Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #51    
Old March 22nd, 2010 (1:29 AM).
Zeffy's Avatar
Zeffy Zeffy is offline
bowties are cool
  • Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 6,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johto_legend View Post
hey i have a question. when i make the palette and "force" black and white, the white makes it 17 colors. and white isnt in the image so how can i get rid of it?
@Jm20
how do u move the colors around the way u said. in photoshop?
Instead of forcing black and white, select none or transparent. Any of those 2 works, just make sure you're colors is 16 or lower.
__________________
Reply With Quote

Relevant Advertising!

  #52    
Old March 26th, 2010 (4:09 AM).
Opalescent's Avatar
Opalescent Opalescent is offline
Ninja Mapper
     
    Join Date: Mar 2010
    Gender: Female
    Nature: Quirky
    Posts: 39
    Actually, I found an easier way of doing it
    But this is excellent for people new to Tile Inserting. Hmmmm now all I need is a guide to changing the animations

    Awesome
    Reply With Quote
      #53    
    Old April 4th, 2010 (12:55 AM).
    874521's Avatar
    874521 874521 is offline
    School days again...
       
      Join Date: Dec 2008
      Location: Philippines
      Age: 19
      Gender: Female
      Nature: Naughty
      Posts: 507
      I'm having a problem here, I put all the palettes at the Advance Map, but because the palettes are not exact, I put the ones which are nearest to the original. Here's what happened: (When I put it in the tileset but I'm not inserting it yet, it looked fine)

      Spoiler:
      __________________
      Hacks I Support:
      Pokemon Ametrino





      --------------------------
      My Thread: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=201787
      Post your suggestions on my thread.
      Contains DPP and HGSS Tiles and Overworlds!



      874521 Pair up with Napalm
      Reply With Quote
        #54    
      Old April 15th, 2010 (3:06 AM). Edited April 15th, 2010 by Doublet.
      Doublet's Avatar
      Doublet Doublet is offline
      Zelda PWNs!
         
        Join Date: Apr 2010
        Location: Some place secret... ;)
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Modest
        Posts: 7
        That was a pretty detailed tutorial, too bad I figured it out on my own before I read this! XD

        anyhow, I am still encountering one problem; In AM the tiles look fine... But when I play the rom its bassically Anarchy! I've already made sure theres no animations, and have deleted and replaced the tiles a good amount of times.

        Could someone help?
        __________________


        MASSIVE POKEMON TOURNAMENT UNDERWAY!

        Click on the link and sign up for Doublet's ShadowBrawl!

        http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?p=5729716#post5729716
        Reply With Quote
          #55    
        Old April 18th, 2010 (10:22 AM).
        joeprice joeprice is offline
           
          Join Date: Jul 2008
          Gender:
          Posts: 3
          Hey, great tutorial, very well set out, easy to read and helpful.
          BUUT.. I was wondering if you could help me. I can insert tiles just fine but when it comes to door animations I am at a total loss.
          Right now all that I am trying to do is move the door with the "R" on it from the "Five Isle Meadow" map on fire red onto tileset0. Managed this without a problem but I can't manage to associate the animation of the door opening with my new tile. I presumed setting the behaviour byte to 69 would do the job but it does not. Any help would be greatly greatly appreciated. Thanks.
          Reply With Quote
            #56    
          Old April 18th, 2010 (12:43 PM).
          ¬Er!c Cartman« ¬Er!c Cartman« is offline
             
            Join Date: Apr 2010
            Posts: 1
            Very great tutorial, thank you :D
            Reply With Quote
              #57    
            Old June 28th, 2010 (11:45 PM).
            Learath2's Avatar
            Learath2 Learath2 is offline
            Scripter
               
              Join Date: Aug 2009
              Location: Turkey
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Calm
              Posts: 114
              every thing gets weird after i add a secon tree i made the pallets but the left side of the left tree and everything up at left side gets very weird
              h t t p ://i48.tinypic.com/2uopc01.jpg
              Reply With Quote
                #58    
              Old June 29th, 2010 (1:24 AM).
              Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
              Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
              hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
                 
                Join Date: May 2008
                Age: 23
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Bashful
                Posts: 3,487
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Learath2 View Post
                every thing gets weird after i add a secon tree i made the pallets but the left side of the left tree and everything up at left side gets very weird
                h t t p ://i48.tinypic.com/2uopc01.jpg
                Well, yeah? you edited the colours of the whole Tileset, so all the tiles will change colour if they use that pallette. If that is what you were saying. If it is not that that is the problem, then what exactly is wrong, as the screenshot gives no hint.
                __________________


