The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Tutorial In depth Advance Map tutorial

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #176    
Old September 26th, 2009 (5:42 AM).
link12552's Avatar
link12552 link12552 is offline
to measure how far we wonder
     
    Join Date: Dec 2007
    Location: The blue one
    Age: 20
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Calm
    Posts: 203
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by The Gambling Gallade View Post
    Hmmm. I've had this question for almost a month. It has never been answered.

    Before you attempt to answer it, understand that in Advance Map, I have all the map banks correct on the warps. Even when I hit "Goto", the warp works.

    Now, when I play it in the game, and I walk into the door, it takes me to another map, except I cannot move, I'm invisible, and I believe I'm out of bounds. I changed the map height and width, and checked if I had a warp out of bounds. I did not.

    Does anyone know how to fix this problem?

    Note: This is a tuff question to answer with only the given information.

    First double check your warp. Make sure its unknown is set to 3
    and that the map bank and header are correct. Then make sure the transfer number is the sam as the other maps warp.

    This might be a problem with your rom. This generally happens when you change a map size, and AM overwites part of another
    map. Before you do anything else to your rom I suggest you save your map files somewhere and make a back up.



    P.S. Som times when you make a warp weird things can happen, such as showing up in the middle of the course.
    Trying adding a new warp to each of the maps
    Reply With Quote

    Relevant Advertising!

      #177    
    Old September 28th, 2009 (12:33 PM).
    Vittorini's Avatar
    Vittorini Vittorini is offline
    Expert Trainer
       
      Join Date: Sep 2009
      Location: Maryland
      Age: 24
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Quiet
      Posts: 23
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by link12552 View Post
      Make sure that in the tile ,with the warp on it, that its behavior is set to warp. Change the unknows for the warp to 3 and if you're doing a lower caves exit set the warp behavior to an arrow and a warp. This should fix both of your problems.
      _______________________________

      Respond if this is succesful and if it's not ttry to give me more details
      And how would I go about setting the warp behavior? I'm having a lot of difficulties with this and I'm really frustrated.
      Reply With Quote
        #178    
      Old September 28th, 2009 (2:44 PM).
      link12552's Avatar
      link12552 link12552 is offline
      to measure how far we wonder
         
        Join Date: Dec 2007
        Location: The blue one
        Age: 20
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Calm
        Posts: 203
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Vittorini View Post
        And how would I go about setting the warp behavior? I'm having a lot of difficulties with this and I'm really frustrated.


        From what you've siad I'm assuming that you want a warp to work on a door or cave exit. The problem just may be that the warps unknown has to be set to 3

        If the above doesn't work,
        Can you sort of describe the issue your having more carefully.
        Reply With Quote
          #179    
        Old September 28th, 2009 (4:02 PM).
        Vittorini's Avatar
        Vittorini Vittorini is offline
        Expert Trainer
           
          Join Date: Sep 2009
          Location: Maryland
          Age: 24
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Quiet
          Posts: 23
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by link12552 View Post

          From what you've siad I'm assuming that you want a warp to work on a door or cave exit. The problem just may be that the warps unknown has to be set to 3

          If the above doesn't work,
          Can you sort of describe the issue your having more carefully.
          You assume correctly. I have set both warps in my cave to unknown 3 and yet I still cannot exit when I enter the cave. Again, I can enter the cave perfectly fine but once inside I cannot go back out on either side. If you have any idea as to why, please let me know.
          Reply With Quote
            #180    
          Old September 29th, 2009 (2:28 PM).
          link12552's Avatar
          link12552 link12552 is offline
          to measure how far we wonder
             
            Join Date: Dec 2007
            Location: The blue one
            Age: 20
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Calm
            Posts: 203
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Vittorini View Post
            You assume correctly. I have set both warps in my cave to unknown 3 and yet I still cannot exit when I enter the cave. Again, I can enter the cave perfectly fine but once inside I cannot go back out on either side. If you have any idea as to why, please let me know.
            First make sure the warp is on the tile in front of the exit,

            Secondly make that tile is the first cave floor tile you see.
            It be should after a black block in the cave tile area of the tileset.

