Off-Topic Hang out with people and talk about whatever. Feel free to suggest a better description for this forum as everyone seems to have an opinion. :D

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old March 27th, 2010 (5:52 PM).
Cilerba Cilerba is offline
the hearts of lonely people
  • Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,171
Hi, I was wondering if Windows 7 had a built-in reboot function. I want to completely restore my laptop to its factory settings. I saw the "Backup and Restore" function, but I don't want to back any of my data up, since I already have it saved on a USB drive.

Any advice on what to do?
__________________

Relevant Advertising!

  #2    
Old March 27th, 2010 (6:16 PM).
Melody's Avatar
Melody Melody is offline
♥ Hugging You, that's what friends do!~ ♥
  • Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cuddling those close to me
Gender: Female
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 6,200
No, Windows 7 itself does not have such a function. If you bought your computer with Windows 7 already on it, there may be a way to restore it to factory condition by pressing a certain key before Windows begins to load, OR booting from a Recovery CD/DVD that came with your Computer

Note that there may be a pre-installed program that came with your computer which enables you to BURN a recovery CD/DVD if none came with your computer.
__________________
PAIRS
Astral and Soipe
Member Of Discord HypeSquad

  #3    
Old March 27th, 2010 (6:19 PM).
Cilerba Cilerba is offline
the hearts of lonely people
  • Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pachy View Post
No, Windows 7 itself does not have such a function. If you bought your computer with Windows 7 already on it, there may be a way to restore it to factory condition by pressing a certain key before Windows begins to load, OR booting from a Recovery CD/DVD that came with your Computer

Note that there may be a pre-installed program that came with your computer which enables you to BURN a recovery CD/DVD if none came with your computer.
Oh, alright, thanks.

I did create 3 seperate factory restore disks, using the Acer Reboot Function, I don't know how to use it...
  #4    
Old March 27th, 2010 (6:22 PM).
John-117's Avatar
John-117 John-117 is offline
Jirachi lover
     
    Join Date: Mar 2010
    Location: America from Hong Kong
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Quiet
    Posts: 134
    What are you using, a laptop or a desktop?
    Laptop: the company who made the laptop should tell you a way to reinstall your OS.
    Desktop: when you turn on your computer, interrupt it and you can put your disc and reinstall it.
      #5    
    Old March 27th, 2010 (6:25 PM).
    Cilerba Cilerba is offline
    the hearts of lonely people
    • Silver Tier
     
    Join Date: Feb 2010
    Location: Massachusetts
    Age: 20
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Quiet
    Posts: 1,171
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by John-117 View Post
    What are you using, a laptop or a desktop?
    Laptop: the company who made the laptop should tell you a way to reinstall your OS.
    Desktop: when you turn on your computer, interrupt it and you can put your disc and reinstall it.
    I am using a laptop, sorry I forgot to mention that.
      #6    
    Old March 27th, 2010 (6:28 PM).
    Melody's Avatar
    Melody Melody is offline
    ♥ Hugging You, that's what friends do!~ ♥
    • Crystal Tier
     
    Join Date: Oct 2004
    Location: Cuddling those close to me
    Gender: Female
    Nature: Naughty
    Posts: 6,200
    Please contact the manufacturer of your laptop or look on their website for instructions on how to restore your computer back to it's factory state.
      #7    
    Old March 27th, 2010 (6:34 PM).
    Cilerba Cilerba is offline
    the hearts of lonely people
    • Silver Tier
     
    Join Date: Feb 2010
    Location: Massachusetts
    Age: 20
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Quiet
    Posts: 1,171
    If I do have a laptop, will it still work by pressing...F8?...during the reboot?
      #8    
    Old March 27th, 2010 (6:45 PM).
    Melody's Avatar
    Melody Melody is offline
    ♥ Hugging You, that's what friends do!~ ♥
    • Crystal Tier
     
    Join Date: Oct 2004
    Location: Cuddling those close to me
    Gender: Female
    Nature: Naughty
    Posts: 6,200
    um....I don't know. Consult the MANUAL that CAME WITH your LAPTOP!

    Or look it up online and see if you can find an online manual at your laptop manufacturer's website.
      #9    
    Old March 27th, 2010 (7:02 PM).
    Cilerba Cilerba is offline
    the hearts of lonely people
    • Silver Tier
     
    Join Date: Feb 2010
    Location: Massachusetts
    Age: 20
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Quiet
    Posts: 1,171
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Pachy View Post
    um....I don't know. Consult the MANUAL that CAME WITH your LAPTOP!

    Or look it up online and see if you can find an online manual at your laptop manufacturer's website.
    Um. OK! I will DO that. No NEED for the RUDENESS!

    gosh...
      #10    
    Old March 27th, 2010 (11:53 PM).
    Hovo's Avatar
    Hovo Hovo is offline
    We gotta stay together.
       
