The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking
[ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #12476    
Old November 28th, 2009 (6:48 PM).
FreaKryptid's Avatar
FreaKryptid FreaKryptid is offline
LaunchingSnorlaxGetOutOfW ay
     
    Join Date: Nov 2009
    Location: Somwhere between reality and I forgot
    Age: 24
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Naughty
    Posts: 46
    Hmm pokemon game list *goes thru archive
    Heres some
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Pok%C3%A9mon_video_games
    http://www.amazon.com/List-All-Pokemon-Games/lm/R2F8DWAPI3EU94
    http://nintendo.wikia.com/wiki/List_of_Pok%C3%A9mon_games
    http://www.listal.com/list/pokemon-games
    Hmm none of them seem to be on this site well hope that helped
    __________________
    I used to have an open mind, but my brains kept falling out.

    Somewhere far far in the galaxy, there lives a man far far away. Unfortunately he's to far away for me to talk about.

    Thanks goes to

    Relevant Advertising!

      #12477    
    Old November 28th, 2009 (6:48 PM).
    BlitŻ's Avatar
    BlitŻ BlitŻ is offline
    guahh my dog is so cute
    • Crystal Tier
     
    Join Date: Feb 2009
    Location: Bay Area, Califronia.
    Age: 22
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Jolly
    Posts: 472
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Max745 View Post
    a list of completed pokemon games please??? everwhere i post its locked xD.
    That's an unrealistic request, considering that hacking has been around for a long time, it's like asking for a list of all the blogs on the internet =__=. What you can do Is look in the Hacks Showcase Section, or the Hack Hall of Fame. The best of the best or the most memorable hacks are in their, or at least completed hacks. >_<
    __________________
      #12478    
    Old November 28th, 2009 (7:29 PM).
    thedude2008 thedude2008 is offline
       
      Join Date: Apr 2009
      Gender:
      Posts: 3
      Hi all,
      I have 2 questions.
      1. I just started using XSE today and I decided to try editing a preexisting script. I wanted to remove an applymovement. So, I deleted that part of the script, kept everything else in (this is in Steven's room, btw), and pressed the compile button. When I reloaded the offset, the part that I deleted was still there and the applymovement was still in the game. Does anyone know how to remove this permanently?

      2. I was using A-Map and edited the movement permissions for a few certain blocks. I saved the changes and loaded my rom. I soon realized that the changes didn't apply on the rom. So, I tried changing the blocks to different blocks. The changes were shown in A-Map but not applied on my rom. I decided to change some different blocks after that. I edited a few different blocks, saved, and loaded my rom, and the changes did apply. So, for some reason, 3 blocks on my map were not changing on my rom while everything else would. I later found out that I could cause the changes to apply to my rom by starting a new game. Still though, why was it only those blocks that were having problems? And is there some way to fix this, or will I have to restart my game every time I edit something in case something like this happens again? Does anyone know what to do?

      Thanks in advance.
        #12479    
      Old November 28th, 2009 (7:50 PM).
      Shadow_Knux's Avatar
      Shadow_Knux Shadow_Knux is offline
         
        Join Date: Jan 2009
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Brave
        Posts: 25
        Hello. I need some help regarding OW sprites in FireRed.

        First off, I changed the Slowpoke OW (#128 in Advance Map) to be 32x32 using the following tutorial by destinedjagold:
        pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=155572
        (Sorry for no link, not enough posts...)

        Their tutorial consists of using Overworld Editor RE and Overworld Changer. I followed the tutorial and successfully enlarged the sprite and changed it into a Slaking OW. This sprite shows up perfectly fine in Advance Map and OW Editor, but in VisualBoy I get nothing. Just an empty space acting as a sprite. No Slaking OW. Help?

        To be specific, I followed the above tutorial until Step 2, and instead of following the rest on inserting a new sprite, I drew it by hand (or rather, mouse) using OW Editor. I don't think that should be much of a problem...

        Thank you in advance, as I could not find this addressed elsewhere. Also, I'm a little more skilled than your beginning hacker, but not by a whole lot. If you could keep a reply simple, that would be greatly appreciated.
        __________________
          #12480    
        Old November 28th, 2009 (7:52 PM).
        colcolstyles's Avatar
        colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
        Yours truly
        • Crystal Tier
         
        Join Date: May 2008
        Location: The Bay Area
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Lonely
        Posts: 1,584
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Max745 View Post
        a list of completed pokemon games please??? everwhere i post its locked xD.
        Here's an old thread with a list of completed hacks. I can't say how accurate it is given that it hasn't been updated in a while but it's something.
        http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=135962
        __________________

        Brother of Vrai
          #12481    
        Old November 28th, 2009 (8:17 PM).
        Lupe's Avatar
        Lupe Lupe is offline
        isn't she cute...
           
