The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking
[ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #18201    
Old April 26th, 2011 (4:02 PM).
Syncro Syncro is offline
     
    Join Date: Apr 2011
    Posts: 2
    Hello Everybody.. I got this problem with vba-dsl-h.. everytime i tried to use that, the VBA crush =/.
    This is what cmd.exe says
    Spoiler:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Versión 5.1.2600]
    © Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    D:\Documents and Settings\Administrador>chdir escritorio\asm

    D:\Documents and Settings\Administrador\Escritorio\ASM>vba-sdl-h.exe "Fire Red.g
    ba"
    VisualBoyAdvance version 1.7.2 [SDL]
    Searching for file VisualBoyAdvance.cfg
    Searching current directory: D:\Documents and Settings\Administrador\Escritorio\
    ASM
    Reading configuration file.
    Searching for file vba-over.ini
    Searching current directory: D:\Documents and Settings\Administrador\Escritorio\
    ASM
    Searching user profile directory: D:\Documents and Settings\Administrador
    Searching PATH
    vba-over.ini NOT FOUND (using emulator settings)
    Color depth: 32

    D:\Documents and Settings\Administrador\Escritorio\ASM>


    and i let you 2 images too.

    I really hope you can help me, please =(

    PS: sorry for my bad english =/
    Attached Images
    File Type: jpg vba.JPG‎ (6.2 KB, 6 views) (Save to Dropbox)
    File Type: jpg error.JPG‎ (25.2 KB, 4 views) (Save to Dropbox)
      #18202    
    Old April 26th, 2011 (8:38 PM).
    markis markis is offline
       
      Join Date: Apr 2011
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 14
      is it possible to found blank ruby or emerald rom? Where you need to make your own maps, no story line and other things. Now is bad thing. Pokenav. Sometimes other trainers calling. But i dont want it... Or i can somehow delete other callings? When how?

      Sorry. My english is bad...
        #18203    
      Old April 26th, 2011 (10:56 PM).
      azurek azurek is offline
         
        Join Date: Sep 2008
        Posts: 1
        Does anybody know if there is a tool to easily edit ability effects? If there isn't do you know what the offsets for the effects are, so as to edit them using hex or ASM?
          #18204    
        Old April 26th, 2011 (10:57 PM).
        Frozen2Dream's Avatar
        Frozen2Dream Frozen2Dream is offline
        Unknown
           
          Join Date: Nov 2009
          Location: Bend, OR
          Gender: Female
          Nature: Quiet
          Posts: 6
          First, can I find a blank ruby patch? As in, a patch that erases every script, map, and fills it with FF? If not, how can I do this manually?

          Second. How can I skip the part in Birch's intro where he activates a pokeball to show a pokemon? The whole intro is okay, I just dont want him to activate a pokeball/show a pokemon. (I know I can use IntroED(I think?) to edit it so he doesn't spawn a pokemon, but it still shows the flash animation of him trying to do so)
            #18205    
          Old April 26th, 2011 (11:14 PM).
          Darthatron's Avatar
          Darthatron Darthatron is offline
          巨大なトロール。
           
          Join Date: Jan 2006
          Location: Melbourne, Australia
          Age: 27
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Modest
          Posts: 1,152
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Dark pokemon View Post
          How do you instert firered tiles into an Emerald ROM
          I find the easiest way is to just rip the palette and tiles from one ROM and then import them into the other one. Though, if I'm not mistaken, you have to do the block data manually.
          __________________
          あなた は しきしゃ です
          わたし は ばか です
            #18206    
          Old April 27th, 2011 (10:12 AM).
          Saddest_Shiver's Avatar
          Saddest_Shiver Saddest_Shiver is offline
             
            Join Date: Mar 2010
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 1
            Does anyone know where I could find a dump of all the scripts in FireRed? I remember having one a long time ago and it was incredibly useful, but I have since lost the file due to a system recovery. Despite my best Googling efforts, I can't find a working download. The only one I came across was HackMew's complete script dump for Ruby, FireRed, and Emerald, but, of course, I get a 'connection timed out' error every time I try to download it.

