Research & Development Got a well-founded knack with ROM hacking? Love reverse-engineering the Pokémon games? Or perhaps you love your assembly language. This is the spot for polling and gathering your ideas, and then implementing them! Share your hypothesis, get ideas from others, and collaborate to create!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #51    
Old December 28th, 2009 (6:25 PM).
interdpth interdpth is offline
I've seen things, man.
     
    Join Date: Jul 2004
    Posts: 275
    Added the RTC asm back to the first post :)
    __________________
    yes, this is doge.

    potato is not here.

    bye
    Reply With Quote

    Relevant Advertising!

      #52    
    Old December 29th, 2009 (10:50 AM).
    Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
    Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
    hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
       
      Join Date: May 2008
      Age: 23
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Bashful
      Posts: 3,487
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by AztecFire View Post
      EZFlash does not have an RTC, that's why I'm asking if it's possible to check for the DS clock. The idea was that even though EZFlash has no RTC, Nintendo DS does, and the EZFlash operates in the GBA slot of a Nintendo DS.
      He answered your question. The RTC apparently (if I understand it right) checks what your Emulator knows, and your Emulator only knows it by checking the Windows Clock. If your EZ Flash understands the DS clock, and uses that, then yes, but as I know EZ Flash is a GBA thing, then it won't read the DS clock, meaning that the RTC won't read the clock, as EZ Flash can't... Sounds complicated, but simple.
      __________________


      Temmie vibrates intensely.

      awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

      OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

      can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

      RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

      Reply With Quote
        #53    
      Old December 30th, 2009 (3:32 PM).
      Matteron (96)'s Avatar
      Matteron (96) Matteron (96) is offline
      Difference is everything...
      • Gold Tier
       
      Join Date: May 2008
      Age: 20
      Posts: 270
      I got all this to work fine, but I have a question, well two actually.
      1. Will eevee be able to evolve into espeon/umbreon?
      2. If I were to make a script to tell the player that the time is <insert time here>, what would I need to enter in xse?
      __________________
      Matteron(96)
      Currently Playing--->
      Progress: Post-Game
      Current Team:


      In Terms of Hacking...
      Favorite ROM
      Skills
      Working On
      In Terms of Game Dev...
      Working On
      News
      I'm currently up for hire, for almost anything in ROM hacking, so just send me a PM.
      Reply With Quote
        #54    
      Old December 30th, 2009 (3:34 PM).
      interdpth interdpth is offline
      I've seen things, man.
         
        Join Date: Jul 2004
        Posts: 275
        I don't know about eevee

        But you need copy byte commands to read the values.
        __________________
        yes, this is doge.

        potato is not here.

        bye
        Reply With Quote
          #55    
        Old December 31st, 2009 (12:06 PM).
        Younegai Younegai is offline
           
          Join Date: Dec 2009
          Posts: 9
          I has a question

          Well, I don't really know where this should go, but, I was wondering if it were possible to have tiles act accordingly to the RTC. Like windows and lights, etc. And if so, would I need to do something to the code/script (I'm horrible at that stuff by the way...) or would I have to do something in AdvanceMap?
          Reply With Quote
            #56    
          Old December 31st, 2009 (12:29 PM).
          Matteron (96)'s Avatar
          Matteron (96) Matteron (96) is offline
          Difference is everything...
          • Gold Tier
           
          Join Date: May 2008
          Age: 20
          Posts: 270
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Younegai View Post
          I has a question

          Well, I don't really know where this should go, but, I was wondering if it were possible to have tiles act accordingly to the RTC. Like windows and lights, etc. And if so, would I need to do something to the code/script (I'm horrible at that stuff by the way...) or would I have to do something in AdvanceMap?
          Right now the easiest way to make stuff like lights that turn on at night is to open up DaN and change the pallet so that the pallet that you used for the light is brighter than all the other tiles.
          __________________
          Matteron(96)
          Currently Playing--->
          Progress: Post-Game
          Current Team:


          In Terms of Hacking...
          Favorite ROM
          Skills
          Working On
          In Terms of Game Dev...
          Working On
          News
          I'm currently up for hire, for almost anything in ROM hacking, so just send me a PM.
          Reply With Quote
            #57    
          Old January 7th, 2010 (3:28 AM).
          Dude_flibble_07's Avatar
          Dude_flibble_07 Dude_flibble_07 is offline
          Whaddya mean your not me dad?
             