          Join Date: Sep 2007
          Location: PHILIPPINES
          Age: 23
          Gender:
          Posts: 118
          Send a message via Yahoo to Lupe
          hi sorry if this was asked before, i searched but couldn't find the answer. what are the tools used in editing the battle background and the text box in fire red and what are their offsets?
            #12482    
          Old November 28th, 2009 (8:21 PM).
          Aljam's Avatar
          Aljam Aljam is offline
          Pierce the heavens
          • Gold Tier
           
          Join Date: Jul 2008
          Location: Canada
          Age: 23
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Modest
          Posts: 583
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Lupe View Post
          hi sorry if this was asked before, i searched but couldn't find the answer. what are the tools used in editing the battle background and the text box in fire red and what are their offsets?
          Hmm, it is tile molester i believe, I do not know the offsets, sorry.
          __________________
          Paired with Druyii.
            #12483    
          Old November 28th, 2009 (9:50 PM).
          colcolstyles's Avatar
          colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
          Yours truly
          • Crystal Tier
           
          Join Date: May 2008
          Location: The Bay Area
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Lonely
          Posts: 1,584
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Lupe View Post
          hi sorry if this was asked before, i searched but couldn't find the answer. what are the tools used in editing the battle background and the text box in fire red and what are their offsets?
          Here's a tutorial on textbox editing. As for the tool, I would personally recommend using Tile Molester. But for battle backgrounds, I think you would have to use Unlz. I'm not 100% on that though.
          __________________

          Brother of Vrai
            #12484    
          Old November 29th, 2009 (1:38 AM).
          Konekodemon's Avatar
          Konekodemon Konekodemon is offline
          The Master of Pokemon Breeding
          • Crystal Tier
           
          Join Date: Mar 2007
          Location: NC
          Age: 32
          Gender: Female
          Nature: Gentle
          Posts: 1,953
          Send a message via AIM to Konekodemon
          Pokemap: I am having trouble with the GB Pokemap. On Blue I took out all Metapods and changed them to Pikachus, but I'm still running into Metapod. If I took Metapod out all together, why am I still running into it?
          __________________

          Please check out my InuYasha fanfiction and tell me what you think.
          Sign up for Vizzard to play free Retro Games online: http://www.vizzed.com/boards/profile.php?id=231549&ref=61528
          Get a Free PS3, this is no joke: http://www.YourPS34free.com/index.php?ref=5580831
            #12485    
          Old November 29th, 2009 (2:35 AM).
          Chicken Bones Chicken Bones is offline
          Hacks 4 fun
             
            Join Date: Nov 2009
            Posts: 18
            I want to know if it's possible to change the binary rom data with a script. (Change the hex value at E40500 to A3)

            Maybe you have to create an ASM to do that and call it with a script?

            Please tell me the command or if it's ASM.
              #12486    
            Old November 29th, 2009 (3:43 AM).
            HackMew's Avatar
            HackMew HackMew is offline
            Mewtwo Strikes Back
            • Crystal Tier
             
            Join Date: Jun 2006
            Posts: 1,314
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Chicken Bones View Post
            I want to know if it's possible to change the binary rom data with a script. (Change the hex value at E40500 to A3)

            Maybe you have to create an ASM to do that and call it with a script?

            Please tell me the command or if it's ASM.
            FYI, ROM means Read Only Memory. So it can't be changed through ASM (or a script or whatever).
            __________________
              #12487    
            Old November 29th, 2009 (5:03 AM). Edited November 29th, 2009 by 0m3GA ARS3NAL.
            0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
            0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
            Im comin' home...
            • Silver Tier
             
            Join Date: Jan 2008
            Location: Superjail Penitentiary
            Age: 24
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Gentle
            Posts: 1,812
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Chicken Bones View Post
            I want to know if it's possible to change the binary rom data with a script. (Change the hex value at E40500 to A3)

            Maybe you have to create an ASM to do that and call it with a script?

            Please tell me the command or if it's ASM.
            If you mean changing a value in the RAM during gameplay, then yes, there is a script command...
            In XSE, it is called writebytetooffset

            It is written like this...

            writebytetooffset 0xoffset 0xvalue


            Your offset would look like this...
            writebytetooffset 0xE40500 0xA3

            Keep in mind that the effects of this command are NOT permanent changes to the ROM, and if the areas in the RAM you changed, get cleared or changed by the computer, your changes will be erased. (Like if you change your player's OW with writeBytetooffset, then enter a building, your OW will change back to normal.)
            __________________
            >Boot Jailbot
            >Pass *****
            .
            .
            Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
            Greetings Warden
            of Superjail Penitentiary
            Awaiting user input...