            If all else fails, open the tile with the warp on it and set its behavior byte to 08 00
            Reply With Quote
              #181    
            Old September 30th, 2009 (12:42 PM). Edited September 30th, 2009 by Vittorini.
            Vittorini's Avatar
            Vittorini Vittorini is offline
            Expert Trainer
               
              Join Date: Sep 2009
              Location: Maryland
              Age: 24
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Quiet
              Posts: 23
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by link12552 View Post
              First make sure the warp is on the tile in front of the exit,

              Secondly make that tile is the first cave floor tile you see.
              It be should after a black block in the cave tile area of the tileset.

              If all else fails, open the tile with the warp on it and set its behavior byte to 08 00
              I'm happy that your trying to help but it still won't work. My warp is on the tile in front of the exit, and the tile is the first cave floor tile in the tileset. Since all else really has failed, can you tell me a little bit more on how to edit the behavior byte of the warp? In my version of advance map (I think its the latest one) when a warp is selected I cannot open it in my script editor (XSE).

              Also, one extra detail I noticed, when I enter the cave I am facing down. I think that is a little weird. If you want me to upload pictures of the maps I want to connect, let me know.

              EDIT: I figured out how to set the behavior byte and it is at 08 00, so I guess that's not the problem
              EDIT 2: Lol. I was messing around with the behavior bytes and decided to try 61 00, which is "use warp" and that worked perfectly. haha
              __________________
              Reply With Quote
                #182    
              Old October 2nd, 2009 (12:32 AM).
              Neo-Wolf's Avatar
              Neo-Wolf Neo-Wolf is offline
              I am back!
                 
                Join Date: Apr 2009
                Location: Faridabad, India
                Age: 22
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Relaxed
                Posts: 724
                Good tutorial. I really liked it. Very helpful.
                __________________


                Hey guys, I am back!
                But NO more ROM Hacking for me.
                Nor any CSS.
                I am now primarily a writer.

                Stuck in your hack? Developed a writer's block? Get cool story ideas from me!
                Reply With Quote
                  #183    
                Old October 4th, 2009 (8:15 AM).
                Cobalt60's Avatar
                Cobalt60 Cobalt60 is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Jul 2009
                  Location: Kanto
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Lonely
                  Posts: 5
                  Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Cobalt60
                  Hi, when I try and change a tile or put a new one over an existing one in paint, only the background colour shows when I load the tileset on block editor. Could you help me please?
                  Reply With Quote
                    #184    
                  Old October 10th, 2009 (1:36 AM).
                  AmazingCouchPotato's Avatar
                  AmazingCouchPotato AmazingCouchPotato is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Oct 2009
                    Location: Pallet Town
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Modest
                    Posts: 24
                    Awesome tut i just don't understand how to make the connections work
                    __________________
                    RAWR


                    Help Me Hatch My Egg


                    Im A Beta Tester For Pokemon Mythic Legends
                    /Dance
                    Reply With Quote
                      #185    
                    Old October 12th, 2009 (4:10 AM).
                    mervyn797 mervyn797 is offline
                    What? I'm right here. >D
                       
                      Join Date: Mar 2009
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Careful
                      Posts: 1,704
                      can u include how to insert new maps?
                      Reply With Quote
                        #186    
                      Old October 24th, 2009 (11:51 PM).
                      luker05 luker05 is offline
                      Banned
                         
                        Join Date: Dec 2008
                        Location: Canada
                        Nature: Calm
                        Posts: 32
                        Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to luker05 Send a message via Yahoo to luker05
                        I have no idea how to set the offset in map connections.
                        If someone would mind helpin me out with this, thatd be great.
                        Reply With Quote
                          #187    
                        Old October 25th, 2009 (12:36 AM).
                        GeloVosalv GeloVosalv is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Oct 2009
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 6
                          Good tutorial, it really helped me out using movement permissions,
                          thanks.
                          Reply With Quote
                            #188    
                          Old October 25th, 2009 (11:54 PM).
                          IrGamer's Avatar
                          IrGamer IrGamer is offline
                          Running away Heh Please.
                             