            Join Date: Nov 2007
            Gender:
            Posts: 4
            Hey! been looking all over for a rtc for fr! 3 questions though: how do I put it in and can I use day and night with this? and if so, how? sorry, i am hopeless at scripting.
            Reply With Quote
              #58    
            Old January 7th, 2010 (3:36 AM).
            Darthatron's Avatar
            Darthatron Darthatron is offline
            巨大なトロール。
            • Silver Tier
             
            Join Date: Jan 2006
            Location: Melbourne, Australia
            Age: 25
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Modest
            Posts: 1,152
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Dude_flibble_07 View Post
            Hey! been looking all over for a rtc for fr! 3 questions though: how do I put it in and can I use day and night with this? and if so, how? sorry, i am hopeless at scripting.
            Look in the tool box, there is a thread for exactly what you are asking for.
            __________________
            あなた は しきしゃ です
            わたし は ばか です
            Reply With Quote
              #59    
            Old January 18th, 2010 (7:43 AM).
            Flandre Scarlet's Avatar
            Flandre Scarlet Flandre Scarlet is offline
            Free your mind.
            • Gold Tier
             
            Join Date: Feb 2008
            Location: Australia
            Age: 21
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Adamant
            Posts: 355
            Oh my god man, thanks so much! It's great someone managed to make a RTC for FireRed/LeafGreen. It works perfect on Firered.

            Again, thanks! ;3
            __________________
            Reply With Quote
              #60    
            Old January 31st, 2010 (12:56 AM).
            Omega Zero's Avatar
            Omega Zero Omega Zero is offline
            Is back...
            • Gold Tier
             
            Join Date: Dec 2009
            Location: I'm always living aren't I?
            Age: 19
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Relaxed
            Posts: 445
            Soo.. how do you get the script example to work? like example in your hack special adventures.. i have tryed callasm but that just freezes the game t_t.. is it writebytetooffset?
            __________________
            Reply With Quote
              #61    
            Old July 2nd, 2010 (6:13 AM).
            Jambo51's Avatar
            Jambo51 Jambo51 is offline
            Glory To Arstotzka
               
              Join Date: Jun 2009
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Quiet
              Posts: 732
              I'm trying to use the RTC to get the day of the week byte so that I can have day specific events, but every time I copy the byte stored at 0x305540 (I also checked offsets on either side of this), it returns 0 as the result.

              I'm running Windows 7 and i'm just wondering if it's a problem with VBA's time call, or if i'm looking in the wrong offset for the day of the week byte, or if i'm scripting it wrong, or if there's a problem with the RTC itself.

              I haven't yet checked if it works on Vista, but will try shortly.

              That said, i'm fairly sure that the RTC works fine, so if it's related to the time call function of VBA, then that would explain a lot.
              __________________
              Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
              Reply With Quote
                #62    
              Old July 2nd, 2010 (7:36 AM).
              Shiny Quagsire's Avatar
              Shiny Quagsire Shiny Quagsire is offline
              I'm Still Alive, Elsewhere
                 
                Join Date: May 2009
                Location: Hoenn Safari Zone
                Age: 19
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Jolly
                Posts: 700
                Make sure VBA's RTC clock is on.
                __________________



                Reply With Quote
                  #63    
                Old July 2nd, 2010 (10:00 AM).
                Jambo51's Avatar
                Jambo51 Jambo51 is offline
                Glory To Arstotzka
                   
