The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking
[ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #18176    
Old April 24th, 2011 (6:39 PM).
colcolstyles's Avatar
colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
Yours truly
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Bay Area
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 1,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by GamerFilio View Post
Hmmm, not working for me.
Anybody know? :<
Out of curiosity, how did you try to use those commands?
__________________

Brother of Vrai

Relevant Advertising!

  #18177    
Old April 24th, 2011 (6:45 PM).
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron Darthatron is offline
巨大なトロール。
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by ..Beyond View Post
I'm looking at the WINE site, but I'm a little confused as to which one I should be downloading for Mac. Can you tell me specifically which version I should be looking for?
Sorry, I can't. I really wouldn't know. I don't use a Mac.
__________________
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
  #18178    
Old April 24th, 2011 (7:37 PM).
shinyabsol1's Avatar
shinyabsol1 shinyabsol1 is offline
Pokemon DarkJasper!?
     
    Join Date: Aug 2010
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Calm
    Posts: 330
    How many different grassy patch animations can I put into my hack?

    Actually, I want to have the same animation, but three different palettes for the grass (snowy, normal etc...). Can I do this, and if so, how?

    Thanks.
      #18179    
    Old April 24th, 2011 (9:15 PM).
    Darthatron's Avatar
    Darthatron Darthatron is offline
    巨大なトロール。
     
    Join Date: Jan 2006
    Location: Melbourne, Australia
    Age: 26
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Modest
    Posts: 1,152
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by shinyabsol1 View Post
    How many different grassy patch animations can I put into my hack?

    Actually, I want to have the same animation, but three different palettes for the grass (snowy, normal etc...). Can I do this, and if so, how?

    Thanks.
    You can only use one palette without hacking the games engine with ASM. Needless to say, it's no easy task. Though it has been done before. I think it was colcolstyles, though I don't think he will give out the code.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7PuhblRrXqw
    __________________
    あなた は しきしゃ です
    わたし は ばか です
      #18180    
    Old April 25th, 2011 (3:51 AM).
    Crashgek's Avatar
    Crashgek Crashgek is offline
    Haxor
       
      Join Date: Jun 2010
      Location: Netherlands (Holland)
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Jolly
      Posts: 12
      I've been trying to find an Editor for the Footprints you see in the Pokédex.
      'Can't find one. Help please?
      It must work with Emerald.
      __________________
      Friend Code: 4770 0861 5028
      Username: Thomas

      Please visit my personal forums! :D
      http://crashgek.prophpbb.com/

        #18181    
      Old April 25th, 2011 (6:14 AM).
      Darthatron's Avatar
      Darthatron Darthatron is offline
      巨大なトロール。
       
      Join Date: Jan 2006
      Location: Melbourne, Australia
      Age: 26
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Modest
      Posts: 1,152
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Crashgek View Post
      I've been trying to find an Editor for the Footprints you see in the Pokédex.
      'Can't find one. Help please?
      It must work with Emerald.
      There's a footprint editor that comes with EliteMap. I'm not 100% sure it supports Emerald, though.
      __________________
      あなた は しきしゃ です
      わたし は ばか です
        #18182    
      Old April 25th, 2011 (6:28 AM).
      Crashgek's Avatar
      Crashgek Crashgek is offline
      Haxor
         
        Join Date: Jun 2010
        Location: Netherlands (Holland)
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Jolly
        Posts: 12
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Darthatron View Post
        There's a footprint editor that comes with EliteMap. I'm not 100% sure it supports Emerald, though.
        I can't find it.
        Could you give me an url please?
        __________________
        Friend Code: 4770 0861 5028
        Username: Thomas

        Please visit my personal forums! :D
        http://crashgek.prophpbb.com/

          #18183    
        Old April 25th, 2011 (7:09 AM).
        Darthatron's Avatar
        Darthatron Darthatron is offline
        巨大なトロール。
         