                            Join Date: Oct 2009
                            Location: Where Know one Els knows
                            Age: 27
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Brave
                            Posts: 28
                            i love it nice, you did a good job on it this will help me alot!!
                            Reply With Quote
                              #189    
                            Old October 26th, 2009 (4:03 PM).
                            Besj08's Avatar
                            Besj08 Besj08 is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Oct 2009
                              Location: Vernon, CT
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Modest
                              Posts: 38
                              Send a message via AIM to Besj08
                              i found this very useful!! :D
                              Reply With Quote
                                #190    
                              Old October 29th, 2009 (8:02 AM).
                              RegisteelX RegisteelX is offline
                              zomgwut?
                                 
                                Join Date: Oct 2009
                                Age: 25
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Timid
                                Posts: 62
                                i made a warp to a place, but everytime i enter, the screen turns black.
                                __________________


                                Reply With Quote
                                  #191    
                                Old October 30th, 2009 (5:00 AM).
                                Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
                                Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
                                The Faltine
                                   
                                  Join Date: Mar 2008
                                  Location: Slovenia
                                  Age: 21
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Posts: 3,572
                                  Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by RegisteelX View Post
                                  i made a warp to a place, but everytime i enter, the screen turns black.
                                  Did you resize the map?
                                  That might be wrong.
                                  __________________
                                  Reply With Quote
                                    #192    
                                  Old October 30th, 2009 (9:15 PM).
                                  Konekodemon's Avatar
                                  Konekodemon Konekodemon is offline
                                  The Master of Pokemon Breeding
                                  • Crystal Tier
                                   
                                  Join Date: Mar 2007
                                  Location: NC
                                  Age: 32
                                  Gender: Female
                                  Nature: Gentle
                                  Posts: 1,953
                                  Send a message via AIM to Konekodemon
                                  Whenever I make a new map the title set I use with it becomes all messed up and distorted, where I can't use it.
                                  __________________

                                  Please check out my InuYasha fanfiction and tell me what you think.
                                  Sign up for Vizzard to play free Retro Games online: http://www.vizzed.com/boards/profile.php?id=231549&ref=61528
                                  Get a Free PS3, this is no joke: http://www.YourPS34free.com/index.php?ref=5580831
                                  Reply With Quote
                                    #193    
                                  Old November 2nd, 2009 (1:10 PM).
                                  PirateSam's Avatar
                                  PirateSam PirateSam is offline
                                  Pokemon Ranger
                                     
                                    Join Date: Nov 2008
                                    Location: Wales!
                                    Age: 21
                                    Gender:
                                    Nature: Jolly
                                    Posts: 34
                                    Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to PirateSam
                                    Quick Question do i have to insert a Script for a rocksmashable rock on Fire Red?

                                    If so what should i mkae it like?
                                    __________________
                                    Reply With Quote
                                      #194    
                                    Old November 2nd, 2009 (1:50 PM).
                                    panthers4091 panthers4091 is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: Oct 2009
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Posts: 31
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by PirateSam View Post
                                      Quick Question do i have to insert a Script for a rocksmashable rock on Fire Red?

