The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Tutorial How to enlarge ROMs

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old September 16th, 2009 (7:42 PM). Edited April 15th, 2010 by Logan.
ribon22x's Avatar
ribon22x ribon22x is offline
     
    Join Date: Jul 2009
    Location: Into the Darkness
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Adamant
    Posts: 9
    Hello, I'm Ribon22x, a spanish-speaking ROMHacker. I come here to post my first manual on pokecommunity, I've done quite a few already in my language, but this one is the first one I put in here. Hope you like it!

    Well, my fellow Romhackers, here I bring you a manual that I've been working on this afternoon for you all, in which I explain how to get more space on a ROM, you might say "More space? This guy is nuts!".

    And yes! I am nuts XD. Honestly this manual is still on a debugging stage, that means that there is more investigation to go though to see if it keep working in other situations, and I'll be posting any changes on this same topic. Meanwhile I'd like for you to post your questions or feedback any way this tutorial could get better.


    I hope you enjoy them and post your comments.

    UPDATES:
    - Confirmed, inserting images (using UNLZ, for example) to the new offsets is possible.
    - So far only tested on ruby, but I don't think there will be any problems with other bases.

    Cheers!

    Here I give you the downloading links in 2 different formats
    __________________
    Reply With Quote

    Relevant Advertising!

      #2    
    Old September 20th, 2009 (4:47 AM).
    Neo-Wolf's Avatar
    Neo-Wolf Neo-Wolf is offline
    I am back!
       
      Join Date: Apr 2009
      Location: Faridabad, India
      Age: 22
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Relaxed
      Posts: 724
      You mean expanding the ROM to 32 MB?
      __________________


      Hey guys, I am back!
      But NO more ROM Hacking for me.
      Nor any CSS.
      I am now primarily a writer.

      Stuck in your hack? Developed a writer's block? Get cool story ideas from me!
      Reply With Quote
        #3    
      Old September 20th, 2009 (6:45 AM).
      ribon22x's Avatar
      ribon22x ribon22x is offline
         
        Join Date: Jul 2009
        Location: Into the Darkness
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Adamant
        Posts: 9
        The truth does not necessarily you must expand it to 32 MB, you can expand what you need and then you can re-expand it if you want.

        The maximum amount that you can expand it until you reach the 32 MB ROM, but I do not recommend it, but you can expand it enough to have your space to do what you want.
        __________________
        Reply With Quote
          #4    
        Old September 27th, 2009 (11:29 AM).
        NatureKeeper NatureKeeper is offline
        No longer active here.
           
          Join Date: Jun 2008
          Location: Somewhere.
          Age: 19
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Hasty
          Posts: 1,233
          Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to NatureKeeper
          WOW. This tutorial rules. Now I can go crazy scriptin'
          Reply With Quote
            #5    
          Old September 27th, 2009 (11:39 AM).
          hi sir tomato my password is syvniti's Avatar
          hi sir tomato my password is syvniti hi sir tomato my password is syvniti is offline
          gggggggggggggggggg
             
            Join Date: Jan 2007
            Location: My user name _ asciii_ +&h1!" lulz
            Posts: 581
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by NatureKeeper View Post
            WOW. This tutorial rules. Now I can go crazy scriptin'
            You could before, the thing which need to be expanded isn't the rom, it's the hackers idea of the rom's amount of space.
            __________________
            THE CAKE IS A LIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
            Reply With Quote
              #6    
            Old September 27th, 2009 (11:39 AM).
            .Seth's Avatar
            .Seth .Seth is offline
            .explorer.
            • Crystal Tier
             
            Join Date: Jun 2008
            Location: A capacitor in a power supply board.
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Quiet
            Posts: 1,645
            Or you could just use XSE's built in expander. :/
            Reply With Quote
              #7    
            Old September 27th, 2009 (2:36 PM).
            SharpPoint's Avatar
            SharpPoint SharpPoint is offline
            Suicune used Surf!
               