        Join Date: Jan 2006
        Location: Melbourne, Australia
        Age: 26
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Modest
        Posts: 1,152
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Crashgek View Post
        I can't find it.
        Could you give me an url please?
        http://helmet.kafuka.org/filebin/elitemap37.zip
        __________________
        あなた は しきしゃ です
        わたし は ばか です
          #18184    
        Old April 25th, 2011 (7:19 AM).
        Crashgek's Avatar
        Crashgek Crashgek is offline
        Haxor
           
          Join Date: Jun 2010
          Location: Netherlands (Holland)
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Jolly
          Posts: 12
          [QUOTE=Darthatron;6604598]

          Thanks... But you were right. It doesn't work with Emerald... :(
          __________________
          Friend Code: 4770 0861 5028
          Username: Thomas

          Please visit my personal forums! :D
          http://crashgek.prophpbb.com/

            #18185    
          Old April 25th, 2011 (7:45 AM).
          GamerFilio GamerFilio is offline
             
            Join Date: Apr 2011
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 6
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by colcolstyles View Post
            Out of curiosity, how did you try to use those commands?
            #org $script
            lock
            faceplayer
            checkflag 0x1200
            if 0x01 goto $done
            message $talk
            $talk 1 = I got you an Eevee for your\n birthday. Be responsible!
            boxset 6
            givepokemon 133 5 0x8B
            setflag 0x1200
            setflag FR_PKMNMENU
            setflag FR_POKEDEX
            applymovement 1 $move
            $move 1 ; #binary 0x12 0xFE
            pausemove 0x0000

            I'm kinda newbie. KINDA.
            But that's the only script I can't get right. Do I have to put in boxset or something?
            __________________
              #18186    
            Old April 25th, 2011 (7:50 AM).
            Quilava's Master's Avatar
            Quilava's Master Quilava's Master is offline
            Shattered Dreams '13
               
              Join Date: Jul 2007
              Nature: Adamant
              Posts: 693
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by GamerFilio View Post
              #org $script
              lock
              faceplayer
              checkflag 0x1200
              if 0x01 goto $done
              message $talk
              $talk 1 = I got you an Eevee for your\n birthday. Be responsible!
              boxset 6
              givepokemon 133 5 0x8B
              setflag 0x1200
              setflag FR_PKMNMENU
              setflag FR_POKEDEX
              applymovement 1 $move
              $move 1 ; #binary 0x12 0xFE
              pausemove 0x0000

              I'm kinda newbie. KINDA.
              But that's the only script I can't get right. Do I have to put in boxset or something?
              What script compiler are you using? XSE?
              __________________
              The return of Pokemon Shattered Dreams! Click the screenshot to visit the thread, you know you want to.
                #18187    
              Old April 25th, 2011 (7:57 AM).
              Olli's Avatar
              Olli Olli is offline
              I am still bathing in a summer's afterglow
               
              Join Date: Aug 2010
              Location: Skyloft
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Quiet
              Posts: 2,607
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by GamerFilio View Post
              #org $script
              lock
              faceplayer
              checkflag 0x1200
              if 0x01 goto $done
              message $talk
              $talk 1 = I got you an Eevee for your\n birthday. Be responsible!
              boxset 6
              givepokemon 133 5 0x8B
              setflag 0x1200
              setflag FR_PKMNMENU
              setflag FR_POKEDEX
              applymovement 1 $move
              $move 1 ; #binary 0x12 0xFE
              pausemove 0x0000

              I'm kinda newbie. KINDA.
              But that's the only script I can't get right. Do I have to put in boxset or something?
              Try and replace FR_PKMNMENU with 0x828 and FR_POKEDEX with 0x829.
              Hope it works
              __________________
              Not removing this from my signature!

                #18188    
              Old April 25th, 2011 (9:40 AM).
              machomuu's Avatar
              machomuu machomuu is online now
               
              Join Date: Apr 2008
              Location: Americalanavania
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Relaxed
              Posts: 10,361
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by GamerFilio View Post
              Poket Script.

              Spoiler:
              Hmmm, it says to lengthen this post by 25 characters...
              Stop using Pocket Script. When I first started hacking I was stubborn and kept using it, but trust in in saying you should move on to XSE. Seriously, I don't even think Pocket Script is supported anymore.
              __________________
              Paired to and madly in love with a literal Symphony of legs.