      Join Date: Jun 2009
      Location: Los Angeles
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Sassy
      Posts: 54
      Did your laptop come with a factory image drive?

      Go to Start -> Computer. There should be the C: drive, and if your laptop came with it, a drive called Factory_image or something along those lines.
      __________________

        #11    
      Old March 28th, 2010 (12:32 PM).
      twocows's Avatar
      twocows twocows is offline
      Pretentious Intellectual Jerk
      • Gold Tier
       
      Join Date: Mar 2009
      Location: Michigan
      Age: 26
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Lax
      Posts: 4,125
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Cilerba View Post
      Um. OK! I will DO that. No NEED for the RUDENESS!

      gosh...
      Pachy has a point. Always read the manual and Google before asking questions. First result on Google for acer factory reset gives me this.
      __________________
      Doctors Without Borders: one of the few charity groups you can rely on to actually do real good in the world.

      "The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all." - H. L. Mencken, unsourced

      "There is a cult of ignorance in the United States, and there always has been. The strain of anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that 'my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge.'"- Isaac Asimov, Column in Newsweek (21 January 1980) [source]
        #12    
      Old March 29th, 2010 (7:27 AM).
      Pazuzu's Avatar
      Pazuzu Pazuzu is offline
      Flushing Meadows
      • Silver Tier
       
      Join Date: Sep 2004
      Location: Room 1202
      Nature: Bold
      Posts: 5,451
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Cilerba View Post
      Um. OK! I will DO that. No NEED for the RUDENESS!

      gosh...
      You made my day with that you know? XD!

      But in all seriousness, if you have a recovery CD/DVD, usually you can boot from it by pressing one of the F-Buttons on your keyboard.
      But which you have to press differs from manufacturer to manufacturer.
      Dell uses F12, others use F2, some use F8. You can find that out from your manual or the manufacturer website.
      __________________
      This signature has been disabled.
      Height well exceeds 350px.
      Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

      You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

      Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
        #13    
      Old March 29th, 2010 (11:10 AM).
      Cilerba Cilerba is offline
      the hearts of lonely people
      • Silver Tier
       
      Join Date: Feb 2010
      Location: Massachusetts
      Age: 20
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Quiet
      Posts: 1,171
      Well, I figured it out on my own. It was something completely different from what you guys had said, I forgot how I did it, but I got to some menu, and it had about 7 different reboot options.

      Thanks for the help everyone, sorry for that post above, I was sort of in a bad mood because I couldn't figure out how to do the reboot.
        #14    
      Old March 29th, 2010 (11:25 AM).
      Heart's Soul's Avatar
      Heart's Soul Heart's Soul is offline
      Hey, look, I was gone.
         
        Join Date: Nov 2007
        Age: 21
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 2,534
        Why can't you just format your HDD and insert a disc to reinstall Windows 7? Or... use GOOGLE!?
        __________________
        "No calendar today. Oh, that's a shame. What day is it today? It is no day. The calendar does not exist anymore. Today does not exist." - Professional Idiot
          #15    
        Old March 29th, 2010 (3:37 PM).
        donavannj's Avatar
        donavannj donavannj is offline
        • Moderator
        • Crystal Tier
         
        Join Date: Mar 2005
        Location: 'cause it get cold like Minnesota
        Age: 26
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 20,403
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Cilerba View Post
        Um. OK! I will DO that. No NEED for the RUDENESS!

        gosh...
        Pachy had already essentially told you to that in his last post without explicitly saying, "check the manual". :\

        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Cilerba View Post
        Well, I figured it out on my own. It was something completely different from what you guys had said, I forgot how I did it, but I got to some menu, and it had about 7 different reboot options.

        Thanks for the help everyone, sorry for that post above, I was sort of in a bad mood because I couldn't figure out how to do the reboot.
        Sounds like there was a hidden system restore partition on your computer. A fair few manufacturers do it this way now.

        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Heart's Soul View Post
        Why can't you just format your HDD and insert a disc to reinstall Windows 7? Or... use GOOGLE!?
        Because, it's a laptop... and some manufacturers don't include restore CDs with their computers (I know HP does, but Sony doesn't, and apparently, neither does Acer). They use hidden system restore/recovery partitions instead.
        __________________

        A Pokemon that is amazing.
        Support Bulbasaur because Charmander and Squirtle both suck!
          #16    
        Old April 2nd, 2010 (1:52 AM).
        Archer's Avatar
        Archer Archer is offline
        a.k.a: ethan.
        • Crystal Tier
         
        Join Date: Oct 2006
        Location: NSW, Australia
        Nature: Modest
        Posts: 3,946
        Cilerba - I'm glad you worked it out. Keep in mind, a reboot is turning your computer off and then back on. You mean a restore or possibly a reinstall.

