            and an eevee lv 7 with a pokedex, and 5 pokeballs?

            Thanks in advance, and please answer my other questions.

            if theese questions get answered i can realese games, in progressing hacks, or finish the one in the scapbox.

            in advance map (ruby)
            how can you make a tree headbuttable?
            what behavior byte do you use?
            __________________
            Never wish for death, but life. If you die, who will protect those precious to you?

            Blood brother to Kroso
              #11037    
            Old August 17th, 2009 (8:05 PM).
            3dd13's Avatar
            3dd13 3dd13 is offline
            Leader of the Fallen
               
              Join Date: Oct 2008
              Location: Alabama! The Heart of Hell!
              Age: 25
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Lonely
              Posts: 96
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Thrace View Post
              Try repointing the data of both tilemaps.


              What do you mean its corrupt? You'll need to download the .NET framework to get it to work.


              1) Yes, theres a few tutorials around that tell you how to do it.
              2) Yes, but you'll probably only be able to edit the graphics and not the actual layout.
              3) XSE and pksvui allow you to do this.
              i have installed all the files nessecary to fun yape (.net 2.0, the vb6 runtime files) and it still doesnt work... i get an 0xc000007b error. i dont know why...
              __________________
                #11038    
              Old August 18th, 2009 (7:13 AM).
              NarutoActor's Avatar
              NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
              The rocks cry out to me
              • Silver Tier
               
              Join Date: Jan 2009
              Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
              Age: 24
              Gender: Female
              Nature: Bashful
              Posts: 1,979
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by siper x View Post
              what is the xse script for:

              geting a cubone lv 15 with pokerus,

              and an eevee lv 7 with a pokedex, and 5 pokeballs?

              Thanks in advance, and please answer my other questions.

              if theese questions get answered i can realese games, in progressing hacks, or finish the one in the scapbox.

              in advance map (ruby)
              how can you make a tree headbuttable?
              what behavior byte do you use?
              this is a simple question thread not a script thread try some script generators wild battles and give items
              __________________
              ~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
                #11039    
              Old August 18th, 2009 (8:37 AM).
              siper x's Avatar
              siper x siper x is offline
              I'm Russia, Fear Russia
                 
                Join Date: Jul 2009
                Age: 21
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Lonely
                Posts: 376
                this is a question thread, and a mod told me to post the questions here.
                __________________
                Never wish for death, but life. If you die, who will protect those precious to you?

                Blood brother to Kroso
                  #11040    
                Old August 18th, 2009 (10:10 AM).
                Q-Bone Q-Bone is offline
                Musician and Pixel Artist
                   
                  Join Date: Jan 2009
                  Location: United Kingdom
                  Age: 23
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Modest
                  Posts: 243
                  Need help urgently!

                  I've tried putting a Munchlax Platinum Sprite into a Fire Red ROM. It worked, but it used the Palette of the Pokemon I replaced. When I put the Palette back to normal, and click 'Write to ROM', it says: "Compressed size is: 2CC. Which is too big. Aborting."

                  How do I solve this?
                  __________________
                  Diamond FC: 2020 9546 5045
                    #11041    
                  Old August 18th, 2009 (10:12 AM).
                  Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
                  Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
                  The Faltine
                     
                    Join Date: Mar 2008
                    Location: Slovenia
                    Age: 21
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 3,578
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by narutoactor View Post
                    this is a simple question thread not a script thread try some script generators wild battles and give items
                    It's okay to ask, but there's no guarantee that someone's going to answer...
                    __________________
                      #11042    
                    Old August 18th, 2009 (10:21 AM).
                    Curt_09's Avatar
                    Curt_09 Curt_09 is offline
                    Also known as Chozo
                       
                      Join Date: Feb 2009
                      Location: Oklahoma
                      Age: 26
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 500
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Q-Bone View Post
                      Need help urgently!

                      I've tried putting a Munchlax Platinum Sprite into a Fire Red ROM. It worked, but it used the Palette of the Pokemon I replaced. When I put the Palette back to normal, and click 'Write to ROM', it says: "Compressed size is: 2CC. Which is too big. Aborting."

                      How do I solve this?
                      Step one - download HackMew's Free Space Finder
                      Step two - open up the Calculator application from your start menu
                      Step three - Click the little circle in the top left that says 'hex' next to it.
                      Step four - enter 2CC in your calculator
                      Step five - click the little circle up top with 'dec' next to it
                      Step six - open up Free Space Finder and search an amount of bytes equal to the number your calculator just gave you
                      Step seven - In unLZ try to write your picture to the ROM and when the box pops up with the offsets enter the offset FSF gave you into the box labeled 'image offset'
                      Step eight - make sure you have the boxes 'export image' and 'automatically fix pointers' checked, then write it to the ROM
                      Step nine - open it up in your VBA and test it
                      Step ten - enjoy your newly inserted pokepic
                      __________________
                      Old hacks I liked back in the day:



                        #11043    
                      Old August 18th, 2009 (10:30 AM).
                      Q-Bone Q-Bone is offline
                      Musician and Pixel Artist
                         
