The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking
[ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #11051    
Old August 18th, 2009 (7:13 AM).
NarutoActor's Avatar
NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
The rocks cry out to me
  • Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
Age: 23
Gender: Female
Nature: Bashful
Posts: 1,979
Send a message via AIM to NarutoActor Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to NarutoActor
Quote:
Originally Posted by siper x View Post
what is the xse script for:

geting a cubone lv 15 with pokerus,

and an eevee lv 7 with a pokedex, and 5 pokeballs?

Thanks in advance, and please answer my other questions.

if theese questions get answered i can realese games, in progressing hacks, or finish the one in the scapbox.

in advance map (ruby)
how can you make a tree headbuttable?
what behavior byte do you use?
this is a simple question thread not a script thread try some script generators wild battles and give items
__________________
~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest

Relevant Advertising!

  #11052    
Old August 18th, 2009 (8:37 AM).
siper x's Avatar
siper x siper x is offline
I'm Russia, Fear Russia
     
    Join Date: Jul 2009
    Age: 21
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Lonely
    Posts: 376
    this is a question thread, and a mod told me to post the questions here.
    __________________
    Never wish for death, but life. If you die, who will protect those precious to you?

    Blood brother to Kroso
      #11053    
    Old August 18th, 2009 (10:10 AM).
    Q-Bone Q-Bone is offline
    Musician and Pixel Artist
       
      Join Date: Jan 2009
      Location: United Kingdom
      Age: 22
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Modest
      Posts: 243
      Need help urgently!

      I've tried putting a Munchlax Platinum Sprite into a Fire Red ROM. It worked, but it used the Palette of the Pokemon I replaced. When I put the Palette back to normal, and click 'Write to ROM', it says: "Compressed size is: 2CC. Which is too big. Aborting."

      How do I solve this?
      __________________
      Diamond FC: 2020 9546 5045
        #11054    
      Old August 18th, 2009 (10:12 AM).
      Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
      Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
      The Faltine
         
        Join Date: Mar 2008
        Location: Slovenia
        Age: 21
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 3,572
        Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by narutoactor View Post
        this is a simple question thread not a script thread try some script generators wild battles and give items
        It's okay to ask, but there's no guarantee that someone's going to answer...
        __________________
          #11055    
        Old August 18th, 2009 (10:21 AM).
        Curt_09's Avatar
        Curt_09 Curt_09 is offline
        Also known as Chozo
           
          Join Date: Feb 2009
          Location: Oklahoma
          Age: 26
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 500
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Q-Bone View Post
          Need help urgently!

          I've tried putting a Munchlax Platinum Sprite into a Fire Red ROM. It worked, but it used the Palette of the Pokemon I replaced. When I put the Palette back to normal, and click 'Write to ROM', it says: "Compressed size is: 2CC. Which is too big. Aborting."

          How do I solve this?
          Step one - download HackMew's Free Space Finder
          Step two - open up the Calculator application from your start menu
          Step three - Click the little circle in the top left that says 'hex' next to it.
          Step four - enter 2CC in your calculator
          Step five - click the little circle up top with 'dec' next to it
          Step six - open up Free Space Finder and search an amount of bytes equal to the number your calculator just gave you
          Step seven - In unLZ try to write your picture to the ROM and when the box pops up with the offsets enter the offset FSF gave you into the box labeled 'image offset'
          Step eight - make sure you have the boxes 'export image' and 'automatically fix pointers' checked, then write it to the ROM
          Step nine - open it up in your VBA and test it
          Step ten - enjoy your newly inserted pokepic
          __________________
          Old hacks I liked back in the day:



            #11056    
          Old August 18th, 2009 (10:30 AM).
          Q-Bone Q-Bone is offline
          Musician and Pixel Artist
             
            Join Date: Jan 2009
            Location: United Kingdom
            Age: 22
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Modest
            Posts: 243
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Curt_09 View Post
            Step one - download HackMew's Free Space Finder
            Step two - open up the Calculator application from your start menu
            Step three - Click the little circle in the top left that says 'hex' next to it.
            Step four - enter 2CC in your calculator
            Step five - click the little circle up top with 'dec' next to it
            Step six - open up Free Space Finder and search an amount of bytes equal to the number your calculator just gave you
            Step seven - In unLZ try to write your picture to the ROM and when the box pops up with the offsets enter the offset FSF gave you into the box labeled 'image offset'
            Step eight - make sure you have the boxes 'export image' and 'automatically fix pointers' checked, then write it to the ROM
            Step nine - open it up in your VBA and test it
            Step ten - enjoy your newly inserted pokepic
            Thanks for the suggestion, but I actually found out that I could just import the file again, then it worked. I must've made a mistake earlier. Sorry for your trouble.
            __________________
            Diamond FC: 2020 9546 5045
              #11057    
            Old August 18th, 2009 (10:53 AM).
            siper x's Avatar
            siper x siper x is offline
            I'm Russia, Fear Russia
               
              Join Date: Jul 2009
              Age: 21
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Lonely
              Posts: 376
              1 more question.

              how do you edit ghosts (tower before scope)?