              I also watch anime sometimes. Just a little.
                #18189    
              Old April 25th, 2011 (9:59 AM). Edited April 25th, 2011 by Dark pokemon.
              Dark pokemon's Avatar
              Dark pokemon Dark pokemon is offline
              Beginner Hacker
                 
                Join Date: Mar 2010
                Location: Jacksonville
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Calm
                Posts: 43
                You know in Pokemon emerald where you get to choose the time

                What command allows you to choose the time on the clock

                You know in Pokemon emerald where you get to choose the time

                What command allows you to choose the time on the clock
                __________________
                Hacks I support:




                  #18190    
                Old April 25th, 2011 (10:03 AM).
                Olli's Avatar
                Olli Olli is offline
                I am still bathing in a summer's afterglow
                 
                Join Date: Aug 2010
                Location: Skyloft
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Quiet
                Posts: 2,607
                I think that it's maybe some ASM scripting that activates it, but I don't know it, so you shouldn't jump to conclusion yet.
                __________________
                Not removing this from my signature!

                  #18191    
                Old April 25th, 2011 (10:54 AM). Edited April 25th, 2011 by GamerFilio.
                GamerFilio GamerFilio is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Apr 2011
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 6
                  EDIT: Oh thanks, I'll try it now.

                  BTW, can't download XSE from hackmew's stuff.
                  __________________
                    #18192    
                  Old April 25th, 2011 (11:16 AM).
                  Quilava's Master's Avatar
                  Quilava's Master Quilava's Master is offline
                  Shattered Dreams '13
                     
                    Join Date: Jul 2007
                    Nature: Adamant
                    Posts: 693
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by GamerFilio View Post
                    EDIT: Oh thanks, I'll try it now.

                    BTW, can't download XSE from hackmew's stuff.
                    Download it using the mirror.
                    __________________
                    The return of Pokemon Shattered Dreams! Click the screenshot to visit the thread, you know you want to.
                      #18193    
                    Old April 25th, 2011 (1:36 PM).
                    colcolstyles's Avatar
                    colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
                    Yours truly
                     
                    Join Date: May 2008
                    Location: The Bay Area
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Lonely
                    Posts: 1,590
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Dark pokemon View Post
                    You know in Pokemon emerald where you get to choose the time

                    What command allows you to choose the time on the clock

                    You know in Pokemon emerald where you get to choose the time

                    What command allows you to choose the time on the clock
                    I think you should use 'special 0x9D'. If my memory serves me, '0x9E' is for viewing the clock and '0x9D' is for setting it.
                    __________________

                    Brother of Vrai
                      #18194    
                    Old April 25th, 2011 (4:00 PM).
                    shinyabsol1's Avatar
                    shinyabsol1 shinyabsol1 is offline
                    Pokemon DarkJasper!?
                       
                      Join Date: Aug 2010
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Calm
                      Posts: 330
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Darthatron
                      You can only use one palette without hacking the games engine with ASM. Needless to say, it's no easy task. Though it has been done before. I think it was colcolstyles, though I don't think he will give out the code.
                      Ok...I just thought of this:

                      Can I edit the tall grass animation to be another normal grass animation except with another palette? Or do both the normal grass and the tall grass use the same palette? It doesn't need to be one animation with multiple palettes, I just want a snowy one and a green one...

                      Will that work, or am I not making any sense?
                        #18195    
                      Old April 25th, 2011 (4:26 PM).
                      r0bert's Avatar
                      r0bert r0bert is offline
                      Quitifyingly awesome.
                         
                        Join Date: Jul 2010
                        Location: kewl places
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Naughty
                        Posts: 370
                        Heya,why do people keep skipping me?
                        But on to my question(please don't skip me again)
                        the pewter city tileset has gone completely blank,the effects are FF FF FF FF,what happened and how do I fix it?(I know FF is free space,but I'm afraid that when I overwrite,my hack will crash.)
                        __________________
                          #18196    
                        Old April 25th, 2011 (4:50 PM). Edited April 26th, 2011 by Perri Lightfoot.
                        Perri Lightfoot's Avatar
                        Perri Lightfoot Perri Lightfoot is offline
                        Proud to hack Ruby Version!
                         