            If anyone has this file or could direct me to it, that would be swell.
              #18207    
            Old April 27th, 2011 (1:07 PM).
            colcolstyles's Avatar
            colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
            Yours truly
             
            Join Date: May 2008
            Location: The Bay Area
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Lonely
            Posts: 1,590
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Saddest_Shiver View Post
            Does anyone know where I could find a dump of all the scripts in FireRed? I remember having one a long time ago and it was incredibly useful, but I have since lost the file due to a system recovery. Despite my best Googling efforts, I can't find a working download. The only one I came across was HackMew's complete script dump for Ruby, FireRed, and Emerald, but, of course, I get a 'connection timed out' error every time I try to download it.

            If anyone has this file or could direct me to it, that would be swell.
            Try the following link:

            http://www.mediafire.com/?jhu6gra5vx9hhlu
            __________________

            Brother of Vrai
              #18208    
            Old April 27th, 2011 (6:19 PM).
            deoxys121's Avatar
            deoxys121 deoxys121 is offline
            White Kyurem Cometh
             
            Join Date: Dec 2010
            Location: Flat Rock, MI, United States
            Age: 27
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Calm
            Posts: 1,260
            In my hack, I'm adding every Unova Pokemon, but have one small issue. When adding Klink/Klang/Klinklang, I have come across the fact that most damaging Generation III Steel-type moves are not compatible with them. The only one that makes any real sense to set is Meteor Mash. I really don't want to include any moves that don't make sense for them to have. If you could tell me how the moves Metal Claw, Iron Tail, and/or Steel Wing could work, I would appreciate it. Also, if you could tell me if there is any way to edit battle animations, I could add more appropriate moves, such as Gear Grind, Gyro Ball, Flash Cannon, and Metal Burst. Thanks in advance.
            __________________
              #18209    
            Old April 27th, 2011 (7:44 PM).
            SynysterKobra's Avatar
            SynysterKobra SynysterKobra is offline
               
              Join Date: Jun 2009
              Location: San Pablo, CA
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Relaxed
              Posts: 8
              Can someone point me in the direction of a tutorial or something explaining how to change the text in the Professor Intro part of Fire Red? Or if you can answer it here then it would be much appreciated.
              __________________



                #18210    
              Old April 27th, 2011 (8:57 PM).
              deoxys121's Avatar
              deoxys121 deoxys121 is offline
              White Kyurem Cometh
               
              Join Date: Dec 2010
              Location: Flat Rock, MI, United States
              Age: 27
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Calm
              Posts: 1,260
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by SynysterKobra View Post
              Can someone point me in the direction of a tutorial or something explaining how to change the text in the Professor Intro part of Fire Red? Or if you can answer it here then it would be much appreciated.
              It's actually quite easy. Just open the ROM in AdvanceText, which I have attached, and it has an ini for FireRed which contains the intro text for you to edit. Happy hacking!
              Attached Files
              File Type: zip A-Text.zip‎ (261.1 KB, 1 views) (Save to Dropbox)
              __________________
                #18211    
              Old April 28th, 2011 (4:12 AM).
              Crashgek's Avatar
              Crashgek Crashgek is offline
              Haxor
                 
                Join Date: Jun 2010
                Location: Netherlands (Holland)
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Jolly
                Posts: 12
                Ok... for the THIRD time:
                Is there a footprint editor that works with Emerald?!
                __________________
                Friend Code: 4770 0861 5028
                Username: Thomas

                Please visit my personal forums! :D
                http://crashgek.prophpbb.com/

                  #18212    
                Old April 28th, 2011 (6:24 AM).
                Darthatron's Avatar
                Darthatron Darthatron is offline
                巨大なトロール。
                 