              PLEASE ANSWER MY OTHER QUESTIONS!!!!!
              __________________
              Never wish for death, but life. If you die, who will protect those precious to you?

              Blood brother to Kroso
                #11058    
              Old August 18th, 2009 (11:30 AM).
              Q-Bone Q-Bone is offline
              Musician and Pixel Artist
                 
                Join Date: Jan 2009
                Location: United Kingdom
                Age: 22
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Modest
                Posts: 243
                I have two questions:

                1) I replaced the Aerodactyl Sprite with a Munchlax Sprite. In game the Munchlax is floating and has a shadow underneath it. How do I fix this?

                2) This may sound quite noobish, but after I edit a Script, then compile, when I look back at it, it is the same as before I edited it. How do I fix it?
                __________________
                Diamond FC: 2020 9546 5045
                  #11059    
                Old August 18th, 2009 (11:33 AM).
                Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
                Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
                hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
                   
                  Join Date: May 2008
                  Age: 23
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Bashful
                  Posts: 3,487
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Q-Bone View Post
                  I have two questions:

                  1) I replaced the Aerodactyl Sprite with a Munchlax Sprite. In game the Munchlax is floating and has a shadow underneath it. How do I fix this?

                  2) This may sound quite noobish, but after I edit a Script, then compile, when I look back at it, it is the same as before I edited it. How do I fix it?
                  Tried Wichu's Tool in the Toolbox for No. 1?
                  __________________


                  Temmie vibrates intensely.

                  awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

                  OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

                  can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

                  RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

                    #11060    
                  Old August 18th, 2009 (11:37 AM).
                  Curt_09's Avatar
                  Curt_09 Curt_09 is offline
                  Also known as Chozo
                     
                    Join Date: Feb 2009
                    Location: Oklahoma
                    Age: 26
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 500
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by siper x View Post
                    1 more question.

                    how do you edit ghosts (tower before scope)?

                    PLEASE ANSWER MY OTHER QUESTIONS!!!!!
                    You mean the picture of the ghost? Open up unLZ and go to 1937. That's where the picture is stored.
                    __________________
                    Old hacks I liked back in the day:



                      #11061    
                    Old August 18th, 2009 (11:39 AM).
                    Q-Bone Q-Bone is offline
                    Musician and Pixel Artist
                       
                      Join Date: Jan 2009
                      Location: United Kingdom
                      Age: 22
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Modest
                      Posts: 243
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Banjora Marxvile View Post


                      Tried Wichu's Tool in the Toolbox for No. 1?
                      I've downloaded it now in a matter of fact. Know anything about the Script?
                        #11062    
                      Old August 18th, 2009 (11:49 AM).
                      Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
                      Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
                      hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
                         
                        Join Date: May 2008
                        Age: 23
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Bashful
                        Posts: 3,487
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Q-Bone View Post
                        I've downloaded it now in a matter of fact. Know anything about the Script?
                        Sorry, I'm not a scripter, and it has been a while since I touched XSE... Are you sure you compiled it to the right offset? And used that same offset in Advance Map? Normally, i put scripts in Free Space and Compile them, that normally works...
                        __________________


                        Temmie vibrates intensely.

                        awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

                        OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

                        can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

                        RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

                          #11063    
                        Old August 18th, 2009 (12:01 PM).
                        Q-Bone Q-Bone is offline
                        Musician and Pixel Artist
                           
                          Join Date: Jan 2009
                          Location: United Kingdom
                          Age: 22
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Modest
                          Posts: 243
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by Banjora Marxvile View Post


                          Sorry, I'm not a scripter, and it has been a while since I touched XSE... Are you sure you compiled it to the right offset? And used that same offset in Advance Map? Normally, i put scripts in Free Space and Compile them, that normally works...
                          No, what I mean is after I've compiled a Script for the first time, and I go back to edit it later, changes which are made after the first time it has been compiled do not get put in the Script.