                        Join Date: Jan 2009
                        Location: United Kingdom
                        Age: 23
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Modest
                        Posts: 243
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Curt_09 View Post
                        Step one - download HackMew's Free Space Finder
                        Step two - open up the Calculator application from your start menu
                        Step three - Click the little circle in the top left that says 'hex' next to it.
                        Step four - enter 2CC in your calculator
                        Step five - click the little circle up top with 'dec' next to it
                        Step six - open up Free Space Finder and search an amount of bytes equal to the number your calculator just gave you
                        Step seven - In unLZ try to write your picture to the ROM and when the box pops up with the offsets enter the offset FSF gave you into the box labeled 'image offset'
                        Step eight - make sure you have the boxes 'export image' and 'automatically fix pointers' checked, then write it to the ROM
                        Step nine - open it up in your VBA and test it
                        Step ten - enjoy your newly inserted pokepic
                        Thanks for the suggestion, but I actually found out that I could just import the file again, then it worked. I must've made a mistake earlier. Sorry for your trouble.
                        __________________
                        Diamond FC: 2020 9546 5045
                          #11044    
                        Old August 18th, 2009 (10:53 AM).
                        siper x's Avatar
                        siper x siper x is offline
                        I'm Russia, Fear Russia
                           
                          Join Date: Jul 2009
                          Age: 21
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Lonely
                          Posts: 376
                          1 more question.

                          how do you edit ghosts (tower before scope)?

                          PLEASE ANSWER MY OTHER QUESTIONS!!!!!
                          __________________
                          Never wish for death, but life. If you die, who will protect those precious to you?

                          Blood brother to Kroso
                            #11045    
                          Old August 18th, 2009 (11:30 AM).
                          Q-Bone Q-Bone is offline
                          Musician and Pixel Artist
                             
                            Join Date: Jan 2009
                            Location: United Kingdom
                            Age: 23
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Modest
                            Posts: 243
                            I have two questions:

                            1) I replaced the Aerodactyl Sprite with a Munchlax Sprite. In game the Munchlax is floating and has a shadow underneath it. How do I fix this?

                            2) This may sound quite noobish, but after I edit a Script, then compile, when I look back at it, it is the same as before I edited it. How do I fix it?
                            __________________
                            Diamond FC: 2020 9546 5045
                              #11046    
                            Old August 18th, 2009 (11:33 AM).
                            Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
                            Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
                            hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
                               
                              Join Date: May 2008
                              Age: 23
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Bashful
                              Posts: 3,487
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Q-Bone View Post
                              I have two questions:

                              1) I replaced the Aerodactyl Sprite with a Munchlax Sprite. In game the Munchlax is floating and has a shadow underneath it. How do I fix this?

                              2) This may sound quite noobish, but after I edit a Script, then compile, when I look back at it, it is the same as before I edited it. How do I fix it?
                              Tried Wichu's Tool in the Toolbox for No. 1?
                              __________________


                              Temmie vibrates intensely.

                              awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

                              OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

                              can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

                              RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

                                #11047    
                              Old August 18th, 2009 (11:37 AM).
                              Curt_09's Avatar
                              Curt_09 Curt_09 is offline
                              Also known as Chozo
                                 
                                Join Date: Feb 2009
                                Location: Oklahoma
                                Age: 26
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 500
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by siper x View Post
                                1 more question.

                                how do you edit ghosts (tower before scope)?

                                PLEASE ANSWER MY OTHER QUESTIONS!!!!!
                                You mean the picture of the ghost? Open up unLZ and go to 1937. That's where the picture is stored.
                                __________________
                                Old hacks I liked back in the day:



                                  #11048    
                                Old August 18th, 2009 (11:39 AM).
                                Q-Bone Q-Bone is offline
                                Musician and Pixel Artist
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jan 2009
                                  Location: United Kingdom
                                  Age: 23
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Modest
                                  Posts: 243
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by Banjora Marxvile View Post


                                  Tried Wichu's Tool in the Toolbox for No. 1?
                                  I've downloaded it now in a matter of fact. Know anything about the Script?
                                    #11049    
                                  Old August 18th, 2009 (11:49 AM).
                                  Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
                                  Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
                                  hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
                                     
                                    Join Date: May 2008
                                    Age: 23
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Bashful
                                    Posts: 3,487
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by Q-Bone View Post
                                    I've downloaded it now in a matter of fact. Know anything about the Script?
                                    Sorry, I'm not a scripter, and it has been a while since I touched XSE... Are you sure you compiled it to the right offset? And used that same offset in Advance Map? Normally, i put scripts in Free Space and Compile them, that normally works...
                                    __________________


                                    Temmie vibrates intensely.

                                    awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

                                    OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

                                    can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

                                    RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

                                      #11050    
                                    Old August 18th, 2009 (12:01 PM).
                                    Q-Bone Q-Bone is offline
                                    Musician and Pixel Artist
                                       
                                      Join Date: Jan 2009
                                      Location: United Kingdom
                                      Age: 23
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Modest
                                      Posts: 243
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by Banjora Marxvile View Post


                                      Sorry, I'm not a scripter, and it has been a while since I touched XSE... Are you sure you compiled it to the right offset? And used that same offset in Advance Map? Normally, i put scripts in Free Space and Compile them, that normally works...
                                      No, what I mean is after I've compiled a Script for the first time, and I go back to edit it later, changes which are made after the first time it has been compiled do not get put in the Script.

                                      Basically, I can make a Script, but after it's first Compile, it is uneditable. Is this normal?
                                      Closed Thread

                                      Quick Reply

                                      Join the conversation!

                                      Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                      Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                      Sponsored Links
                                      Thread Tools

                                      Posting Rules
                                      You may not post new threads
                                      You may not post replies
                                      You may not post attachments
                                      You may not edit your posts

                                      BB code is On
                                      Smilies are On
                                      [IMG] code is On
                                      HTML code is Off

                                      Forum Jump


                                      All times are GMT -8. The time now is 1:47 AM.