The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking
Help Thread Patching & Emulation

ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #101    
Old February 7th, 2010 (11:54 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
  • Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 14,447
Quote:
Originally Posted by Konekodemon View Post
I am having trouble with the NO$GBA Emulator. Everytime I click to open it, it tries to open up like a Rom file and wants me to open it up with something else. How do I fix this?
There's nothing wrong with it... just select your ROM and enjoy playing
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
Reply With Quote

Relevant Advertising!

  #102    
Old February 7th, 2010 (6:50 PM).
ElBurrito's Avatar
ElBurrito ElBurrito is offline
I'm not just any burrito. I am THE burrito.
     
    Join Date: Jan 2010
    Location: Middle of Nowhere, Missouri. 'Murica!.
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Bold
    Posts: 499
    Im hacking emerald.
    How do you change the badge pictures? also is there a tool for editing trainers? and how do you edit the titlescreen?
    Reply With Quote
      #103    
    Old February 7th, 2010 (11:58 PM).
    NiKaNoRoU's Avatar
    NiKaNoRoU NiKaNoRoU is offline
    Dedicated to Thrace
       
      Join Date: Sep 2009
      Age: 25
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 660
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by ElBurrito View Post
      Im hacking emerald.
      How do you change the badge pictures? also is there a tool for editing trainers? and how do you edit the titlescreen?
      The badges are changed with UnLZ-GBA, a tool that edits the sprites in the rom.
      As for trainers, there is another tool called Advance Trainer, by HackMew.

      Henceforth, this isn't the place to ask for these. This thread is directed twards Emulation.
      For future reference towards rom hacking and editing, please ask your questions in this thread.
      __________________

      Your knight from the plane of light
      Reply With Quote
        #104    
      Old February 9th, 2010 (6:07 PM).
      Gator99 Gator99 is offline
         
        Join Date: Sep 2009
        Posts: 5
        is it possible to pal park on an emulator? if so how?
        Reply With Quote
          #105    
        Old February 10th, 2010 (12:05 AM).
        NiKaNoRoU's Avatar
        NiKaNoRoU NiKaNoRoU is offline
        Dedicated to Thrace
           
          Join Date: Sep 2009
          Age: 25
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 660
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Gator99 View Post
          is it possible to pal park on an emulator? if so how?
          You might be able to. But I don't know how. Afaik, there is no emulator for a wifi network.
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by dante414 View Post
          Hello! when I insert a script or change an existing one some thing always happens another script is messed or when I change a trainer using a trainer editor another trainers stuff gets messed up can anyone explain why and how to stop it thanks.
          It's because you augment a compiled script. Scripts that have been compiled can only be edited to become less (or same) in content.
          Making the script bigger will mess up other offsets. Even one more character that produces extra byte(s).
          __________________

          Your knight from the plane of light
          Reply With Quote
            #106    
          Old February 13th, 2010 (6:11 AM).
          altariaking's Avatar
          altariaking altariaking is offline
          Needs NO VMs...
             
            Join Date: Dec 2009
            Location: Scotland, Lesmahagow
            Age: 42
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Naive
            Posts: 1,098
            Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to altariaking
            how do i get emerald to work on vba?
            __________________
            http://www.pokecommunity.com/member.php?u=253113
            Reply With Quote
              #107    
            Old February 13th, 2010 (6:23 PM).
            ~Hot n' Cold~'s Avatar
            ~Hot n' Cold~ ~Hot n' Cold~ is offline
            is too good for a title.
               
              Join Date: Oct 2008
              Location: Michigan
              Age: 20
              Gender: Female
              Nature: Naive
              Posts: 329
              I searched but did not find. This is definately a simple question, though. I am trying my first run at DS Emulation. I downloaded No&GBA and ran a Pokemon Diamond ROM from either coolroms.com or romulation.com (or net, I don't remember). I tried both and got the same message:

              The data could not be read.

              Please turn off the power, then remove and reinsert the DS Game Card.

              So my question is...

              What should I do?
              __________________
              Reply With Quote
                #108    
              Old February 14th, 2010 (12:25 AM).
              Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
              Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
              Memento Mori
              • Gold Tier
               
              Join Date: Jul 2008
              Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
              Age: 24
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Calm
              Posts: 14,447
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by ~Hot n' Cold~ View Post
              The data could not be read.

              Please turn off the power, then remove and reinsert the DS Game Card.

              So my question is...

              What should I do?
              Set the right setting
              Emulation Options - Cartridge Backup - FLASH 512K - Save Options - Reset ROM - Play
              Easy isn't it?
              __________________
              ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

              Anime List | PSN Trophy List
              Reply With Quote
                #109    
              Old February 16th, 2010 (3:18 AM).
              Garland Garland is offline
              Rouge troll.
                 
                Join Date: Feb 2010
                Location: London
                Age: 20
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Adamant
                Posts: 38
                Question:

                What emulator would you advise to use to play ROM hacks? No$gba, DeSmuME etc.

