ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

TrollandToad.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #12476    
Old November 29th, 2009 (7:07 AM).
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew HackMew is offline
Mewtwo Strikes Back
  • Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL View Post
If you mean changing a value in the RAM during gameplay, then yes, there is a script command...
In XSE, it is called writebytetooffset

It is written like this...

writebytetooffset 0xoffset 0xvalue


Your offset would look like this...
writebytetooffset 0xE40500 0xA3

Keep in mind that the effects of this command are NOT permanent changes to the ROM, and if the areas in the RAM you changed, get cleared or changed by the computer, your changes will be erased. (Like if you change your player's OW with writeBytetooffset, then enter a building, your OW will change back to normal.)
No, he didn't mean to change RAM, but ROM instead. Which is not possible. Also, the changes are not erased. There are no changes at all. Another thing... if you write:

Code:
writebytetooffset 0xE40500 0xA3
XSE will treat that as it should, in other words a ROM address, turning it into 0x08E40500. Which would never work for the reasons I've explained already.
__________________

Relevant Advertising!

  #12477    
Old November 29th, 2009 (7:09 AM).
Pokepal17's Avatar
Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
More cowbell~
  • Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Steeltown
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Konekodemon View Post
Pokemap: I am having trouble with the GB Pokemap. On Blue I took out all Metapods and changed them to Pikachus, but I'm still running into Metapod. If I took Metapod out all together, why am I still running into it?
Are you sure you actually saved the changes? o.O

Try it again and if it doesn't work, try hex editing the Pokemon.
__________________
Pokémon Stardrop
  #12478    
Old November 29th, 2009 (8:11 AM).
徐死 徐死 is offline
     
    Join Date: Aug 2009
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Calm
    Posts: 9
    When I try to load a ROM into A-Trainer, I get an error message:

    "Subscript out of range.
    [email protected]"

    Anyone know what's wrong?
      #12479    
    Old November 29th, 2009 (11:19 AM). Edited November 29th, 2009 by Shadow_Knux.
    Shadow_Knux's Avatar
    Shadow_Knux Shadow_Knux is offline
       
      Join Date: Jan 2009
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Brave
      Posts: 25
      For some reason, my version of Overworld Editor Rebirth Edition does not export or import sprites. I redownloaded it three times from different places, and still nothing. Does it just not work for FireRed? Or can someone point me to a OW editor that allows me to do this?

      Thanks in advance.
      __________________
        #12480    
      Old November 29th, 2009 (11:23 AM).
      Chaos Rush's Avatar
      Chaos Rush Chaos Rush is offline
         
        Join Date: May 2007
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 1,303
        I'm having trouble with Mid2Agb. When I drag my midi file to the Mid2Agb file, absolutely nothing happens. Magnius's tutorial says that an .s file should be created, but when I try it nothing gets created.
          #12481    
        Old November 29th, 2009 (11:40 AM).
        lord_kratos's Avatar
        lord_kratos lord_kratos is offline
           
          Join Date: Jul 2009
          Posts: 28
          Ok guys im getting kinda fustrated doing this...
          I downloaded a rom base here at pcf because that base has some tiles i wanted to use.When i applied the base to my rom i lost all the work i had done on it!!Luckily i backed it up before i did that.
          What i want to know is how do i take certain tiles from the rom base i downloaded here and put it into the rom im currently working on?
          __________________
          "My name is Kratos Aurion.I am of cruxis,an organisation bent on the revival of the goddess martel...You people are unworthy to be in my pressence..Sacred powers,cast your purifying light upon these corrupt souls,rest in peace sinners....JUDGEMENT!"
            #12482    
          Old November 29th, 2009 (11:59 AM).
          Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
          Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
          hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
             
            Join Date: May 2008
            Age: 23
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Bashful
            Posts: 3,487
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by lord_kratos View Post
            Ok guys im getting kinda fustrated doing this...
            I downloaded a rom base here at pcf because that base has some tiles i wanted to use.When i applied the base to my rom i lost all the work i had done on it!!Luckily i backed it up before i did that.
            What i want to know is how do i take certain tiles from the rom base i downloaded here and put it into the rom im currently working on?
            First of all - Are you allowed? Ask the creator, or do what everyone else who actually achieves with their hacks and insert the tiles yourself.