                        Join Date: Mar 2008
                        Location: Nevada
                        Age: 32
                        Gender: Female
                        Nature: Modest
                        Posts: 176
                        Quick question hopefully someone can answer :)

                        In my hack, routes have been replaced by a dungeon system like PMD's (except there's no randomness involved). The problem with this is that Pokemon Ruby has a limited number of flight positions, which means that as of now, my hack is forced into being supremely unforgiving of players dying in dungeons - they're forced back into town and have to start the dungeon all over again. I know you can add more flight positions into the game and then repoint the flight table; but I don't know where to find said flight table in Ruby. ^^' Does anyone know at what offset it starts and ends?

                        Thanks so much in advance :)
                        __________________
                        Signature under construction. Watch this space~
                          #18197    
                        Old April 25th, 2011 (7:34 PM).
                        deoxys121's Avatar
                        deoxys121 deoxys121 is offline
                        White Kyurem Cometh
                         
                        Join Date: Dec 2010
                        Location: Flat Rock, MI, United States
                        Age: 26
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Calm
                        Posts: 1,260
                        I'm trying this question again, as I got no answer.

                        I know this probably isn't very simple if possible, but is there any way to edit the battle animations in Ruby? Mainly, I want to edit signature moves only used by one Pokemon which, in my hack, have been replaced. I already know how to edit everything but the animations. Specifically, I want to edit the animations for Mist Ball, Luster Purge, Doom Desire, and Ice Ball.
                        __________________
                          #18198    
                        Old April 25th, 2011 (8:35 PM).
                        Dark pokemon's Avatar
                        Dark pokemon Dark pokemon is offline
                        Beginner Hacker
                           
                          Join Date: Mar 2010
                          Location: Jacksonville
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Calm
                          Posts: 43
                          How do you instert firered tiles into an Emerald ROM
                          __________________
                          Hacks I support:




                            #18199    
                          Old April 26th, 2011 (4:18 AM).
                          metapod23's Avatar
                          metapod23 metapod23 is offline
                          Hardened Trainer
                             
                            Join Date: Mar 2009
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Timid
                            Posts: 673
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by r0bert View Post
                            Heya,why do people keep skipping me?
                            But on to my question(please don't skip me again)
                            the pewter city tileset has gone completely blank,the effects are FF FF FF FF,what happened and how do I fix it?(I know FF is free space,but I'm afraid that when I overwrite,my hack will crash.)
                            This happened to me once, I think. First you should save a backup of your rom. When adding tilesets, you don't want to extend it past the max # of tiles it allows, and you want to make sure to "load new blocks" before adding new tiles, because sometimes A-Map is a little glitchy with that, and it will seem you have space for new tiles when you don't - you should especially do this any time you change the amount of blocks that will be in your tileset.

                            With that said, just try redrawing your tilesets, or if you have a backup of your rom, save the good tileset from the backup and insert it into your current rom and see what happens. As long as you have a backup rom, you don't have to worry about screwing something up, because you can start over again if you do.
                            __________________
                              #18200    
                            Old April 26th, 2011 (4:56 AM).
                            Crashgek's Avatar
                            Crashgek Crashgek is offline
                            Haxor
                               
                              Join Date: Jun 2010
                              Location: Netherlands (Holland)
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Jolly
                              Posts: 12
                              Ok, since my question wasn't awnsered, one again:
                              Where can I find a good Footprint editor that works with Emerald?
                              __________________
                              Friend Code: 4770 0861 5028
                              Username: Thomas

                              Please visit my personal forums! :D
                              http://crashgek.prophpbb.com/

                              Closed Thread

                              Quick Reply

                              Join the conversation!

                              Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                              Create a PokéCommunity Account

                              Sponsored Links
                              Thread Tools

                              Posting Rules
                              You may not post new threads
                              You may not post replies
                              You may not post attachments
                              You may not edit your posts

                              BB code is On
                              Smilies are On
                              [IMG] code is On
                              HTML code is Off

                              Forum Jump


                              All times are GMT -8. The time now is 2:31 AM.