                Also, can you provide a download link the emulator of your choice, thanks.
                __________________
                There are 10 types of people in the world - those who understand binary and those who don't.
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by syphonfilter109 View Post
                I USE HARDEN THEN STRING SHOT ON MAY
                Reply With Quote
                  #110    
                Old February 16th, 2010 (5:51 AM).
                Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
                Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
                Memento Mori
                • Gold Tier
                 
                Join Date: Jul 2008
                Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
                Age: 24
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Calm
                Posts: 14,447
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Garland View Post
                No$gba, DeSmuME
                NOOO! You must never use DS emulators for hacks.
                Use VBA It's the best solution.
                __________________
                ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

                Anime List | PSN Trophy List
                Reply With Quote
                  #111    
                Old February 16th, 2010 (9:46 AM).
                Garland Garland is offline
                Rouge troll.
                   
                  Join Date: Feb 2010
                  Location: London
                  Age: 20
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Adamant
                  Posts: 38
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Ash493 View Post
                  NOOO! You must never use DS emulators for hacks.
                  Use VBA It's the best solution.
                  Thanks man. I'll download it right away.
                  __________________
                  There are 10 types of people in the world - those who understand binary and those who don't.
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by syphonfilter109 View Post
                  I USE HARDEN THEN STRING SHOT ON MAY
                  Reply With Quote
                    #112    
                  Old February 16th, 2010 (10:29 AM).
                  Sora's Nobody's Avatar
                  Sora's Nobody Sora's Nobody is offline
                  The Official Roxas
                  • Gold Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Jun 2009
                  Location: Destiny Island
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Brave
                  Posts: 1,111
                  Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Sora's Nobody
                  Do any Wi-Fi enabled DS emulators excist?
                  __________________

                  Sora's Nobody ★ Nothing Yet!
                  ♠The Official Roxas♠ My Stuff:


                  Reply With Quote
                    #113    
                  Old February 18th, 2010 (10:29 PM).
                  Destiny.'s Avatar
                  Destiny. Destiny. is offline
                  The Absol Master
                     
                    Join Date: Feb 2010
                    Gender: Female
                    Nature: Adamant
                    Posts: 167
                    Sora's Nobody- None do. Only iDeas has a 'dud' WIFI to fool the Rom into thinking that WIFI is enabled. This way, you can access the Underground.
                    Reply With Quote
                      #114    
                    Old February 19th, 2010 (10:48 AM).
                    speedybeast speedybeast is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Feb 2010
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 1
                      ok so this is a pretty basic question.
                      i have mac and i've been playing gen i and ii games with kigb, but it seems like the mac version makes weirdly formatted save states that can't be opened with other emulators. since linking/trading isn't supported on kigb for mac this is a problem. can anyone help?
                      Reply With Quote
                        #115    
                      Old February 20th, 2010 (7:10 AM).
                      mondays suck mondays suck is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Aug 2009
                        Location: Holy Roman Empire
                        Posts: 2,553
                        I already asked something similar to this in December, but I didn't get any answer.
                        So: Is there a way to play DS games (to be more specific: Pokemon Platinum) on an emulator without sound? I'm playing on No$gba and
                        when I set "Sound Output Mode" on "None" the game always freezes when a Pokemon's cry would be played. Is there a patch, or another stable DS emulator with which I could play without sound?
                        Reply With Quote
                          #116    
                        Old February 20th, 2010 (7:14 AM).
                        Fire Wolf's Avatar
                        Fire Wolf Fire Wolf is offline
                        it's as humid as a sauna, boy!
                           
                          Join Date: Sep 2009
                          Location: Antarctica
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Timid
                          Posts: 1,087
                          mondays suck, can't you just mute the speakers of your computer?
                          Reply With Quote
                            #117    
                          Old February 20th, 2010 (7:16 AM).
                          mondays suck mondays suck is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Aug 2009
                            Location: Holy Roman Empire
                            Posts: 2,553
                            Not really, because then i can't listen to other music than that of the games as well.
                            Reply With Quote
                              #118    
                            Old February 20th, 2010 (7:23 AM).
                            Sora's Nobody's Avatar
                            Sora's Nobody Sora's Nobody is offline
                            The Official Roxas
                            • Gold Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Jun 2009
                            Location: Destiny Island
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Brave
                            Posts: 1,111
                            Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Sora's Nobody
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by mondays suck View Post
                            Not really, because then i can't listen to other music than that of the games as well.
                            If you have windows 7 or maybe vista you can just turn the sound down for that particular application
                            __________________

                            Sora's Nobody ★ Nothing Yet!
                            ♠The Official Roxas♠ My Stuff:


                            Reply With Quote
                              #119    
                            Old February 20th, 2010 (7:41 AM).
                            mondays suck mondays suck is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Aug 2009
                              Location: Holy Roman Empire
                              Posts: 2,553
                              I never heard of that function before, but somehow with the help of google and some experimentation I did actually manage to find it, and it works. At least one thing that's better in Vista than it was in XP

                              Thanks.
                              Reply With Quote
                                #120    
                              Old February 21st, 2010 (3:09 PM). Edited February 21st, 2010 by NTA.
                              NTA's Avatar
                              NTA NTA is offline
                              Where?
                                 