            Second - Patch a Blank ROM first with the Base, and then Save the Tileset and move the tiles to the ROM you want them in's Tileset, like you do in Tile Inserting.
            __________________


            Temmie vibrates intensely.

            awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

            OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

            can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

            RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

              #12483    
            Old November 29th, 2009 (12:58 PM).
            rokrdude's Avatar
            rokrdude rokrdude is offline
            POKEMON : SINNOH QUEST CREATOR
               
              Join Date: Oct 2009
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 136
              Is there any easy way to edit pokemon icons other than using iconed ?
              I have been able to change sprites but no luck with icons!!!

              Can anyone provide a link to guide or video how to change icons??
                #12484    
              Old November 29th, 2009 (1:00 PM).
              Pokepal17's Avatar
              Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
              More cowbell~
              • Silver Tier
               
              Join Date: Oct 2008
              Location: Steeltown
              Age: 22
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Modest
              Posts: 1,517
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by rokrdude View Post
              Is there any easy way to edit pokemon icons other than using iconed ?
              I have been able to change sprites but no luck with icons!!!

              Can anyone provide a link to guide or video how to change icons??
              Yes, check in the toolbox for a tool made by Wichu, that edits icons.
              __________________
              Pokémon Stardrop
                #12485    
              Old November 29th, 2009 (2:21 PM).
              lord_kratos's Avatar
              lord_kratos lord_kratos is offline
                 
                Join Date: Jul 2009
                Posts: 28
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Deviation View Post


                First of all - Are you allowed? Ask the creator, or do what everyone else who actually achieves with their hacks and insert the tiles yourself.

                Second - Patch a Blank ROM first with the Base, and then Save the Tileset and move the tiles to the ROM you want them in's Tileset, like you do in Tile Inserting.
                Umm,idk.I got the rom base from ash493.

                Sry to sound like a n0ob,but can u explain step by step on what u said in the 2nd comment u made?
                __________________
                "My name is Kratos Aurion.I am of cruxis,an organisation bent on the revival of the goddess martel...You people are unworthy to be in my pressence..Sacred powers,cast your purifying light upon these corrupt souls,rest in peace sinners....JUDGEMENT!"
                  #12486    
                Old November 29th, 2009 (2:35 PM).
                NarutoActor's Avatar
                NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
                The rocks cry out to me
                • Silver Tier
                 
                Join Date: Jan 2009
                Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
                Age: 23
                Gender: Female
                Nature: Bashful
                Posts: 1,979
                look at a tutorial(there's at least 3 that deal on that subject.)
                __________________
                ~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
                  #12487    
                Old November 29th, 2009 (2:54 PM).
                lord_kratos's Avatar
                lord_kratos lord_kratos is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Jul 2009
                  Posts: 28
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by NarutoActor View Post
                  look at a tutorial(there's at least 3 that deal on that subject.)
                  Dude can u give me a direct link?Im using a very slow pc.XD
                  __________________
                  "My name is Kratos Aurion.I am of cruxis,an organisation bent on the revival of the goddess martel...You people are unworthy to be in my pressence..Sacred powers,cast your purifying light upon these corrupt souls,rest in peace sinners....JUDGEMENT!"
                    #12488    
                  Old November 29th, 2009 (5:05 PM).
                  Chicken Bones Chicken Bones is offline
                  Hacks 4 fun
                     
                    Join Date: Nov 2009
                    Posts: 18
                    Quote:
                    I want to know if it's possible to change the binary rom data with a script. (Change the hex value at E40500 to A3)
                    Quote:

                    Maybe you have to create an ASM to do that and call it with a script?

                    Please tell me the command or if it's ASM.
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
                    FYI, ROM means Read Only Memory. So it can't be changed through ASM (or a script or whatever).
                    Quote:
                    If you mean changing a value in the RAM during gameplay, then yes, there is a script command...
                    In XSE, it is called writebytetooffset

                    It is written like this...

                    writebytetooffset 0xoffset 0xvalue


                    Your offset would look like this...
                    writebytetooffset 0xE40500 0xA3

                    Keep in mind that the effects of this command are NOT permanent changes to the ROM, and if the areas in the RAM you changed, get cleared or changed by the computer, your changes will be erased. (Like if you change your player's OW with writeBytetooffset, then enter a building, your OW will change back to normal.)
                    Ok Here's what I wan't to do I'm adding an extra bit to a game (Not Overwriting) or at least trying to. I have a trainer sprite imported with UNLZ-GBA and an extra trainer with sydney's sprite. I know where the pointers are and how to change them but I wan't to know if it's possible to have a script that changes the bytes at the offset, battles the trainer then changes them back.