            >Display User_Info
            ╠══User Info══╣
            Username:
            0m3GA ARS3NAL
            Age: 18
            Sex: Male ♂
            Race: Caucasian
            Quote:
            "What is this
            I don't even..."

            M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
            ╠══End of File══╣
            Awaiting user input...

            >
              #12488    
            Old November 29th, 2009 (7:01 AM).
            BlitŻ's Avatar
            BlitŻ BlitŻ is offline
            guahh my dog is so cute
            • Crystal Tier
             
            Join Date: Feb 2009
            Location: Bay Area, Califronia.
            Age: 22
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Jolly
            Posts: 472
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Lupe View Post
            hi sorry if this was asked before, i searched but couldn't find the answer. what are the tools used in editing the battle background and the text box in fire red and what are their offsets?
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by colcolstyles View Post
            Here's a tutorial on textbox editing. As for the tool, I would personally recommend using Tile Molester. But for battle backgrounds, I think you would have to use Unlz. I'm not 100% on that though.
            For background editing, you simply need to have an image that you can insert, then make a tile map with it. Mind that, they're still some concepts measurements that you have to do, so here's a battle background changing tutorial.
            __________________
              #12489    
            Old November 29th, 2009 (7:07 AM).
            HackMew's Avatar
            HackMew HackMew is offline
            Mewtwo Strikes Back
            • Crystal Tier
             
            Join Date: Jun 2006
            Posts: 1,314
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL View Post
            If you mean changing a value in the RAM during gameplay, then yes, there is a script command...
            In XSE, it is called writebytetooffset

            It is written like this...

            writebytetooffset 0xoffset 0xvalue


            Your offset would look like this...
            writebytetooffset 0xE40500 0xA3

            Keep in mind that the effects of this command are NOT permanent changes to the ROM, and if the areas in the RAM you changed, get cleared or changed by the computer, your changes will be erased. (Like if you change your player's OW with writeBytetooffset, then enter a building, your OW will change back to normal.)
            No, he didn't mean to change RAM, but ROM instead. Which is not possible. Also, the changes are not erased. There are no changes at all. Another thing... if you write:

            Code:
            writebytetooffset 0xE40500 0xA3
            XSE will treat that as it should, in other words a ROM address, turning it into 0x08E40500. Which would never work for the reasons I've explained already.
            __________________
              #12490    
            Old November 29th, 2009 (7:09 AM).
            Pokepal17's Avatar
            Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
            More cowbell~
            • Silver Tier
             
            Join Date: Oct 2008
            Location: Steeltown
            Age: 22
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Modest
            Posts: 1,511
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Konekodemon View Post
            Pokemap: I am having trouble with the GB Pokemap. On Blue I took out all Metapods and changed them to Pikachus, but I'm still running into Metapod. If I took Metapod out all together, why am I still running into it?
            Are you sure you actually saved the changes? o.O

            Try it again and if it doesn't work, try hex editing the Pokemon.
            __________________
            Pokémon Stardrop
              #12491    
            Old November 29th, 2009 (8:11 AM).
            徐死 徐死 is offline
               
              Join Date: Aug 2009
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Calm
              Posts: 9
              When I try to load a ROM into A-Trainer, I get an error message:

              "Subscript out of range.
              [email protected]"

              Anyone know what's wrong?
                #12492    
              Old November 29th, 2009 (11:19 AM). Edited November 29th, 2009 by Shadow_Knux.
              Shadow_Knux's Avatar
              Shadow_Knux Shadow_Knux is offline
                 
                Join Date: Jan 2009
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Brave
                Posts: 25
                For some reason, my version of Overworld Editor Rebirth Edition does not export or import sprites. I redownloaded it three times from different places, and still nothing. Does it just not work for FireRed? Or can someone point me to a OW editor that allows me to do this?

                Thanks in advance.
                __________________
                  #12493    
                Old November 29th, 2009 (11:23 AM).
                Chaos Rush's Avatar
                Chaos Rush Chaos Rush is offline
                im sexy and i know it
                   
                  Join Date: May 2007
                  Location: Taylor Swift
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Adamant
                  Posts: 1,296
                  I'm having trouble with Mid2Agb. When I drag my midi file to the Mid2Agb file, absolutely nothing happens. Magnius's tutorial says that an .s file should be created, but when I try it nothing gets created.
                    #12494    
                  Old November 29th, 2009 (11:40 AM).
                  lord_kratos's Avatar
                  lord_kratos lord_kratos is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Jul 2009
                    Posts: 28
                    Ok guys im getting kinda fustrated doing this...
                    I downloaded a rom base here at pcf because that base has some tiles i wanted to use.When i applied the base to my rom i lost all the work i had done on it!!Luckily i backed it up before i did that.
                    What i want to know is how do i take certain tiles from the rom base i downloaded here and put it into the rom im currently working on?
                    __________________
                    "My name is Kratos Aurion.I am of cruxis,an organisation bent on the revival of the goddess martel...You people are unworthy to be in my pressence..Sacred powers,cast your purifying light upon these corrupt souls,rest in peace sinners....JUDGEMENT!"
                      #12495    
                    Old November 29th, 2009 (11:59 AM).
                    Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
                    Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
                    hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
                       