                  Join Date: Jun 2009
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Quiet
                  Posts: 732
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by shiny quagsire View Post
                  Make sure VBA's RTC clock is on.
                  It is. It's just the day of the week byte I can't find.
                  __________________
                  Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
                  Reply With Quote
                    #64    
                  Old July 2nd, 2010 (10:19 AM).
                  Shiny Quagsire's Avatar
                  Shiny Quagsire Shiny Quagsire is offline
                  I'm Still Alive, Elsewhere
                     
                    Join Date: May 2009
                    Location: Hoenn Safari Zone
                    Age: 19
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Jolly
                    Posts: 700
                    Quote:
                    The time it gives you is stored at 0x300553C
                    In the following format.
                    Year u16
                    skip a byte
                    month u8
                    day u8
                    Day of week(mon-sun/1-7) u8
                    Hour u8
                    minute u8
                    second u8
                    that would be:
                    XX XX XX XX XX YY XX XX XX
                    the YY is the day of the week, it's at: 300554C
                    __________________



                    Reply With Quote
                      #65    
                    Old July 2nd, 2010 (10:42 AM).
                    knizz's Avatar
                    knizz knizz is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Aug 2007
                      Posts: 192
                      Can someone show me the part of the ASM that reads out the time value (=without the mainloop-hook and date-conversion). I can't understand GBATEK in this point.
                      __________________
                      Firered IDA 6.6 DB: https://www.dropbox.com/s/d856o3pyndyr5sr/firered.idb
                      VBA-M with lua scripting support
                      Reply With Quote
                        #66    
                      Old July 2nd, 2010 (4:10 PM).
                      Jambo51's Avatar
                      Jambo51 Jambo51 is offline
                      Glory To Arstotzka
                         
                        Join Date: Jun 2009
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Quiet
                        Posts: 732
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by shiny quagsire View Post
                        that would be:
                        XX XX XX XX XX YY XX XX XX
                        the YY is the day of the week, it's at: 300554C
                        I tried it and it didn't work. Thanks for the help though, shiny quagsire.
                        I'll continue this dialogue using PM's so we don't clutter up the thread.
                        __________________
                        Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
                        Reply With Quote
                          #67    
                        Old July 5th, 2010 (5:52 PM).
                        colcolstyles's Avatar
                        colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
                        Yours truly
                        • Crystal Tier
                         
                        Join Date: May 2008
                        Location: The Bay Area
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Lonely
                        Posts: 1,584
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Jambo51 View Post
                        I'm trying to use the RTC to get the day of the week byte so that I can have day specific events, but every time I copy the byte stored at 0x305540 (I also checked offsets on either side of this), it returns 0 as the result.

                        I'm running Windows 7 and i'm just wondering if it's a problem with VBA's time call, or if i'm looking in the wrong offset for the day of the week byte, or if i'm scripting it wrong, or if there's a problem with the RTC itself.

                        I haven't yet checked if it works on Vista, but will try shortly.

                        That said, i'm fairly sure that the RTC works fine, so if it's related to the time call function of VBA, then that would explain a lot.
                        The RTC doesn't provide a day-of-the-week byte. I haven't used this but from a brief scan of both ZDG and interdpth's code, I don't see any code that calculates the day of the week. You'll have to manually calculate the day from the date. Wikipedia has a nice article on the subject which I used to base my code off of (note: you'll have to call SWI $06 to utilize the modulo operator in assembly (read about it here))

                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by knizz View Post
                        Can someone show me the part of the ASM that reads out the time value (=without the mainloop-hook and date-conversion). I can't understand GBATEK in this point.
                        Aw, but that'll ruin the fun. It took me months to figure out how to read the time. Trust me, you'll feel a lot better if you figure it out yourself than if you take the easy way out.
                        __________________

                        Brother of Vrai
                        Reply With Quote
                          #68    
                        Old July 5th, 2010 (6:14 PM).
                        Shiny Quagsire's Avatar
                        Shiny Quagsire Shiny Quagsire is offline
                        I'm Still Alive, Elsewhere
                           