                Join Date: Jan 2006
                Location: Melbourne, Australia
                Age: 27
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Modest
                Posts: 1,152
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Crashgek View Post
                Ok... for the THIRD time:
                Is there a footprint editor that works with Emerald?!
                No. I linked you to the only known footprint editor. Use a program such as Tile Layer Pro, since they are not compressed (I think.)
                __________________
                あなた は しきしゃ です
                わたし は ばか です
                  #18213    
                Old April 28th, 2011 (6:53 AM).
                deoxys121's Avatar
                deoxys121 deoxys121 is offline
                White Kyurem Cometh
                 
                Join Date: Dec 2010
                Location: Flat Rock, MI, United States
                Age: 27
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Calm
                Posts: 1,260
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Darthatron View Post
                No. I linked you to the only known footprint editor. Use a program such as Tile Layer Pro, since they are not compressed (I think.)
                I kind of need to edit footprints too. Would you happen to know what the offset I would go to in Tile Molester would be to edit the footprints?
                __________________
                  #18214    
                Old April 28th, 2011 (6:55 AM).
                Darthatron's Avatar
                Darthatron Darthatron is offline
                巨大なトロール。
                 
                Join Date: Jan 2006
                Location: Melbourne, Australia
                Age: 27
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Modest
                Posts: 1,152
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Crashgek View Post
                ........... are you sure?
                99.99999999999999999999% sure.
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by deoxys121 View Post
                I kind of need to edit footprints too. Would you happen to know what the offset I would go to in Tile Molester would be to edit the footprints?
                Nope, sorry.
                __________________
                あなた は しきしゃ です
                わたし は ばか です
                  #18215    
                Old April 28th, 2011 (1:25 PM).
                adamb241's Avatar
                adamb241 adamb241 is offline
                Pokémon Raging Fury
                   
                  Join Date: Jan 2008
                  Location: New York
                  Age: 25
                  Nature: Brave
                  Posts: 660
                  In Fire Red, are the HM linked to respective badges or is there a script involved to active the HM? (Beating brock in FR lets you use HM 5 outside of battle).
                  Also, is there a way to change what HM are unlocked when receiving a badge?
                  __________________

                  \-Pokémon Raging Fury-/
                  +A new project from Dark Steel Productions+
                    #18216    
                  Old April 28th, 2011 (2:16 PM).
                  Spherical Ice's Avatar
                  Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
                   
                  Join Date: Nov 2007
                  Location: Bristol, UK
                  Age: 20
                  Posts: 5,235
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by adamb241 View Post
                  In Fire Red, are the HM linked to respective badges or is there a script involved to active the HM? (Beating brock in FR lets you use HM 5 outside of battle).
                  Also, is there a way to change what HM are unlocked when receiving a badge?
                  For unlocking Rock Smash, Cut and Strength, it's just a checkflag in the overworld's script, so you could just change the script. As for the other HMs, I think it's either encrypted in the tile's behaviour byte or is ASM. How you'd go about editing that, I'm afaid I've no idea. Sorry. >:
                  __________________
                    #18217    
                  Old April 28th, 2011 (3:27 PM).
                  Polarodai's Avatar
                  Polarodai Polarodai is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Apr 2011
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 3
                    How do you make a sprite not appear by default, so that you can use the "showsprite" script to make it appear when you need it to?

                    Background info:
                    I have a script set up so that a person appears as if they came to your room from up the stairs (first room of the game), with a whole dialogue set up afterwards. Everything works fine except for the fact that I need the person hidden so that the illusion that they are entering the room is made. Instead, with all that I have tried, they aren't hidden and they appear to just stand there in the doorway and defeat the whole purpose of the scene.

                    I have tried making them hidden with the movements setting in adv.map, but to no avail. Basically I want something similar to what happened with Oak upon the first step into Route 1 in RBY (He appears out of thin air offscreen and goes along with the script). Problem is, they won't stay hidden until the script starts.