                          Basically, I can make a Script, but after it's first Compile, it is uneditable. Is this normal?
                            #11064    
                          Old August 18th, 2009 (12:58 PM).
                          siper x's Avatar
                          siper x siper x is offline
                          I'm Russia, Fear Russia
                             
                            Join Date: Jul 2009
                            Age: 21
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Lonely
                            Posts: 376
                            no how do you edit it like other pokemon moves, and stuff.

                            PLEASE ANSWER MY OTHER QUESTIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                            __________________
                            Never wish for death, but life. If you die, who will protect those precious to you?

                            Blood brother to Kroso
                              #11065    
                            Old August 18th, 2009 (1:00 PM).
                            Curt_09's Avatar
                            Curt_09 Curt_09 is offline
                            Also known as Chozo
                               
                              Join Date: Feb 2009
                              Location: Oklahoma
                              Age: 26
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 500
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by siper x View Post
                              no how do you edit it like other pokemon moves, and stuff.
                              You can't.

                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by siper x
                              PLEASE ANSWER MY OTHER QUESTIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                              This is actually a very annoying thing to post and will likely cause people to not help you.
                              __________________
                              Old hacks I liked back in the day:



                                #11066    
                              Old August 18th, 2009 (2:02 PM).
                              rstar095's Avatar
                              rstar095 rstar095 is offline
                              Baby Seal Clubber
                                 
                                Join Date: Jul 2008
                                Location: NewFoundland
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Serious
                                Posts: 24
                                Ive been searching high and low for a script that gives me a national dex. Ive seen two people ask it and it wasnt fully answered. Ive been able to add a regular pokedex but not a national. can someone just give me a script that gives yo a national dex... please
                                  #11067    
                                Old August 18th, 2009 (5:11 PM).
                                siper x's Avatar
                                siper x siper x is offline
                                I'm Russia, Fear Russia
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jul 2009
                                  Age: 21
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Lonely
                                  Posts: 376
                                  well in every place that's a help thread my questions are ignored, so i lost my patients.
                                  sorry.
                                  __________________
                                  Never wish for death, but life. If you die, who will protect those precious to you?

                                  Blood brother to Kroso
                                    #11068    
                                  Old August 18th, 2009 (5:39 PM).
                                  TehBazzard's Avatar
                                  TehBazzard TehBazzard is offline
                                  Main creator of FireRed+
                                     
                                    Join Date: Aug 2009
                                    Posts: 66
                                    Is there any program that would allow me to change the name of certain moves in the game? Like if I wanted to rename a move into something else, like Bite into Chew for example.
                                      #11069    
                                    Old August 18th, 2009 (6:14 PM). Edited August 18th, 2009 by Cello.
                                    Cello's Avatar
                                    Cello Cello is offline
                                    Tonight!
                                    • Crystal Tier
                                     
                                    Join Date: Aug 2009
                                    Location: get the mascot involved
                                    Age: 26
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Jolly
                                    Posts: 1,498
                                    About tile insertion for roms like fire red:
                                    Is it possible to insert a bunch of tiles into a tile set with more than a 16 color palette (using advancedmap)?
                                    If not, could I do each tile separately, or would this take up too much space or something?
                                      #11070    
                                    Old August 18th, 2009 (8:49 PM).
                                    Curt_09's Avatar
                                    Curt_09 Curt_09 is offline
                                    Also known as Chozo
                                       
                                      Join Date: Feb 2009
                                      Location: Oklahoma
                                      Age: 26
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Posts: 500
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by rstar095 View Post
                                      Ive been searching high and low for a script that gives me a national dex. Ive seen two people ask it and it wasnt fully answered. Ive been able to add a regular pokedex but not a national. can someone just give me a script that gives yo a national dex... please
                                      This is actually a very simple question and I don't know why no one has answered it. I'm going to phrase it so it will be easy to find using a search. To activate the national pokedex, or nationaldex, use special 0x16F.

                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by siper x
                                      i lost my patients
                                      Well, you'd better go catch them. Unless you're a surgeon, then... Your malpractice insurance rates must be through the roof.
                                      Seriously though, sometimes you have to wait a while. Either people don't know the answer, they are too busy to help, they don't want to help, or it has been answered before. Try using the search tool.

