Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #101    
Old August 20th, 2010 (11:25 AM).
Kevin's Avatar
Kevin Kevin is offline
kevin del rey
  • Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Virginia
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,689

Interesting. This is what I get when I resize:

__________________

Reply With Quote

Relevant Advertising!

  #102    
Old August 20th, 2010 (11:48 AM).
MonarchRoxonII's Avatar
MonarchRoxonII MonarchRoxonII is offline
     
    Join Date: May 2009
    Location: United States
    Age: 23
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Lax
    Posts: 5

    This is really helpful! (I find myself coming back to thing when inserting big sprites)

    But i do have one question: After inserting a sprite of Mewtwo and gone through each step correctly and then restarting UnLZ, why is the Mewtwo palette there but not the Mewtwo sprite (The original sprite is there instead)?
    I've played my rom and it has the correct image within the game, but UnLZ doesn't.

    Is this a bug for UnLZ or is there a problem with the offset i used? :\

    Reply With Quote
      #103    
    Old August 24th, 2010 (7:53 AM).
    stinger123's Avatar
    stinger123 stinger123 is offline
    I wish to learn .!PKM HACKING!
       
      Join Date: Jun 2010
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Calm
      Posts: 40

      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Destiny Demon View Post
      Interesting. This is what I get when I resize: [SPRITE] - Not allow to quote URLs until 15 posts.

      Did you paste the original resized sprite over the decreased colour depth sprite in paint?

      If so, then when decreasing the colour depth to 16 colours UNCHECK Floyd - SteinBerg Dithering, so you wont get those dots all over the sprite.

      Tell me if you have any more problems or you don't understand this stuff

      Reply With Quote
        #104    
      Old August 24th, 2010 (12:38 PM).
      Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
      Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
      hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
         
        Join Date: May 2008
        Age: 23
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Bashful
        Posts: 3,487

        Quote:
        Originally Posted by MonarchRoxonII View Post
        This is really helpful! (I find myself coming back to thing when inserting big sprites)

        But i do have one question: After inserting a sprite of Mewtwo and gone through each step correctly and then restarting UnLZ, why is the Mewtwo palette there but not the Mewtwo sprite (The original sprite is there instead)?
        I've played my rom and it has the correct image within the game, but UnLZ doesn't.

        Is this a bug for UnLZ or is there a problem with the offset i used? :\

        Neither. You put the sprite in a new offset, unlz still has the old offset. It isn't a bug or anything, it is just the sprite you inserted is somewhere else, because you placed it there, and the old sprite is still in the ROM, at the offset unlz is at.

        __________________



        Temmie vibrates intensely.

        awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

        OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

        can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

        RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

        Reply With Quote
          #105    
        Old August 28th, 2010 (12:52 AM).
        i_<3_absol's Avatar
        i_<3_absol i_<3_absol is offline
           
          Join Date: Jun 2010
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 1

          im tryin to take away ho-oh to become togekiss but it keeps saying image is not indexed
          whats up with that?

          Reply With Quote
            #106    
          Old August 28th, 2010 (2:47 AM).
          stinger123's Avatar
          stinger123 stinger123 is offline
          I wish to learn .!PKM HACKING!
             
            Join Date: Jun 2010
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Calm
            Posts: 40

            Quote:
            Originally Posted by i_<3_absol View Post
            im tryin to take away ho-oh to become togekiss but it keeps saying image is not indexed
            whats up with that?

            You get the sprite of togekiss and goto infranview and decrease colour depth to 16 colour bit. Uncheck the Floyd-SteinBerg dithering and click OK. Then save it as a different name like togekiss 64 indexed or something. Open paint, copy and paste the NOT INDEXED sprite of togekiss on the indexed sprite and save it. There you go, you have successfully indexed your sprite . Tell me if you have any more problems Also if it doesn't work I can do it for you

            Reply With Quote
              #107    
            Old September 3rd, 2010 (12:21 AM).
            Pokefreak4 Pokefreak4 is offline
               
              Join Date: Sep 2010
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 1

              Ty man!!! This was Really helpfull!! :D

              Reply With Quote
                #108    
              Old September 8th, 2010 (7:42 AM). Edited September 8th, 2010 by solarowl.
              solarowl's Avatar
              solarowl solarowl is offline
              I'll always be an Outsider.
              • Silver Tier
               
              Join Date: Aug 2010
              Location: Hoenn
              Age: 21
              Gender: Female
              Nature: Calm
              Posts: 911

              im trying it now...
              hope it works,
              and in the first paint i open up, i was trying bulbasaur(HGSS), and should i change the second or third step in paint to 100% because it got a bit smaller after i did it. also what should the dimensions of the original sprite be? My bulbasaur sprite is small but i made it 64x64. and after i changed it to 80%, bulbasaurs dimensions became 52 by 52

              __________________

              When I stepped out into the bright sunlight from the darkness of the movie house,
              I had only two things on my mind:
              Paul Newman and a ride home.
              ...