                Temmie vibrates intensely.

                awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

                OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

                can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

                RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

                Reply With Quote
                  #59    
                Old June 29th, 2010 (3:46 AM). Edited June 29th, 2010 by Learath2.
                Learath2's Avatar
                Learath2 Learath2 is offline
                Scripter
                   
                  Join Date: Aug 2009
                  Location: Turkey
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Calm
                  Posts: 114
                  h t t p://img689.imageshack.us/img689/5753/helpl.png

                  a better screenshot after adding the tree right side this happens i did make the pallets same
                  Reply With Quote
                    #60    
                  Old June 29th, 2010 (6:25 AM).
                  Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
                  Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
                  hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
                     
                    Join Date: May 2008
                    Age: 23
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Bashful
                    Posts: 3,487
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Learath2 View Post
                    h t t p://img689.imageshack.us/img689/5753/helpl.png

                    a better screenshot after adding the tree right side this happens i did make the pallets same
                    You've recoloured it wrong. You need to make all the tree colours fit the Tileset pallette exactly. Redo the tile, making sure that the tree fits the pallette perfectly.
                    __________________


                    Temmie vibrates intensely.

                    awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

                    OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

                    can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

                    RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

                    Reply With Quote
                      #61    
                    Old July 3rd, 2010 (2:33 PM).
                    sir.euge's Avatar
                    sir.euge sir.euge is offline
                    Bunchies Back!
                       
                      Join Date: Jun 2009
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Naughty
                      Posts: 140
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by 874521 View Post
                      Nice tutorial! Other tutorials are good too but this explains a lot.
                      Can I just paste the tile without 16 colors to the 16 colors instead of coloring it?
                      this is caused due to dithering. just uncheck that option when changing the color depth and your image wont have random dots all over it! this is probably what everyone is experiencing and they are probably forced to recolor their tiles
                      __________________
                      Reply With Quote
                        #62    
                      Old July 3rd, 2010 (9:57 PM).
                      Xnenai's Avatar
                      Xnenai Xnenai is offline
                      Developing Polyglot
                         
                        Join Date: Mar 2010
                        Location: New York
                        Age: 22
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Relaxed
                        Posts: 34
                        Great tut, I've definitely learned more from this than any other. I still have problems with my background color though...
                        __________________
                        Keto ki a okorpa?
                        Reply With Quote
                          #63    
                        Old August 21st, 2010 (7:37 AM).
                        Jm20's Avatar
                        Jm20 Jm20 is offline
                        A.k.a. Zig :-)
                           
                          Join Date: Sep 2009
                          Location: The Netherlands
                          Age: 24
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 88
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by 874521 View Post
                          I'm having a problem here, I put all the palettes at the Advance Map, but because the palettes are not exact, I put the ones which are nearest to the original. Here's what happened: (When I put it in the tileset but I'm not inserting it yet, it looked fine)

                          Spoiler:
                          Well this is a problem I have too. I am sure I have the right tileset with the right pallette, with no more than 16 colors, all indexed, blah blah. However, it still ends up this freaky in the Block Editor (and in the maps too).

                          Did anyone already find the solution to this problem?
                          Reply With Quote
                            #64    
                          Old August 21st, 2010 (1:04 PM).
                          Blaze Orange's Avatar
                          Blaze Orange Blaze Orange is offline
                          Lord of Blaze Castle
                             
                            Join Date: Aug 2010
                            Location: Kentucky
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Careful
                            Posts: 1
                            I don't see why gale and photoshop are necessary. Why can't I just index with IrfranView, set the first color of the pallet to transparent, paste it over in paint, and then export the pallet as a .PAL file in IrfranViw.
                            __________________
                            AND WE SHALL RULE THE WORLD...

                            Reply With Quote
                              #65    
                            Old August 21st, 2010 (1:40 PM).
                            Jm20's Avatar
                            Jm20 Jm20 is offline
                            A.k.a. Zig :-)
                               
                              Join Date: Sep 2009
                              Location: The Netherlands
                              Age: 24
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 88
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Blaze Orange View Post
                              I don't see why gale and photoshop are necessary. Why can't I just index with IrfranView, set the first color of the pallet to transparent, paste it over in paint, and then export the pallet as a .PAL file in IrfranViw.
                              You can. At least that's the way I do it and it works fine up until I import the whole thing in Amap...
                              Reply With Quote
                                #66    
                              Old August 21st, 2010 (9:52 PM).
                              Multi's Avatar
                              Multi Multi is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Aug 2010
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 5
                                It's the best Tile-sets Tutorial EVER I learned new things!
                                Reply With Quote
                                  #67    
                                Old August 22nd, 2010 (9:42 AM).
                                Jm20's Avatar
                                Jm20 Jm20 is offline
                                A.k.a. Zig :-)
                                   