                      Join Date: May 2008
                      Age: 23
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Bashful
                      Posts: 3,487
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by lord_kratos View Post
                      Ok guys im getting kinda fustrated doing this...
                      I downloaded a rom base here at pcf because that base has some tiles i wanted to use.When i applied the base to my rom i lost all the work i had done on it!!Luckily i backed it up before i did that.
                      What i want to know is how do i take certain tiles from the rom base i downloaded here and put it into the rom im currently working on?
                      First of all - Are you allowed? Ask the creator, or do what everyone else who actually achieves with their hacks and insert the tiles yourself.

                      Second - Patch a Blank ROM first with the Base, and then Save the Tileset and move the tiles to the ROM you want them in's Tileset, like you do in Tile Inserting.
                      __________________


                      Temmie vibrates intensely.

                      awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

                      OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

                      can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

                      RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

                        #12496    
                      Old November 29th, 2009 (12:58 PM).
                      rokrdude's Avatar
                      rokrdude rokrdude is offline
                      POKEMON : SINNOH QUEST CREATOR
                         
                        Join Date: Oct 2009
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 136
                        Is there any easy way to edit pokemon icons other than using iconed ?
                        I have been able to change sprites but no luck with icons!!!

                        Can anyone provide a link to guide or video how to change icons??
                          #12497    
                        Old November 29th, 2009 (1:00 PM).
                        Pokepal17's Avatar
                        Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
                        More cowbell~
                        • Silver Tier
                         
                        Join Date: Oct 2008
                        Location: Steeltown
                        Age: 22
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Modest
                        Posts: 1,511
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by rokrdude View Post
                        Is there any easy way to edit pokemon icons other than using iconed ?
                        I have been able to change sprites but no luck with icons!!!

                        Can anyone provide a link to guide or video how to change icons??
                        Yes, check in the toolbox for a tool made by Wichu, that edits icons.
                        __________________
                        Pokémon Stardrop
                          #12498    
                        Old November 29th, 2009 (2:21 PM).
                        lord_kratos's Avatar
                        lord_kratos lord_kratos is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Jul 2009
                          Posts: 28
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by Deviation View Post


                          First of all - Are you allowed? Ask the creator, or do what everyone else who actually achieves with their hacks and insert the tiles yourself.

                          Second - Patch a Blank ROM first with the Base, and then Save the Tileset and move the tiles to the ROM you want them in's Tileset, like you do in Tile Inserting.
                          Umm,idk.I got the rom base from ash493.

                          Sry to sound like a n0ob,but can u explain step by step on what u said in the 2nd comment u made?
                          __________________
                          "My name is Kratos Aurion.I am of cruxis,an organisation bent on the revival of the goddess martel...You people are unworthy to be in my pressence..Sacred powers,cast your purifying light upon these corrupt souls,rest in peace sinners....JUDGEMENT!"
                            #12499    
                          Old November 29th, 2009 (2:35 PM).
                          NarutoActor's Avatar
                          NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
                          The rocks cry out to me
                          • Silver Tier
                           
                          Join Date: Jan 2009
                          Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
                          Age: 23
                          Gender: Female
                          Nature: Bashful
                          Posts: 1,979
                          Send a message via AIM to NarutoActor Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to NarutoActor
                          look at a tutorial(there's at least 3 that deal on that subject.)
                          __________________
                          ~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
                            #12500    
                          Old November 29th, 2009 (2:54 PM).
                          lord_kratos's Avatar
                          lord_kratos lord_kratos is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Jul 2009
                            Posts: 28
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by NarutoActor View Post
                            look at a tutorial(there's at least 3 that deal on that subject.)
                            Dude can u give me a direct link?Im using a very slow pc.XD
                            __________________
                            "My name is Kratos Aurion.I am of cruxis,an organisation bent on the revival of the goddess martel...You people are unworthy to be in my pressence..Sacred powers,cast your purifying light upon these corrupt souls,rest in peace sinners....JUDGEMENT!"
                            Closed Thread
                            Quick Reply

                            Sponsored Links
                            Thread Tools

                            Posting Rules
                            You may not post new threads
                            You may not post replies
                            You may not post attachments
                            You may not edit your posts

                            BB code is On
                            Smilies are On
                            [IMG] code is On
                            HTML code is Off

                            Forum Jump


                            All times are GMT -8. The time now is 2:56 AM.