                    Help would be very much appreciated.
                      #18218    
                    Old April 28th, 2011 (3:30 PM).
                    AyameHikaru's Avatar
                    AyameHikaru AyameHikaru is offline
                    Beauty Queen
                       
                      Join Date: Nov 2010
                      Gender: Female
                      Nature: Impish
                      Posts: 141
                      I am making a hack of FR that is a crossover with Disgaea. I've read many threads about music extraction, and have successfully extracted from a few .nds files. BUT, Disgaea DS, the game I really WANT to extract music from, is arranged differently from most DS games. I've tried using NDSSNDEXT & VGM Trans, but neither can recognize the way Disgaea codes its music.

                      A jaunt into CrystalTile showed that there is a file in the .nds called music.dat. I tried extracting it and changing it to a .sdat, but neither program read it. I tried leaving it as a .dat, but neither program recognized it.

                      I am desperate. Right now the only way I can see to get musci from Disgaea into FR is to make by ear every song in MIDI form. That would be a nightmare and I'd adore it if anyone could find a way around that.

                      For the record I have used three different Disgaea DS roms, in addition to a Japanese one.
                      __________________
                      ~When Life gives you lemons, make grape juice and let Life wonder how you did it.~
                      LOOKING FOR A DISGAEA FAN/SPRITER FOR A CROSSOVER GAME!
                      Current Challenges:
                      Ultimate Fire Type Challenge: Johto, 10 Badges
                      Lyrics Challenge: Kanto, 1 Badge
                      Nuzlocke Challenge: Kanto, 0 Badges
                      Monochrome Challenge: Hoenn, 5 Badges
                        #18219    
                      Old April 28th, 2011 (3:31 PM).
                      Swellow rules Swellow rules is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Jul 2007
                        Location: Calgary, AB
                        Posts: 23
                        Edit, although it would be EXTREMELY hard would it be possible to add the physical/special split to Gen III.
                          #18220    
                        Old April 28th, 2011 (3:35 PM).
                        AyameHikaru's Avatar
                        AyameHikaru AyameHikaru is offline
                        Beauty Queen
                           
                          Join Date: Nov 2010
                          Gender: Female
                          Nature: Impish
                          Posts: 141
                          @Swellow: I believe there's a thread about that in the R & D Section. :) Go take a look.
                          __________________
                          ~When Life gives you lemons, make grape juice and let Life wonder how you did it.~
                          LOOKING FOR A DISGAEA FAN/SPRITER FOR A CROSSOVER GAME!
                          Current Challenges:
                          Ultimate Fire Type Challenge: Johto, 10 Badges
                          Lyrics Challenge: Kanto, 1 Badge
                          Nuzlocke Challenge: Kanto, 0 Badges
                          Monochrome Challenge: Hoenn, 5 Badges
                            #18221    
                          Old April 28th, 2011 (3:38 PM).
                          Pokepal17's Avatar
                          Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
                          More cowbell~
                           
                          Join Date: Oct 2008
                          Location: Steeltown
                          Age: 24
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Modest
                          Posts: 1,517
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by Polarodai View Post
                          How do you make a sprite not appear by default, so that you can use the "showsprite" script to make it appear when you need it to?

                          Background info:
                          I have a script set up so that a person appears as if they came to your room from up the stairs (first room of the game), with a whole dialogue set up afterwards. Everything works fine except for the fact that I need the person hidden so that the illusion that they are entering the room is made. Instead, with all that I have tried, they aren't hidden and they appear to just stand there in the doorway and defeat the whole purpose of the scene.

                          I have tried making them hidden with the movements setting in adv.map, but to no avail. Basically I want something similar to what happened with Oak upon the first step into Route 1 in RBY (He appears out of thin air offscreen and goes along with the script). Problem is, they won't stay hidden until the script starts.