                                  Join Date: Sep 2009
                                  Location: The Netherlands
                                  Age: 24
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Posts: 88
                                  Okay, I found out it's not GraphicsGale that saves palettes in a wrong way, instead it's A-map which interprets the colors completely wrong, hence the darkened colors. I have now kind of found a way to prevent AdvanceMap to ruin your palette. You should use .ACT as your palette saving format. Now, since neither GraphicsGale nor IrfanView are able to save palettes in .ACT format, you should first save the palette as .PAL. Next, open it up with this program: PaletteEditor (Direct Download) or any other palette editing program. Save the palette as .ACT and load it in A-map. As simple as that.

                                  However, it doesn't really help as long as this happens...
                                  Spoiler:


                                  If someone knows/finds out how to fix this, I would really appreciate it. If I need to give more info or screens just say.
                                  Reply With Quote
                                    #68    
                                  Old August 22nd, 2010 (9:53 AM).
                                  Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
                                  Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
                                  hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
                                     
                                    Join Date: May 2008
                                    Age: 23
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Bashful
                                    Posts: 3,487
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by Jm20 View Post
                                    Okay, I found out it's not GraphicsGale that saves palettes in a wrong way, instead it's A-map which interprets the colors completely wrong, hence the darkened colors. I have now kind of found a way to prevent AdvanceMap to ruin your palette. You should use .ACT as your palette saving format. Now, since neither GraphicsGale nor IrfanView are able to save palettes in .ACT format, you should first save the palette as .PAL. Next, open it up with this program: PaletteEditor (Direct Download) or any other palette editing program. Save the palette as .ACT and load it in A-map. As simple as that.

                                    However, it doesn't really help as long as this happens...
                                    Spoiler:


                                    If someone knows/finds out how to fix this, I would really appreciate it. If I need to give more info or screens just say.
                                    There is a third option. As always... That happens because the tileset doesn't match the pal file.

                                    Anyway, the third option is manually recolour all your new tiles to fit the pallette of the tileset (Ever heard of the Eyedropper and Eraser Trick?), and then Save it. Reload in Advance Map, and then change the Pallette.
                                    __________________


                                    Temmie vibrates intensely.

                                    awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

                                    OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

                                    can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

                                    RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

                                    Reply With Quote
                                      #69    
                                    Old August 22nd, 2010 (11:19 AM).
                                    Jm20's Avatar
                                    Jm20 Jm20 is offline
                                    A.k.a. Zig :-)
                                       
                                      Join Date: Sep 2009
                                      Location: The Netherlands
                                      Age: 24
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Posts: 88
                                      Maybe you can help me any further...? I recolored my custom tileset in the colors of Palette0 in Pallet Town trough importing the palette in GraphicsGale and thus generating a custom tileset in the colors of the default tileset in FireRed.
                                      Then I imported the tileset in Amap, and the following happens:
                                      Spoiler:

                                      Any further action, like trying to edit the blocks, results in blank tiles and blocks, both in the maps as in the block-bank and tileset... (Most commonly in colors green, blue and black.) See picture few posts earlier.

                                      It happens with every single tileset I import. Even when I load the default ingame tileset (which I had exported a second before) it crashes. I honestly think it is something with AdvanceMap, but on the other hand, many hackers succeeded in inserting custom tilesets...

                                      PS: Could it be something with animated tiles? I have kept most animated tiles original, but not for example doors etc.. Could this be the problem?

                                      PPS: Thanks to AdvancePaletteEditor by HackMew palette editing and inserting is no problem anymore whatsoever. However, the AdvanceMap .PAL format is distinctively different from the 'common' .PAL format. No other program than A-map accepts this different .PAL file.
                                      Reply With Quote
                                        #70    
                                      Old August 23rd, 2010 (12:21 AM).
                                      Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
                                      Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
                                      hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
                                         
                                        Join Date: May 2008
                                        Age: 23
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Bashful
                                        Posts: 3,487
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by Jm20 View Post
                                        Maybe you can help me any further...? I recolored my custom tileset in the colors of Palette0 in Pallet Town trough importing the palette in GraphicsGale and thus generating a custom tileset in the colors of the default tileset in FireRed.
                                        Then I imported the tileset in Amap, and the following happens: :paranoid:
                                        Spoiler:

                                        Any further action, like trying to edit the blocks, results in blank tiles and blocks, both in the maps as in the block-bank and tileset... (Most commonly in colors green, blue and black.) See picture few posts earlier.