              Join Date: Jul 2009
              Location: Stalker...
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Adamant
              Posts: 479
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by hi sir tomato my password is syvniti View Post
              You could before, the thing which need to be expanded isn't the rom, it's the hackers idea of the rom's amount of space.
              I don't see the need for this tutorial. It's not like they're create a hack so awesome, it needs more space.
              Reply With Quote
                #8    
              Old September 27th, 2009 (4:46 PM).
              ●•ΛΣЯӨЩ•●'s Avatar
              ●•ΛΣЯӨЩ•● ●•ΛΣЯӨЩ•● is offline
              • Silver Tier
               
              Join Date: Nov 2008
              Location: Kanto
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Bold
              Posts: 441
              Well XSE also has a Rom expander and compressor if i'm not mistaken...
              __________________
              Reply With Quote
                #9    
              Old September 27th, 2009 (4:48 PM).
              ribon22x's Avatar
              ribon22x ribon22x is offline
                 
                Join Date: Jul 2009
                Location: Into the Darkness
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Adamant
                Posts: 9
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by 非常に高いレベル View Post
                Or you could just use XSE's built in expander. :/
                But XSE expands to 32 MB, and I personally would not recommend expanding to 32 MB, but is only a matter of emulation.

                Maybe that was what they were talking so badly of expander XSE ROMs
                __________________
                Reply With Quote
                  #10    
                Old September 27th, 2009 (9:32 PM).
                Darthatron's Avatar
                Darthatron Darthatron is offline
                巨大なトロール。
                • Silver Tier
                 
                Join Date: Jan 2006
                Location: Melbourne, Australia
                Age: 25
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Modest
                Posts: 1,152
                You can expand it to 32 MB then, after you've finished with editing it, make it smaller. :\
                __________________
                あなた は しきしゃ です
                わたし は ばか です
                Reply With Quote
                  #11    
                Old September 28th, 2009 (12:48 AM).
                NatureKeeper NatureKeeper is offline
                No longer active here.
                   
                  Join Date: Jun 2008
                  Location: Somewhere.
                  Age: 19
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Hasty
                  Posts: 1,233
                  Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to NatureKeeper
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by hi sir tomato my password is syvniti View Post
                  You could before, the thing which need to be expanded isn't the rom, it's the hackers idea of the rom's amount of space.
                  I have a really, I mean the word really long script. No free space in the game seemed to do. It was over 200 raws!

                  I knew I could expand in XSE, but Advance Map doesn't take more than 6 characters!

                  The call idea is what made me happy. Now I can script without worries.
                  Reply With Quote
                    #12    
                  Old September 28th, 2009 (8:22 AM).
                  Micael Alighieri's Avatar
                  Micael Alighieri Micael Alighieri is offline
                  Helix Boo / Lord Kaktus, ex-member from Whack a Hack!
                     
                    Join Date: Apr 2008
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Lonely
                    Posts: 97
                    Good tutorial. I prefer to use the original bytes of my rom but it's a good tutorial.
                    Reply With Quote
                      #13    
                    Old September 28th, 2009 (10:27 AM). Edited September 28th, 2009 by score_under.
                    score_under's Avatar
                    score_under score_under is offline
                    I program the *other* ASM.
                    • Crystal Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Aug 2005
                    Location: Hertfordshire, England
                    Age: 24
                    Nature: Rash
                    Posts: 525
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by ●•ΛΣЯӨЩ•● View Post
                    Well XSE also has a Rom expander and compressor if i'm not mistaken...
                    Expander and truncator. If it compressed the ROM, it would render it unplayable (unless by some amazing miracle)


                    In my opinion, you don't need any more space in your ROM. If you somehow manage to waste the whole 9MB of free space, you have probably tried too hard. One average script is 100-200 bytes. This means you could insert between 47000 and 94000 scripts of these sizes without running out of space.

                    One 64x64 16 colour image is 2KB, meaning you could fit 4608 of them in the free space. Maps are smaller than this.

                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by NatureKeeper View Post
                    I have a really, I mean the word really long script. No free space in the game seemed to do. It was over 200 raws!
                    "#raw" commands are not really meant to be used. If you're using them, you should look up the named equivalent instead (try decompiling again after compiling).