                    So change E40050 to A3 (change part of pointer) battle trainer with different sprite due to pointer change and change E40050 to 1F (change back).
                      #12489    
                    Old November 29th, 2009 (5:44 PM).
                    NarutoActor's Avatar
                    NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
                    The rocks cry out to me
                    • Silver Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Jan 2009
                    Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
                    Age: 23
                    Gender: Female
                    Nature: Bashful
                    Posts: 1,979
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by lord_kratos View Post
                    Dude can u give me a direct link?Im using a very slow pc.XD
                    You should be more independent but here you go http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=193377


                    (I miss cello)
                    __________________
                    ~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
                      #12490    
                    Old November 29th, 2009 (7:30 PM).
                    /Circa's Avatar
                    /Circa /Circa is offline
                    a face in the clouds.
                       
                      Join Date: Nov 2007
                      Location: Melbourne, Victoria
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Quiet
                      Posts: 881
                      I'm starting my hack with the maps of Sevii Island (FR) and I changed an indoor room, but then it changed other rooms aswell to the same thing, if I change them then the other ones the same get changed as well, is there a way I can stop this? Or do I have to keep creating new maps?
                      __________________
                      dragging himself, forw
                      ard again, the pain has
                      still not diminished. E
                      ventually though, he e
                      merges inside a v
                      ery large room w

                      here everything about

                      the house

                      suddenly

                      changes.
                        #12491    
                      Old November 29th, 2009 (10:53 PM).
                      rokrdude's Avatar
                      rokrdude rokrdude is offline
                      POKEMON : SINNOH QUEST CREATOR
                         
                        Join Date: Oct 2009
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 136
                        I am having problems inserting backsprite of pokemon it always comes messed up
                        Frontsprite works perfectly

                        Someone said earlier that backprite should be shiny is he correct bcs i was trying normal back sprite

                        Also about going to previous pal for inserting backsprite is it previous pal of backsprite of pokemon given just after front sprite in ulza?
                          #12492    
                        Old November 29th, 2009 (11:03 PM).
                        0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
                        0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
                        Im comin' home...
                        • Silver Tier
                         
                        Join Date: Jan 2008
                        Location: Superjail Penitentiary
                        Age: 25
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Gentle
                        Posts: 1,816
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by rokrdude View Post
                        I am having problems inserting backsprite of pokemon it always comes messed up
                        Frontsprite works perfectly

                        Someone said earlier that backprite should be shiny is he correct bcs i was trying normal back sprite

                        Also about going to previous pal for inserting backsprite is it previous pal of backsprite of pokemon given just after front sprite in ulza?
                        Yes, you need to upload the shiny pallet of a pokemon in order for the backsprite to look normal...
                        __________________
                        >Boot Jailbot
                        >Pass *****
                        .
                        .
                        Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
                        Greetings Warden
                        of Superjail Penitentiary
                        Awaiting user input...

                        >Display User_Info
                        ╠══User Info══╣
                        Username:
                        0m3GA ARS3NAL
                        Age: 18
                        Sex: Male ♂
                        Race: Caucasian
                        Quote:
                        "What is this
                        I don't even..."

                        M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
                        ╠══End of File══╣
                        Awaiting user input...