                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by Cello
                                      About tile insertion for roms like fire red:
                                      Is it possible to insert a bunch of tiles into a tile set with more than a 16 color palette (using advancedmap)?
                                      If not, could I do each tile separately, or would this take up too much space or something?
                                      You cannot use more than sixteen colors at a time, and the first color on the palette is the background and will not show up. But remember, you have twelve palettes to work with. If you use the second color on the palette in palette zero, green, it will be the second color on the palette no matter which palette you use. It would be brown in palette one, red in palette two, blue in palette three, etc. Of course you can always edit the palettes.
                                      __________________
                                      Old hacks I liked back in the day:



                                        #11071    
                                      Old August 18th, 2009 (9:13 PM).
                                      3dd13's Avatar
                                      3dd13 3dd13 is offline
                                      Leader of the Fallen
                                         
                                        Join Date: Oct 2008
                                        Location: Alabama! The Heart of Hell!
                                        Age: 25
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Lonely
                                        Posts: 96
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by 3dd13 View Post
                                        i have installed all the files nessecary to fun yape (.net 2.0, the vb6 runtime files) and it still doesnt work... i get an 0xc000007b error. i dont know why...
                                        can someone help me? i really need yape to work again.
                                        __________________
                                          #11072    
                                        Old August 19th, 2009 (2:10 AM).
                                        Thrace's Avatar
                                        Thrace Thrace is offline
                                        @tion
                                        • Gold Tier
                                         
                                        Join Date: Jun 2007
                                        Age: 26
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Posts: 1,048
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by 3dd13 View Post
                                        can someone help me? i really need yape to work again.
                                        I did a quick google search and it might be that you have the WORM_KLEZ.E virus. But thats probably not right. I don't what else it might be though, sorry.

                                        Why not use Darthatron's Pokemon Edit Pro? It can do most of what YAPE can do.
                                        __________________
                                          #11073    
                                        Old August 19th, 2009 (4:01 AM).
                                        Cello's Avatar
                                        Cello Cello is offline
                                        Tonight!
                                        • Crystal Tier
                                         
                                        Join Date: Aug 2009
                                        Location: get the mascot involved
                                        Age: 26
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Jolly
                                        Posts: 1,498
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by Curt_09 View Post
                                        You cannot use more than sixteen colors at a time, and the first color on the palette is the background and will not show up. But remember, you have twelve palettes to work with. If you use the second color on the palette in palette zero, green, it will be the second color on the palette no matter which palette you use. It would be brown in palette one, red in palette two, blue in palette three, etc. Of course you can always edit the palettes.
                                        Thank you very much for your response!
                                        So you're saying that for one batch of the tiles I use palette 0 for their colors, and for the second batch of tiles just use palette 1 for their colors?

                                        You see, I'm trying to add in some revamped HG/SS houses into a fire red hack but the 16 colors thing was stopping me.

                                        Thanks again. :D
                                          #11074    
                                        Old August 19th, 2009 (5:05 AM).
                                        Curt_09's Avatar
                                        Curt_09 Curt_09 is offline
                                        Also known as Chozo
                                           
                                          Join Date: Feb 2009
                                          Location: Oklahoma
                                          Age: 26
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Posts: 500
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by Cello View Post
                                          Thank you very much for your response!
                                          So you're saying that for one batch of the tiles I use palette 0 for their colors, and for the second batch of tiles just use palette 1 for their colors?

                                          You see, I'm trying to add in some revamped HG/SS houses into a fire red hack but the 16 colors thing was stopping me.

                                          Thanks again. :D
                                          Pretty much. You can have them all in the same tileset too. :D
                                          __________________
                                          Old hacks I liked back in the day:



                                            #11075    
                                          Old August 19th, 2009 (5:23 AM).
                                          Cello's Avatar
                                          Cello Cello is offline
                                          Tonight!
                                          • Crystal Tier
                                           
                                          Join Date: Aug 2009
                                          Location: get the mascot involved
                                          Age: 26
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Jolly
                                          Posts: 1,498
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by Curt_09 View Post
                                          Pretty much. You can have them all in the same tileset too. :D
                                          Awesome! You've rekindled my burning desire to hack a rom. x]
                                          I was afraid I couldn't put the houses in, which made me upset.

                                          Thanks again!
                                          Closed Thread
                                          Quick Reply

                                          Sponsored Links
                                          Thread Tools

                                          Posting Rules
                                          You may not post new threads
                                          You may not post replies
                                          You may not post attachments
                                          You may not edit your posts

                                          BB code is On
                                          Smilies are On
                                          [IMG] code is On
                                          HTML code is Off

                                          Forum Jump


                                          All times are GMT -8. The time now is 5:53 AM.