                                Join Date: Nov 2007
                                Nature: Adamant
                                Posts: 264
                                the thing im most confused on is this
                                the first is the default value
                                tis is what it looks lie in the disassembler
                                0400000a 1e05 sub r5, r0, #0x0

                                and the value i want to change it to is
                                0400000a 1e85 sub r5, r0, #0x2

                                how would i be able to do that?

                                the asm tutorials help a little its just certain things i dont get about it though =\
                                __________________

                                Reply With Quote
                                  #121    
                                Old February 21st, 2010 (4:52 PM).
                                isolated isolated is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Feb 2010
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Posts: 3
                                  Me and a friend edited our own Fire Red to make it more challenging, etc. We did a lot of work, and now we feel we need to add extra features to the patch.

                                  Here it is: We used Advance Map to make our own building in Viridian City. We then edited Movement Permissions to suit. Now, with regards to events, I am stuck. I want it to be a certain headquarters for a side story in the game. My friend and I have little knowledge regarding this sort of thing, and I've eventually joined PC to seek help. Basically, we need help completing this building, etc.

                                  PM for contact details (MSN, etc.)

                                  Thank you so much.
                                  Reply With Quote
                                    #122    
                                  Old February 22nd, 2010 (6:14 PM).
                                  cheatfreak23's Avatar
                                  cheatfreak23 cheatfreak23 is offline
                                  Commander&Chief of cheatcodes
                                     
                                    Join Date: Dec 2008
                                    Location: Anywhere, for Ive mastered Walk Through Walls!
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Quirky
                                    Posts: 179
                                    OK, Ive stepped away from VBA for awhile. Now Im using that Desmume stuff. Is there a thread that tells you how to deal with .rar files since I cant seem to find a ROM download that isnt an .rar file?
                                    Reply With Quote
                                      #123    
                                    Old February 22nd, 2010 (6:18 PM).
                                    Incineroar's Avatar
                                    Incineroar Incineroar is offline
                                    the spirit of the fighter
                                    • Moderator
                                    • Platinum Tier
                                    • Developer
                                     
                                    Join Date: May 2009
                                    Location: Iki Town
                                    Age: 22
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Brave
                                    Posts: 13,341
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by cheatfreak23 View Post
                                    OK, Ive stepped away from VBA for awhile. Now Im using that Desmume stuff. Is there a thread that tells you how to deal with .rar files since I cant seem to find a ROM download that isnt an .rar file?
                                    An .rar is a type of compressed file. To extract it, you'll need a file extractor, like 7Zip.
                                    __________________
                                    Reply With Quote
                                      #124    
                                    Old February 22nd, 2010 (6:36 PM). Edited February 22nd, 2010 by cheatfreak23.
                                    cheatfreak23's Avatar
                                    cheatfreak23 cheatfreak23 is offline
                                    Commander&Chief of cheatcodes
                                       
                                      Join Date: Dec 2008
                                      Location: Anywhere, for Ive mastered Walk Through Walls!
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Quirky
                                      Posts: 179
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by Team Fail View Post
                                      An .rar is a type of compressed file. To extract it, you'll need a file extractor, like 7Zip.
                                      Ah. Where would I find such a file extractor?

                                      EDIT: Found the program. Not sure how to use it though...

                                      EDIT 2: Got it. Thanks for telling me the name of the program.

                                      EDIT 3: Now my emulator wont show what's going on in the game. I have files for Pokemon Platinum, Castlevania: Portrait of Ruin, and PkeMon Explorers of Time/Explorers of Darkness. What emulator should I use for them?
                                      Reply With Quote
                                        #125    
                                      Old February 23rd, 2010 (6:02 AM).
                                      Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
                                      Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
                                      Memento Mori
                                      • Gold Tier
                                       
                                      Join Date: Jul 2008
                                      Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
                                      Age: 24
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Calm
                                      Posts: 14,447
                                      Platinum and both Explorers are ds games so No$GBA is what you need
                                      __________________
                                      ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

                                      Anime List | PSN Trophy List
                                      Reply With Quote
                                      Reply
                                      Quick Reply

                                      Sponsored Links
                                      Thread Tools

                                      Posting Rules
                                      You may not post new threads
                                      You may not post replies
                                      You may not post attachments
                                      You may not edit your posts

                                      BB code is On
                                      Smilies are On
                                      [IMG] code is On
                                      HTML code is Off

                                      Forum Jump


                                      All times are GMT -8. The time now is 1:47 AM.