              Reply With Quote
                #109    
              Old September 26th, 2010 (8:53 AM).
              francisbb's Avatar
              francisbb francisbb is offline
              Join the Legacy...
                 
                Join Date: Aug 2010
                Location: SLEEPY ISLAND z...z...Z
                Age: 22
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Modest
                Posts: 27

                Do you have to put the blue out line on any sprite your doing

                Reply With Quote
                  #110    
                Old September 26th, 2010 (8:58 AM).
                Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
                Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
                hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
                   
                  Join Date: May 2008
                  Age: 23
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Bashful
                  Posts: 3,487

                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by solarowl View Post
                  im trying it now...
                  hope it works,
                  and in the first paint i open up, i was trying bulbasaur(HGSS), and should i change the second or third step in paint to 100% because it got a bit smaller after i did it. also what should the dimensions of the original sprite be? My bulbasaur sprite is small but i made it 64x64. and after i changed it to 80%, bulbasaurs dimensions became 52 by 52

                  If you're sprite is already at 64x64, you do not need to resize.

                  Why he put resize to 80% is because 80% of 80 is 64. If your sprite isn't 80, you need to resize it to 64 pixels by 64 pizels

                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by francisbb View Post
                  Do you have to put the blue out line on any sprite your doing

                  If you meant the background, it needs to have a colour at the background that is very different to the ones the sprite uses. Like a very very bright, eye burning pink.

                  __________________



                  Temmie vibrates intensely.

                  awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

                  OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

                  can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

                  RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

                  Reply With Quote
                    #111    
                  Old October 2nd, 2010 (1:18 AM).
                  Aljam's Avatar
                  Aljam Aljam is offline
                  Pierce the heavens
                  • Gold Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Jul 2008
                  Location: Canada
                  Age: 23
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Modest
                  Posts: 583

                  I kinda think the mods should put spoilers for the images as psyduck6199
                  doesn't intend on coming back anytime soon. (been friends with him for awhile)

                  __________________

                  Paired with Druyii.

                  Reply With Quote
                    #112    
                  Old January 12th, 2011 (10:29 PM).
                  eishiba eishiba is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Aug 2010
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 61

                    Why is it when I go to import the new sprite in and after using space finder and writing it to the ROM, if I go to the back sprite, and then go straight back to the front sprite that i just completed, the picture is the old sprite(in this case charmander) is very discolored. and where did my new sprite go? and in the game its discolored as the charmander rather than the new one. am i not getting enough space from space finder?

                    Reply With Quote
                      #113    
                    Old February 5th, 2011 (5:17 PM).
                    pghahaha's Avatar
                    pghahaha pghahaha is offline
                    Beware of Hippopotas!
                       
                      Join Date: Sep 2010
                      Location: Chicago
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Adamant
                      Posts: 22

                      Hi. I followed all steps, but unLZ told me "IMAGE NOT INDEXED"!
                      I am using a 64 x 64 Zigzagoon sprite with a cyan background color.
                      I have Windows 7.
                      Thx in advance!

                      __________________

                      My Team:


                      Friend Code (UNDER CONSTRUCTION )

                      Reply With Quote
                        #114    
                      Old February 22nd, 2011 (8:12 AM). Edited February 22nd, 2011 by Darkthrone.
                      Darkthrone Darkthrone is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Apr 2008
                        Posts: 12

                        It works but my sprites are all messed up ingame..

                        Reply With Quote
                          #115    
                        Old March 27th, 2011 (11:02 AM).
                        Lyrtes's Avatar
                        Lyrtes Lyrtes is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Mar 2011
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 3

                          I tryed to change the main character sprite, and it destroyed the rom.
                          im using ruby, followed the instructions and even used the same pallet as the original...
                          WHATS GOING ON???
                          HOW CAN I FIX IT???

                          __________________

                          Master gamer and trainer... not so much hacker

                          Reply With Quote
                            #116    
                          Old March 27th, 2011 (10:00 PM).
                          Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
                          Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
                          hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
                             
                            Join Date: May 2008
                            Age: 23
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Bashful
                            Posts: 3,487

                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Lyrtes View Post
                            I tryed to change the main character sprite, and it destroyed the rom.
                            im using ruby, followed the instructions and even used the same pallet as the original...
                            WHATS GOING ON???
                            HOW CAN I FIX IT???

                            More details.

                            What exactly is now wrong with the ROM? Just saying it destroyed it isn't a specific problem, as that could mean anything.

                            __________________



                            Temmie vibrates intensely.

                            awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

                            OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

                            can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

                            RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

                            Reply With Quote
                              #117    
                            Old March 28th, 2011 (2:06 PM).
                            Lyrtes's Avatar
                            Lyrtes Lyrtes is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Mar 2011
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 3

                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Banjora Marxvile View Post
                              More details.

                              What exactly is now wrong with the ROM? Just saying it destroyed it isn't a specific problem, as that could mean anything.

                              The screen just freaks out and turns into a green circle. im trying to insert this guy as the main boy character:

                              __________________

                              Master gamer and trainer... not so much hacker

                              Reply With Quote
                                #118    
                              Old March 28th, 2011 (2:08 PM).
                              Lyrtes's Avatar
                              Lyrtes Lyrtes is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Mar 2011
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 3

                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by Banjora Marxvile View Post
                                More details.