                        >
                          #12493    
                        Old November 30th, 2009 (6:17 AM).
                        rokrdude's Avatar
                        rokrdude rokrdude is offline
                        POKEMON : SINNOH QUEST CREATOR
                           
                          Join Date: Oct 2009
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 136
                          Sorry i still have problems inserting backsprite even after trying shiny pallets

                          Went at the position of the backsprite of pokemon
                          pressed previous pal
                          inserted shiny backsprite there and fixed pointers


                          Still backsprite messed up
                          Can anyone help???
                            #12494    
                          Old November 30th, 2009 (8:11 AM).
                          Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
                          Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is online now
                          Memento Mori
                          • Gold Tier
                           
                          Join Date: Jul 2008
                          Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
                          Age: 25
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Calm
                          Posts: 14,503
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by rokrdude View Post
                          Still backsprite messed up
                          Can anyone help???
                          Use Wichu's sprite pack


                          lord_kratos : It's not my ROM base to be exact xD
                          __________________
                          ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

                          Anime List | PSN Trophy List
                            #12495    
                          Old November 30th, 2009 (8:29 AM).
                          Haku.'s Avatar
                          Haku. Haku. is offline
                          (FLAME)...H....A...K..U
                             
                            Join Date: Jan 2008
                            Location: Singapore :D
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Quiet
                            Posts: 386
                            Can anyone tell me must i use setvar 0x8004 0x0 before every specials?
                            Note.// Using JPAN's patch.
                            __________________

                              #12496    
                            Old November 30th, 2009 (11:52 AM).
                            Pokeboss Pokeboss is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Sep 2009
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 1
                              Hello, how to insert co/aa tileset on gba rom? Who can do the files.dib ...

                              Sorry I'm french and i talk a bad english
                                #12497    
                              Old November 30th, 2009 (12:55 PM).
                              Pokepal17's Avatar
                              Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
                              More cowbell~
                              • Silver Tier
                               
                              Join Date: Oct 2008
                              Location: Steeltown
                              Age: 22
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Modest
                              Posts: 1,517
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by xmouvelianx View Post
                              Can anyone tell me must i use setvar 0x8004 0x0 before every specials?
                              Note.// Using JPAN's patch.
                              Because some specials depend on the values in 0x8004 or store a value in 0x8004.
                              __________________
                              Pokémon Stardrop
                                #12498    
                              Old November 30th, 2009 (1:13 PM).
                              NarutoActor's Avatar
                              NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
                              The rocks cry out to me
                              • Silver Tier
                               
                              Join Date: Jan 2009
                              Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
                              Age: 23
                              Gender: Female
                              Nature: Bashful
                              Posts: 1,979
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Cirnos Servant View Post
                              I'm starting my hack with the maps of Sevii Island (FR) and I changed an indoor room, but then it changed other rooms aswell to the same thing, if I change them then the other ones the same get changed as well, is there a way I can stop this? Or do I have to keep creating new maps?
                              This used to happen to me back when I hacked ruby. I have an idea but I never tried it so its all theory. I think all the maps use differen't event offsets but same map offsets. so go to the map that is giving you the problems and replace the map's offset with free space(note this will make the map look weird and you will have to re make the map and you need to be in professional view not basic)
                              __________________
                              ~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
                                #12499    
                              Old November 30th, 2009 (2:34 PM).
                              Sonikku17's Avatar
                              Sonikku17 Sonikku17 is offline
                              Wanderer
                                 
                                Join Date: Aug 2008
                                Age: 25
                                Nature: Impish
                                Posts: 18
                                Just one question. Is there any way to predetermine the moves of a Pokemon obtained from a givepokemon/giveegg script? Thanks!
                                  #12500    
                                Old November 30th, 2009 (2:55 PM).
                                Pokepal17's Avatar
                                Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
                                More cowbell~
                                • Silver Tier
                                 
                                Join Date: Oct 2008
                                Location: Steeltown
                                Age: 22
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Modest
                                Posts: 1,517
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by Sonikku17 View Post
                                Just one question. Is there any way to predetermine the moves of a Pokemon obtained from a givepokemon/giveegg script? Thanks!
                                Both would require ASM, but since givepokemon will randomly egenrate stats as soon as the command is activated, it would take some complex ASM to find out. Same with an egge, but since the egg's stats are determined when it's given, not when it hatches, it would take easier ASM to display it's stats.
                                __________________
                                Pokémon Stardrop
                                Closed Thread

                                Quick Reply

                                Join the conversation!

                                Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                Sponsored Links
                                Thread Tools

                                Posting Rules
                                You may not post new threads
                                You may not post replies
                                You may not post attachments
                                You may not edit your posts

                                BB code is On
                                Smilies are On
                                [IMG] code is On
                                HTML code is Off

                                Forum Jump


                                All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:26 AM.