                                        It happens with every single tileset I import. Even when I load the default ingame tileset (which I had exported a second before) it crashes. I honestly think it is something with AdvanceMap, but on the other hand, many hackers succeeded in inserting custom tilesets...

                                        PS: Could it be something with animated tiles? I have kept most animated tiles original, but not for example doors etc.. Could this be the problem?

                                        PPS: Thanks to AdvancePaletteEditor by HackMew palette editing and inserting is no problem anymore whatsoever. However, the AdvanceMap .PAL format is distinctively different from the 'common' .PAL format. No other program than A-map accepts this different .PAL file.
                                        Not many use GraphicsGale. It isn't to do with Animations. It is probably how you are doing it. Try NOT using Graphics Gale, manually reolouring your new tiles to fit the old Tileset, loading that in Advance Map, and using the Pallette Editor in Advance Map to redo the pallette. I think the key mistake you are using is not using AdvanceMaps in-built pallette editor.

                                        Before trying this method, redo yours, (Indexing the tileset, copy and pasting the new tile in), but do not change the pallette, then load the tileset in Advance Map, then do the pallette in Advance Map. If that doesn't work, then try the method I mentioned earlier.
                                        __________________


                                        Temmie vibrates intensely.

                                        awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

                                        OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

                                        can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

                                        RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

                                        Reply With Quote
                                          #71    
                                        Old August 24th, 2010 (4:04 AM).
                                        Jm20's Avatar
                                        Jm20 Jm20 is offline
                                        A.k.a. Zig :-)
                                           
                                          Join Date: Sep 2009
                                          Location: The Netherlands
                                          Age: 24
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Posts: 88
                                          Before trying any of the methods above at all, I decided to try to follow Cello's tutorial precisely once more. And, I'm a bit embarassed to admit, it worked! :D I still don't know exactly what I did wrong, but I now found the method that completely works. Thanks for all your advice and help, BanjoraMaxville! Now I can finally work further on my hack!
                                          Reply With Quote
                                            #72    
                                          Old August 26th, 2010 (9:50 AM).
                                          shawn0173's Avatar
                                          shawn0173 shawn0173 is offline
                                          Pokemon: Metallic Flames!
                                             
                                            Join Date: Jul 2010
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Posts: 82
                                            in photoshop, when i try opening my .png file photoshop closes. why is this? how can i fix it?
                                            Reply With Quote
                                              #73    
                                            Old August 26th, 2010 (10:10 AM).
                                            Multi's Avatar
                                            Multi Multi is offline
                                               
                                              Join Date: Aug 2010
                                              Gender: Male
                                              Posts: 5
                                              more Details! dude... can't help...
                                              Reply With Quote
                                                #74    
                                              Old August 26th, 2010 (10:14 AM).
                                              Binary's Avatar
                                              Binary Binary is offline
                                              え?
                                                 
                                                Join Date: Aug 2007
                                                Age: 22
                                                Posts: 3,993
                                                Quote:
                                                Originally Posted by shawn0173 View Post
                                                in photoshop, when i try opening my .png file photoshop closes. why is this? how can i fix it?
                                                It might be a problem with photoshop. Try re-installing it.
                                                Quote:
                                                Originally Posted by Multi View Post
                                                more Details! dude... can't help... :P
                                                I think it's as elaborated as it can be.
                                                __________________
                                                Reply With Quote
                                                  #75    
                                                Old August 26th, 2010 (10:24 AM). Edited August 26th, 2010 by shawn0173.
                                                shawn0173's Avatar
                                                shawn0173 shawn0173 is offline
                                                Pokemon: Metallic Flames!
                                                   
                                                  Join Date: Jul 2010
                                                  Gender: Male
                                                  Posts: 82
                                                  yeah i start it, i click open, i select my image which is in .png then photoshop automatically closes, thats it. ill try reinstalling it. thanks

                                                  EDIT: reinstalling it didnt work
                                                  Reply With Quote
                                                  Reply
                                                  Quick Reply

                                                  Sponsored Links
                                                  Thread Tools

                                                  Posting Rules
                                                  You may not post new threads
                                                  You may not post replies
                                                  You may not post attachments
                                                  You may not edit your posts

                                                  BB code is On
                                                  Smilies are On
                                                  [IMG] code is On
                                                  HTML code is Off

                                                  Forum Jump


                                                  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:51 PM.