                                What exactly is now wrong with the ROM? Just saying it destroyed it isn't a specific problem, as that could mean anything.

                                (sorry, forgot to put in the sprite) The screen just freaks out and turns into a green circle. im trying to insert this guy as the main boy character:

                                Attached Images
                                File Type: png replace! a.png‎ (681 Bytes, 99 views) (Save to Dropbox)
                                __________________

                                Master gamer and trainer... not so much hacker

                                Reply With Quote
                                  #119    
                                Old July 18th, 2011 (12:15 AM).
                                Edward Newgate's Avatar
                                Edward Newgate Edward Newgate is offline

                                Everyone is a child of the sea

                                • Crystal Tier
                                 
                                Join Date: Jun 2011
                                Location: The Netherlands
                                Age: 21
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Relaxed
                                Posts: 274

                                ok quick question...
                                Every time I try this, and I pasted the "Good picture" over the "messed picture" (after indexing and pallete changing), and when I try to insert it in UNLZ, it says "Image not Indexed" ...?

                                Can anyone help me with this?

                                __________________

                                This signature has been disabled.
                                Exceeds signature height limit
                                Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

                                You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

                                Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.

                                Reply With Quote
                                  #120    
                                Old August 29th, 2011 (8:29 PM).
                                BloodWang BloodWang is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Aug 2011
                                  Location: Australia
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Calm
                                  Posts: 14

                                  Awesome, can wait to import Piplup to GREEN

                                  Reply With Quote
                                    #121    
                                  Old September 19th, 2011 (4:22 PM).
                                  PunkRock PunkRock is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Sep 2011
                                    Posts: 5

                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by pghahaha View Post
                                    Hi. I followed all steps, but unLZ told me "IMAGE NOT INDEXED"!
                                    I am using a 64 x 64 Zigzagoon sprite with a cyan background color.
                                    I have Windows 7.
                                    Thx in advance!

                                    Windows 7 Paint refuses to accept the image as " indexed ". I suggest you download PAINT.NET and Go from there. Also this goes to everyone having the problem of pasting the unindexed image over the indexed image. Download PAINT.NET and your problems should be solved.

                                    Reply With Quote
                                      #122    
                                    Old December 10th, 2011 (5:02 PM).
                                    Poijade Poijade is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: Nov 2011
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Posts: 1

                                      I make that and... failure.it dont work

                                      Reply With Quote
                                        #123    
                                      Old December 10th, 2011 (5:40 PM). Edited December 10th, 2011 by Speedster.
                                      Speedster's Avatar
                                      Speedster Speedster is offline
                                      The Unknown
                                         
                                        Join Date: Dec 2011
                                        Location: In the depths of space...
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Jolly
                                        Posts: 134

                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by Poijade View Post
                                        I make that and... failure.it dont work
                                        No one can really help you if you don't say what you did wrong. Just telling you for future reference. Also don't revive a thread. Read the rules.

                                        __________________


                                        .:Aegis:.
                                        ~coming soon~

                                        Reply With Quote
                                          #124    
                                        Old December 10th, 2011 (10:46 PM).
                                        SkyIsDarkBlue's Avatar
                                        SkyIsDarkBlue SkyIsDarkBlue is offline
                                           
                                          Join Date: Nov 2011
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Posts: 32

                                          I edited chimchar and a patch of the background colour appeared behind chimchar.Is it because i messed up at irfanview?

                                          Reply With Quote
                                            #125    
                                          Old December 24th, 2011 (8:28 AM). Edited December 24th, 2011 by Jcornell94.
                                          Jcornell94's Avatar
                                          Jcornell94 Jcornell94 is offline
                                             
                                            Join Date: Aug 2010
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Posts: 4

                                            Hey guys! I was experimenting and Idk if someone already posted this but you know how that outline always shows up that matches the background? Well to get rid of it instead of stretching/skewing your sprite then saving it don't. Instead just give it a background color and save a copy (or just save the image but I make copies just in case). Then do the steps you would in infranview, decreasing color depth, etc., then you stretch and skew both images (don't worry if the indexed one looks weird) copy the non indexed image and paste it into the indexed image and viola! No outline! But you still may have to do a bit of editing depending on the sprite and its pallete...

                                            Hoped this helped some people and sorry if it's a little unclear =)

                                            __________________

                                            Well... Pokémon Black&White was a huge disappointment... so will anyone help me with my hack that's going nowhere fast?

                                            Reply With Quote
                                            Reply
                                            Quick Reply

                                            Sponsored Links
                                            Thread Tools

                                            Posting Rules
                                            You may not post new threads
                                            You may not post replies
                                            You may not post attachments
                                            You may not edit your posts

                                            BB code is On
                                            Smilies are On
                                            [IMG] code is On
                                            HTML code is Off

                                            Forum Jump


                                            All times are GMT -8. The time now is 9:39 PM.