                          Help would be very much appreciated.
                          Set a flag beforehand and give that flag number to the npc as the person ID. Then in a script, use showsprite to make the sprite appear. To make the appearance permanent, clear the flag you set. :3
                          __________________
                          Pokémon Stardrop
                            #18222    
                          Old April 28th, 2011 (3:39 PM).
                          Quilava's Master's Avatar
                          Quilava's Master Quilava's Master is offline
                          Shattered Dreams '13
                             
                            Join Date: Jul 2007
                            Nature: Adamant
                            Posts: 693
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Swellow rules View Post
                            Edit, although it would be EXTREMELY hard would it be possible to add the physical/special split to Gen III.
                            There's a thread about in it the R&D Section. However I have to say that it creates a glitch with the Pokemon Minun [or whatever Pokemon occupies the slot 0x162] in which everytime that Pokemon uses a damage dealing move the game will freeze. As far as I know, there isn't a fix for it.
                            __________________
                            The return of Pokemon Shattered Dreams! Click the screenshot to visit the thread, you know you want to.
                              #18223    
                            Old April 28th, 2011 (4:28 PM).
                            Polarodai's Avatar
                            Polarodai Polarodai is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Apr 2011
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 3
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Pokepal17 View Post
                              Set a flag beforehand and give that flag number to the npc as the person ID. Then in a script, use showsprite to make the sprite appear. To make the appearance permanent, clear the flag you set. :3
                              Sadly it didn't work. Here's the main deal. You start the game in the player's room. Before you leave, your younger brother comes upstairs to wake you up for your "big day". Then he goes back down and you can continue.

                              Problem: You spawn within view of him in your room. This is an issue because if he is not already hidden, you can see him in the doorway, which isn't what is supposed to happen. I want his sprite to be invisible before I step on the script box, and then he will appear because of the "showsprite" command (followed by the rest of the script). I need to know if there is a way to make him invisible before the script happens, like with Oak in RBY when he tells you not to go into the tall grass.
                                #18224    
                              Old April 28th, 2011 (4:48 PM).
                              Quilava's Master's Avatar
                              Quilava's Master Quilava's Master is offline
                              Shattered Dreams '13
                                 
                                Join Date: Jul 2007
                                Nature: Adamant
                                Posts: 693
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by Polarodai View Post
                                Sadly it didn't work. Here's the main deal. You start the game in the player's room. Before you leave, your younger brother comes upstairs to wake you up for your "big day". Then he goes back down and you can continue.

                                Problem: You spawn within view of him in your room. This is an issue because if he is not already hidden, you can see him in the doorway, which isn't what is supposed to happen. I want his sprite to be invisible before I step on the script box, and then he will appear because of the "showsprite" command (followed by the rest of the script). I need to know if there is a way to make him invisible before the script happens, like with Oak in RBY when he tells you not to go into the tall grass.
                                Like Pokepal said, use a flag. I recommend putting 002C in his flag box. It's the same flag that causes Oak to be invisible in Pallet Town before stepping near the grass.
                                __________________
                                The return of Pokemon Shattered Dreams! Click the screenshot to visit the thread, you know you want to.
                                  #18225    
                                Old April 28th, 2011 (5:16 PM).
                                Polarodai's Avatar
                                Polarodai Polarodai is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Apr 2011
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Posts: 3
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by Quilava's Master View Post
                                  Like Pokepal said, use a flag. I recommend putting 002C in his flag box. It's the same flag that causes Oak to be invisible in Pallet Town before stepping near the grass.
                                  That worked perfectly, thanks. So apparently that specific flag has to go in the ID box to make them invisible/passable. No others appear to work. Sadly though, it may only be used once if that's the case.
                                  Closed Thread

                                  Quick Reply

                                  Join the conversation!

                                  Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                  Create a PokéCommunity Account
                                  Thread Tools

                                  Posting Rules
                                  You may not post new threads
                                  You may not post replies
                                  You may not post attachments
                                  You may not edit your posts

                                  BB code is On
                                  Smilies are On
                                  [IMG] code is On
                                  HTML code is Off

                                  Forum Jump


                                  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 3:01 PM.