                          Join Date: May 2009
                          Location: Hoenn Safari Zone
                          Age: 19
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Jolly
                          Posts: 700
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by colcolstyles View Post
                          Aw, but that'll ruin the fun. It took me months to figure out how to read the time. Trust me, you'll feel a lot better if you figure it out yourself than if you take the easy way out.
                          It only took me about a week to figure it out
                          About 30 minutes to write an ASM routine to make the same effect :D

                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by colcolstyles View Post
                          The RTC doesn't provide a day-of-the-week byte.
                          How come it works for me? :\
                          __________________



                          Reply With Quote
                            #69    
                          Old July 5th, 2010 (6:56 PM).
                          colcolstyles's Avatar
                          colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
                          Yours truly
                          • Crystal Tier
                           
                          Join Date: May 2008
                          Location: The Bay Area
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Lonely
                          Posts: 1,584
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by shiny quagsire View Post
                          How come it works for me? :\
                          The code you're using probably has an additional routine that finds the day of the week. Maybe there is something in interdpth's code that does that. I didn't really look very hard.
                          __________________

                          Brother of Vrai
                          Reply With Quote
                            #70    
                          Old November 30th, 2010 (8:18 AM).
                          2RandomStudios's Avatar
                          2RandomStudios 2RandomStudios is offline
                          Angry Jigglypuff
                             
                            Join Date: Nov 2010
                            Location: Database Error
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 77
                            I understand how to insert it and all, but how would you actually use this in-game? Would you put a script on the berry tree? If so, what would the script be?
                            Thanks!
                            __________________
                            Reply With Quote
                              #71    
                            Old November 30th, 2010 (8:27 AM).
                            altariaking's Avatar
                            altariaking altariaking is offline
                            Needs NO VMs...
                               
                              Join Date: Dec 2009
                              Location: Scotland, Lesmahagow
                              Age: 42
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Naive
                              Posts: 1,098
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by 2RandomStudios View Post
                              I understand how to insert it and all, but how would you actually use this in-game? Would you put a script on the berry tree? If so, what would the script be?
                              Thanks!
                              Yep, you would use a script, however, the script you would have to do yourself, as he said in the front post that he doesn't want anyone to give it away.
                              __________________
                              http://www.pokecommunity.com/member.php?u=253113
                              Reply With Quote
                                #72    
                              Old November 30th, 2010 (2:10 PM).
                              2RandomStudios's Avatar
                              2RandomStudios 2RandomStudios is offline
                              Angry Jigglypuff
                                 
                                Join Date: Nov 2010
                                Location: Database Error
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 77
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by altariaking View Post


                                Yep, you would use a script, however, the script you would have to do yourself, as he said in the front post that he doesn't want anyone to give it away.
                                Thanks, but I'm new to ROM hacking and don't have the first clue on what to put in the script. If you could PM me with a sample as to what I might do, that would be awesome. Thanks!
                                __________________
                                Reply With Quote
                                  #73    
                                Old December 7th, 2010 (6:53 PM).
                                Elite Trainer Red's Avatar
                                Elite Trainer Red Elite Trainer Red is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Apr 2010
                                  Location: Mt.Silver
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Adamant
                                  Posts: 43
                                  Question does anyone have any idea about the pallete changing in the D&N?
                                  __________________
                                  This signature has been disabled.
                                  Reason: Spoilers in signature
                                  Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

                                  You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

                                  Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
                                  Reply With Quote
                                  Reply
                                  Quick Reply

                                  Sponsored Links
                                  Thread Tools

                                  Posting Rules
                                  You may not post new threads
                                  You may not post replies
                                  You may not post attachments
                                  You may not edit your posts

                                  BB code is On
                                  Smilies are On
                                  [IMG] code is On
                                  HTML code is Off

                                  Forum Jump


                                  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 9:11 PM.