                    EDIT - Also, with a 200-#raw sized script, you could still fit over 47000 of them on your ROM without expanding.

                    People need a better sense of scale.
                    __________________
                    Plz not to PM me, I don't come here often enough. Email if you need me
                    Reply With Quote
                      #14    
                    Old September 28th, 2009 (10:42 AM).
                    hi sir tomato my password is syvniti's Avatar
                    hi sir tomato my password is syvniti hi sir tomato my password is syvniti is offline
                    gggggggggggggggggg
                       
                      Join Date: Jan 2007
                      Location: My user name _ asciii_ +&h1!" lulz
                      Posts: 581
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by NatureKeeper View Post
                      I have a really, I mean the word really long script. No free space in the game seemed to do. It was over 200 raws!

                      I knew I could expand in XSE, but Advance Map doesn't take more than 6 characters!

                      The call idea is what made me happy. Now I can script without worries.
                      This even prove my point more.

                      It's you who need to be expanded, not the rom.
                      __________________
                      THE CAKE IS A LIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                      Reply With Quote
                        #15    
                      Old September 28th, 2009 (12:00 PM).
                      score_under's Avatar
                      score_under score_under is offline
                      I program the *other* ASM.
                      • Crystal Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Aug 2005
                      Location: Hertfordshire, England
                      Age: 24
                      Nature: Rash
                      Posts: 525
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by hi sir tomato my password is syvniti View Post
                      It's you who need to be expanded, not the rom.
                      If you're referring to his knowledge of relative file sizes, then I think you made sense for once...
                      __________________
                      Plz not to PM me, I don't come here often enough. Email if you need me
                      Reply With Quote
                        #16    
                      Old February 7th, 2016 (7:34 AM).
                      addictz10 addictz10 is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Sep 2012
                        Age: 18
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Quirky
                        Posts: 3
                        Thanks for the guide
                        Reply With Quote
                          #17    
                        Old February 7th, 2016 (3:04 PM). Edited February 7th, 2016 by Bonnox.
                        Bonnox Bonnox is offline
                        Time (wasting) Lord
                           
                          Join Date: Sep 2015
                          Location: Gallifrey, (IT)
                          Age: 21
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 44
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by ribon22x View Post
                          The truth does not necessarily you must expand it to 32 MB, you can expand what you need and then you can re-expand it if you want.

                          The maximum amount that you can expand it until you reach the 32 MB ROM, but I do not recommend it, but you can expand it enough to have your space to do what you want.
                          may I ask you why you don't recommend to expand up to 32 MB?
                          The VBA accepts any size of ROM without crashing, by may be that the hardware only works with a power of 2 as the size? I dont't recall, but if it was true, it is certainly signed down in gbatek or tonc. Also remember that XSE itself only allows 8, 16 and 32 MB; there may be a reason.



                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by hi sir tomato my password is syvniti View Post
                          You could before, the thing which need to be expanded isn't the rom, it's the hackers idea of the rom's amount of space.
                          you are so right man! here in IT (don't know other countries) there is a lot of disinformation about free space. they still insist on using FSF and other fluffy tools while a simple hex editor could do all these kind of jobs!!

                          But the thing that I hate the most is the "put #dynamic 0xExcessivelyHugeNumber in scripts otherwise the ROM will crash!!!!111XD" My poor eyes. Misinformation protracted since 2003 (or something), thats a record.
                          I began to put 0x700000 on ruby to save A LOT of space. And maybe will now revert to 0x6something to use up to the littlest tiny crumb of space :)
                          Reply With Quote
                            #18    
                          Old February 7th, 2016 (3:55 PM).
                          Deokishisu's Avatar
                          Deokishisu Deokishisu is offline
                          Mr. Magius
                             