                                      If so what should i mkae it like?
                                      Just set a person's sprite to a rock (no 96 I think) and then you should be able to put the script as $1BE00C and it will work.
                                      Reply With Quote
                                        #195    
                                      Old November 4th, 2009 (7:33 AM).
                                      Konekodemon's Avatar
                                      Konekodemon Konekodemon is offline
                                      The Master of Pokemon Breeding
                                      • Crystal Tier
                                       
                                      Join Date: Mar 2007
                                      Location: NC
                                      Age: 32
                                      Gender: Female
                                      Nature: Gentle
                                      Posts: 1,953
                                      Send a message via AIM to Konekodemon
                                      Does anyone know what I should do about my problem?
                                      __________________

                                      Please check out my InuYasha fanfiction and tell me what you think.
                                      Sign up for Vizzard to play free Retro Games online: http://www.vizzed.com/boards/profile.php?id=231549&ref=61528
                                      Get a Free PS3, this is no joke: http://www.YourPS34free.com/index.php?ref=5580831
                                      Reply With Quote
                                        #196    
                                      Old November 4th, 2009 (11:33 AM).
                                      PirateSam's Avatar
                                      PirateSam PirateSam is offline
                                      Pokemon Ranger
                                         
                                        Join Date: Nov 2008
                                        Location: Wales!
                                        Age: 21
                                        Gender:
                                        Nature: Jolly
                                        Posts: 34
                                        Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to PirateSam
                                        Ok im using advanced map and XSE i want to change what professor oak is saying for my intro. I open up the Script Editor and chnage his Speech and nothing else. I click Save but when i close it and go to open script again its the orginal! Please Help me!
                                        __________________
                                        Reply With Quote
                                          #197    
                                        Old November 13th, 2009 (11:54 PM).
                                        liuyanghejerry's Avatar
                                        liuyanghejerry liuyanghejerry is offline
                                           
                                          Join Date: Jan 2008
                                          Location: China,Xi'an
                                          Nature: Calm
                                          Posts: 219
                                          Send a message via ICQ to liuyanghejerry Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to liuyanghejerry Send a message via Yahoo to liuyanghejerry
                                          This is a great tut,because it teaches me how to connect the maps...(Well,I mean connect them right)
                                          By the way,how to create a new city name?I don't want to replace the old ones...
                                          __________________
                                          Zel,thethethethe,LU-HO,Darthatron,HackMew,ZodiacDaGreat,Juan,score_under,JPAN,Tamah-chan,I really appreciate your kindness and your help!:D
                                          Reply With Quote
                                            #198    
                                          Old November 16th, 2009 (4:57 AM).
                                          Pokepal17's Avatar
                                          Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
                                          More cowbell~
                                          • Silver Tier
                                           
                                          Join Date: Oct 2008
                                          Location: Steeltown
                                          Age: 22
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Modest
                                          Posts: 1,511
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by liuyanghejerry View Post
                                          This is a great tut,because it teaches me how to connect the maps...(Well,I mean connect them right)
                                          By the way,how to create a new city name?I don't want to replace the old ones...
                                          ASM unfortunately. I think A-map used to have this function but it kept on freezing the maps with the new map names.
                                          __________________
                                          Pokémon Stardrop
                                          Reply With Quote
                                            #199    
                                          Old November 21st, 2009 (12:12 PM).
                                          jjboy22 jjboy22 is offline
                                             
                                            Join Date: Jun 2009
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Posts: 20
                                            thank you so much i think i figured it out now
                                            Reply With Quote
                                              #200    
                                            Old November 24th, 2009 (7:36 PM).
                                            amoliski's Avatar
                                            amoliski amoliski is offline
                                               
                                              Join Date: Jan 2009
                                              Location: Williamsport PA
                                              Age: 25
                                              Gender: Male
                                              Posts: 44
                                              Where do you set the "Starting position" of the trainer?
                                              By starting position I mean where the game dumps you after the Oak speech.
                                              Reply With Quote
                                              Reply
                                              Quick Reply

                                              Sponsored Links
                                              Thread Tools

                                              Posting Rules
                                              You may not post new threads
                                              You may not post replies
                                              You may not post attachments
                                              You may not edit your posts

                                              BB code is On
                                              Smilies are On
                                              [IMG] code is On
                                              HTML code is Off

                                              Forum Jump


                                              All times are GMT -8. The time now is 3:32 AM.