        Heart's Soul - Because then they need to hunt down a plethora of drivers and have a Windows 7 disc in the first place. Given they've had trouble working out how to boot off a CD (don't take this the wrong way, OP.) a scratch reinstall is quite possibly beyond them. A restore is so much easier for a novice.

        donnavannj - As far as I know, HP haven't provided restore CDs for a looooong time. They have an option in the Windows start menu that reboots into the recovery wizard, though.
          #17    
        Old April 4th, 2010 (9:33 PM).
        donavannj's Avatar
        donavannj donavannj is offline
        • Moderator
        • Crystal Tier
         
        Join Date: Mar 2005
        Location: 'cause it get cold like Minnesota
        Age: 26
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 20,403
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Archer View Post
        donnavannj - As far as I know, HP haven't provided restore CDs for a looooong time. They have an option in the Windows start menu that reboots into the recovery wizard, though.
        My workplace bought some last month... and they came with those RestorePlus! CDs, for both Windows 7 and Windows XP. Though that may be because it was a company buying.
          #18    
        Old April 7th, 2010 (2:31 PM).
        Archer's Avatar
        Archer Archer is offline
        a.k.a: ethan.
        • Crystal Tier
         
        Join Date: Oct 2006
        Location: NSW, Australia
        Nature: Modest
        Posts: 3,946
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by donavannj View Post
        My workplace bought some last month... and they came with those RestorePlus! CDs, for both Windows 7 and Windows XP. Though that may be because it was a company buying.
        The Business end of HP is completely different. Their products are actually good there, and they seem to last. Plus, I reckon the business end looks better.

        The Pavilions haven't had restore CDs for ages.
          #19    
        Old August 13th, 2014 (7:13 PM). Edited August 13th, 2014 by KDE King.
        KDE King's Avatar
        KDE King KDE King is offline
        Linux is better than Windoze
           
          Join Date: Jun 2004
          Location: Canada
          Gender:
          Posts: 31
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Pazuzu View Post


          You made my day with that you know? XD!

          But in all seriousness, if you have a recovery CD/DVD, usually you can boot from it by pressing one of the F-Buttons on your keyboard.
          But which you have to press differs from manufacturer to manufacturer.
          Dell uses F12, others use F2, some use F8. You can find that out from your manual or the manufacturer website.
          How ironic I find a post where someone else is telling Pazuzu no need for their rudeness.

          A google search accidenally led me here:
          http://www.pokecommunity.com/archive/index.php/t-13876.html


          Quote:
          Do not revive threads that are older than a month, please. Especially not completely pointless ones.
          Regarding the one moth rule, dumb. If a thread's info is valid, then the date is irrelevant. Regardless of choices on forum management (you want a forum full of closed dupe threads instead of one thread per convo, your choice) , it was uncalled for to call my thread "completely pointless".

          It was a video I found and wanted to share, that was the point, so therefore the thread is not pointless and the only thing completely pointless was that remark.


          Anyway, you won't see me here as:
          * I am too old for Pokemon
          * The only reason I joined was for the ROM Hack "Pokemon Snow" but am not allowed to reply to it duo to the aforementioned completely useless rule.
          __________________
          Anyone know where I can get Pokemon Snow IPS [hack of gold..]

          What about This rom?

          PLEASE HELP!
          I would appreciate if you could PM me with any info about old roms from when I first came here!
            #20    
          Old August 13th, 2014 (7:17 PM).
          KDE King's Avatar
          KDE King KDE King is offline
          Linux is better than Windoze
             
            Join Date: Jun 2004
            Location: Canada
            Gender:
            Posts: 31
            Just checked here:
            http://pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=66687&page=10

            Everything is poitnless to this guy, why are you here if it's pointless?
              #21    
            Old August 13th, 2014 (7:36 PM).
            Tsutarja's Avatar
            Tsutarja Tsutarja is online now
            • Moderator
            • Platinum Tier
            • PokéCommunity Daily
             
            Join Date: Mar 2010
            Location: Florida
            Age: 22
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Jolly
            Posts: 19,408
            Please do not revive threads that are older than 30 days, especially threads that are more than four years old. Thank you.

            Locked.
            __________________
            Moderator of S&T!Mod PartnerMy Website
            Closed Thread
            Quick Reply

            Sponsored Links
            Thread Tools

            Posting Rules
            You may not post new threads
            You may not post replies
            You may not post attachments
            You may not edit your posts

            BB code is On
            Smilies are On
            [IMG] code is On
            HTML code is Off

            Forum Jump


            All times are GMT -8. The time now is 4:27 PM.