                            Join Date: Feb 2006
                            Location: If I'm online, it's a safe bet I'm at a computer.
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Relaxed
                            Posts: 843
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Bonnox View Post
                            may I ask you why you don't recommend to expand up to 32 MB?
                            The VBA accepts any size of ROM without crashing, by may be that the hardware only works with a power of 2 as the size? I dont't recall, but if it was true, it is certainly signed down in gbatek or tonc. Also remember that XSE itself only allows only 8, 16 and 32 MB; there may be a reason.
                            My flashcart can play any sized ROM on real hardware up to 32MB. There seems to be quite a large variation in the actual size of ROMs. Atari Anniversary Advance is 4.096MB, Avatar the Last Airbender is 8.192MB, Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Red Rescue Team is 32.768MB, I've got two Goomba Emulators packed with different GBC ROMs that clock in at 17.393MB and 13.169MB respectively. However, within my small sample of GBA ROMs, it seems that Nintendo only released them as ~4MB, ~8MB, ~16MB, and ~32MB, so whether a ROM at some weird size, like 13MB or something, would work if put in a real, non-flashcart cartridge is anyone's guess. Does anyone know of a released GBA game that's not in those four sizes?
                            Reply With Quote
                              #19    
                            Old February 7th, 2016 (4:08 PM).
                            Bonnox Bonnox is offline
                            Time (wasting) Lord
                               
                              Join Date: Sep 2015
                              Location: Gallifrey, (IT)
                              Age: 21
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 44
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Deokishisu View Post
                              My flashcart can play any sized ROM on real hardware up to 32MB. There seems to be quite a large variation in the actual size of ROMs. Atari Anniversary Advance is 4.096MB, Avatar the Last Airbender is 8.192MB, Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Red Rescue Team is 32.768MB, I've got two Goomba Emulators packed with different GBC ROMs that clock in at 17.393MB and 13.169MB respectively. However, within my small sample of GBA ROMs, it seems that Nintendo only released them as ~4MB, ~8MB, ~16MB, and ~32MB, so whether a ROM at some weird size, like 13MB or something, would work if put in a real, non-flashcart cartridge is anyone's guess. Does anyone know of a released GBA game that's not in those four sizes?
                              yeah, you've got a point: hardware actual size. so the two games of yours that fall out of the scheme are not published by nintendo?
                              although I notice that the samsung S4 mini has 1,5 GB of RAM, wich is clearly not a power of 2, but that's another story: maybe harware making processes have developed to allow such quantities. (or perhaps it uses 2 banks, thing that is quite odd)
                              edit
                              ah,no, look: any single pendrive on earth is sized in power of two. so is definitely a matter of hardware making. but it is still a mistery of why you have such unaligned ROMs.
                              Reply With Quote
                                #20    
                              Old February 7th, 2016 (11:09 PM).
                              Deokishisu's Avatar
                              Deokishisu Deokishisu is offline
                              Mr. Magius
                                 
                                Join Date: Feb 2006
                                Location: If I'm online, it's a safe bet I'm at a computer.
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Relaxed
                                Posts: 843
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by Bonnox View Post
                                yeah, you've got a point: hardware actual size. so the two games of yours that fall out of the scheme are not published by nintendo?
                                although I notice that the samsung S4 mini has 1,5 GB of RAM, wich is clearly not a power of 2, but that's another story: maybe harware making processes have developed to allow such quantities. (or perhaps it uses 2 banks, thing that is quite odd)
                                edit
                                ah,no, look: any single pendrive on earth is sized in power of two. so is definitely a matter of hardware making. but it is still a mistery of why you have such unaligned ROMs.
                                The unaligned ones (the 17MB and 13MB ones) are both a ROM containing a GBC emulator called Goomba as well as several GBC ROMs packed into one file. They're not official Nintendo things, and I could presumably pack in anywhere between Goomba's minimum filesize up to 32MB worth of space. The others I mentioned are officially released games.
                                Reply With Quote
                                Reply
                                Quick Reply

                                Sponsored Links
                                Thread Tools

                                Posting Rules
                                You may not post new threads
                                You may not post replies
                                You may not post attachments
                                You may not edit your posts

                                BB code is On
                                Smilies are On
                                [IMG] code is On
                                HTML code is Off

                                Forum Jump


                                All times are GMT -8. The time now is 8:13 PM.